March 28, 2024, 02:24:28 PM

Author Topic: Carlos Edwards Thread  (Read 34109 times)

Re: Carlos Edwards Thread
« Reply #90 on: December 23, 2016, 11:34:27 AM »
Ah wonder if Marvin Olvier could get a bligh?

Hardest still playin in passa passa league?

What age was Latas when they call him back and he rescue us vs GUA?

Russell Latapy is a once in a generation (if yuh lucky) kind of footballer.

All due respect to Carlos Edwards  (who is one of my favorite T&T ballers) but eh eh anywhere near a Russell Latapy

« Reply #91 on: December 23, 2016, 12:04:40 PM »
Carlos was an offensive player who could play excellent Defence if called upon to do so. His performance iVS Sweden was one of the best by any TT player ever, given the situation we were in at the time of the game in the WC. Was Latas a great mid field player with superlative vision? ABSOLUTELY. But he was never required to play defense.

« Reply #92 on: December 23, 2016, 12:17:44 PM »
Carlos was an offensive player who could play excellent Defence if called upon to do so. His performance iVS Sweden was one of the best by any TT player ever, given the situation we were in at the time of the game in the WC. Was Latas a great mid field player with superlative vision? ABSOLUTELY. But he was never required to play defense.

That game vs Sweden was in 2006

We're now in 2016

Do you think that 10 years later, Carlos Edwards can play that kind of defense?

If you truly believe so, I have an igloo in Sea Lots to sell you

« Reply #93 on: December 23, 2016, 12:23:02 PM »

That game vs Sweden was in 2006

We're now in 2016

Do you think that 10 years later, Carlos Edwards can play that kind of defense?

If you truly believe so, I have an igloo in Sea Lots to sell you

I taking Carlos over Cyrus on that right wing...

Hart told me a month ago that Carlos making players in the Pro League look like school boys...

« Reply #94 on: December 23, 2016, 12:33:18 PM »
Hart told me a month ago that Carlos making players in the Pro League look like school boys...

Interesting.

Yet these are the players the Federation and new coach are counting on to get us through the Hex and qualify for Russia 2018

Carlos Edwards....at 38 years old....who cannot be guaranteed a starting spot in an english 2nd division team....is making Pro League players look like school boys.

You interested in that igloo bruh?  ;D

« Reply #95 on: December 23, 2016, 12:50:26 PM »
To be honest Palos...

Dwight was dropped in central midfield at 36 and did relatively good, in-fact our best player. Latapy was 38 too.

Calos is no Dwight or Latapy but could adapt the same role if he don't have the legs to run right wing back?

Just a thought, you never know.

At this point in time like always- don't matter who incharge we always in a quick-fix position.

« Reply #96 on: December 23, 2016, 12:59:57 PM »
I like the discussion. I take in a couple games with Carlos online and he was handling it (mainly just because of great football IQ). All them sh!t goals we (Cyrus mainly) gave up Carlos wouldna give up. But gosh boy he real slow down and might get beat for share pace...but I don't know...he was known for pace so maybe he could build it back up? (Merlene Ottey take olympic bronze @ 40). Either way this is the one thing they try i give them credit for.

« Reply #97 on: December 23, 2016, 04:50:36 PM »
Palos, things are bad at defense at this moment. Carlos is' or should be a short term project. If he was to go GC, then it shows how bad things are in the RB position. I or we had high hope on Cyrus, but he has not instilled confidence in lots of games. The other option is to play Cato. But we need speed and some skill up front. Unless there is a RW plenty better than Cato. Name somebody. Carlos is short term. Or should be short term. And I eh interested in an igloo unless Kim Kardashian in it by she self.

« Reply #98 on: December 23, 2016, 07:28:33 PM »
Palos, things are bad at defense at this moment. Carlos is' or should be a short term project. If he was to go GC, then it shows how bad things are in the RB position. I or we had high hope on Cyrus, but he has not instilled confidence in lots of games. The other option is to play Cato. But we need speed and some skill up front. Unless there is a RW plenty better than Cato. Name somebody. Carlos is short term. Or should be short term. And I eh interested in an igloo(in Sea Lots) unless Kim Kardashian in it by she self.
now that is what I call a (brain) dead body of water or ah river of (sad)dreams

« Reply #99 on: January 01, 2017, 10:41:56 PM »
Carlos, yuh will FEEL de weight of that armband. It eh no free ride, iz ah rollercoaster. Strap een, soldier!

Cornell say he eh there to keep tabs on wayward conduct. Fair enough.

Note: you eh have that luxury.

« Reply #100 on: January 02, 2017, 10:52:05 AM »

Roker Report meets... Carlos Edwards! (part one)
« Reply #101 on: July 03, 2017, 04:53:25 PM »
Roker Report meets... Carlos Edwards! (part one)
By Graham MacMillan-Mason (rokerreport.sbnation.com)

RR: Alright Carlos! Thank you for taking time out to chat to us at Roker Report. We always start with a nice easy one. Who would be your SAFC XI from your time at the club?

CE: With me in the team?

RR: Yep! Of course.

CE: Wardy in goal, then it would have to be big Nyron at the back. I'll pair him with Jonny Evans. Danny Simpson and George McCartney. Me on the right, Liam Miller and my fellow countryman Dwight in the middle, Ross Wallace on the left. Upfront I would choose Daryl Murphy and David Connolly. I thought they were a good combination and I’ve got two Trinidadian’s already, so I’ll leave Kenwyne out for them!

RR: You played against us for Luton Town the previous December, setting up a goal in a 2-1 defeat. Shortly afterwards Roy Keane bid £1.5m for you and you were on your way to Sunderland. How did the move come about and what did you know about Sunderland?

CE: I knew about Sunderland because of Kevin Phillips and big Quinny. I used to look up to players like that as a young professional earlier in my career. I knew that Dwight had moved from Sydney that year. There had been some rumours Sunderland and West Brom were looking at me whilst I was at Wrexham actually, but I never paid it any mind - I was just a young boy enjoying playing in English football.

I remember it (the move) like it was yesterday: it was a Monday, Luton played Cardiff at on New Years Day at Kenilworth Road. I got a phone call from my agent on the way home and he said I had to travel up the next day to talk to Sunderland. I remember looking at the miles and thinking "Jesus Christ! Look at the distance!"

Dwight called me in December and asked if I would fancy the move too; said he’d put a good word in, but I never expected anything to come of it. The rest, as they say, is history.

RR: How was the first meeting with Roy Keane?

CE: You don’t know what to expect do you (laughs)? I did the medical and met Roy, I had watched him on TV for years, but when you meet the individual it's totally different to your expectations. In terms of physical stature I remember thinking "he’s just a scrawny little guy like myself!"

