May 24, 2013, 07:51:16 AM

Author Topic: DIMACHE GRAS FINALIST  (Read 1403 times)

DIMACHE GRAS FINALIST
« on: February 13, 2012, 11:30:02 AM »
11 finalists: Brian London, Devon Seales, Dexter ‘Stinger’ Parsons, Hollis ‘Chalkdust’ Liverpool, Duane O’Connor, Heather McIntosh, Kurt Allen, Lesley Ann Ellis, Michael ‘Sugar Aloes’ Osuna, Sandra “Singing Sandra” Des Vignes and Weston “Cro Cro” Rawlins.

Offline Jadel

Re: DIMACHE GRAS FINALIST
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2012, 05:57:02 PM »
Niceness, looking forward to hearing most of their calyspos again however why must Cro Cro in particular sing the same thing over and over.

« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2012, 07:12:16 AM »
Niceness, looking forward to hearing most of their calyspos again however why must Cro Cro in particular sing the same thing over and over.

D same way d chutney artist does sing d same ting evry yr. Imagine d promoter have 2 say NO RUM SONG.

« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2012, 03:23:10 PM »
The way things going right now, it seems as though there would not be any calypso in the Dimache Gras finals , the calypsonians said the prize money is not enough and  if they don't raise the prize money they would not be taking part in the competition . Lets see where this one going .

« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2012, 09:16:33 AM »
Mr Winston Peters Minister of Multicultural  Of Trinidad&Tobago why are you as a clypasonian is allowing this gross,gross  disrespect to the Calypso Monach to take place in  the art form that you part take of for

years, why sir can you explain please? I thought you be the culture minister would have made a difference in a positive way but it did made a difference ,maybe what your sister sang about you is true ,what an embarrassment you are to the culture.

First prize $500,000 for Calypso Monach and millions for the  power, grovie ,chutney this shows the disrepect to the art form.

Mr Peters i must let you know, if you were to sing Captain the ship is sinking today, you would be the calypso monach .       
« Last Edit: February 19, 2012, 09:22:15 AM by zuluwarrior »

« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2012, 10:40:07 AM »
Latest news from i95fm the calypsonians monarch will be getting their 1mill$ prize money  ,it just shows when you take a stand things will always work out in the end .

• Monkey know which tree to climb! :-)
« Reply #6 on: February 19, 2012, 11:57:45 AM »
Latest news from i95fm the calypsonians monarch will be getting their 1mill$ prize money  ,it just shows when you take a stand things will always work out in the end .

Good on them but they should have never had to fight for their due respect like that with a calypsonian as Minister of Culture!!
Just goes to show that most folks can be bought!!

« Reply #7 on: February 19, 2012, 12:58:18 PM »
Mr Winston Peters Minister of Multicultural  Of Trinidad&Tobago why are you as a clypasonian is allowing this gross,gross  disrespect to the Calypso Monach to take place in  the art form that you part take of for

years, why sir can you explain please? I thought you be the culture minister would have made a difference in a positive way but it did made a difference ,maybe what your sister sang about you is true ,what an embarrassment you are to the culture.

First prize $500,000 for Calypso Monach and millions for the  power, grovie ,chutney this shows the disrepect to the art form.

Mr Peters i must let you know, if you were to sing Captain the ship is sinking today, you would be the calypso monach .       
Not only that ..Pan is the National Instrument and the winning band only gets 1 million absolutely absurd. Cyah wait to hear cro cro tonight....

« Reply #8 on: February 19, 2012, 01:05:51 PM »
Reminder! The Hunt Is On.... and we go Hunt them down tonight, tonight, tonight...
« Last Edit: February 19, 2012, 01:09:04 PM by davyjenny1 »

http://www.calypsovibrations.com http://www.duaneoconnor-tt.com

« Reply #9 on: February 19, 2012, 05:02:29 PM »
  what time is the show and is it streaming on the web?
The heights that great men reached and kept were not attained by sudden flight; for they while their companions slept, toiled on upwards through the night.

A library is not a luxury but one of the necessities of life.

« Reply #10 on: February 19, 2012, 05:38:41 PM »
The show now start and it's streaming on C

http://www.ctntworld.com/livestream/

« Reply #11 on: February 19, 2012, 05:39:00 PM »
I guess the strike done.

« Reply #12 on: February 19, 2012, 06:02:40 PM »
thanks i now taking it in...hm i seeing dancers of all sizes in the opening number :o
The heights that great men reached and kept were not attained by sudden flight; for they while their companions slept, toiled on upwards through the night.

« Reply #13 on: February 19, 2012, 06:14:52 PM »

« Reply #14 on: February 19, 2012, 06:27:44 PM »
thanks i now taking it in...hm i seeing dancers of all sizes in the opening number :o

All saltfish sweet...  ::)

« Reply #15 on: February 19, 2012, 09:09:11 PM »
who alyuh like so far?   ppl saying kurt allen but i like how brian london, karene asche and in particular duane o connor performed.   good show man.

Online Toppa

« Reply #16 on: February 19, 2012, 09:11:23 PM »
Now dat is performance!!!! hahha Best of the round fuh me.

The hunt is on.

« Reply #17 on: February 19, 2012, 09:16:46 PM »
For round one I have my top 7 in this order!

