May 22, 2013, 06:28:01 PM

Author Topic: Santorum defends calling Obama a 'snob'  (Read 724 times)

Offline Trini _2018

Santorum defends calling Obama a 'snob'
« on: February 27, 2012, 12:42:22 PM »
Santorum defends calling Obama a 'snob'
By Mark Z. Barabak

February 26, 2012, 8:56 a.m.
Reporting from Tempe, Ariz. —

It's snobby to want everyone to go to college. It's not stuck-up, though, to pursue a higher education.

Rick Santorum parsed the difference Sunday morning on NBC's "Meet The Press."

Appearing at a campaign stop in Troy, Mich., Santorum -- his voice thick with derision -- said on Saturday: "President Obama once said he wants everybody in America to go to college. What a snob. There are good, decent men and women who go out and work hard everyday and put their skills to test that aren't taught by some liberal college professor that [tries] to indoctrinate them."

Anti-elitism is a popular chord, especially for a candidate appealing for working-class and blue-collar support, as Santorum is doing in Michigan. But his remarks also seemed to clash with the American ideal of self-betterment and the fact that college graduates fared much better through the recession than those lacking degrees.

Asked Sunday on NBC to explain his remark, Santorum assailed the "overly politicized values and [politically] correct values that are on most college and university campuses." He said everyone should have the opportunity to go to college or acquire a "higher level of training skills."

"But it doesn't mean you have to get a four-year college degree," Santorum said. "The question is what is best for you."

He cited his seven children. "You know what, they have different skills, they have different things that they want to do with the lives and the idea of sort of saying, 'Well, unless you do this... you're not sort of living up to our goals,' I disagree with that."

Pressed by moderator David Gregory whether he encouraged his children to go to college, Santorum said he encouraged them "to get higher education."

"In fact, if college is the best place for them, absolutely, but you know what? If going to a trade school and learning to be a carpenter or a plumber or other types of skills or an artist... or musician, all of those things are very important and worthwhile professions that we should not look down our nose at."

Chris Christie, the outspoken New Jersey governor who has endorsed Mitt Romney, said Sunday that calling the president a snob was "probably over the line."

“Every kid doesn’t want to go to college, but I think we should aspire to let every child reach his maximum or her maximum potential,” Christie said on CBS' "Face the Nation." “… And I certainly don’t think the president’s a snob for saying that.”

mark.barabak@latimes.com
Kim Geiger in the Washington bureau contributed to this report.
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/sh8SeGmzai4" target="_blank" class="new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/sh8SeGmzai4</a>

Re: Santorum defends calling Obama a 'snob'
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2012, 01:00:24 PM »
ah hear dey burning effigies of de prez in pakistan. dem so racist.

« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2012, 01:54:24 PM »
  what the heck is wrong with santorum...you know what...i want him to beat romney b/c for sure obama going and win 4 more years...santorum dem feel the american populace going and get ketch with them antics again...steupss
The heights that great men reached and kept were not attained by sudden flight; for they while their companions slept, toiled on upwards through the night.

A library is not a luxury but one of the necessities of life.

« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2012, 02:49:38 PM »
Santorum might be walking a thin line but he knows exactly what he is doing. His name is circulating in the news, he is solidifying his  rebel conservative bonafides to his natural constituency, and sending signals to certain groups as to where a 'President Santorum' might steer certain aspects of social policy, among other things. The sad thing is the media whordes pass this crap off for news. Then again substantive reporting is hard when the candidates lack said substance.

ah hear dey burning effigies of de prez in pakistan. dem so racist.

never thought i would hear a back person (presumably) advocating this kind of thing.

• Manicou
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2012, 03:16:12 PM »
His name is circulating in the news

It sure is ...

http://spreadingsantorum.com/

I know it is old news, but just saying ...

« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2012, 05:46:11 PM »
The sad thing is the media whordes pass this crap off for news.