He was polite. He told me exactly what it is he wanted, what he wanted to build and how he wanted to push for promotion. We were twelfth or thirteenth at that time, but he spoke about promotion even then. He bought a few more alongside myself afterwards and sometimes it just clicks.

When we lost at Colchester 3-1, I was just thinking "oh no", but the experience he had an an individual across his time in football helped us, plus the experience we had in the squad helped. That's what helped us to go on such an amazing run in the first place.

RR: What was it about the club and your own performances at that time that worked so well?

CE: When you come to Sunderland, you have no choice but to perform because of the atmosphere at the Stadium of Light; even away from home - the amount of fans that always travel, it blows your mind!

As a player, you can’t help but embrace the Mackems, as they call us. They’re true fans, they’re real true supporters through thick and thin, they’ll back you to the hilt - and they did that. With that support behind you it pushes you on.

In regards to the team, the chemistry was a different class. The players we brought on board fitted into the puzzle. Having Niall around the place felt like a relief too.

RR: You say 'we' when you refer to Sunderland....

CE: I still say ‘we’ when I talk about Sunderland because I feel I am still part of Sunderland.

RR: Is it the best you've played in your career?

CE: Yeah, I think so. It was the best time of my career in English football. I always talk to my missus about that. It was really enjoyable.

I still reminisce about that time. Me and my missus still talk about the time at the area. It’s what a player lives for. It's special to have been part of those times I had at the club and builds an affinity between us both. I'm proud to have played for Sunderland.

RR: What are your memories of that Burnley game and THAT goal?

CE: (Laughs) Yeah, that goal! The manager always used to say "hit the target" because even if the keeper saves it could be palmed out and go to the striker to tap in.

It all happened so quick; it was a great counter attack. As soon as I received the ball from Daryl I thought I could shimmy a little or something, but what made my mind up was my first touch; it was as perfect as I could have hoped. I had a little glance, got my head down - I don’t think I’ve ever hit a ball so well. Straight into the top bin.

I did a little shimmy celebration with my shoulders; it was to show I was over my injury I sustained against West Brom. To be honest I didn’t even know how to celebrate though! I was thinking to myself "Jesus Christ!"

That game was typical us though wasn’t it? We always make it hard. We’re cruising the in the game, we miss chance after chance, miss a penalty and all of a sudden Burnley are in the lead. I couldn’t let Wade Elliott get the best goal of the night though! You can’t go beating my goalkeeper from there, so I thought I had to beat him.

I still watch it on YouTube.

I like to watch it back and get goosebumps and watch the fans go crazy. In fact I went to do some training with a local team (in Trinidad) and one of the guys - he’s from Antigua - called me over and was telling me he was watching the goal on YouTube! People are still watching it ten years on - myself included!

« Reply #102 on: July 04, 2017, 11:52:33 AM »
Roker Report Meets... Carlos Edwards! (part two)
By Graham MacMillan-Mason (rokerreport.sbnation.com)

RR: The season after we got promoted, you pulled up with injury against Birmingham and spent months out. You returned against Derby only to suffer a broken leg. You were out for six months in total. How frustrating was that season for you?

CE: They gave me a timescale to come back from the first injury and in my first training session I pulled up. I think Roy started getting frustrated too. He sent me to a specialist in Finland. The specialist said it would of done more harm than good if they operated on it.

Eventually I got back and then broke my leg. It just felt like I never really got started that year. It was really hard because I was really looking forward to the season.

As a player you can’t dwell on it though, you just have to keep working hard - but I don’t think I came back the same player as before. Thing didn’t work out the way I wanted them to that year. It was a real kick in the face to be honest with you.

RR: Why do you think it went wrong the season after? Was it the players we brought in?

CE: I think at the time, in my opinion, the club didn’t seem in the best state as we hadn’t really had such a good season the year before, although we had stayed up.

Roy brought in some players but they were bad eggs. Their attitude, their approach to the game, training - everything. There were too many egos in the dressing room at once. Roy brought in players he thought he could mould into better players, better individuals - but he couldn’t control them. It went tits up and he had enough.

Northampton in the cup game he kicked over the tactics board. He went absolutely mental. He was really angry! I don’t think Jet Li would have done a better kung fu kick than that! Yorkie put that in his biography as you know.

RR: What was Djibril Cisse like then?

CE: We all liked Djibril, he was a good guy. He was like a French Roy Keane. You never knew what you were going to get with him. We used to take the mick out of him because of his hair; but he didn’t care - he was just being himself and that’s why we liked him.

Others players were just too arrogant though, too self absorbed and not right for that football club. It felt sometimes more like a fashion show than bloody footie!

RR: You got back into the side under Ricky Sbragia and played in the derby game at St. James. What was your personal experience of playing in a derby?

CE: It was my first time at St. James. It’s one of the better derbies I’ve played in, the whole atmosphere and the fans getting at each other. It’s a game that is special.

When Cisse scored we did that celebration together. You’ve just scored against the Geordies, you go mad. You just enjoy it!

I remember getting booed and I just smiled at them; like I always do! I kill people with kindness! You use more muscle to frown than you do to smile!

RR: You ended the season in the team but when Steve Bruce came in he seemed to allow you to go quite easily - were there issues with Bruce or was he completely honest? Any regrets about leaving?

CE: He didn’t give me a chance.

It was down to Niall who had to convince me to go, because I was going to stay and frustrate him - but that wasn’t me, I wasn’t that type of person or player but I just felt I wasn’t given the script fairly. Be honest with me from day one, I would prefer that. I felt I was told one thing, and when the time comes it’s something completely different. If I’m not going to be part of sometime plans, just tell me.

In the end I had to do what was right for me and my family. I had to move to remain sane and my time had come to end with Sunderland. I would never regret those two and half years at Sunderland though, never.

RR: Do you still speak to the likes of Kenwyne, Dwight and Stern John? How handy was it to have a fellow Trinidadian at the club?

CE: It was good. I had never had any Trinidadian’s around for me so long at the other clubs; it was refreshing. We all really got along well. I could talk to them in my Trinidad accent! We all had a good relationship before we were at the club.

Stern John is one of the assistant coaches for one of the clubs I’m associated with here in Trinidad, Kenwyne and I still meet with the national team. We’ve all got a good relationship still.

RR: What are your thoughts on Sunderland currently? With the appointment of Simon Grayson what are you hopes for the club?

CE: I’m optimistic. I always remain positive. I don’t think anyone expected us to win the league in 2006/2007 with the way we started. This could be the start of something special. You never know.

I don’t know which players are going to be there. I know that some big players have left and it’s going to take a little while. We all know the Championship is hardcore: you can spank a team by five or lose by five a week later. You have to be positive though.

