April 24, 2024, 10:59:00 AM

Author Topic: Papa John's apologizes for receipt's racial slur  (Read 6938 times)

Papa John's apologizes for receipt's racial slur
« on: January 09, 2012, 05:57:04 AM »
Papa John's apologizes for receipt's racial slur
By Alan Duke (CNN)

Papa John's Pizza fired a cashier at one of its New York restaurants and apologized to an Asian-American customer for a receipt that identified her as "lady chinky eyes."

"We were extremely concerned to learn of the receipt issued in New York," the company said in a statement posted on its Facebook page Saturday.

Minhee Cho, a communications manager at nonprofit investigative journalism group ProPublica, posted a photo of the receipt on her Twitter account Saturday morning and by the afternoon it was picked up by a local newspaper.

Along with the receipt, Cho tweeted "just FYI my name isn't 'lady chinky eyes.'"

The receipt had been viewed online almost 200,000 times by Sunday afternoon, according to the counter on the Twitpic page.

Cho did not immediately respond to CNN's request for comment, but her boss did.

"This blew up far beyond Minhee's expectations," ProPublica spokesman Mike Webb said in an e-mail. "She has reporters coming to her apartment, and that's annoying. So she wants it to blow over and she has nothing more to say."

Cho was a customer Friday night at the Papa John's on Broadway in Manhattan's Hamilton Heights neighborhood, according to the receipt.

"This act goes against our company values, and we've confirmed with the franchisee that this matter was addressed immediately and that the employee is being terminated," the pizza company said. "We are truly sorry for this customer's experience."

Re: Papa John's apologizes for receipt's racial slur
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2012, 06:47:05 AM »
Leh me see ... she posted it on Twitter, yet is surprised at the outcome? Leh me guess ... an apology should suffice.

« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2012, 08:19:01 AM »
chinky eyes is that not a trini term or west indian .

« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2012, 08:48:00 AM »
"lady han-gook eyes or lady almond eyes" would have been applicable... pizza? shouldn't she be cooking some soon dobu cheegae? Minhee and I are acquaintances, this is a far cry from what we use to call her here in DC.... Papa Johns has issued an apology.

« Last Edit: January 09, 2012, 09:09:07 AM by Daft Trini »

« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2012, 11:41:31 AM »
Go to cnn and check d comments below the article...those are the winners right there.

Better Pizza, Better Racists...Papa Johns

Being terminated from Papa Johns isn't much of a punishment.

« Last Edit: January 09, 2012, 11:43:07 AM by Touches »

« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2012, 01:08:13 PM »

How many Trinis of Chinese descent grew up being taunted with the following rhyme:

Chinee, Chinee, Chinkey Eye
Flat nose and never cry

Is a good thing CNN eh get a hold of the lyrics of "Chinee parang"

CHINEE PARANG
By Damian and Melina Joseph

Christmas last year I spend in China
I had some fun in Chinatown
In front my door, out on the street
I heard music, it was sounding sweet
I looked outside to see who was playing
It was some Chinese playing music for me.

Chorus:
Wang-sing poong-pong chang-sing woong-wong
Poong wang chong
That's how they sound
Chiniling-ping chiniling pang
Poong-sing poong-ling wang-loong wing
That's how they sing
Chinee parang, Chinee parang, Chinee parang
Wang, wang, wang
Gimme Char Siu Kai Fan

I opened my door and invite them in
The leader of the band start introducing
One name Ling Long, he write the song
One name Lin Sing, he kept on singing
Mister Ping Chang was the main cuatro man
Achong and Lee, they were backup for he.

Chorus:
Pong-sing poong-pang wong-sing woong-wong
Poong sang chong
That's how they sound
Chiniling-wang, chiniling-pong
Pang-poong sing-ling poong-pang ching
That's how they sing
Wang, wang, wang
Gimme Char Siu Kai Fan

The girls in the band sounding real sweet
I had no choice but to move my feet
Su Li on toc toc, Kim Loy on bass
Meiling dancing and rolling she waist
Mister Ping Chang kept on with he cuatro
But what they saying, I really don't know

Chorus:
Wang-sing woong-wang poong-sing poong pong
Pong-sing poong-chong
That's how they sound
Chiniling-ling, chiniling-wang
Soon-sing poong-pong wang-poong ping-ping
That's how they sing
Wang, wang, wang
Gimme Char Siu Kai Fan

I told them take a break and eat piece of cake
But they told me, "No, let's get on with the show."
When they finish sing, they came in my kitchen
And at my table, they were staring
I offer them ham, turkey and fowl
But all they wanted was Char Siu cat and pow.

Chorus:
Pong-sing poong-pong chong-sing roong-wong
Poong-song pong
That's how they sound
Chiniling-wang, chiniling-ping
Poong-sing poong-pang woon-wang wing
That's how they sing
Wang, wang, wang
Gimme Char Siu Kai fan
Wang, wang, wang
Gimme Char Siu Kai Fan

You cant paint an entire organization on the asinine behaviour of an entry-level worker in one outlet just as you cant paint all trinis based on the lyrics of one song that many may deem offensive.

« Reply #6 on: January 09, 2012, 04:30:20 PM »
Chinee parang is the most glorious thing ever written.

« Reply #7 on: January 09, 2012, 05:38:52 PM »
Ever heard the Calypso:  Chinese Football Match?

here it is

http://www.mediafire.com/?uf0if9xtraa8q7b

Enjoy.