This is not TT. Once you aspire to run for public office, be it school board member to Prez, what ever you say is news. And even TT media is printing everything the politicians are saying. Plus you have you-tube, Wiki, facebook, etc

« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2012, 06:18:18 PM »
This party really losing the plot yes. So if Obama is the snob, what is Santorum with his 3 degrees? Ah wonder if he sending his kids to learn a trade? Maybe he home.schooling them for their Bachelors... steups

I really wonder if Santorum really doing this just to spite Romney. If he end up being the Repub nominee i dont see how he plans to move to the center to attract independents. This man running off everybody but the hard core base.

. Can you image a debate between him and Obama? BO would roll him up like a cheap rug.

« Reply #7 on: February 27, 2012, 07:02:43 PM »
Santorum might be walking a thin line but he knows exactly what he is doing. His name is circulating in the news, he is solidifying his  rebel conservative bonafides to his natural constituency, and sending signals to certain groups as to where a 'President Santorum' might steer certain aspects of social policy, among other things. The sad thing is the media whordes pass this crap off for news. Then again substantive reporting is hard when the candidates lack said substance. 

Not only have the fortunes of the nation changed since Bush took power 12 years ago, but so have the mores.  Sure he might be pushing the conservative hard line, but Republican voters aren't the only ones paying attention.  Democratic voters, no matter what their disappointment/disagreement with Obama, would never vote for someone espousing Santorum's ideology.  Independent voters may be more inclined, but would likely vote Republican only as an alternative to voting Democratic, as opposed to the Republicans being a first choice.

Over the course of the past two electoral cycles Independents have been trending Democratic.  With the economy improving, majority support of the social and economic policies of the Obama administration, withdrawal of troops overseas, unemployment falling, and rising approval rates for the President... Santorum, indeed all the Republican candidates are facing an already uphill battle as is, without further greasing their own skids.

I also endorse what Deeks says... it doesn't matter the merits of what's being said, all major candidates are going to get widespread media coverage.  That's just the way the process is here in the US, or else media outlets would have to deal with charges of favoritism and bias.

« Reply #8 on: February 27, 2012, 07:33:07 PM »
The sad thing is the media whordes pass this crap off for news.

This is not TT. Once you aspire to run for public office, be it school board member to Prez, what ever you say is news. And even TT media is printing everything the politicians are saying. Plus you have you-tube, Wiki, facebook, etc

Maybe news but not sorry, not newsworthy. I think a corner has been turned when a candidate deliberately and consistently broadcasts blatant lies about a nation's elected leader and the media happily carries the message. Karl Rove used the same disgraceful tactics against John McCain when he instigated a racist whisper campaign that McCain had a black child. Except this wutless cyat Santorum using personal attacks against on the elected leader of the United States, and one of the most principled presidents (whether you like obama or not) in my recent memory all just to get over Romney.

It irks me to f**king death when a man envelopes himself in one set of symbols (in this case the flag and bible) and then carrying on like the devil in the opposite direction. So much for the principled conservative'

« Reply #9 on: February 27, 2012, 07:35:12 PM »
This party really losing the plot yes. So if Obama is the snob, what is Santorum with his 3 degrees? Ah wonder if he sending his kids to learn a trade? Maybe he home.schooling them for their Bachelors... steups

I really wonder if Santorum really doing this just to spite Romney. If he end up being the Repub nominee i dont see how he plans to move to the center to attract independents. This man running off everybody but the hard core base.

. Can you image a debate between him and Obama? BO would roll him up like a cheap rug.

Of course he just doing it to spite Romney. Its all just an act to show the consercative republican base that he is the more conservative of the two.

Edit: I see where you are coming from and i agree. Its a reckless and risky strategy but if he clinches the nomination he can bring moderates back in by his choice of VP. If he looses he is still a powerbroker but will be of little use and perhaps even damaging to Romney's presidential aspirations.

Santorum sees to be razing everything around him to the ground with little to no thought to the aftermath.
« Last Edit: February 27, 2012, 08:29:54 PM by ZANDOLIE »

« Reply #10 on: February 27, 2012, 08:09:56 PM »

Not only have the fortunes of the nation changed since Bush took power 12 years ago, but so have the mores.  Sure he might be pushing the conservative hard line, but Republican voters aren't the only ones paying attention.  Democratic voters, no matter what their disappointment/disagreement with Obama, would never vote for someone espousing Santorum's ideology.  Independent voters may be more inclined, but would likely vote Republican only as an alternative to voting Democratic, as opposed to the Republicans being a first choice.