Simon Grayson is going to have a full pre-season and I’m sure he’ll identify players to bring in and go for promotion. I know more than anything that the fans will show the support like they always do.

RR: Thanks so much Carlos for taking the time to answer our questions, you're a gentleman. Good luck in the future!

« Reply #103 on: July 04, 2017, 04:32:12 PM »
Up to Friday gone I watch that Burnley laser, was special.  Rolls Royce!!

SSFL Graduates – Carlos Edwards: Intercol was the real deal
« Reply #104 on: October 19, 2017, 05:42:59 AM »
SSFL Graduates – Carlos Edwards: Intercol was the real deal
SSFL Media

Carlos Edwards first entered the spotlight on the local football stage during his playing days as a member of the St Anthony’s College team in the Secondary Schools Football League.

His first taste of success came at the 1997 Intercol when he helped the Westmoorings “Tigers” to the National title in a 1-0 victory over then favourites St Benedict’s College before a packed crowd at the Queen’s Park Oval. Edwards and former national team striker Nigel “Pistol” Pierre were both members of the team coached by Nigel Grosvenor.

In this edition of SSFL Graduates, Edwards tells us how playing in the SSFL helped prepare him for his life as a professional footballer.

“Some of my best days of playing the game at home here in Trinidad and Tobago came during the Intercol or the SSFL seasons when I played for St Anthony’s College.

“I always had a love for the game but during my time at St Anthony’s was when I really began to take the game seriously and there was a real love that developed. When you realise how popular the league was, we were pulling bigger crowds than regular senior men football and every week we were playing in front of hundred and sometimes thousands of people even in the regular league matches. And once Intercol came around well that was a whole different story,” Edwards said.

“I remember when we played the Final of the Intercol it was a the biggest thing happening in the country that day. There were thousands of people coming from south to support St Benedict’s and we were the underdogs but people came out. I remember the Oval was packed out because there were people all on the track at the time and the Carib stand was full of supporters. After we won that game I think I can safely say that was the memorable final I ever played in this country,” said the 38-year-old  Edwards  whhas made 97 appearances for Trinidad and Tobago.

The former 2006 T&T World Cup player played professionally for Defence Force before moving on to play for Sunderland in the English Premiership as well as other clubs such as Wrexham where he lined up alongside current T&T head coach Dennis Lawrence, a former player with Malick Senior Comprehensive; Luton Town, Ipswich Town, Millwall and Wolverhampton Wanderers. His career in England and Wales spanned just under fifteen years. In 2011, he was named Ipswich Town captain and was later named the Players’ “Player of the Year” for the 2011/2012 season. While at Wrexham, he was named in the PFA’s Third Division “Team of the Year” on two occasions. in 2007, his 80th minute winner against Burnley confirmed Sunderland’s promotion to the Premiership.

His first club after coming out of St Anthony’s was Queen’s Park Cricket Club before he joined the Defence Force, going on to win the Pro League title in 1999.

“I will encourage any player who is seeing football as a career to give it a go at the Secondary Schools Football League. Things have changed a lot since my time but I still think the Colleges league plays a significant part in a player in terms of his love for the game and his early development. If you look at a lot of the players who have gone on to do great things such as Russell Latapy, Stern John, Shaka Hislop, Dwight Yorke and more and then players in the spotlight today such as Kevin Molino and Kenwyne Jones, they all passed through the SSFL.

“Of course more can be done in terms of development and that is there the football powers have to bridge the gap with the SSFL to ensure we have the right system in place to go places. We have to ensure we do not miss players who may fall through the cracks after the schools season comes to end But like I said, the SSFL was a big avenue for me and it helped me to develop an appetite for the game and prepare me for my career that followed.

« Reply #105 on: October 19, 2017, 01:23:14 PM »
Carlos was the real deal in SSFL. He consistently had (opposing) men going (the wrong way)!

Former Ipswich Town captain Carlos Edwards joins Woodbridge Town
« Reply #106 on: December 21, 2017, 08:59:35 PM »
Former Ipswich Town captain Carlos Edwards joins Thurlow Nunn side Woodbridge Town
By Mike Bacon (East Anglian Daily Times)

Former Ipswich Town star Carlos Edwards has signed for Woodbridge Town.

The 39-year-old, who played almost 180 times for the Blues and was club captain, is just waiting for international clearance – Woodbridge manager Jamie Scales is hoping Edwards can go straight into the squad for the game at Whitton on December 27.

Woodbridge, flying high in Division One of the Thurlow Nunn league, are looking to get promoted back to the Premier Division – Edwards’ input will only help.

“I’m absolutely ecstatic,” Scales said.

“Carlos is a friend of one of our main sponsors. I spoke to Carlos in the last 24 hours and he has said he wants to help us get promoted.

“He’s already on the team group chat and the rest of the boys couldn’t be happier.”

Woodbridge entertain March Town this weekend and Edwards will be in attendance.

As well as Edwards, Woodbridge have also signed Aaran Shepherd and James Hubbard - two former ‘Peckers players.

“I feel as a club we are making a statement with these signings,” Scales said.

“There has been so much hard work going on at the club over the past four years or so. We want to get back into the Premier Division and I think this says much about the ambitions of the club.

“In the last few games, we have not been at our best and we have had a few matches called off recently and it has allowed us to reflect on a few things.

“Now hopefully we can get our momentum back.”

Edwards has recently been playing for Central Football Club – a Trinidad and Tobago professional football club, based in Chaguanas, that plays in the T&T Pro League.

His last English club was Millwall, where he was still playing in 2016 on a short-term deal.

Popular with Ipswich Town fans, Edwards played as a right winger under Roy Keane but switched to right-back when Paul Jewell became manager.

He became Ipswich captain in March 2012 and was voted the Players’ Player of the Year for the 2011–12 season.

His experience is sure to be of great use to what is primarily a young Woodbridge side.

Former Ipswich Town skipper Carlos Edwards: I’ll be giving my all at Woodbridge

Former Ipswich Town captain Carlos Edwards is looking forward to bringing his experience to Woodbridge Town, and says he still takes every game ‘very seriously’.

The Trinidad & Tobago international, 39, who played almost 100 times for the Caribbean island, including in the 2006 World Cup Finals, as well as more than 170 times for the Blues, is back living in Ipswich after a spell in his homeland.

He’s looking forward to getting involved in coaching, as well playing for the Woodpeckers.

It’s a new challenge, but the amiable Edwards – a big crowd favourite with Town fans during his time in Suffolk – can’t wait to get going.

“I’m looking forward to it,” Edwards said.

“I’m glad to be part of it, as a team they (Woodbridge) are doing well, long may it continue. I just hope I don’t jinx it!

“I am going to be playing with the intention to help these guys. I’m not here to put pressure on them, some may feel a little intimidated by me, being an ex-pro. You can see it. But the more I speak to them, the more they know me.

