May 25, 2013, 03:20:29 PM

Author Topic: Brownsugar: - The football fan, the talk show and the ex-FIFA VP  (Read 734 times)

Brownsugar: - The football fan, the talk show and the ex-FIFA VP
« on: February 28, 2012, 07:20:05 AM »
The football fan, the talk show and the ex-FIFA VP.
By Patricia "Brownsugar" Smart

… Radio talk show fan hits Jackpot

I really did not want to call that day. 

I had no intention of calling in when the live discussion started on Radio I95.5 with Minister of Works and Infrastructure and ex-FIFA Vice President Jack Warner as the studio’s special guest.  But I just couldn’t help it.

I must confess that I enjoy radio talk shows.

Over the years, I have found them to be good outlets for allowing citizens to actively engage in utilising our constitutionally guaranteed freedom of speech. And I think our willingness to use this privilege auger well for our young democracy and shows that we are growing as a people.

Okay, so the content that some callers bring to the table occasionally forces us to question our education system; but that’s a whole other kettle of fish.

I started calling into talk shows a few years ago though not on a regular basis. It was more of an indulgence than a staple.

Hey, I’m a busy woman and it can be so difficult to get on. I’m an accountant with deadlines, people to manage and friends and family to focus on; so I just don’t have time to hit the redial button repeatedly in the hope that I will hit the jackpot and get on air.

I’ve always been a little envious as to how some callers would get on programmes so regularly; twice in one session sometimes. I definitely belong to the more infrequent group of guests that, as we say in local parlance, catch “we royal nenen”.

I try to restrict myself to topics that I’m really passionate and knowledgeable and situations where I feel something must be clarified or corrected.

Even now, years after my debut, it is still a nerve wracking experience.

As I hear the phone ringing, I would take a few deep breaths and gather my thoughts.  I try to focus on one or two key points that I want to get across in the minute I have to do so.

This is another reason I hardly call in. One minute. That’s it.

I find it is not worth the trouble of repeated redialing for three to five minutes or longer just to say my piece in one minute or less.

I really tried not to call that day.  But the topic was the High Court battle between the 13 World Cup 2006 players and the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) and it was too important to me.

Read More:

Re: Brownsugar: - The football fan, the talk show and the ex-FIFA VP
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2012, 08:35:16 AM »
EH EH MEH GIRL ARRIVE

« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2012, 08:38:37 AM »
EH EH MEH GIRL ARRIVE

dem ting does happpen when yuh know people

Long time ah hearin rumors dat she and liburd does be winkin at each odder & playin footsie under the table
Little known Fact:: Oh gaardoo ah reach 9200 posts
Ah movin like mih pardner west coast

« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2012, 08:42:02 AM »
EH EH MEH GIRL ARRIVE

dem ting does happpen when yuh know people

Long time ah hearin rumors dat she and liburd does be winkin at each odder & playin footsie under the table

« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2012, 08:57:51 AM »
Niceness Brownsugar.....  :applause:

Lasana should vibes Flex, Tallman and de crew to hear we take on de TTFF too...
« Last Edit: February 28, 2012, 09:43:52 AM by Sam »

Offline Trinitozbone

« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2012, 09:41:31 AM »
Good going Brownsugar! It bothers me too that we have so many conmen trying to emasculate themselves as upright citizens and doing so much harm to the society in the process! Some eroding the very democracy they have sworn on oath to uphold! What they don't seem to understand is that  the society we have now is very different from even 20 years ago and they are not fooling anyone! It is time for them to come  clean! We cannot continue like this  much longer as we are on the brink , just like Gibbs!

« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2012, 09:53:48 AM »
Good going Brownsugar! It bothers me too that we have so many conmen trying to emasculate themselves as upright citizens and doing so much harm to the society in the process! Some eroding the very democracy they have sworn on oath to uphold! What they don't seem to understand is that  the society we have now is very different from even 20 years ago and they are not fooling anyone! It is time for them to come  clean! We cannot continue like this  much longer as we are on the brink , just like Gibbs!

The cadre of people that currently hold office swore no oath to uphold democracy.  Rather, they have sworn oath to uphold the constitution of Trinidad and Tobago to which they actively seek to rewrite and form into their fashion.

Online E-man

« Reply #7 on: February 28, 2012, 12:20:59 PM »
Nice write up there, brownsugar! Any audio link of the actual radio show?

« Reply #8 on: February 28, 2012, 02:15:45 PM »
That article is real BS... lol

MEP, good comment.

Offline Trinitozbone

« Reply #9 on: February 28, 2012, 03:29:23 PM »
I assume the Constitution is based on democratic principles but comment noted MEP, these principles seem to be sorely lacking in T and T for some time now!I have to agree with Keithos letter to the Editor in yesterday's guardian ! Only God can save our football !

« Reply #10 on: February 28, 2012, 03:37:37 PM »
Remember North Korea is called the Democratic Republic of Korea and what about them is exactly democratic.

« Reply #11 on: February 28, 2012, 04:17:15 PM »
Nice article Brownie

Online FireBrand

« Reply #12 on: February 28, 2012, 04:18:41 PM »
Slay dem dragons Sugar! Well done! :applause:

Bun it down and start all over!

« Reply #13 on: February 28, 2012, 11:33:17 PM »
That article is real BS... lol

MEP, good comment.

How yuh go call de woman article real BS?  Yuh irreverent eh? 

« Reply #14 on: February 29, 2012, 06:17:30 AM »
Very courageous of Brownsugar. She seems to have exposed a very important point about the feeling of empowerment from engaging /challenging authority / abusers etc. which can feel so good compared with the morale-smashing feeling of perpetual victimhood from a passive footballing public suffering under chronic tyranny. It takes a while for many to visualize taking that leap. Most will never. I salute her especially as a woman among many men in a dangerous, cut-throat "man's world". Dem fellas like Jackula, Scampito, Rodent et al, eh eating easy and it would be very insensitive and callous to give the impression of being dismissive of efforts like hers..
« Last Edit: March 01, 2012, 04:24:23 PM by dreamer »

« Reply #15 on: March 01, 2012, 04:06:54 PM »
I was out of it for most of this week with the cold and flu.  Things so bad mih eh come on here for about three days.....

Thanks for the comments....

aaaaahhh boy Dutty ah see you didn't disappoint  *smh*    :)
E-man......uuuummm no I don't have an audio link for the show that day.......sorry.....
"Buy a little rag and put it in yuh pocket,
Buy a little flag,
That's de way dey do it,
Find yuh self ah band and
Find ah good position,
When de music blast,
You'll find how to play mas!!!!...."

• Monkey know which tree to climb! :-)
« Reply #16 on: March 01, 2012, 04:52:00 PM »
I was out of it for most of this week with the cold and flu.  Things so bad mih eh come on here for about three days.....

Thanks for the comments....

aaaaahhh boy Dutty ah see you didn't disappoint  *smh*    :)
E-man......uuuummm no I don't have an audio link for the show that day.......sorry.....

Nice one Brownie, you're setting a great example!

Lets all keep up the good fight, we will get there in the end!  :beermug: