March 29, 2024, 02:30:47 AM

Author Topic: Good football books to read  (Read 7801 times)

Offline saint27

Good football books to read
« on: March 12, 2012, 12:12:48 PM »
I wanted to get some ideas of good football books to read , I'm currently reading "The Brilliant Orange : The Neurotic Genius of Dutch Football" ....any ideas

Offline saint27

Re: Good football books to read
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2012, 12:13:13 PM »
Not too interested in biographies

« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2012, 12:55:37 PM »
I am reading- Ancolletti-and Sir Alex- with the special one next on my kindle list Go To Amazon , great line up.

« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2012, 01:05:25 PM »
Check the reviews on Amazon and see which ones appeal to you.

Futebol: The Brazilian Way Of Life - Alex Bellos

Why England Lose and Soccernomics – Simon Kuper takes a look at statistics to debunk so many football myths

More than just a game – the story of black activists imprisoned at Robben Island. Tells the story of how they use football to preserve their freedom under the oppression of apartheid. Setting up a prison league, complete with FA, appeals board etc.

Miracle of Castel Di Sangro

Fever Pitch – Despite the fact that it is a bokk about an Arsenal fan it is a good book.

Inverting the Pyramid – Jonathan Wilson, evolution and spread of tactical formations and innovations

« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2012, 01:05:43 PM »
Currently reading Barca: The Making of the Greatest Team in the World

http://www.amazon.com/Barca-Making-Greatest-Team-World/dp/0956497128

« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2012, 01:32:13 PM »
One Night in Turin  :beermug:

« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2012, 01:32:45 PM »
Fever Pitch – Despite the fact that it is a bokk about an Arsenal fan it is a good book.

I saw the movie at an international film festival in T&T.
Not the Jimmy Fallon foolishness.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0119114/

Offline #4

• #YGBfiles: The Young, Gifted, and Black Files
« Reply #7 on: March 12, 2012, 02:06:39 PM »
"Pele: My Life and the Beautiful Game"- This was probably the first football-related book that I ever read, and is still my favorite.

Also, "More Than Just a Game", which someone mentioned earlier.

Offline Trinitozbone

« Reply #8 on: March 12, 2012, 02:44:28 PM »
Check out
How they stole the game by David Yallop (I think) if you want to know about FIFA politics!

« Reply #9 on: March 12, 2012, 02:56:05 PM »
Football against the Enemy.
How soccer explains the World.
The Professor

« Reply #10 on: March 12, 2012, 03:52:29 PM »
Football against the Enemy.
How soccer explains the World.
The Professor

This was excellent... as you promised.

« Reply #11 on: March 12, 2012, 05:47:47 PM »
Any Roy of the Rovers Annual

Ah bun and ah sweetdrink. How TTFF f--ked up TT football.

« Reply #12 on: March 13, 2012, 11:43:47 AM »
Herd mentality ting ... dis thread slap a man face red :angel:  ;D. Contro, how de book club readership coming?  :P

« Reply #13 on: March 13, 2012, 12:28:38 PM »
inverting the pyramid ...real good

have to get Brilliant Orange myself

FOUL.. good book also

« Reply #14 on: March 13, 2012, 05:38:31 PM »
Check the reviews on Amazon and see which ones appeal to you.

Futebol: The Brazilian Way Of Life - Alex Bellos

got this book as a gift some years ago.......had stolen and only just got it replaced 2 months ago.

Offline dtool

« Reply #15 on: March 14, 2012, 12:21:03 AM »
 PELÉ 70

Just received this book from Brazil yesterday ......
Clip from it .......

This is " PELÉ 70", the MAGNIFICENT, AMAZING PHOTO BIOGRAPHY of Pelé, released in 2010 in Brazil when Pelé turned 70 years old!

It's a 160-pages edition that features a fantastic collection of Pelé photos, carefully selected among more than 6.000 images (!), including iconic classic images and many RARE, NEVER-SEEN photos that even Pelé himself couldn't remember anymore!

WORDS: The book is bilingual (Portuguese/English) and has words by some of the greatest Brazilian football writers and "Pelé experts", such as Michel Laurence, Roberto Muylaert, Xico Sá and José Roberto Torero. It's a rare treat to read these authors since their work is rarely translated to English. And to make things even better, the one and only José "Pepe" Macia, the Santos forward that set the world on fire alongside Pelé, shares his candid personal memories of his days with the greatest footballer ever!

( Sorry Messi, you need to win THREE World Cups and score more than 1.300 goals, then we can talk about replacing the king!)

Offline saint27

« Reply #16 on: March 14, 2012, 09:04:09 AM »
Big mag what books you have at home so I could take a borrows when I come back ....I'll lend u the orange

« Reply #17 on: March 14, 2012, 09:11:42 AM »
I recently read Jose Mourinho - Made in Portugal the official biography by Luis Lorenco.

http://www.amazon.com/Jos%C3%A9-Mourinho-Portugal-official-biography/dp/0954684338/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1331737687&sr=8-1

Very interesting read that tracks Mourinho's beginnings from an assistant coach at Barcelona up until the Champions League win with Porto and the move with Chelsea.

Also have a copy of Ancelotti's autobiography but haven't gotten around to reading that as yet.

« Reply #18 on: March 14, 2012, 12:33:35 PM »
I recently read Jose Mourinho - Made in Portugal the official biography by Luis Lorenco.

http://www.amazon.com/Jos%C3%A9-Mourinho-Portugal-official-biography/dp/0954684338/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1331737687&sr=8-1

Very interesting read that tracks Mourinho's beginnings from an assistant coach at Barcelona up until the Champions League win with Porto and the move with Chelsea.

Also have a copy of Ancelotti's autobiography but haven't gotten around to reading that as yet.

Ancelotti"s book had me laughing like hell. He does not take himself seriously and is very humble about his achievements.
He also  provide some brilliant insight into the true professional world. Great Read

« Reply #19 on: March 14, 2012, 01:33:44 PM »

Ancelotti"s book had me laughing like hell. He does not take himself seriously and is very humble about his achievements.
He also  provide some brilliant insight into the true professional world. Great Read
...duly noted.

« Reply #20 on: March 14, 2012, 02:44:02 PM »
Saint...check meh nah..tell Small mag

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #21 on: March 14, 2012, 08:55:39 PM »
George Best bio.

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
Harry Redknapp Book
« Reply #22 on: October 08, 2013, 09:00:46 PM »
EXCLUSIVE: The day I went bleeping mad with Kenwyne... he was outrun by Kevin Bond!
By Harry Redknapp (Mail Online)

Kenwyne Jones had spent the previous season out on loan at Sheffield Wednesday and Stoke City, who were both outside the Premier League — and, at Wednesday in particular, he had looked terrific.

He had only played a handful of matches for us and hadn’t been too clever but we thought perhaps this level would suit him.

We got our first shock in pre-season training when we did a bleep test and Kenwyne was beaten by my assistant Kevin Bond.

Bleep tests are gruelling but they are the best measurement of fitness. A player has to run between two points in a certain time — indicated by a bleep noise — speeding up as he gets more exhausted.

It allows coaches to assess maximum oxygen intake. Kevin would have turned 50 the year he outran Kenwyne.

He just pulled up, like a tired old racehorse. ‘Keep going, Kenwyne, what have you stopped for?’ I shouted.
‘I’m tired, man,’ he said. ‘I know, Kenwyne,’ I replied. ‘That’s the point of it. We have to find out how fit you are when you are tired.’

But there was no getting him going again. He’d just had enough.

Later that summer we were playing Bournemouth in a pre-season friendly and he asked to come off.

‘What’s the problem, Kenwyne?’ I said. ‘It’s too hot,’ he said, shaking his head. ‘Kenwyne,’ I reminded him, as politely as I could in front of several thousand people. ‘You’re from Trinidad. This isn’t even a warm day for you.’

He had all the tools — a great spring, good pace and power in the air — but he was laid-back to the point of semi-consciousness.

He just looked like he would rather be on a beach somewhere. 

Laid-back: Harry Redknapp lauded Kenwyne Jones (back) for his talents, but believes he was too relaxed

Killer touch: Jones celebrates after scoring against Sheffield Wednesday for Southampton (right) and with rising star Gareth Bale (left) while at St Mary's

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2450051/Harry-Redknapp-book-When-I-went-mad-Kenwyne-Jones.html

« Last Edit: October 09, 2013, 10:11:25 AM by Flex »

Re: Harry Redknapp Book
« Reply #23 on: October 08, 2013, 09:49:51 PM »
That boy reeaaall lucky yes..all the best KJ..
"I tired man"  :rotfl:

« Reply #24 on: October 09, 2013, 05:52:26 AM »
That boy reeaaall lucky yes..all the best KJ..
"I tired man"  :rotfl:

The scary thing is that this is the view people have of Caribbean players. That players won't "bust a gut" for the club. Sometimes it may be true, but in many cases, players are not lazy but their demeanor comes over as laid back and disinterested. The step up from Pro League to Europe is not about talent or technique it's about learning to project the correct attitude so Coaches see what the want to see.

« Reply #25 on: October 09, 2013, 06:13:08 AM »
"... laid back to the point of semi-consciousness." Would love to hear from KJ.

« Reply #26 on: October 09, 2013, 09:46:51 AM »
It's an attitude.  I wonder how many of our players in the Pro League take fitness as lightly as this.  The majority of the gap between a top-level league in Europe and our Pro League is training methods and the attitude to training.  If you're waiting to give your all in a mtach and not training, chances are you'll be giving your all on the bench, unless you're a really exceptional talent like Romario (who hated training).

« Reply #27 on: October 09, 2013, 09:50:26 AM »
Kenwyne gone from having the best month ever to the worst month ever in two 2s, yes.

(In the press, I mean.)

« Reply #28 on: October 09, 2013, 10:37:21 AM »

Yeah that was a big shot from Redknapp. 

« Reply #29 on: October 09, 2013, 12:02:31 PM »
Kenwyne j Jones ‏@KJ9nes       6h
@SCFCRoss don't believe everything you read son