April 24, 2024, 08:04:50 AM

Author Topic: Ataulla Guerra Thread.  (Read 55192 times)

Re: Ataulla Guerra Thread.
« Reply #180 on: April 12, 2017, 02:10:38 PM »
He should change he name to Ataulla de Butcher.

« Reply #181 on: April 15, 2017, 09:58:40 PM »
WATCH: Ataulla Guerra scores his second goal of the season in Charleston Battery’s 5-0 win over Rochester Rhinos

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/YqFKxIop3R0?start=2490" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/YqFKxIop3R0?start=2490</a>

« Reply #182 on: April 16, 2017, 04:47:54 AM »
Keep doing your thing brother..

« Reply #183 on: May 09, 2017, 11:39:09 AM »
WATCH: Ataulla Guerra’s goal gives Charleston Battery a 1-0 win over Bethlehem Steel

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/ffspLPgseT0?start=1605" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/ffspLPgseT0?start=1605</a>

Guerra named to USL Team of the Week
« Reply #184 on: May 09, 2017, 11:55:22 AM »
Guerra named to USL Team of the Week
By Sarah Cardamone (charlestonbattery.com)

Charleston Battery midfielder Ataulla Guerra was named to the USL Team of the Week after scoring the only goal in the team’s 1-0 win over Bethlehem Steel FC last Saturday.

Guerra’s 18th minute goal was his third of the 2017 season. The Trinidadian attacker has already surpassed his 2016 goal total after only seven matches. Quinton Griffith supplied the cross that resulted in the goal after a blinding run down the right flank. Griffith served a cross to the near post and Heviel Cordoves flicked it on to Guerra who tapped it in.

Head Coach Mike Anhaeuser has deployed Guerra further forward this season than last. Guerra is playing just off the striker, typically behind Romario Williams who missed last week’s match due to illness. Guerra and Williams have combined for nine of the team’s 16 goals scored this season.

The Battery will look to extend their unbeaten streak to five games this Saturday against Saint Louis FC at MUSC Health Stadium. Charleston enters the game in first place with a two-point lead and a game in hand on second place Tampa Bay Rowdies. Kickoff for Saturday’s match is scheduled for 7:00 PM. Tickets are available at charlestonbattery.com/tickets. All active duty military, veterans, and families receive free tickets to the match courtesy of Geodesicx. 

« Reply #185 on: May 09, 2017, 11:37:00 PM »
Everytime I see this guy play, I does just shake meh head in sadness. Why this guy can't be on the national team is sad. Why the people in football can't figure out a way to help this yute reach his potential.

« Reply #186 on: May 10, 2017, 05:22:53 AM »
Everytime I see this guy play, I does just shake meh head in sadness. Why this guy can't be on the national team is sad. Why the people in football can't figure out a way to help this yute reach his potential.

Maybe he's a late bloomer. He'll be 30 this year.

« Reply #187 on: May 10, 2017, 06:31:47 AM »

late bloomer nah.. he was suppose be signed at portsmouth when rednapp was in charge and it fell through due to work permitt  ..he  hyland and peltier

« Reply #188 on: May 10, 2017, 08:15:08 AM »

late bloomer nah.. he was suppose be signed at portsmouth when rednapp was in charge and it fell through due to work permitt  ..he  hyland and peltier

His professional future turned on misfortune associated with ONE club?
« Last Edit: May 10, 2017, 10:20:07 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #189 on: May 10, 2017, 11:10:11 AM »

His professional future turned on misfortune associated with ONE club?

no i was just implying that he is a not late bloomer ... as tallman suggested .... things never fell in place for him after i dont know why cannot comment on that ...

link to an old interview done when was 19

Jabloteh starlet seeks new legacy.

