General > General Discussion
Barack Obama Supports Same-Sex Marriage
pecan:
--- Quote from: truetrini SC on July 20, 2012, 03:03:07 PM ---All em big words like recursive and ting...the new test. and the old test. regards homosexuality as a sin as well as extolling slaves to be obedient...thanks to google yes ;)
What part of that you and Toppa doh get?
--- End quote ---
if you were my slave, I would treat you well unless you disobeyed me.
on a serious note, this topic has prompted me to learn more about scriptures I have Toppa, you and others to thank for that. The discussions led me to find various scholarly articles and non-scholarly ones that explored the issue of homosexuality (and other 'sins') in the Bible. Why is this so important to me? On a personal level, I believe in God and for me to hold true to this belief, I need to reconcile the 'sins of scripture' with the world we live in today and the suffering that surround us.
It was Lefty who say "... I tink if he [God] testing anyting ....is we capacity to live for and with each other and I must say his grand experiment does feel like a monumental failure more often dan not". At times, I does wonder to.
I firmly believe that accepting every thing that is written in the Bible at face value often leads to the type of behaviour that detracts from religion. So much wrong is done in the name of religion and you are right, religious folk have to be held to a higher standard with regard to these wrongs. And in my view, treating homosexuals as sinners goes against the ethic of Christ. Jesus, in every sense, was an includer: adulterers, tax collectors, racially impure, the mentally ill, etc. It's unreasonable and inconsistent to suggest that he would not have been an includer with gays and lesbians.
truetrini:
I respect and admire your faith. no shitting around...I do.
But I need to correct you, there i nothing wrong with treating homos as sinners. Indeed Christ according to the Bible calld adulterers, scribes, pharisees, tax collectors etc. sinners. but He did say that he cam to save sinners...and yeah he was really inclusive, infact he hung around with the dregs of society, so Ia gree with you that He would have discriminated and ostracized homosexuals.
Mark 12
--- Quote ---One of the teachers of the law came and heard them debating. Noticing that Jesus had given them a good answer, he asked him, “Of all the commandments, which is the most important?”
29“The most important one,” answered Jesus, “is this: ‘Hear, O Israel, the Lord our God, the Lord is one. 30 Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength. 31The second is this: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no commandment greater than these.”
--- End quote ---
truetrini:
http://news.yahoo.com/blogs/lookout/outing-sally-ride-her-sexual-orientation-nothing-space-212649158.html
Maybe the idea of gays in space is just so exciting that it has overwhelmed Sally Ride's eulogists, who really should be parsing her achievements in astrophysics, accident investigations and middle-school education, rather than trying to make hay out of her mellow lesbian romantic life.
Commenters just seem like gay astronauts. After all, the first slashfic— gay romances spun out of fictional male friendships— involved men in space, namely Captain Kirk and Mr. Spock of "Star Trek." The stories were called Kirk/Spock fiction, and the name "slash" was given to the genre. Neil/Buzz slashfic also exists. There's not much of it, but it can be pretty lewd. Those who like to keep their memories of Apollo 11 chaste, or believe that slashfic defames real-life people featured in it, should never, ever put "Neil/Buzz slashfic" into a search engine.
At the same time, there was Sally Ride. Her amazing life wasn't fiction, or fan fiction, or slashfic. She really was the first woman and first gay person and youngest astronaut in space. And she and her collaborator and co-author Tam O'Shaughnessy, a biologist and school psychology professor, really did live together for three decades. This was well-known to family and friends.
Ride died Monday. Much of her adoring public learned the details of her domestic arrangements only posthumously. In this way, she was like most celebrities who die. I didn't know until I read the obituary, for example, that Davy Jones of the Monkees, who died in February, had been married three times. I was also surprised to learn that Etta "At Last" James, who died in January, had been married to one man through 42 years (during her heroin and coke addictions), and that she had two sons.
But for some reason the fact that Ride's live-in relationship with O'Shaugnessy was only revealed when she died, bugged commenters like Andrew Sullivan who managed to find feminist secrecy in Ride's and O'Shaughnessy's promotion (O'Shaugnessy was the head of Ride's company) as a woman first and a lesbian second.