« Reply #8 on: January 09, 2012, 05:58:30 PM »

« Reply #13 on: January 10, 2012, 08:23:38 AM »

Nice Chinee

She's Korean.

same thing right? :devil:

Nope just like sushi: rice is the same, soy sauce is the same, wasabi is the same, but the fish is the difference.

« Reply #14 on: January 10, 2012, 08:50:44 AM »

Is Kim Loy on bass does do it fuh me  lol  :D

« Reply #15 on: January 10, 2012, 09:40:50 AM »

Nice Chinee

She's Korean.

same thing right? :devil:

Nope just like sushi: rice is the same, soy sauce is the same, wasabi is the same, but the fish is the difference.

personally, I like sashimi.  Nutting to mask the taste.

« Reply #16 on: January 10, 2012, 09:42:06 AM »

Is Kim Loy on bass does do it fuh me  lol  :D

my favourite is Char Siu cat and pow.

« Reply #17 on: January 10, 2012, 11:36:56 AM »
Eenie-Meenie-Minie-Mo,
Catch a nigger by his toe...

Everybody too sensitive. We spend too much time on stupidness like this, which serves to make non-racist people  defensive and distracts from fighting real injustice.

Chinee Parang is a hot song though.

« Reply #18 on: January 10, 2012, 10:48:53 PM »

How many Trinis of Chinese descent grew up being taunted with the following rhyme:

Chinee, Chinee, Chinkey Eye
Flat nose and never cry

Is a good thing CNN eh get a hold of the lyrics of "Chinee parang"

CHINEE PARANG
By Damian and Melina Joseph

Christmas last year I spend in China
I had some fun in Chinatown
In front my door, out on the street
I heard music, it was sounding sweet
I looked outside to see who was playing
It was some Chinese playing music for me.

Chorus:
Wang-sing poong-pong chang-sing woong-wong
Poong wang chong
That's how they sound
Chiniling-ping chiniling pang
Poong-sing poong-ling wang-loong wing
That's how they sing
Wang, wang, wang
Gimme Char Siu Kai Fan

I opened my door and invite them in
The leader of the band start introducing
One name Ling Long, he write the song
One name Lin Sing, he kept on singing
Mister Ping Chang was the main cuatro man
Achong and Lee, they were backup for he.

Chorus:
Pong-sing poong-pang wong-sing woong-wong
Poong sang chong
That's how they sound
Chiniling-wang, chiniling-pong
Pang-poong sing-ling poong-pang ching
That's how they sing
Wang, wang, wang
Gimme Char Siu Kai Fan

The girls in the band sounding real sweet
I had no choice but to move my feet
Su Li on toc toc, Kim Loy on bass
Meiling dancing and rolling she waist
Mister Ping Chang kept on with he cuatro
But what they saying, I really don't know

Chorus:
Wang-sing woong-wang poong-sing poong pong
Pong-sing poong-chong
That's how they sound
Chiniling-ling, chiniling-wang
Soon-sing poong-pong wang-poong ping-ping
That's how they sing
Wang, wang, wang
Gimme Char Siu Kai Fan

I told them take a break and eat piece of cake
But they told me, "No, let's get on with the show."
When they finish sing, they came in my kitchen
And at my table, they were staring
I offer them ham, turkey and fowl
But all they wanted was Char Siu cat and pow.

Chorus:
Pong-sing poong-pong chong-sing roong-wong
Poong-song pong
That's how they sound
Chiniling-wang, chiniling-ping
Poong-sing poong-pang woon-wang wing
That's how they sing
Wang, wang, wang
Gimme Char Siu Kai fan
Wang, wang, wang
Gimme Char Siu Kai Fan

You cant paint an entire organization on the asinine behaviour of an entry-level worker in one outlet just as you cant paint all trinis based on the lyrics of one song that many may deem offensive.

How come I haven't heard that Chinee Parang song before?!! It is brilliant!! Is it on YouTube?

I think Trinis are the best storytellers when it comes to telling a good story in song!!
Guess that's why we created calypso!!  Nice one Pecan! :chilling:
« Last Edit: January 10, 2012, 10:50:46 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #19 on: January 11, 2012, 12:20:13 AM »
How come I haven't heard that Chinee Parang song before?!! It is brilliant!! Is it on YouTube?

I think Trinis are the best storytellers when it comes to telling a good story in song!!
Those lyrics don't even capture the full effect as they don't have the background noises  ;D
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/R5pIwDxKMr8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/R5pIwDxKMr8</a>

« Reply #20 on: January 11, 2012, 07:30:00 PM »

Those lyrics don't even capture the full effect as they don't have the background noises  ;D
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/R5pIwDxKMr8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/R5pIwDxKMr8</a>

:rotfl: :rotfl:   That's just wrong!!!!   ONLY and I mean ONLY in Trinidad.  Plain WRONG!!!!

« Reply #21 on: January 11, 2012, 10:41:36 PM »
I have heard this a while now and does just laugh everytime.

« Reply #22 on: January 12, 2012, 07:42:31 AM »
Remember it had a song why spanish and brazilians are better than we in Football...

« Reply #23 on: January 12, 2012, 10:17:13 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/s7BlVaLEHWs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/s7BlVaLEHWs</a>