March 28, 2024, 12:51:21 PM

Author Topic: National football consultation today.  (Read 14844 times)

National football consultation today.
« on: November 28, 2011, 06:28:06 AM »
National football consultation today.
T&T Express Reports.

Acting Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation president Lennox Watson has assured that the local governing body will be present at today's national football consultation, which will be held from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. at Movie Towne, Port of Spain.

The open seminar allows enthusiasts the opportunity to add their contribution on the state of Trinidad and Tobago football. Coaches, analysts, fans and players will give their views on what went wrong with the 2014 World Cup qualifying campaign, the state of Trinidad and Tobago football, and the best way forward.

The idea of a consultation was forged by Sport Minister Anil Roberts in response to T&T's early exit from World Cup qualifying after the Soca Warriors were beaten 2-1 by Guyana in the first leg of a two-match series at Providence National Stadium on November 11.

Although Trinidad and Tobago won the return match 2-0 in Port of Spain on November 15, they finished a point behind Guyana (13 points), who advanced to the third round as the lone qualifier out of Caribbean Zone Group B.

Re: National football consultation today.
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2011, 08:07:25 AM »
Ah understand it start late, and is not ah great turnout.

Notable people in attendance are Jamal Shabazz, Rudolph Thomas, Anton Corneal, Marlon Morris, Brent Sancho, Wayne Cunningham, Dion La Foucade, Peter O'Connor, and Shaun Fuentes.

« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2011, 09:06:00 AM »
Dexter Skeene also in de audience.

Our presentation was made about a half-hour ago, and generally got a good response. It lasted about 10 minutes.

« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2011, 09:07:30 AM »

Our presentation was made about a half-hour ago, and generally got a good response. It lasted about 10 minutes.

:beermug: patriot

« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2011, 09:42:41 AM »
An Invitation to a Psuedo Press Conference Starring:
 :bs:
Lennox Watson as Watson
With special advise...err...guest Jackarse as Mr. Holmes

Watson to Holmes: "By heavens, Holmes, I believe that they are not really after us. No one showed up to protest our existence".
Holmes to Watson: "No, it's not quite so bad as that, my dear Watson. I have pre-comatosed most of the would be rebel protesters. It's the unofficial force—the revolutionary irregulars you have to worry about. Currently, that force is leaderless".
Watson to Holmes: "I have extended invitations to press reporters I can manipulate and who will not ask probing questions I cannot answer".
Holmes to Watson: "You have learned well over the years. Good".
Watson to Holmes: "You were right Holmes. It worked out very well. The people bought it hook, line, and sinker. Excellent".
Holmes to Watson: "Elementary, my dear Watson. From your viewpoint as President, you will have the advantage of knowing their habits and weaknesses. You know my methods, Watson. How often have I said when you have eliminated the opposition whatever remains must be the truth".
« Last Edit: November 28, 2011, 09:48:59 AM by King Deese »

Offline president

• ...Walk and don't look back...
« Reply #5 on: November 28, 2011, 10:48:42 AM »
This sham will achieve nothing. What is being said there has been said ad nauseam previously. There will be nothing new revealed. There are no secrets in modern football. Both the Ministry and the TTFF are involved in a PR exercise and the former has the financing to support the latter. Watson is in the media talking about the "new" focus of the TTFF being youth development but the Eastern FA, of which he is still effectively the president, has one of the worst youth development programmes and one of the weakest competitions in the TTFF - two and three teams in an age category. Meantime, the TTFF held a "screening session" for Under 15s yesterday in Ato Boldon Stadium - for the ENTIRE country! On the basis of that they will send a national team to an Under 17! tournament in Colombia in the next days. And when those little boys get the beatings they will get the entire country will want to know why. This initiative is the brain child of the TTFF's two technical advisors (unofficial) - you know who they are. Stay tuned for more mind games...
« Last Edit: November 28, 2011, 10:56:25 AM by president »

« Reply #6 on: November 28, 2011, 11:04:19 AM »
Floor presentations
Anthony Walcott - Spoke about mental training
Kevin Harrison (North East Stars)
Started off with "We have seen change of players, change of coaches, but for 20 years no change of the TTFF." Also advocated that the TTFF and referees settle their differences ASAP because it is hurting the Pro League.

Calvin Toussaint (Tunapuna Titans)
Kern de Frietas (Trinidad Express) - Made a point of our failure to keep records/statistics.
Niam Khan (Safari Publications) - Spoke about sponsorship
Lennox Sirjusingh (former referee) -  Noted that oil and gas is 45% of T&T's economy, but not one team is sponsored by an oil/gas company. Complimented socawarriors.net on our recommendations. Scouting for national duty must be ongoing, and not just before a tournament, and must start at youth level.
Mr. Gordon - Focussed on referees. Not enough qualified/certified refs to do games in Tobago.
Soca Warrior Fusion (fan club) - Talked about fan empowerment
Tony Harford (AllSport Promotions) - Outlined costs of putting on national team games.