“The way I see it, it would be unfair that having had such a long career I can’t give something back. It would be a bit selfish on my part.”

Edwards is still awaiting international clearance from Trinidad before he can make his debut for the Notcutts-based team, who are flying high in Thurlow One and look set for promotion back to Step 5.

The former Sunderland, Luton and Wrexham right-sided player has been impressed with what he has seen among the Woodbridge group.

“I took the warm-up the other day and I have trained with the team,” Edwards said.

“Even though they are in a low division to what I have ever played, these guys are passionate and have the talent. Like so many, these guys are taking time out from work and college to train and play and, from what I’ve seen, I don’t see why they can’t step up a division or two.

“They can do something with their careers if they are passionate enough to want it. I can’t wait to play and I take every game very seriously.

“If you get too cocky things can switch very quickly.

“If I don’t get my finger out and play seriously, I know, I’ll be battered. I always go on the pitch with a winning attitude.”

« Reply #108 on: January 11, 2018, 05:32:39 PM »
“Even though they are in a low division to what I have ever played, these guys are passionate and have the talent. Like so many, these guys are taking time out from work and college to train and play and, from what I’ve seen, I don’t see why they can’t step up a division or two."

We want to go straight from High-School in a dot on the map to pro, Premier League and World Cup , because we have talent, and 200 ppl(if so much) come to see the boys play. ::)

« Reply #109 on: August 08, 2018, 08:05:10 AM »
Luton v Sunderland: Carlos Edwards talks turbulent pasts at both clubs
By Alex Brodie (Sky Sports)

Few league clubs can claim a more volatile recent history than Sunderland, but their opponents on Saturday, Luton Town, have a strong case.

Between them, the League One clubs have accumulated five relegations, 16 managers and multiple changes of ownership and player sales since they were last in the same division 11 years ago.

Sunderland clinched the 2006/07 Championship title at Luton’s Kenilworth Road before the Hatters began a descent through the divisions, including financial problems, points deductions and a spell in non-league.

Despite appointing some big-name managers, Sunderland finished above 13th only once in their subsequent 10-year Premier League stay and dropped back to the Championship in 2017 before a successive relegation of their own last season.

Winger Carlos Edwards moved mid-season from Luton to Sunderland in 2006/07, so is in a good position to assess the various calamities that struck both clubs.

“At Luton, Mike Newell was a good manager. He did the best he could have done,” Edwards tells Sky Sports.

“We had a really good squad. But the board killed him in a way because he didn’t have the backing from them.”

Player sales
Under Newell, Luton were fifth 13 games into the 2006/07 season, but after complaining openly about player sales being the reason behind a drop in form, he was sacked in March.

“Players just started to go,” Edwards says. “Once one left, players were thinking: ‘I need to go as well.’ It was like they were standing in front of a gun waiting for the trigger to be pulled.

“That season, the team just went on a serious nosedive. Every time a club came in for one of the better players, it was the easy way out, they just sold them.

“Players moved on, things moved on then the club didn’t really recover until a few years ago.”

Edwards’ switch to Sunderland came over the festive period and was influenced by fellow Trinidad and Tobago player Dwight Yorke, who was playing for his former Manchester United team-mate and Sunderland manager Roy Keane.

Swapping relegation for promotion
By leaving mid-season, Edwards collected a title-winners’ medal rather than adding a relegation to his CV. Plus, he got to work with two legends of the game.

“Dwight phoned me after Luton played up at the Stadium of Light and asked if I was interested in moving. I saw it as a step up, no disrespect to Luton. I had the opportunity to play for one of the great former players in Roy Keane - and I look up to Dwight. He’s a hero and put Trinidad on the map. It was special.

“Luton told me I could go and have a chat and they had accepted a bid so I went for my medical and met Roy Keane.”

Keane, Yorke & the Premier League
Keane would later sign Edwards a second time when in charge at Ipswich, but Edwards was surprised on his first meeting with the famously intimidating Irishman.

“You’re expecting this big guy, but when you see him, he’s a very hard guy but actually quite small,” says Edwards.

“But I didn’t tell him that! I was so nervous. Imagine if I’d gone in and said that - he’d have told me to go back to Luton!”

After Keane signed Edwards in January 2007, Sunderland won 15 of their final 19 league games, losing only once. Having started the season losing nine of their first 16 leagues games, it was quite a turnaround to go up as champions at Kenilworth Road in May.

“The way Roy rotated the team worked well. He gave players their chance and then if things needed to be adjusted, he would do it.

“It was a great team chemistry that led us to become champions.

“I had mixed feelings winning the title at Kenilworth Road. I did feel for Luton, but I had a job to do. They had already been relegated but I think the 5-1 scoreline rubbed salt into the wounds!

“Some fans booed me but I think more in frustration than at me leaving. At the end of the day, Luton bought me for nothing and got a few quid, they made a profit.”

Change of ownership
Keane, Yorke and Edwards won promotion to the Premier League, where Sunderland would stay until May 2017, but none of those three would last long as the club began to change.

American Ellis Short gained a controlling stake in September 2008 and Keane left shortly after to be replaced by Ricky Sbragia and, eventually, Steve Bruce. Short then bought the club outright in May 2009. For Edwards, this was a difficult time at the club.

“When a new manager comes in, they want a fresh start and bring in their own players because at the time, they feel the players can’t do it for them,” Edwards says.

“I had a word with Steve Bruce. I wanted to stay, but I didn’t want to be hard-balled, just sitting around, waiting and hoping. I wanted to play, I didn’t want to just sit on the bench and collect wages.”

Players' commitment
The difference is stark between the ethos installed by Keane and displayed by Edwards and stories of changing room disintegration at Sunderland in recent years, most obviously displayed in Jack Rodwell remaining at the club on high wages despite not playing.

“When I was there,” Edwards explains, “we had a cohesion and die-hard mentality. We knew, for the fans, we had to roll our sleeves up and do the work. And we did. We knew we had to be on our A-game every week.

“I think in the past two years, the players have not had a perspective that they would go out and do that.

“You can get away with driving along one or two players in a game, but if you are driving along three, four, five players then you have walking wounded. You need everyone on their game.

“Everyone was a bit lackadaisical, maybe just going through the motions and hoping because they're Sunderland, that it, it’s a guaranteed three points. No, it’s never a guaranteed three points. You have to earn, to work for it.”

Improving outlook
Edwards, 39, is still playing at Woodbridge Town in Suffolk, while completing his UEFA B licence at Ipswich’s academy and has spent time coaching the Trinidad U17s.

He feels Sunderland have turned a corner - Short sold the club last season after going through nine managers in as many years - and can stop the rot following successive demotions, but he warns that they will not find it easy in League One.