Over the course of the past two electoral cycles Independents have been trending Democratic.  With the economy improving, majority support of the social and economic policies of the Obama administration, withdrawal of troops overseas, unemployment falling, and rising approval rates for the President... Santorum, indeed all the Republican candidates are facing an already uphill battle as is, without further greasing their own skids.

I also endorse what Deeks says... it doesn't matter the merits of what's being said, all major candidates are going to get widespread media coverage.  That's just the way the process is here in the US, or else media outlets would have to deal with charges of favoritism and bias.

I understand that anything that comes out of these fellas mouths will be widely reported. But there is a difference in reporting the news and delivering the message. McLuhan said the content of a message is like a piece of meat used by a house burgular to distract the watchdog of the mind. the press used to pride itself in its function as a watchdog (one of its functions anyway). but they are becoming more like a lap dog.

I don't mind a little dirty politricking once in a while. but when a campaign manager calls Obama a radical muslim, and then the candidate calls the presidents theology 'false' and the media pushing that as frontline news...all serving this man's purpose to appear more hardcore than his opponent...then some ramparts have been breached and the system needs some critical re-examination. but as noted times change.

as far as the election goes, yeah obama will probably eat the good senator alive. but while romney is no hero of mine i feel he is a far better man than santorum, and i would hate to see the take away lesson be that overt manipulation and dishonesty are rewarded.
« Last Edit: February 27, 2012, 08:27:03 PM by ZANDOLIE »

« Reply #11 on: February 27, 2012, 08:40:19 PM »
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/02/26/santorum-church-and-state_n_1302246.html

The asshole also said the  separation of church and state makes him want to vomit.

Rick Santorum on Sunday took on separation of church and state.

"I don't believe in an America where the separation of church and state are absolute," he told 'This Week' host George Stephanopoulos. "The idea that the church can have no influence or no involvement in the operation of the state is absolutely antithetical to the objectives and vision of our country...to say that people of faith have no role in the public square? You bet that makes me want to throw up."

The GOP candidate was responding to comments he made last October. He had said that he "almost threw up" after reading JFK's 1960 speech in which he declared his commitment to the separation of church and state.

Santorum also on Sunday told Meet The Press host David Gregory that separation of church and state was "not the founders' vision."

The GOP candidate has been doubling down on religious rhetoric in an effort to court evangelical voters ahead of Super Tuesday. Last week, he questioned Obama's spiritual beliefs.

"[Obama believes in] some phony ideal, some phony theology ... not a theology based on the Bible, a different theology," he said.

It is obvious that this m,an is a f**king imbecile..ah mean seriously.

Again Santorum is obviously an imbecile!!! JFK said those things because there had never been a Roman Catholic President before. People were afraid that a Catholic's fidelity to the Church would supersede their commitment to the country, and subsequently allow the Catholic church to rule by proxy.

Santorum tried to desecrate JFK's legacy by that jackassness

« Reply #12 on: February 27, 2012, 08:55:08 PM »
Maybe news but not sorry, not newsworthy. I think a corner has been turned when a candidate deliberately and consistently broadcasts blatant lies about a nation's elected leader and the media happily carries the message. Karl Rove used the same disgraceful tactics against John McCain when he instigated a racist whisper campaign that McCain had a black child. Except this wutless cyat Santorum using personal attacks against on the elected leader of the United States, and one of the most principled presidents (whether you like obama or not) in my recent memory all just to get over Romney.

It irks me to f**king death when a man envelopes himself in one set of symbols (in this case the flag and bible) and then carrying on like the devil in the opposite direction. So much for the principled conservative'

Normally the media gets to "decide" what is newsworthy.  When it comes to politics it's not that simple.  If an editor at CNN decides to not carry Santorum's comments, and FOX (or anybody else) does then CNN gets branded as being part of the Democratic machinery or of bias against Santorum.  Better to air everything (within reason) so that the electorate makes a more informed decision about who they voting for.