« Reply #7 on: November 28, 2011, 11:05:53 AM »
Much thanks for the updates Tallest

Offline president

« Reply #8 on: November 28, 2011, 11:06:05 AM »
...As I said above...

« Reply #9 on: November 28, 2011, 11:14:17 AM »
Fuentes on facebook want to know what the locals can offer  :beermug:

« Reply #10 on: November 28, 2011, 11:31:21 AM »
Big up Tallest

« Reply #11 on: November 28, 2011, 12:18:01 PM »
Thanks Patriot for representing... and T for the updates!  :beermug: 

It would be interesting to know some details from our presentation. Care to give a synopsis when you get the chance Brain?

« Reply #12 on: November 28, 2011, 12:21:27 PM »

Thanks Tallman :beermug:
What was our presentation about? Not asking for details but what did we cover?

« Reply #13 on: November 28, 2011, 12:53:26 PM »
Some tweets from the Ministry of Sport

Anton Corneal is on the floor. He says the major problem with development programs in football is lack of sustained funding.

Guyana national coach Jamal Shabazz on the floor. He says he still sees 'courting of the dictatorship' in TT rather than following a process.

Hillan Morean is on the floor discussing issues of governance, structure

Peter O'Connor on the floor. He says dynamic between coach and team is critical to success

« Reply #14 on: November 28, 2011, 12:56:03 PM »
This sham will achieve nothing. What is being said there has been said ad nauseam previously. There will be nothing new revealed. There are no secrets in modern football. Both the Ministry and the TTFF are involved in a PR exercise and the former has the financing to support the latter. Watson is in the media talking about the "new" focus of the TTFF being youth development but the Eastern FA, of which he is still effectively the president, has one of the worst youth development programmes and one of the weakest competitions in the TTFF - two and three teams in an age category. Meantime, the TTFF held a "screening session" for Under 15s yesterday in Ato Boldon Stadium - for the ENTIRE country! On the basis of that they will send a national team to an Under 17! tournament in Colombia in the next days. And when those little boys get the beatings they will get the entire country will want to know why. This initiative is the brain child of the TTFF's two technical advisors (unofficial) - you know who they are. Stay tuned for more mind games...
        Mr President,this must be a sham because when you look at the people attending this National Football Consultation it's made up of those who should not be around Football or who you dislike,where is Keith Look loy your main man and where is Mr Brathwaite,you talking about change.
       You said the Eastern FA has one of the worst Youth development programs and one of the weakest competitions in the TTFF,yet Santa Rosa FC plays in that league and will continue to participate,i think they went on some tour recently,why don't they play Eddie Hart League may be that's better.The best way for Look Loy to solve this problem is to start a break away league with the six club that vote for change.   

« Reply #15 on: November 28, 2011, 01:11:40 PM »
You all looking at the people who on the floor,they not talking on a forum they standing up in public and saying what they have to say,this is what we have to do if we want change,these are the people we don't like,this is where we have to protest and make your voices heard,ah mean what Corneal and Shabazz doing there,i'm sure no one asked why he still works for the TTFF.
If we can't ask the tough questions when it matters there can't be changes.It have a certain reporter MIA these days check to make sure he is alright,he is part of the anti TTFF crew,i always look forward to his articles.

Offline president

« Reply #16 on: November 28, 2011, 01:32:16 PM »
FC Santa Rosa - or any other club - is free to decide if it wishes to participate in TTFF (read, "FIFA") football or "minor league" football. That said, no club, with ambition to rise to the top of the local game, would sacrifice FIFA-affiliated football for "minor league" play. It would be outside of the mainstream, its players would not be considered for national team selection - and FC Santa Rosa has players in different national teams. Let us be clear - the TTFF and the local game DO NOT BELONG to the current TTFF clique. Why should people run and leave them to have their way? FC Santa Rosa has been fighting them in the Eastern FA for years and will continue to do so, I am certain.
Now, to the "consultation". We have seen multiple re-incarnations of this talk shop over the many years the TTFF clique has been in power. People vent and pose and then nothing happens. Nothing personal, but Shabaaz is talking about people "courting the dictatorship", is he? How else has Caledonia survived all these years other than by "courting the dictatorship"? And how else is he continuing to represent the TTFF and the GFF at the same time - as he did in Mexico recently at a FIFA conference (before Guyana eliminated us)? How is that even conceivable? This is how and why the TTFF clique continues to hold on to power. There are too many people in football who depend on the status quo for favours big and small.
Talk and posturing pal. Smoke and mirrors. As I said above, stay tuned for more mind games...Meantime, the clubs have to organize to move these people. Everything else is talk...
« Last Edit: November 28, 2011, 01:34:33 PM by president »