“They seem more settled now, a few have gone, they’ve been revamped. But they have to realise they are a big scalp in League One,” he says.

“Clubs going to the Stadium of Light are going to be in awe. A lot of players will never have played in stadiums like that. Clubs will want bragging rights and to be able to say: We won at Sunderland.”

Kenilworth Road may not offer the grandeur of the Stadium of Light, but Sunderland fans will be hoping on Saturday it can prove as fruitful a venue as it did on their last league visit to Bedfordshire.

« Reply #110 on: August 08, 2018, 02:31:27 PM »
Yes I remember the days. Add Kenwyn Jones and Stern John to that team.

Unsung Heroes at The Den [Part 10]: One Love with Carlos Edwards
« Reply #111 on: September 12, 2018, 06:01:03 AM »
Unsung Heroes at The Den [Part 10]: One Love with Carlos Edwards
By Michael Avery (millwallsupportersclub.co.uk)

Originally joining the Lions on loan in March 2014, eyebrows were raised when Ian Holloway signed veteran winger/wing-back Carlos Edwards from Ipswich Town.  Edwards had pedigree and was a proven player at Championship level, but in a season when Millwall were desperate for goals, the signing of a 35-year-old player who played primarily in defence wasn't the type who would be top of the shopping list.  Luckily for the Millwall fans, there was an instant connection and from the start we were together, with a roof right over our heads.

Making his debut in the 2-2 home draw with Blackburn Rovers and being an ever-present for the Lions, the Trinidadian showed lightning pace, skill and plenty of enthusiasm that many players younger could only dream of.  Just at the time when Millwall needed a player who was willing and able, Edwards threw his cards on the table and showed there was still plenty to offer.  In a period of Millwall history that showed signs of instability, the right-back was the spark of energy the club needed at the right time and helped drag the Lions from relegation favourites to a respectable 19th place finish.  With victories against the likes of Nottingham Forest, Middlesbrough and AFC Bournemouth, Millwall were unbeaten in the eight games that Edwards featured in and he was also the only goal scorer in a vital 1-0 away victory against Wigan Athletic.

With his contract not being renewed at Portman Road, Millwall stopped the messing around and signed Edwards on a one-year contract in May 2014.  Speaking at the time, the popular wide man said, "to stay up was great and now I'm delighted to be joining on a permanent basis," and these thoughts echoed loudly around the fans in South Bermondsey.  The season started well for the full-back and he featured in the wins against the likes of Leeds United, Fulham and Blackpool, but Edwards' season was cruelly ended prematurely after only 8 games against Nottingham Forest on the 20th September.  Going down with a serious knee injury in only the 7th minute of the game, Edwards left the field on a stretcher and the home fans were speechless.  As he was carried off with what seemed like something that would end the careers of many other players, Edwards subliminally sang to those around The Den.  "Don't worry, about a thing.  Cos every little thing, is gonna be alright..."

After management upheaval which saw Ian Holloway replaced by club legend, Neil Harris, the Lions were relegated back to League One at the end of the 2014-15 season.  Edwards was out of contract following the club's return to the third tier, however after some impressive performances in the Elite Development Squad, Neil Harris decided to offer a short-term contract until January 2016 and both parties decided to get together and feel alright.  The 2015-16 season saw a more composed and complete Millwall performance and Edwards was a huge part of that, featuring in 22 games in all competitions.  The Lions gave thanks and praise to the Lord as they looked to be heading back to the Championship by reaching the Play-Off Final, however the Sheriffs of Barnsley defeated our Deputies 3-1 at Wembley Stadium and ensured the Lions would remain in League One for another season.

Carlos Edwards was released at the end of the 2015-16 season along with the likes of John Marquis, Ed Upson and Lee Martin.  At the time of their release, Neil Harris said “First and foremost, I want to thank all the players who are leaving us for their immense dedication and hard work during their time at the club.  They handled my decision like true professionals and I wish nothing but the very best of luck for their future careers.”

In all, Edwards featured 38 times for the Lions in just under three years, scoring one goal.  After leaving South Bermondsey, the full-back featured for Ma Pau Stars Sports Club, Central FC and is now playing for Woodbridge Town in the East Counties League Premier Division.  His time at The Den may’ve been brief compared to others, but the rapport that the veteran had with the fans was solid. Is this love, is this love, is this love that we were feeling? Well from the fans in the Barry Kitchener, Cold Blow Lane and Dockers Stands towards Carlos Edwards, it most certainly was.

« Reply #112 on: September 12, 2018, 12:19:47 PM »

Saturday 08 September
 Swindon Supermarine 7 Woodbridge Town 1

Woodbridge Town exited the FA Cup at Swindon Supermarine of the Evo-Stik Premier South, (the equivalent of two leagues above the Thurlow Nunn Premier Division). Clinical finishing in the second half by the home team who scored 3 goals in 8 minutes decided the tie at the impressive Webbswood Stadium.

Matt Mackenzie's lob was off target after 6 minutes for the visitors after a bad clearance by home keeper Josh Hill. Josh Parsons shot went over the bar after 10 minutes for the home side. A minute later they opened the scoring with Stuart Fleetwood's excellent first time finish to make it 1-0. George Bowman's shot from 20 yards tested Hill after 13 minutes but the Woodpeckers equalised after 15 minutes when Carlos Edwards' accurate corner was headed in by Liam Scopes. Zak Westlake's shot was cleared off the line by Aaron Churchyard after 21 minutes and after 25 minutes it was 2-1 to the home side when the dangerous Fleetwood's cross was swept home by Parsons. Away keeper Alfie Stronge denied Fleetwood with an excellent save and he blocked Parsons's shot from the rebound. Luke Williams's shot was off target for the home side after 40 minutes with the away side more then matching the home side at half time.

Parsons scored his second after 47 minutes with a neat finish to make it 3-1 and after 51 minutes it was 4-1 when Ryan Campbell made no mistake with a  close range effort. Parsons completed his hattrick after 55 minutes with another neat finish giving Stronge no chance to make it 5-1. Conor Mcdonaugh's header was tipped over the bar by Stronge after 63 minutes and Kelsey Trotter's shot was parried for a corner by Hill after 74 minutes. Michael Hopkins' cross was headed in by Zak Westlake to make it 6-1 after 76 minutes and after 78 minutes Luke Williams cross was deflected in to make it 7-1. Trotter's effort was on target after 81 minutes for the visitors and Fleetwood hit the woodwork but the Woodpeckers will feel great satisfaction after beating Clapton and Hadleigh United in previous rounds with Callum Sinclair in particular causing the home side problems. Good luck to the home side in the rest of the competition, they have the facilities to play at a much higher level.     

