May 23, 2013, 05:14:44 AM

Author Topic: Lester Peltier racially abused in Slovakia.  (Read 3001 times)

Lester Peltier racially abused in Slovakia.
« on: February 03, 2012, 04:24:52 AM »
Peltier racially abused in Slovakia.
By Stephon Nicholas (Newsday).

“We don’t need your kind here so go back before we do something to you.” That has been some of the racial abuse suffered by national footballer Lester Peltier since moving to Slovakia to play for AS Trencin 19 months ago to pursue his career.

Speaking to Newsday via the telephone yesterday, Peltier painted a gloomy picture of the life of a black professional footballer in Slovakia.

On Tuesday, the 23-year-old expressed his frustration via the social networking site Twitter stating “I can’t take the racist abuse”.

When contacted, Peltier described some of the taunts he has had to endure.

“It doesn’t have much black people here. Even though I’m doing good with the football team, there are one or two problems with people who are not accustomed seeing black people here. It had one incident where I went out with a colleague of mine from Senegal and people were saying ‘go back to Africa’. They don’t care (about us), they just say what’s on their mind,” he said.

Peltier revealed that he was even threatened by a man once and pointed out that life outside of football is a mental challenge.

He noted that racism does not rear its ugly head in the city or at stadiums and revealed his teammates also expressed outrage about the he has been treated.

“In the city it’s no problem and it’s not in the stadiums because I get a lot of respect from fans. When I’m substituted I get a standing ovation,” he explained. With high profile incidents of racism in the past and even currently involving players such as Eto’o, Luis Suarez, Patrice Evra and England captain John Terry, Peltier never believed it could happen to him. “I know the history of these places but I never had a racial comment directed at me before. So to hear someone call me the ‘N’ word was different. You just have to smile and know what you are about,” he explained.

Commenting on life on the field-of-play, Peltier expressed delight with what he has been able to achieve so far.

“I’m one of the top players in the league. So far it’s good . I’m happy with the club and I’ve never had any complaint football-wise,” he pointed out. Although noting that it was difficult to acclimatise at first, Peltier is overjoyed he is fulfilling his dream and is even enjoying the frigid weather conditions.

“This is my first winter and oh my God it is so cold. We don’t train on certain days because Slovakia is colder than England and Belgium. It’s good training the snow, though, it’s fun,” he declared.

Meanwhile, the former Jabloteh player, expressed disappointment in the “Soca Warriors” failed campaign for the 2014 World Cup. Peltier provided a glimmer of hope for the future, however, bagging four goals including a hat-trick against Barbados. “I was really happy finishing with the most goals but disappointed that it didn’t really count for anything,” he said.

Asked what TT need to do to rebuild and regain their place as one of the top football countries in CONCACAF, the AS Trencin forward was adamant that investing in the youths is the key.

“TT need to invest in young players and the Pro League to get more opportunities to go outside. Even the Under-23s are doing good. We have to focus on our future,” he concluded.

Re: Lester Peltier racially abused in Slovakia.
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2012, 06:09:08 AM »
Cant believe in this day and age people still so racial.

« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2012, 06:16:17 AM »
Racist bastards! >:( Why should we help improve a league whose people have no respect for us? Just food for thought...

« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2012, 06:20:28 AM »
redman, We help improve a league ? de man getting paid to do a job, they sign him because they like him, that dont mean everyone racist ?

Right in T&T we have so many racial people, but it does not mean de whole country racial.
« Last Edit: February 03, 2012, 06:22:57 AM by Sam »

Offline Trini _2018

« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2012, 07:39:32 AM »

in those eastern European countries yes .. Jan Micheal Williams had the same problem in Hungary and Belgium ..... and this player from W connection Williams who is on trail at a polish club will encounter the same thing ...
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/sh8SeGmzai4" target="_blank" class="new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/sh8SeGmzai4</a>

« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2012, 09:22:00 AM »
I don't mean to make light of Peltier's situation but this is the norm if you go to Eastern Europe. This is one of the reasons I am hesitant to holiday there.

On the flip side the females go run him dong like crazy and dey eh shy  ;D

« Reply #6 on: February 03, 2012, 09:44:10 AM »
When things looking down breds listen to some johnny king

« Reply #7 on: February 03, 2012, 10:08:11 AM »

in those eastern European countries yes .. Jan Micheal Williams had the same problem in Hungary and Belgium ..... and this player from W connection Williams who is on trail at a polish club will encounter the same thing ...
I don't mean to make light of Peltier's situation but this is the norm if you go to Eastern Europe. This is one of the reasons I am hesitant to holiday there.

I used to think this too but the same thing is happening in the UK.

« Reply #8 on: February 03, 2012, 10:13:36 AM »
maybe yu need to go to discussion forum yu guh see more.... well two a dem for a start. anyway, peltier stan firm and be proud  of who you are.. f**k di rest share nuff wood fi di gal dem. as a matter of fact bread nuff a dem..