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=32053.0;wap
« Last Edit: May 10, 2017, 11:15:45 AM by Trini _2018 »

« Reply #190 on: May 10, 2017, 03:18:04 PM »

When I say late bloomer, I mean that he has only now seemed to grabbing hold of an opportunity and making the most of it.
« Last Edit: May 10, 2017, 03:20:18 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #191 on: May 10, 2017, 03:22:23 PM »
Ataulla Guerra Highlights (2016)

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/tZIavvFZrL4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/tZIavvFZrL4</a>

Ataulla Guerra Highlights (2017)

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/dmwTqPGZXGc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/dmwTqPGZXGc</a>

« Reply #192 on: May 11, 2017, 12:32:31 PM »
Meanwhile, practically a decade later, our players remain in work permit jeopardy and not much has changed ... except Redknapp is closer to retirement. By now we should have been in a position to be feeding him ballers to meet his needs in the Midlands. Shame on us. Not any closer to getting our act together.

Offline Thomo

« Reply #193 on: May 11, 2017, 02:41:09 PM »
It's the first time I've known him to have such a "lengthy" good spell outside the TT Pro League. At Jabloteh,  Fenwick always lamented his inability to concentrate throughout 90 mins. Glad to see his playing well and doing what we all knew he was capable of doing consistently. Keep it up Guerra. 

USL Insights – Guerra’s Boosted Threat
« Reply #194 on: June 21, 2017, 11:14:08 AM »
USL Insights – Guerra’s Boosted Threat
By Nicholas Murray (uslsoccer.com)

It’s no big secret why the Charleston Battery currently sit on top of both the USL Eastern Conference standings and the goals leaders chart this season; the play of Romario Williams in his second year on loan in Charleston has reached another level.

But maybe an underrated factor in Williams’ success has been that of Trinidad & Tobago international Ataulla Guerra, who appears to have settled into the club’s system in his second year with the Battery. Guerra’s four goals this season put him tied for second on the team alongside set-piece threat Forrest Lasso, making the 29-year-old a player opposing defenses must account for when he’s on the field.

Under Head Coach Mike Anhaeuser, the Battery have typically played a 4-4-1-1 system for a number of years, with the second striker role previously played by the likes of former Battery standouts Jose Cuevas, who earned USL Rookie of the Year in 2012, or current players Ricky Garbanzo and Maikel Chang.

This season Guerra has already amped up his production as he has grown into his role underneath Williams. His four goals and 13 shots on goal are already superior to those totals in the 2016 season despite playing less than half as many regular-season minutes.

ATAULLA GUERRA, CHARLESTON BATTERY
2016/2017 SEASON COMPARISON

GamesMinutesGoalsAssistsShotsShots on Goal

Guerra’s lack of assists so far this season shouldn’t be a disappointment either. While he’s upped his shooting frequency, he’s also taking care of the ball very well and creating chances. Guerra’s pass completion rate sits at 79.8 percent overall, and 73.9 percent in opponents’ halves. He has also created 11 scoring chances in addition to his own goals.

The presence of Guerra on the field, through the increased production he’s brought so far this season, in addition to the other threats the Battery have at their disposal behind Williams, are the reason Charleston is on well on course to surpass its best attacking output since the USL began in 2011, when the Battery scored 48 goals in the 2013 season.

Charleston midfielder Ataulla Guerra crucial to Battery's attack
« Reply #195 on: August 11, 2017, 09:00:01 PM »
Charleston midfielder Ataulla Guerra crucial to Battery's attack
By Andrew Miller (The Post an Courier)

Ataulla Guerra does all the dirty things on a soccer field that don’t always show up in the boxscore.

If there’s a loose ball, Guerra is usually there to win it. If the opposition is building an attack, Guerra is there to break it up. If the Battery needs a pass to free up a teammate for a quality scoring chance, it’s normally Guerra’s flick that starts the play.

Guerra might only have four goals on the season, but there might not be a more valuable player for the Battery than the lanky midfielder from Trinidad & Tobago.

Looking to end a recent winless streak, the Battery will take on the New York Red Bulls II Saturday night at MUSC Health Stadium beginning at 7 p.m.

For the first two months of the season, the Battery was among the top scoring teams in the USL. Much of the credit for the Battery’s offensive success can be directly traced to the feet of Guerra.

“He’s the player that is our link from our defense in the midfield to the forwards up front,” said Charleston Battery coach Mike Anhaeuser. “He’s very important to our attack. He’s huge. He has the technical ability to make a good pass and the dribbling ability to breakdown a defender and he has the ability to finish.