Hill, Williamson, Hopkins, Shepherd, Coupe, Westlake, Mcdonaugh, Hooper (Capt), Fleetwood, Parsons, Campbell, Subs; Thompson, Gray, Alexander, Selman, Williams.

Stronge, Rea (Capt), Churchyard, Garnham, Southgate, Scopes, Mackenzie, Edwards, Bowman, Trotter, Sinclair, Subs: Greggor for Edwards (Inj) 51 Mins, Holmes for Scopes (Inj) 57 Mins, Hammond for Mackenzie 76 Mins, Unused: Leech, Singh, 

Referee: Sunny Gill, Assistants: Stephen Williams, Mudiwa Manyange.

Att: 204       

:-\ Call Dog or God. Maybe both

« Reply #113 on: April 09, 2019, 07:00:39 AM »
Former Ipswich Town and Sunderland star Carlos Edwards is new joint boss of Woodbridge Town

The 40-year-old former Ipswich Town and Sunderland star who won almost 100 caps for Trinidad & Tobago in a professional career that saw him play in the 2002 World Cup, will manage the team alongside current boss Jamie Scales and coach Glenn Snell.

And Edwards, who is a coach at the Ipswich Town Centre of Excellence – a pathway to Ipswich Academy – admits coaching and managing is something he wants to do more of, even though he is still playing regularly for the Thurlow Nunn Premier Division side.

“I see it as a natural progression. Coaching and managing is something that has been on my agenda and I want to do more of,” Edwards said.

“I currently coach youngsters, so to be more involved with senior players at Woodbridge is a great next step.

“Everyone at Woodbridge has been so supportive to me and I have a great relationship with Jamie Scales and Glenn Snell. They are both so good at what they do and top guys. I will enjoy working with them more closely.

“I like to think the Woodbridge boys respect me too and we can continue the good work going on.”

Edwards joined Woodbridge Town at the end of 2017 and helped them win the Thurlow Nunn First Division title last season.

This campaign, they started their new life in the Premier Division with three straight defeats.

But since, the ‘Peckers have been one of the teams of the season and currently sit in second place in the table behind Histon, who have already won the championship. Edwards has played almost 40 games.

“Getting Carlos more involved in the management side of things is something we have beem looking at doing for a time now,” said joint interim chairman, Mark Scopes.

“He’s such a likeable person, gets on great with Jamie (Scales) and all the coaches and players.

“He’s never condescending and most importantly brings a wealth of knowledge to the club.

“Added to which he is also playing out of his skin on the pitch.”

« Reply #114 on: August 09, 2019, 02:39:00 PM »
An Ipswich and Sunderland League One top two would make Carlos Edwards a happy man
By Craig Johns (chroniclelive.co.uk)

As Ipswich and Sunderland clash at Portman Road on Saturday afternoon one man will be looking on with particular interest.

Carlos Edwards enjoyed the best years of his career playing for Sunderland before departing for East Anglia. Looking back he feels his Wearside departure was perhaps untimely, but he has no regrets that he got to wear both the red-and-white and the blue jerseys of the two respective clubs.

In just the second game of the 2019-20 campaign, the clash sees two sides expected to be serious contenders for promotion come head-to-head.

And while he won't commit to who will be first and who will be second, the former winger admits both sides returning to the Championship would be the ideal scenario for him next May.

"It would be a perfect season for me if both Sunderland and Ipswich were promoted," he told Chronicle Live.

"I know it's not going to be easy, but it is possible.

"It was a very tough decision to leave Sunderland at the time, but it was very much a situation out of my control.

"I just had to do what was best for myself and my family. I maybe left too soon, but no regrets. It was an honour to play for the club, and then I had some good years at Ipswich too.

"I'm hoping I can get down with the family to a game or two in Sunderland this season.

"My twins have never been to Sunderland. They're eight in October. My eldest daughter has been, but the twins have not.

"I'd love to bring the twins up and show them where Daddy used to twist a few spines!"

Now 40, Edwards still lives in Suffolk, although rather ironically he'll be back on Wearside this weekend as the Black Cats head to Ipswich. He's booked to do 'An Evening With' show at the Fans Museum on Saturday evening.

He still plays also. Representing Woodbridge Town, they play in the ninth tier of English football - the equivalent of the Northern League first division here in the North East.

They're two games into the season and have won both so far. Edwards started both and has already registered three assists. He's still got it.

Despite living so far away, his close affinity to Sunderland AFC remains. A club so close to his heart, he admits watching the club's demise of recent years was tough.

"It has been very tough for me to watch the club's recent fall," he says.

"It's hard to believe and accept that the downfall has been real. It's just collapsed and you're left thinking 'what on earth is going on!?

"At one stage I was close to volunteering to put my boots back on and saying I'll come back and score a couple of rockets! Listen, don't pay me, just register me and I'll come in the last 20 minutes of every game."

He continued: "But sometimes these things happen for the best and that seems to be the case here. It's brought about change and Ellis [Short] has sold the club and everything has steadied.

"Now hopefully we - I always still say 'we' because I'm still part of the family - we have owners who will invest, not just invest in new players, but invest in the fans and other important things that will help the club progress to the next level.

"Yes, right now we're in League One, but who's to say where we will be in the next five years? I know for definite we are not going to be in League One."

His own football schedule might make it difficult, but Edwards is hoping he will make a couple of games at the Stadium of Light this term too.

"I tried to get to a game last season, Walsall I believe it was, but had a family matter come up which stopped me coming.

"This season though I'm going to try my best to see if I can come and see a couple of games.

"The fans, as we all know, are incredible. They always come out in such strong numbers.

"You look at that 06-07 season when we won the Championship, it was remarkable. But that was not just down to the players, that was down to the fans as well.

"When we went to away games we were getting anywhere from 2-5,000 away fans going with us around the country and there's not many teams in the Championship will carry that many away fans. I think they propelled us to go the extra mile and lift the trophy at the end of the season.

"It is the fans who carry that club and make it what it is and the players should always go out to give 100% for them. If they don't then they don't deserve to be at the club. Putting on their shirt means something."

« Reply #115 on: January 31, 2020, 05:18:52 PM »
Former Sunderland, Ipswich Town and Luton Town midfielder Carlos Edwards signs for Bury Town as Blues suffer Jake Chambers-Shaw injury blow
By Liam Apicella (Bury Free Press)

Following confirmation playmaker Jake Chambers-Shaw will spend the next couple of months on the sidelines, Bury Town manager Ben Chenery has moved to soften the blow by bringing in former Premier League player Carlos Edwards, as we exclusively revealed on today's back page.

The 41-year-old ex-Ipswich Town and Sunderland midfielder, who represented Trinidad & Tobago at the 2006 World Cup in Germany, has joined the Blues on dual registration terms from Thurlow Nunn League Premier Division side Woodbridge Town.