IF MI NUH RESPOND TO YOUR POST OR COMMENTS IS BECAUSE  YU DEY PON MI IGNORE LIST ,CYA MI NUH LIKE UGLY PEOPLE, FAGGOTS, AND RACIST f**kS.....
anytime an Indian defends his ethnicity and his religious beliefs he is labelled  racist by those who are....

« Reply #9 on: February 03, 2012, 10:25:54 AM »

maybe yu need to go to discussion forum yu guh see more.... well two a dem for a start. anyway, peltier stan firm and be proud  of who you are.. f**k di rest share nuff wood fi di gal dem. as a matter of fact bread nuff a dem..

look who fuuckin talkin
heeeerrree's johnny!

« Reply #10 on: February 03, 2012, 10:34:01 AM »
Racism exist all over the world. As a matter of fact racism is by and large the history of the World.
Football because of the media coverage it enjoys, simply makes everyone more aware.

« Reply #11 on: February 03, 2012, 10:46:22 AM »
share nuff wood fi di gal dem. as a matter of fact bread nuff a dem..

True he might ha dem gyirls on dey kneads when de deflourin dem but think of all the abuse de lil buns with afros that go suffer…especially de ones with gingerbread head
« Last Edit: February 03, 2012, 10:51:33 AM by Dutty »
Little known Fact:: Oh gaardoo ah reach 9200 posts
Ah movin like mih pardner west coast

« Reply #12 on: February 03, 2012, 11:10:52 AM »
be strong corn curls

« Reply #13 on: February 03, 2012, 11:38:17 AM »
Racism is popular like alcohol and bread in those eastern european countries. Will never forget on a ride in Spain where, I saw on a train, boldly written (in spanish) "Moors get out!"

Hang in there brother, let your feet make them love you...

« Reply #14 on: February 03, 2012, 11:57:28 AM »

look who fuuckin talkin
I will make yu gave me a hood job if you show me one thread I came across Like you and yu bullerman friend dem. Find a gym and go wrk some of dat mcdonalds of then yuh guh get sum of this delicious sumthin I have....
IF MI NUH RESPOND TO YOUR POST OR COMMENTS IS BECAUSE  YU DEY PON MI IGNORE LIST ,CYA MI NUH LIKE UGLY PEOPLE, FAGGOTS, AND RACIST f**kS.....
anytime an Indian defends his ethnicity and his religious beliefs he is labelled  racist by those who are....

« Reply #15 on: February 03, 2012, 12:14:45 PM »

look who fuuckin talkin
I will make yu gave me a hood job if you show me one thread I came across Like you and yu bullerman friend dem. Find a gym and go wrk some of dat mcdonalds of then yuh guh get sum of this delicious sumthin I have....

what about the black shit comment yuh ruttin scrotum, and I only get on yuh case because yuh talk ah set ah cuuntish shit about abusin people's rights and show me where is used racist language of any kind..............how it is dat complainin about d nonsense dat goin on is racist ....what because is ah indian dominated govt, allyuh need to drop dat victim act it old...............when manning was gettin it left and right from everybody for he nonsense yuh was dey front an center as for yuh threat anytime yuh ready ....yuh nashy ass goh be dead three times before yuh hit d ground..................fake jamaican cuunt
« Last Edit: February 03, 2012, 12:22:57 PM by lefty »
heeeerrree's johnny!

« Reply #16 on: February 03, 2012, 01:47:25 PM »
Two years ago I drove through Slovakia from Hungary to Austria and I saw not a single black person. We even stopped at McDonalds in Slovakia and still not a even a glimpse of a black person. All I kept saying to myself was let's hurry up and get through this place because it felt different, not like Eastern Europe have much diversity in terms of race.
I very well understand where Lester is coming from, all I can tell him is stay stong and use this as a means to an end in your career so you can move on to bigger and better things. Continue to let your play do all the talking :beermug:

« Reply #17 on: February 03, 2012, 02:13:34 PM »
For the most part it seems that Peltier is more accepted than not.  Those closest to him and with whom he's in the most contact seem to have accepted him.  This is the real blessing, he's playing well and God-willing this opportunity will lead to greater opportunities.  He should just maintain a level head, keep the negativity in perspective and not let it affect him... easy as that may be for me to say.

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #18 on: February 03, 2012, 03:44:42 PM »
Sadly it happens everywhere, although not as wide spread as that region. Look like KJ was the target of this crap too.

Man United fan charged with racist abuse

A Manchester United fan has been charged for shouting racist abuse at Stoke players during a Premier League match on Tuesday.
Howard Hobson from Manchester is accused of a racially aggravated public order offense and using threatening words or behavior to cause harassment, alarm or distress.
The 57-year-old Hobson was arrested at the game at Old Trafford after a complaint was made to stewards by a fan who heard the abusive comments.
He is due to appear at Trafford Magistrates' Court on Wednesday.
Hobson was charged on the day the England captain's role was taken away from Chelsea defender John Terry as he awaits trial for allegedly racially abusing Queens Park Rangers defender Anton Ferdinand during a match.

Read more: http://latino.foxnews.com/latino/sports/2012/02/03/man-united-fan-charged-with-racist-abuse/#ixzz1lMEJiusL

« Reply #19 on: February 03, 2012, 03:49:08 PM »
Sadly it happens everywhere, although not as wide spread as that region. Look like KJ was the target of this crap too.