« Reply #13 on: February 27, 2012, 09:28:52 PM »

Normally the media gets to "decide" what is newsworthy.  When it comes to politics it's not that simple.  If an editor at CNN decides to not carry Santorum's comments, and FOX (or anybody else) does then CNN gets branded as being part of the Democratic machinery or of bias against Santorum. Better to air everything (within reason) so that the electorate makes a more informed decision about who they voting for.

i am in agreement, media shortcomings not withstanding. i hope sober reflection and the passage of time will guide republican descisions wisely.

« Reply #14 on: February 28, 2012, 01:15:25 AM »

Imagine if any of those nutcases gets elected President.
Romney said that poor people don't matter.
The next one wants a moon colony.
I thought Obama would have a fight on his hands because of the economy and taxs but these fellas like they just gone mad.

« Reply #15 on: February 28, 2012, 02:24:35 AM »
i am in agreement, media shortcomings not withstanding. i hope sober reflection and the passage of time will guide republican descisions wisely.

Part of me wants to say "who cares", but in the extreme abstract, you need strong political alternatives to keep all the parties honest.  Unfortunately Republicans are too beholden to their bases, the religious conservatives and corporate interests, to really come to their senses anytime soon.  They will oppose the social issues moderates and liberals consider "progressive", like abortion, compassionate immigration policies, gay rights etc... and they will push business friendly policies such as low taxes and limited government oversight (deregulation), which most sensible people consider economic suicide.

--------------------------

Fishs... taxes was never going to be an issue that Obama would lose on, the economy going too bad and people recognize that taxes on business and the wealthy can't be lowered any more than they already are.  The vast majority of Americans want an overhaul of the tax code, but that's not a Republican priority.  If anything most people are in favor of Obama's tax policy, which tends to offer breaks to the low-to-middle class... not exactly the core Republican demographic.

The economy was their best bet to unseating him... and that done turning around arready.  Unemployment at it's lowest levels since 2008, and the same TARP bailout program so many was tearing dey raiment about is largely responsible for turning around the economy.  AIG turn a profit and paid back the debt in less than two years, as did GM.  I can't remember what go on with the other federal aid recipients, but basically the government make back all the money it lend/spend and then some.  Last major economic issue was the housing crisis... which is  still somewhat in a state of flux... but as much as the Republicans try to pin that on Clinton-era policies that made it easy for many to own homes (perhaps even to their detriment), most I think recognize that the real culprit was financial deregulation by the Bush administrations... preventing proper oversight of the mortgage companies.

In short, the Republicans were always facing an uphill battle once the economy turned around.

« Reply #16 on: February 28, 2012, 02:50:14 AM »
 Agree with your take, its just the rhetoric that comes from the Republican side makes it seem as if all the woes of the American economy is as a result of the bailouts and Obama's taxes.
I have a colleague who is red neck republican and you should see the multitude of shyte emails that are circulating in his circles. These people are so dotish that they will believe anything that is couched in a language that makes it sound legitimate.
I don't know how big that base is but with the attacks that they have now launched against women, immigrants and the poor they are working real hard to lose the next election

A lil sample of the type of emails

President Makes Changes In Military Funerals...It Will Blow Your Mind

When I received this email, I could not believe it...
So, I checked with Snopes... I learned that it is TRUE:
http://www.snopes.com/politics/military/funeral.asp <http://www.snopes.com/politics/military/funeral.asp>

There has been a change in U.S. military burial protocol!

This is a letter that my good friend's husband wrote today after his uncle's funeral yesterday.  If Obama does not want his name associated with our military, he does not deserve to be "The President of the United States". - Alice Frankovitch

REMEMBER THIS on NOVEMBER 6, 2012

Dear Sean,
Today I was incensed at the conclusion of a traditional Serbian-Orthodox funeral for my beloved 85-year-old uncle, Daniel Martich, who proudly served in the US Army during the Korean conflict. During the committal service at a Pittsburgh cemetery the local military detachment performed their ritual, then folded and presented the American Flag to my aunt. As I'm sure you have witnessed during military funerals, a soldier bends to one knee and recites a scripted message to a surviving relative that begins 'On behalf of the President of the United States and a grateful nation, I wish to present you with this flag in appreciation for your husband's service ...'