He was promoted to the management team at the Woodpeckers ahead of this season but has continued to play an active role on the pitch, making 28 appearance and scoring 16 goals in the league a level down from where Bury reside.

Edwards will bolster the options available to Chenery as he looks to overcome a seemingly never ending injury list, but the 90-capped international is also set to become a part of the coaching set-up at the Denny Bros Ram Meadow Stadium.

“We need some seniority in the middle of the park and Carlos will provide us with that,” said Chenery.

“Sometimes when you have young players like we do, you need that old head to settle things down a little bit.

“Carlos is a very good player, he can see a pass and he will not mind me saying how fit he is for his age.

“This is someone that played at a World Cup – that experience will be huge to us. There are situations in games when things need calming down and Carlos will know when that is needed.

“He is going to play, but he might also get involved in some of the coaching, potentially with our under-23s.”

News of Edwards’ imminent arrival at the Denny Bros Stadium comes swiftly on the back of Chambers-Shaw’s prognosis.

The attack-minded midfielder suffered a collarbone injury during last weekend’s defeat at Tilbury and after seeing a specialist he was found to have suffered ligament damage, ruling him out of action for between six and eight weeks.

Chambers-Shaw has impressed since joining the club from neighbouring Mildenhall Town in the summer of 2018, with his performances last term earning him the Away Fans’ Player of the Season award.

This season he has made 26 appearances, from which he has scored four goals.

His absence is a big disappointment for Chenery, who has conceded that he may need to tweak the way his side plays going forward.

“It is a massive blow. Jake is pivotal to what we do and so it is really disappointing to be without him for so long,” said the boss.

“We had to adapt when Ryan Horne got injured because he started us playing in the deepest third and we may have to do the same without Jake.

“Jake is our creator, someone that can find pockets in those tight spaces to unlock defences.

“You have to adjust, and we will. Jake not being there will give a chance to someone else.”

One player that could fill the void is Ipswich Town midfielder Lounes Foudil, who like Alex Henderson, Tommy Smith and Colin Oppong, has joined Bury on a work experience loan from the EFL League One club.

The Paris-born player made his debut as a substitute at Tilbury and impressed the manager.

“He is a different type of player to Jake but showed plenty to be positive about when he came on,” added Chenery.

« Reply #116 on: March 30, 2020, 12:35:02 PM »
Wrexham AFC fans' favourite Carlos Edwards would not dye his hair red again!
By Richard Williams (leaderlive.co.uk)

IT was a day that will live long in the memory but there is one thing that Carlos Edwards would change about Wrexham's famous cup triumph.

The Reds reached the LDV Vans Trophy final during a turbulent 2004-5 campaign and Denis Smith's men did not disappoint on the big stage at The Millennium Stadium, beating Southend United 2-0 after extra-time.

Flying winger Edwards, back in the side after missing the first half of the season due to a serious knee injury, got in the mood for the occasion by dying his hair red - something he wouldn't do again.

"What I would change is not dye my hair red!" said Edwards.

"My agent at the time was so spontaneous and he said: 'let's do that', so me being gullible I said I would dye my hair. I just fell into the trap.

"I can remember (assistant manager) Kevin Russell absolutely taking the mickey out of me.

"It could have gone both ways; I could have been on the losing side with red hair and thinking 'what was I doing' but it was better because I had red hair, we won the trophy and no-one said a word."

Crisis-club Wrexham were battling against relegation from League One after incurring a 10-point deduction for going into administration, with owner Alex Hamilton rejecting a series of takeover bids, but the run to the Cardiff showpiece was a welcome distraction for Edwards and his team-mates.

"You had a silly guy trying to disrupt the whole club and as a player, things play on your mind," said Edwards.

"It's a club you admire and fall in love with and the uncertainty for the club and the fans, it left a bitter taste in the mouth when you listened to everything that was going on.

"But there is always light at the end of the tunnel and going on that cup run, finishing at The Millennium Stadium, was that light at the end of the tunnel for us.

"What a brilliant day it was and the fans played their part."

Edwards hoped that the final would be at Wembley, which was being renovated, but he soon changed his mind after playing at The Millennium Stadium.

"I was praying it was at Wembley," said Edwards.

"But to be fair, a Welsh club playing a final in the Welsh national stadium, you couldn't ask for anything better.

"And The Millennium Stadium is the same quality as any top-level stadium so I wouldn't have changed it for anything."

Wrexham and Southend, flying high in League Two, could not be separated in 90 minutes.

But prolific striker Juan Ugarte and skipper Darren Ferguson scored in either half of extra-time to secure victory.

Edwards went on to play for Luton, Sunderland, Ipswich and Millwall, as well as represent Trinidad at the 2006 World Cup, but winning the LDV Vans Trophy is a feat he is proud of.

"Regardless of what cup it is, you want to win things, you want to achieve things," said Edwards.

"Whether it is the FAW Premier Cup, the LDV Vans Trophy or the Carling Cup, you want to say 'I was there, I lifted the trophy. I achieved something'.

"A lot of footballers have nothing to show for their careers. They may be on £50,000 a week but what have they achieved?

"That was one of the moments I realised that I want to win things, I want to get bigger and better."

Wrexham lost their battle against relegation but Edwards insists Smith's squad was not short of talent.

"When you look at the squad that we had, we had quality all round," said Edwards.

"Ben Foster came in and what a great goalkeeper he was; he went onto bigger and better things and is still doing his stuff in the top flight at the moment.

"When you have leaders like Darren Ferguson, and big Dennis Lawrence and Brian Carey, they were the pillars of the club at the time."

Fifteen years on and Wrexham are battling to avoid relegation from the National League but Edwards hopes there are better times ahead.

"Wrexham is so close to my heart," added Edwards. "I loved the club, I call it my second home.

"It is a wonderful club and I hope sooner rather than later they are back where they are supposed to be in the Football League."

Holding up Breakfast in Bahrain
« Reply #118 on: May 14, 2020, 12:17:25 PM »
Holding up Breakfast in Bahrain
By Carlos Edwards (pushinglimits.net)

It’s October maybe the first week or so and I’m getting ready to fly out to meet up with the rest of the squad for the Panama and Mexico matches. There's a real buzz similar to   anytime the boys have to meet up for a trip back home. Usually we would ask the manager to try and get all of us who were based in the UK on the same flights back to Port of Spain or whichever country we would need to fly to if we were playing away. Sometimes a couple of us may play on the Sunday or Monday so that guy would have to fly on a separate day.