“If a defender doesn’t step to him he can slide a pass by them or shoot. If they step up on him, then he can get by them, take the shot or make that final pass that leads to a goal.”

When teamed with striker Romario Williams, who has 14 goals on the season, the two make a lethal combination.

“Those two have such great chemistry and they feed off of each other,” Anhaeuser said. “Romario creates space, but so does Ataulla. They create space and scoring chances for each other.”

The Battery’s attack has been anemic of late, scoring just three times in their last six matches.

Guerra injured his groin against Jacksonville in the U.S. Open Cup in late May, forcing him to miss all of June and the better part of July. It’s no coincidence that while Guerra was rehabbing and working his way back onto the field, the Battery's offensive struggles began. Charleston has won just one time during the month of July and is 0-3-3 in its last six matches.

“One player shouldn’t make that much of a difference and all of our struggles of late are not only because we were missing Ataulla, but he’s a big part of what makes our attack go," Anhaeuser said. "We need to have him back on the field.”

Guerra returned to the lineup, playing 60 minutes in a 1-0 loss to Toronto FC II last week. Guerra said he’s close to getting his timing back and should return to early-season form in the next couple of weeks.

“I’m feeling more comfortable out there, it’s progressing,” Guerra said. “The biggest thing is getting my confidence back. I’m 75-80 percent of where I was at the beginning of the season. I still don’t have full confidence in my right leg. I can shoot, but not like at the beginning of the season.”

A year ago, Guerra played all over the field for the Battery. He saw extended time at holding midfield, but was also used as an attacking midfielder, outside midfielder and forward during the 2016 season. He admits he’s most comfortable playing just behind the forwards in the Battery’s attacking formation. It’s there that the 29-year-old can best take advantage of his ability to set teammates up for scoring opportunities.

“I like to get the ball in dangerous positions,” Guerra said. “If I’m right behind the striker I can free up my teammates and be on the ball as much as possible. I prefer to be more of an offensive player, but I’ll do whatever the coaches ask me to do.”

Guerra said the Battery just needs to find its confidence again, and scoring early against New York on Saturday night will be the best way to get out of their scoring funk.

“It doesn’t matter what kind of goal it is, an ugly goal will do,” Guerra said. “We just need to get an early goal to get our confidence back and start scoring like we were in the beginning of the season.”

« Reply #196 on: August 12, 2017, 07:38:39 AM »
he would even get a look

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #197 on: August 12, 2017, 08:51:53 AM »
Live Stream of Guerra and Hackshaw vs. Powder or NYRB tonight at 7PM

http://www.uslsoccer.com/charlestonbattery-newyorkredbullsii-905744

« Reply #198 on: October 08, 2017, 12:06:06 PM »
WATCH: Ataulla Guerra scores in Charleston Battery’s 3-0 win over Harrisburg City Islanders

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/-8x94WLOn0E?start=52" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/-8x94WLOn0E?start=52</a>

« Reply #199 on: October 14, 2017, 09:38:59 PM »
WATCH: Ataulla Guerra’s deft chip earns all three points for Charleston Battery in their 1-0 win over Charlotte Independence

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/5pdutOUGcpg?start=21" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/5pdutOUGcpg?start=21</a>
« Last Edit: October 14, 2017, 09:41:11 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #200 on: March 21, 2018, 01:55:41 PM »
WATCH: Charleston Battery’s Ataulla Guerra featured at #6 on the top 10 USL Skills of the Week - Week 1.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/yaAlg2Zysd0?start=15" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/yaAlg2Zysd0?start=15</a>

« Reply #201 on: March 24, 2018, 08:17:40 PM »
WATCH: Ataulla Guerra is ah wicked fella. Look what he does to the defender before he scores the game-winning goal in Charleston’s Battery 1-0 win over Penn FC.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/ZAtNy797lW4?start=31" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/ZAtNy797lW4?start=31</a>

“It was just a touch of experience and composure in front of goal,” said Guerra. “I just relaxed myself because I knew I was going to get a chance; and when I got it, I took it to the best of my ability. It was a nice finish with my weaker foot. I’m working everyday to try to improve in my finishing and my goal-scoring, so I’m happy with the goal.”
« Last Edit: March 24, 2018, 10:35:07 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #202 on: March 24, 2018, 08:49:07 PM »
We can see he's improved and settled a bit. Wonder if he is finally ready for the National Team?