"Feminists," he writes on the Daily Beast, citing no examples, "often 'inned' lesbian pioneers, or the lesbians closeted themselves. This was not because they were in a reactionary movement; it was because they were in a progressive movement that did not want to be 'tarred' with the lesbian image."
For social liberals, Sally Ride's posthumous out-coming is a luxury problem in the extreme. She was the first female, the youngest and the first gay in outer freaking space—and a major force in space policymaking. What's more, Ride alone served on the two presidential commissions that investigated both the 1986 Challenger crash and the 2003 Columbia accident, which together killed fourteen astronauts. Without fear or favor, Ride concluded that NASA made the same errors in judgment both times.
Is it more important than any of this that, having been married briefly to a man, Ride eventually settled down with a woman? Ride's identity as both gay and female is an embarrassment of riches that presents an irresistible opportunity, it seems, to kvetch rather than celebrate a life astoundingly well led.
ribbit:
must say, de biotech boom has been a real bust ....
TT, yuh prescription fill?
==
Propecia turned me into a woman, man claims
A software engineer who was trying to combat hair loss says a generic form of Propecia caused him to develop breasts and made his hips widen like a woman's.
And now, after nine months of taking finasteride, 38-year-old William McKee goes by the name Mandi and is considering having a complete sex change.
"My rock-hard chest from the gym began to soften . . . reaching the point where I had noticeable 'breasts' even under my clothing," McKee told the New York Post.
"My shoulders were literally falling into a more feminine position, and my hips were loosening and becoming wider as on a woman's body."
The changes have left McKee's former life in disarray. He is now separated from his wife of 10 years, with whom he has a five-year-old son. The Tampa, Florida, resident has also left his career in Silicon Valley behind, now describing himself as an aspiring music producer and DJ.
Describing his former self as "athletic and driven," McKee now wears a blonde wig, makeup, women's clothing and says he is thinking of having breast augmentation. In addition, McKee says he has gone from heterosexual to homosexual.
"It felt like the 'me' that I've always known was not there anymore," he told the Post.
There are several possible sexual side effects associated with finasteride, but they typically involve a lack of libido. The drug itself works by inhibiting the conversion of testosterone.
Writing on his personal blog, McKee says the drug is commonly taken by men who are in the early stages of gender reassignment.
"I wasn't always this way. I am early on my path of transitioning to live full-time as a woman, although for 9 months I did take 1 of the 2 most popular drugs that doctors prescribe to men who wish to become a woman," he writes.
'The thing is… I didn't take Finasteride to become a woman. I took it to prevent male-pattern hair loss (baldness) after seeing Merck's ad campaign for years saying that Propecia (Finasteride) can stop hair loss in men."
And as the Daily Mail notes, the transition has been a painful one for McKee. In addition to losing his wife, he writes that he considered suicide as the physical changes also began affecting his emotional state.
"My entire life has fallen apart in a slow and agonizing downward spiral that led me on a roller coaster ride of depression, anxiety, panic attacks, a severe and disabling loss of focus and concentration, feminization of my body, loss of and inability to work, homelessness, social rejection and isolation, and a complete alteration of my body's chemistry and self-identity," he writes.
"And it was more than just my life being affected. I was married to an amazing and beautiful woman who lost her husband, and I am father to an amazing 5 year-old-boy—who lost his dad."
In a recent statement, Merck denied any known association between Propecia (finasteride) and sexual side effects:
"Merck believes that Propecia (Finasteride) has demonstrated safety and efficacy profiles and that the product labeling appropriately describes the benefits and risks of the drug to help inform prescribing," the company wrote in the statement.
And while several lawsuits have been filed by men who say the drug affected their sexuality, McKee is not eligible to join the suit since he purchased a generic form of the drug from an online distributor based in India.
Still, Mandi has been active on his personal Facebook page, writing that he hopes all of the media exposure of his story helps others who might be going through a similar experience.
Before:
After:
Trinimassive:
[/quote]
Induce Emesis
Navigation
[0] Message Index
[#] Next page
[*] Previous page
Go to full version