« Reply #17 on: November 28, 2011, 02:32:53 PM »
FC Santa Rosa - or any other club - is free to decide if it wishes to participate in TTFF (read, "FIFA") football or "minor league" football. That said, no club, with ambition to rise to the top of the local game, would sacrifice FIFA-affiliated football for "minor league" play. It would be outside of the mainstream, its players would not be considered for national team selection - and FC Santa Rosa has players in different national teams. Let us be clear - the TTFF and the local game DO NOT BELONG to the current TTFF clique. Why should people run and leave them to have their way? FC Santa Rosa has been fighting them in the Eastern FA for years and will continue to do so, I am certain.
Now, to the "consultation". We have seen multiple re-incarnations of this talk shop over the many years the TTFF clique has been in power. People vent and pose and then nothing happens. Nothing personal, but Shabaaz is talking about people "courting the dictatorship", is he? How else has Caledonia survived all these years other than by "courting the dictatorship"? And how else is he continuing to represent the TTFF and the GFF at the same time - as he did in Mexico recently at a FIFA conference (before Guyana eliminated us)? How is that even conceivable? This is how and why the TTFF clique continues to hold on to power. There are too many people in football who depend on the status quo for favours big and small.
Talk and posturing pal. Smoke and mirrors. As I said above, stay tuned for more mind games...Meantime, the clubs have to organize to move these people. Everything else is talk...
    You see,here lies the problem,if they were a clique somebody would have kicked them out long time but they are not,they are the TTFF that's why it's so difficult,if you have back up you going to last,you eh see is the same thing happen in the North.

Offline president

« Reply #18 on: November 28, 2011, 06:02:40 PM »
I hear that Coops...

« Reply #19 on: November 28, 2011, 06:57:17 PM »
Just a few points from today....

Patriot came over real good and gave props to Warrior Fusion and invited them here.

Mainly a lot of ole talk and pie in the sky ideas. Although there were some good plans, no one addressed how they would be funded.

Tony Harford was quite convincing, explaining why games cost so much to put on. He did concede that some of TTFF should go, but not all. He said there were some good people there. He also mentioned that he had spoken to TTFF accountants KPMG who confirmed that TTFF accounts were accurate....however there were other accounts associated to, but not the responsibility of TTFF which were the problem.

Anil Roberts promised to combine all of the proposals and they would be assessed by a team and built into a single plan to move football forward. This plan would then be presented as a discussion document.

« Reply #20 on: November 28, 2011, 07:31:16 PM »
and the sham...the smoke and mirrors continue.........
So Anil going to put all this together and come up with a proposal huh? Really????
Sounds like nobody talk about neither an immediate nor long term plan for the national team....
How and who is going to chart the development of players at every level....
who is going to set the standard for coaches..Shabass or Cornmeal?
But wait we had a Technical Director but he was declawed...so I guess the first appointment would be that of a Technical Advisor to put into place what was going to be done 6 years ago...brilliant absolutely brilliant.

« Reply #21 on: November 28, 2011, 07:53:25 PM »
So Anil going to put all this together and come up with a proposal huh? Really????
Sounds like nobody talk about neither an immediate nor long term plan for the national team....
But wait we had a Technical Director but he was declawed...so I guess the first appointment would be that of a Technical Advisor to put into place what was going to be done 6 years ago...brilliant absolutely brilliant.

socawarriors.net put in a proposal calling for a comprehensive plan, and highlighted specific issues that the plan needs to address. if you are going to criticize what you think people did not say why didn't YOU say it? it was an OPEN FORUM. where were you when we called for submissions? waiting for somebody else to do the work?

it would not be a sham if every football lover did their duty and flood the ministry with marching orders for lennox watson and his ilk or take two seconds to sign the damn petition. that would very hard for the minister to ignore. 
« Last Edit: November 28, 2011, 07:55:15 PM by ZANDOLIE »

« Reply #22 on: November 28, 2011, 09:54:04 PM »
So who is Soca Warrior Fusion btw?