However, today the dialogue was 'On behalf of the Secretary of Defense and a grateful nation...'

After the service, I approached the soldier who presented the flag to my aunt to inquire about the change in language. His response was: "The White House notified all military funeral service detachments to immediately remove 'the President' and insert 'the Secretary of Defense'.

I couldn't believe what I heard!  The soldier just smiled and said, "You can draw your own conclusion, Sir, but that was the order". He, too, was ashamed of what he was required to say. Obama has taken off the gloves. My only response to this endless cesspool of anti-American rhetoric dripping from his mouth is to borrow a phrase "with one minor change" uttered by another temporary Washington resident living in government housing (his wife!):

"Today for the first time in my adult life, I am ashamed of the current U.S. President!" I did not serve in the military but my love of country parallels that of people like my late uncle who bled red, white and blue. As a second generation Serbian-American who's heritage produced many patriotic military men and women who fought for freedom both in the United States as well as in the former Yugoslavia (most recently in Kosovo against the slaughter of Serbs by Muslim extremists),

I implore you to make the American people aware of this little-known or, at least, publicly acknowledged fact. May God Bless you and your family during these difficult times. Your voice of reason is a welcome change from the insanity plastered across the country by the liberal media. Keep up the great work and thank you for your service to our country.

Sincerely,
John G. Martich
Weirton, WV
(304) 374-3518
(304) 723-5414
PLEASE PASS THIS ON TO FRIENDS AND REMEMBER 2012 IS TIME FOR A NEW PRESIDENT AND COMMANDER IN CHIEF

=

=
« Last Edit: February 28, 2012, 02:57:07 AM by fishs »

« Reply #17 on: February 28, 2012, 09:05:36 AM »
Leh we form ah Socawarriors Super Pac... "socawarriors for obama"

« Reply #18 on: February 28, 2012, 09:43:40 AM »

i don't think its an entirely pro-obama thread. its more of a thread to discuss the 'scorched earth and toilet gamesmanship of santorium.

« Reply #19 on: February 28, 2012, 09:49:24 AM »

i don't think its an entirely pro-obama thread. its more of a thread to discuss the 'scorched earth and toilet gamesmanship of santorium.

politics here is a rigged game (there is nothing wrong with us throwing some money obama way), what santorum has to say will have little or no affect on the outcome of the general elections! the "snob" comment was uncalled for! If Romney does not win, the rep establishment is ready for a brokered convention! They are gunning harder for the House and Senate...
« Last Edit: February 28, 2012, 09:54:33 AM by Daft Trini »

« Reply #20 on: February 28, 2012, 11:38:32 AM »
I watched one of the republican debates and found Ron Paul the most compelling especially his position on defense and federal spending. As an outsider looking in I like the repubs but something wrong with them. They say the support the free market and they want to make government smaller and more efficient which is cool but at the same time they want to cut spending on education and social programmes and want to increase spending on defense. Ron Paul had to remind that the can't continue the international military crusade and also balance the budget and cut national debt which they all claim they want to do.

Santorum in particular comes across like a quack who would like to influence public policy. That's one thing but I think he's one of those religious types who believes America has some kind of moral and spiritual responsibility to the Holy Land

« Reply #21 on: February 28, 2012, 12:25:01 PM »
what happening with congress? if de GOP win de senate what kinda show de prez go run?

« Reply #22 on: February 28, 2012, 02:37:07 PM »
Agree with your take, its just the rhetoric that comes from the Republican side makes it seem as if all the woes of the American economy is as a result of the bailouts and Obama's taxes.
I have a colleague who is red neck republican and you should see the multitude of shyte emails that are circulating in his circles. These people are so dotish that they will believe anything that is couched in a language that makes it sound legitimate.
I don't know how big that base is but with the attacks that they have now launched against women, immigrants and the poor they are working real hard to lose the next election

Trust me I know about dem crazy emails... lol  One of my former professors is is Red State republican thru and thru and we would always go at it.  I remember in the last election cycle he was forwarding all these emails saying the country going down the drain thanks to the Democrats and that the world would basically end if Obama get elected.. LOL

Me and he is still good buddies to this day though.