Duane O Connor
Karene Ashe
Brian London
kurt allen
Stinger
Cro Cro
Sugar Aloes

« Reply #18 on: February 19, 2012, 09:22:42 PM »
dais good talk dey pro

« Reply #19 on: February 19, 2012, 09:23:53 PM »
I would put Brian london last, that song was a mess.
And cro cro ahead of stinger.
« Last Edit: February 19, 2012, 09:27:58 PM by Bitter »

« Reply #20 on: February 19, 2012, 10:49:33 PM »
The 2nd song separating the sheep from the goats
right now I have cro-cro and chalkie on top.

« Reply #21 on: February 20, 2012, 12:25:34 AM »
The hunt was successful!

1. Duane O'Connor
2. Kurt Allen
3. Kareene Ache
4. Devon Seales
5. Heather McIntosh
6. Chalkdust
7. Sugar Aloes
8. Stinger
9. Brian London
10. Singing Sandra
11 Leslie Ann Ellis
12 Cro Cro

Davyjenny will start a new thread tomorrow...  ;D
« Last Edit: February 20, 2012, 12:55:03 AM by Bitter »

« Reply #22 on: February 20, 2012, 08:33:51 AM »
O’Connor crowned Calypso Monarch
Story Created: Feb 20, 2012 at 3:35 AM ECT
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/-OConnor-crowned-Calypso-Monarch--OConnor-crowned-Calypso-Monarch-BREAKING-NEWS----139674653.html#idc-container

The Hunt Is On

Duane O’Connor is the 2012 Calypso Monarch.
O’Connor was crowned at the end of the Dimanche Gras show, this morning, beating 11 other calypsonians at the Queen’s Park Savannah, in Port of Spain.
O’Connor’s two songs – “The Hunt is On” and “Long Live Calypso” – earned him the $1 million first prize. Kurt Allen and 2011 Calypso Monarch Karene Asche finished second and third, respectively.
Earlier in the season, O’Connor won the Young Kings competition.
Roland St George, portraying “Ralliez-Vous A Mon Panache Blanc”, was crowned King of Carnival, this morning, while the Queen of Carnival title went to Chariss Bovell, who portrayed “Mother of Humanity-The Weeping Madonna”.

Calypso Monarch

1. Duane O’Connor (The Hunt is On, Long Live Calypso)
2. Kurt Allen (Long Live Calypso, When Will It End)
3. Karene Asche (Against All Odds, You Will Win The Battle But)
4. Devon Seale (One Is One, Snapshots)
5. Heather Mac Intosh (The Adjective, One Gone)
6. Dr. Hollis “Chalkdust” Liverpool (Shame Mr Shak, How’s Dat)
7. Michael “Sugar Aloes” Osouna (Doh Force Meh Hand, Chinese Kidnapping)
8. Dexter “Stinger” Parsons (My Reason For Being Here, Advice In Song)
9. Brian London (Not Brian, Doh Complain - Come Plain)
10. Sandra “Singing Sandra” Des Vignes-Millington (On Turning 50, Why I Sing)
11. Lesley Ann Ellis (Street Justice, Mothers and Others)
12. Weston “Cro Cro” Rawlins (Say Something, Release Them)

King of Carnival
1. Roland St George - Ralliez-Vous A Mon Panache Blanc
2. Gerard Weekes - Malak Yahweh, The Praying Mantis
3. Curtis Eustace - The Midnight Messenger, The Mask Of
4. Adrian Young - The Crow
5. Earl Thompson - Icarus Ascending
6. Brian Chin - Prince Siegfried, the story of Swan Lake, tribute to Wayne Berkeley
7. Zainool Mohammed - Kwak Waka Wakin, the Sacred Totem
8. Wade Madray - Flight of Conscience
9. Jhawhan Thomas - Alpha
10. Shane Philip - Tree of Life

Queen of Carnival
1. Chariss Bovell - Mother of Humanity-The Weeping Madonna
2. Roxanne Omalo - Last Dance of the Enchanted Witches
3. Rose Marie Kuru Jagessar - Wachiw-I Dream of a Bustle Dancer
4. Shari Derek - D’Woman and D’Butterflies
5. Kay Mason - Amethyst Rising
6. Lanie Lezama - Harmony
7. Cherry-Ann Patrice Valere - The Limbo Dancer
8. Laura Rampersad - Princess of the Mardi Gras
9. Patricia Bailey - Exotic Sunset on the Horizon
10. Avernell Johnson - Princess Odette, Queen of the Swans

« Last Edit: February 20, 2012, 08:35:26 AM by Bitter »

« Reply #23 on: February 20, 2012, 05:45:50 PM »
the weeping madonna  costume was nice. McFarlane again. Minshalesque. i hope they don't take it as a disrespect. The men was interesting. There was one on stilts with the globe and he fell. He could not keep his balannce or the wind was too strong. But it was tragic to see the man fell of the stilts with the costume. felt real sorry. The costume itself was really good imaginative piece of work. Then a next one came on stage with stilts dress as a bird and was moving real good and dancing fast. That was pretty nice too.

The show was too long. Ever since panmen split from Dimanche Gras, I find the show loss its pizazz.
« Last Edit: February 20, 2012, 05:49:48 PM by Deeks »