« Reply #203 on: March 24, 2018, 10:14:50 PM »
We can see he's improved and settled a bit. Wonder if he is finally ready for the National Team?

I think he was ready to be recalled since early last year.

« Reply #204 on: March 25, 2018, 04:50:15 PM »

I think he was ready to be recalled since early last year.

Agreed!

« Reply #205 on: March 25, 2018, 08:20:29 PM »
Although ah almost afraid to tamper with the wave he's riding, I agree with the recall sentiment.

In 2017 was reliably told that the player had set performance goals. Got his mind on his curren¢y and his curren¢y on his mind. I imagine it's the same for 2018.

At this stage, he rightly should be focused on enjoying his football and making coin. Anything involving the national team should be timely-paid icing on the cake. Emphasis on timely-paid.

« Reply #206 on: April 21, 2018, 09:26:16 PM »
WATCH: Charleston Battery midfielder Ataulla Guerra scores his second goal of the season to earn a 1-1 draw with Penn FC

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/AEcM0UaMscs?start=70" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/AEcM0UaMscs?start=70</a>

Guerra's goal gives Battery 1-0 win
« Reply #207 on: April 29, 2018, 12:36:10 PM »
Guerra's goal gives Battery 1-0 win
live5news.com

In their first home game in over a month, the Charleston Battery defeated the Tampa Bay Rowdies, 1-0, Saturday night to extend their unbeaten streak to four games.

The Rowdies and the Battery traded possession throughout most of the first 45 minutes, with the Battery creating the more dangerous chances. Charleston’s attacking four had several near misses in the opening 20 minutes, but it was the Rowdies who went closest to breaking the deadlock. Hunter Gorskie out-lept a Battery defender on a set piece in the 24th minute, but his header went inches wide.

The Battery opened the scoring in stoppage time of the first half after Neveal Hackshaw slipped a pass into Ataulla Guerra at the corner of the 18-yard box. With the defender on his hip, Guerra turned and fired a low shot through a group of bodies. The ball took a slight deflection and found the back of the net.

“Ataulla has been tremendous,” said Battery Head Coach Mike Anhaeuser. “He’s been the player who’s been the catalyst for us. He played three games in seven days and scored two goals. He knew going in that we were going to limit his minutes, so him getting that goal at the end of the first half was huge.”

Carrying the momentum from the stoppage-time goal into the second half, Charleston pressed for more. Ian Svantesson had an opportunity to double the Battery’s advantage in the 61st minute, connecting with a cross from Nico Rittmeyer, but a last-ditch effort by a Rowdies defender kept the ball out of the net.

Tampa attacked hard in the final ten minutes pushing for an equalizer. The Battery back four absorbed the pressure and thwarted the Rowdies’ attacks before they entered the defensive third. Joe Kuzminsky, who earned his first ever professional start Tuesday night in Atlanta, made two saves in the match and earned his second shutout in as many games.

“I’ve worked really hard to get here,” said Kuzminsky after the match. “Now it’s time to show what I’ve got. Being able to play my first game here at home tonight was amazing and then to get the shutout on top of it is great.”

The win extends Charleston’s unbeaten streak to four games and their win streak to two. The Battery returns home to take on the Charlotte Independence next Saturday, May 5 at MUSC Health Stadium.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/zLoy8EV9RdE?start=43" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/zLoy8EV9RdE?start=43</a>

« Reply #208 on: May 05, 2018, 09:40:39 PM »
WATCH: Ataulla Guerra scores his third goal in four games during Charleston Battery’s 2-0 win over Charlotte Independence.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/mH_8-SBACHw?start=20" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/mH_8-SBACHw?start=20</a>

« Reply #209 on: May 12, 2018, 08:36:49 PM »
WATCH: It’s that man Ataulla Guerra again with his fourth goal in five games during Charleston Battery’s 2-1 win over Bethlehem Steel.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/EBLilGbiD8c?start=27" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/EBLilGbiD8c?start=27</a>