A Manchester United fan has been charged for shouting racist abuse at Stoke players during a Premier League match on Tuesday.
Howard Hobson from Manchester is accused of a racially aggravated public order offense and using threatening words or behavior to cause harassment, alarm or distress.
The 57-year-old Hobson was arrested at the game at Old Trafford after a complaint was made to stewards by a fan who heard the abusive comments.
Hobson was charged on the day the England captain's role was taken away from Chelsea defender John Terry as he awaits trial for allegedly racially abusing Queens Park Rangers defender Anton Ferdinand during a match.

Read more: http://latino.foxnews.com/latino/sports/2012/02/03/man-united-fan-charged-with-racist-abuse/#ixzz1lMEJiusL

Now coming to post this.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2012/feb/03/manchester-united-fan-racist-abuse-stoke?CMP=twt_gu

Why would any black players want to play for United after this?  The club running the risk of ruining its reputation.
« Last Edit: February 03, 2012, 03:54:25 PM by Bakes »

« Reply #20 on: February 03, 2012, 03:58:13 PM »
Peltier just needs to grow up.  This is not really news the youth just need to open his eyes, hopefully sooner that later.  It would have been a different story if the complains originated from the club but from the article it's not so.   Keep your mind on your football doh be going all over the place like you and Senegal born there.  And overs this talk about you are one of the top players in the league, professionals don't speak like that. 

« Reply #21 on: February 03, 2012, 04:13:49 PM »
Peltier just needs to grow up.  This is not really news the youth just need to open his eyes, hopefully sooner that later.  It would have been a different story if the complains originated from the club but from the article it's not so.   Keep your mind on your football doh be going all over the place like you and Senegal born there.  And overs this talk about you are one of the top players in the league, professionals don't speak like that. 

what a cunnyhole of a response...you compounded freakin jackass....I guess anyone who has been discriminated against just needs to grow up huh????? I guess by growing up you mean just accept it...

« Reply #22 on: February 03, 2012, 04:46:17 PM »

what a cunnyhole of a response...you compounded freakin jackass....I guess anyone who has been discriminated against just needs to grow up huh????? I guess by growing up you mean just accept it...

Thanks for making my point for me Mep.   You were obviously offended by my post.  Fair enough, but look at your response.  Equally unnecessary as what Peltier complaining about.  Some people just ain't have any class and once you add hate to the mix it's always ugly.  In this situation there is nothing that Peltier should be trying to do but play his game.  I made it very clear in my post.  If it was his club it would be a different situation (legally) but if its running around the country side, just learn from it and overs it.    If you get a standing ovation from your club what more love you want?   And BTW you should grow up too.   >:(

« Reply #23 on: February 03, 2012, 05:09:57 PM »
No

Now coming to post this.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2012/feb/03/manchester-united-fan-racist-abuse-stoke?CMP=twt_gu

Why would any black players want to play for United after this?  The club running the risk of ruining its reputation.
No risk here, it was ONE fan that did it, and was turned in by another Man.U fan. We don't tolerate that shit, unlike the Liverpool team and SOME fans who supported Suarez when it happened.

« Reply #24 on: February 03, 2012, 05:20:44 PM »
These Slovakian people are just as ignorant about non white people just as the British were 50 years ago.The majority of these Europeans who are now moving to the UK are racists,no arguements.

« Reply #25 on: February 03, 2012, 06:05:05 PM »
Pardner play yuh football. But don't believe for one second that your value to these people extends past the field of play. Such is the human condition.

Keep focused on the game, making some paper and getting into the EPL. And keep yourself safe.
« Last Edit: February 03, 2012, 06:06:58 PM by ZANDOLIE »

« Reply #26 on: February 03, 2012, 07:16:08 PM »
No risk here, it was ONE fan that did it, and was turned in by another Man.U fan. We don't tolerate that shit, unlike the Liverpool team and SOME fans who supported Suarez when it happened.

...and Liverpool fans turned in the ONE fan that was arrested for racial abuse against Oldham.  The Club itself turned in the ONE fan seen making the monkey gestures against United.  Suarez was never accused of racism so exactly what did "we" tolerate?

Allyuh men is jokers yes... the way allyuh possessive over these clubs is like ah bunch ah yute men protecting dey Steve Austin cards collection, lol

« Reply #27 on: February 03, 2012, 07:18:44 PM »

Wheyyy all ah dat? lol

I tend to agree with Preacher to an extent... it would be one thing if was the club, fans or team mates with the racism.  The li'l imps and dem outside the city yuh just have to ignore that shit.  And yes, watch where yuh hanging out too... shame, but that's reality.

« Reply #28 on: February 03, 2012, 07:40:53 PM »

Call name nah p@$$yh@le ! wham yuh fraid somebody go reach through they monitor and strangle yuh? go brave!

« Reply #29 on: February 03, 2012, 07:42:31 PM »

Loud fackin Stuueeeppssss!!!!!!!!!!  ::)