But this time there was a different feeling. There was a little bit of anxiety but at the same time it was an exciting period. We knew at his point, even though we lost the previous match away to Costa Rica, that two wins against Panama and Mexico would almost guarantee us a fourth place playoff and a spot in the playoffs. We were in good spirits because the last time the group got together we were able to beat Guatemala, Russell was back in the side and things felt right. We were now a more confident team. Even though we lost to Costa Rica, I thought we handled ourselves really well in that match and had competed strongly and were maybe unlucky to not come away with a draw at least.

So by the time we got the two wins over Panama and Mexico, we took a little bit of the momentum into the Bahrain games. I don’t need to tell you how crazy it was playing at home in the first match and when I look back at it I think it worked out in our favour to play the second match away because all the pressure of playing at home and the distractions maybe would have been a problem.

And I think it was in that first leg because we didn’t particularly play well. But the confidence and belief we got from the win over Mexico was still there and we took it with us on the plane to Bahrain. We know it was now or nothing.  Bahrain got the away goal but we still had faith in ourselves and we knew what we were capable of. It was one of those experiences where we went in there with all guns blazing.

I'll go back to the first morning at the hotel in Bahrain after we arrived the night before. The contingent was huge because not only did the charter have the players and staff to the front of the plane but the President Max Richards and a bunch of TTFF officials and supporters had come on the trip to support the team. Even the Woodbrook Playboys Steelband was somewhere down in the back of the plane. We were in a separate hotel and the rest of the crew stayed at another place.

Beenhakker had this thing instilled in us where we always had to be responsible for our teammates. So you are rooming with someone else and he is like your family member.  That’s  who you are living with and you need to look out for him. It’s the same thing on the field.  You should know his whereabouts, what he’s up to especially for that critical moment or when a question comes your way. You don’t really want to leave anyone behind. It’s either you go down together or you don’t go at all.  It could not be a situation of one man taking the fall while the other is trying to brakes.

So on the first morning it was just one of those unfortunate situations at breakfast with Chris Birchall. Chris was mocking about as usual haha. But I could not leave him and come downstairs to the breakfast room. As the senior player here I had to take responsibility. I took it on the chin and I apologized afterwards.

Obviously in that moment I’m walking in with Chris and the place is dead silent and Beenhakker is there very cool waiting on us. He would put everything on hold until we were all together. All the players are sitting at their tables and no one had gone to be served.  And this made it even worst to go through something like that because obviously you are walking in and the entire squad and staff is there knowing you are responsible for the late start to breakfast because you’re late. But it was his way of making us all accountable to each other and responsible for what took place.

Yes Beenhakker was upset and obviously I was upset but at the same time you don’t want to leave your man behind and I wasn’t going to leave Chris. At the end of the day he was somebody I was going to be fighting the battle with on the pitch. He was the baby in the squad but he was one of the lads who would have your back out there.  It was funny looking back now because we didn’t know what to expect from the head coach at the time. You had to show him that respect and demonstrate that you understood the meaning of team.

I had a chat with Beenhakker privately after breakfast and he understood what happened. He knew very well what the possibilities were. We had just come from a long flight, guys were tired and adjusting to the time difference but he knew what he was doing. He was always a step ahead and doing what he believed was best for the team. When you look back now after the fact that we qualified for the World Cup, who can really question him?

The thing is he had to set the right examples. He just didn’t do these things to me. He did it to Dwight, to Stern, all the senior boys. He never allowed anyone to think that because you have a name that you were going to get away with certain things. It was a level playing field with Beenhakker and there was no exception for me, Chris, Russell, Stern, Dwight or whoever else.

I still get chills down my spines when I recall these moments especially when you sit back and reflect on the fact that we won the game in Bahrain and qualified for the World Cup. Everything we went through as team led to us achieving what some felt was impossible at the time. There’s no other way I would have it.

This is just the first part of a series I’m writing and you can read a bit more of my journey on pushing limits.net. I hope it gives you a good perspective and makes good reading.

Until next Time
Carlos

Carlos Edwards played in all three matches at the 2006 World Cup Finals. He made 97 appearances for Trinidad and Tobago. He played professionally for Defence Force and in the United Kingdom for Wrexham, Luton Town, Sunderland, Ipswich Town, Millwall, Wolverhampton Wanderers. He had a stint with Central FC in T&T coming down to the end of his playing career.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2020, 12:30:46 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #119 on: June 12, 2020, 02:01:18 PM »
Carlos Edwards re-lives his time with Wrexham AFC and successful career in the game
By Tom Norris (leaderlive.co.uk)

CARLOS EDWARDS has been rolling back the years by re-living his time with Wrexham.

The 92-cap Trinidad and Tobago international played over 150 times for the Reds during a five-year stay at The Racecourse, winning the LDV Vans Trophy at the Millennium Stadium on 2005, as well as promotion to the then-Third Division in 2002/03.

Edwards, 41, answered supporters’ questions on Wrexham’s official club website about his time in the game, which also saw him play for Wolves, Millwall, Ipswich, Sunderland and Luton, shining in the Premier League and Championship.

Who was the best player you played with at Wrexham?

The best player I played with at Wrexham would be Darren Ferguson, quality, loved a moan up but top quality!

Off the field what did you find strangest about living in Wrexham after coming from T&T?

The strangest thing obviously would have to be the weather, raining, cold! And the people were always friendly.

You were always so polite and gave time to fans. What advice would you give to young footballers who ignore their fans?

I don’t agree with ignoring fans especially young fans, as players emotions run high, so I understand they have some egos, but no need to ignore your fans, they have emotions also, it should be mutual respect.

Are there any top young Trinidad & Tobago players who should be following the path that yourself, Hector (Sam) and Dennis (Lawrence) coming over to play at the Racecourse?

There are a lot of talented players in Trinidad and Tobago who can follow our path, but there’s a lot of things you have to put into place, luck, attitude, desire everyone thinks talent will get you where you wanna go, its a start.

What was your favourite moment in a Wrexham shirt?

There can be a lot to mention but making my full league debut for Wrexham would always be my favourite.

What was it like working with Roy Keane?

It was great, a bit crazy but very disciplined, he’s a winner.

Was there a big move you wanted to happen in your career but never materialised for whatever reason?

I would have loved a big move, but every club that I played for, in my mind, that was my big move. I just wanted to enjoy my football.

What difference does the crowd make when playing? How do you think you’d have got on in a behind-closed-doors league game?

The crowd plays a very big part, I get paid to entertain them and that’s the beauty of the fans.

I think I would get on pretty well, behind closed doors, you have your team-mates there to drive you on, just without the fans.

If you hadn’t been a footballer, what would you have liked to have done?

Most people don’t know I was in the military, so if I wasn’t a footballer, I would have been a soldier!

What’s your biggest regret in football?

I don’t have any regrets, every decision made me into a better player, person and I learnt a lot playing football.