« Reply #24 on: November 28, 2011, 10:11:18 PM »

socawarriors.net put in a proposal calling for a comprehensive plan, and highlighted specific issues that the plan needs to address. if you are going to criticize what you think people did not say why didn't YOU say it? it was an OPEN FORUM. where were you when we called for submissions? waiting for somebody else to do the work?

it would not be a sham if every football lover did their duty and flood the ministry with marching orders for lennox watson and his ilk or take two seconds to sign the damn petition. that would very hard for the minister to ignore. 
Breds, it have too many sheepish ppl in T&T fuh dat tuh happen. they would complain how they have tuh go to work or they have serious business to attend, but not in ah million yrs would they make such ah consorted effort to support the cause. just ask how much forum members was there beside patriot, but they love football. big phat lie!!

they would take ah day off tuh go meet ah gyul if they were promised ah good time, and spend their money to stay the whole day in de hilton or crown plaza making woopie, but they wouldn't dear take ah day off tuh show their support for football and their disgust toward the federation.
« Last Edit: November 28, 2011, 10:13:01 PM by just cool »

« Reply #25 on: November 28, 2011, 10:18:18 PM »
What this man shabbaz doing there? for the life of me, this is ah gargantuan fackin contradiction if yuh ask me.

what de fack he have tuh do wid we football after he dun clearly take sides! i tell yuh, if this man was ah mexican or ah columbian they woulda bun down he fackin house and run him outa town long time, he woulda have tuh move to guyana or some neighboring country with the bare clothes on his back. only in fackin trinidad this could happen boy!!

« Reply #26 on: November 28, 2011, 10:23:08 PM »

Sometimes I swear allyuh have no understanding..... let me make it as simple for you as possible....the process aka the consultation is a sham....it will achieve zero nada nilch zip....it is merely meant to placate people like you.
At the end of the day who are the people making the decisions about TnT football?

« Reply #27 on: November 28, 2011, 11:05:23 PM »

Sometimes I swear allyuh have no understanding..... let me make it as simple for you as possible....the process aka the consultation is a sham....it will achieve zero nada nilch zip....it is merely meant to placate people like you.
At the end of the day who are the people making the decisions about TnT football?

I don't agree in theory. I have seen the power of people coming together for change. I remember the Free Nelson Mandela march in London in the 80's. Most British people had never heard of him until then!  But you all seem to believe that Trinis don't care enough. Well that maybe so, but while there are people out there who haven't just given up, there is hope. MEP, don't you see the contradiction in your post?
it is merely meant to placate people like you You're telling someone who is trying to bring about change that you have already been placated and are now apathetic. Let them continue to try to elicit change. Maybe one day, in some way, they will succeed. Trinis don't march? So who the hell was Uriah Butler??

« Reply #28 on: November 28, 2011, 11:11:03 PM »

if this happened in Europe or N.america people would be bumping gum about how 'progressive' their football is. but since its here it really eh worth the effort right?

you can hide behind that bullshit about 'placating people like you' and 'at the end of the day' all yuh want. i'll make it simple for YOU as possible. the MoS asked for submissions. people like YOU who always complaining and bitching and moaning could not be bothered to even spend a five minutes to make an effort. and to justify your lazy-ass, do-nothing, negative, take-it-in-the ass-like-a-bitch-attitude you come up in here and bawling how you KNOW is a sham. how you know that....you is f**king nostradamus?

it have people on this site who contributed to this thing that do far more than you ever facking do or will ever do for football, so f**k off with yuh bullshit. allyuh men does prefer to run yuh mouth but when time for action comes allyuh NOWHERE to found. and is one setta 'them eh go take we on, or 'its a sham!   . tallman sit down and take time and care to write up a proposal and now where all the facking forum big-mouths? less than 300 sign it. no amount of deflection or hiding or petty insults go take away from the fact that nobody trying. stick that in yuh facking craw

« Reply #29 on: November 29, 2011, 12:49:58 AM »

if this happened in Europe or N.america people would be bumping gum about how 'progressive' their football is. but since its here it really eh worth the effort right?

you can hide behind that bullshit about 'placating people like you' and 'at the end of the day' all yuh want. i'll make it simple for YOU as possible. the MoS asked for submissions. people like YOU who always complaining and bitching and moaning could not be bothered to even spend a five minutes to make an effort. and to justify your lazy-ass, do-nothing, negative, take-it-in-the ass-like-a-bitch-attitude you come up in here and bawling how you KNOW is a sham. how you know that....you is f**king nostradamus?

it have people on this site who contributed to this thing that do far more than you ever facking do or will ever do for football, so f**k off with yuh bullshit. allyuh men does prefer to run yuh mouth but when time for action comes allyuh NOWHERE to found. and is one setta 'them eh go take we on, or 'its a sham!   . tallman sit down and take time and care to write up a proposal and now where all the facking forum big-mouths? less than 300 sign it. no amount of deflection or hiding or petty insults go take away from the fact that nobody trying. stick that in yuh facking craw

Again asshole yuh so cluesless....it's not about how much people contribute to a proposal,,,the fact is the same people who have been making or not making decisions for the last 30 years have the final say... Do you think they will all of a sudden have an ephinany and do things differently????? then you are more stupid than I thought because yes all they are doing is placating idiots like you...
wonderful proposal zanders well done.....NEXT...that is how they think....ask yuhself why we football in such ah state...