June 20, 2013, 03:04:00 AM

Author Topic: Once again weak ass Obama capitulates...sigh.  (Read 881 times)

Once again weak ass Obama capitulates...sigh.
« on: January 20, 2012, 07:59:29 AM »
9 1/2 hours of my life wasted standing in line to vote for this weak ass leader!

He signed the 2012 Defense Authorization Act pushing Presidential way too far and allowing for indefinite detainment of US citizens!

What weakling!  He was saying that he disliked some of the Act. 

"The fact that I support this bill as a whole does not mean I agree with everything in it," Obama said in a White House press release. "In particular, I have signed this bill despite having serious reservations with certain provisions that regulate the detention, interrogation and prosecution of suspected terrorists." [http://www.whitehouse.gov/the-press-office/2011/12/31/statement-president-hr-1540]
[/b]

Shit reminds me of the Japanese interment days...guilty without a trial!

One step forward three steps backwards down inna Babylon.

Offline Qmire

Re: Once again weak ass Obama capitulates...sigh.
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2012, 08:17:51 AM »
9 1/2 hours of my life wasted standing in line to vote for this weak ass leader!

He signed the 2012 Defense Authorization Act pushing Presidential way too far and allowing for indefinite detainment of US citizens!

"The fact that I support this bill as a whole does not mean I agree with everything in it," Obama said in a White House press release. "In particular, I have signed this bill despite having serious reservations with certain provisions that regulate the detention, interrogation and prosecution of suspected terrorists." [http://www.whitehouse.gov/the-press-office/2011/12/31/statement-president-hr-1540]
[/b]

combine this with the patriot act ,and there goes constitutional rights .thats sad.
I hate everybody equally.

« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2012, 08:29:45 AM »

[/b]

Ahhh boy Ribbit... yuh finally hack TT account.

Well done  :beermug:

« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2012, 08:40:23 AM »
Bakes yuh is ah real clown.  I have been saying for a while that he is weak.  Did you read the National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2012?

In his Signing Statement, President Obama stated his executives’ position: “"I have signed the Act chiefly because it authorizes funding for the defense of the United States and its interests abroad, crucial services for service members and their families, and vital national security programs that must be renewed…I have signed this bill despite having serious reservations with certain provisions that regulate the detention, interrogation, and prosecution of suspected terrorists."

Criticize when needed. 

From the ACLU: 
"The statute contains a sweeping worldwide indefinite detention provision... [without] temporal or geographic limitations, and can be used by this and future presidents to militarily detain people captured far from any battlefield." The ACLU furthermore commented that "While President Obama issued a signing statement saying he had 'serious reservations' about the provisions, the statement only applies to how his administration would use the authorities granted by the NDAA," and maintains that "the breadth of the NDAA’s detention authority violates international law because it is not limited to people captured in the context of an actual armed conflict as required by the laws of war."

Requirement for military custody: Section 1022

All persons arrested and detained according to the provisions of section 1021, including those detained on U.S. soil, whether detained indefinitely or not, are required to be held by the United States Armed Forces. The law affords the option to have U.S. citizens detained by the armed forces but this requirement does not extend to them, as with foreign persons. Lawful resident aliens may or may not be required to be detained by the Armed Forces, "on the basis of conduct taking place within the United States.
« Last Edit: January 20, 2012, 08:43:23 AM by truetrini S.C. »

« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2012, 08:41:53 AM »
And Bakes, I take silk now eh....so doh try legal wrangling with me!  ;)

« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2012, 09:26:50 AM »
Silk? whey's dat Almond Milk or Rice Milk?  I tort FS woulda be de first man to get "Silk" on dis forum  ;D

btw... is "SC" eh not "S.C."  ;)

As for that Act... I not too concerned about it, it must still pass constitutional muster, and the present constitution (no pun intended) of the court notwithstanding, the actions of future administrations remain subject to judicial review in this regard.

« Reply #6 on: January 20, 2012, 10:32:36 AM »
Breds  S.C.  stands for senior citizen

« Reply #7 on: January 20, 2012, 02:41:27 PM »
wait till the American people find out the Government has a private army  :beermug:

« Reply #8 on: January 20, 2012, 03:39:24 PM »
De man eh weak....he jussth sensthitive

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/7xbVNIWR9UA" target="_blank" class="new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/7xbVNIWR9UA</a>

He bess put ah bitchslap on Iran or else allyuh military ring winger types go have a conniption
Little known Fact:: Oh gaardoo ah reach 9200 posts
Ah movin like mih pardner west coast

« Reply #9 on: January 21, 2012, 12:21:41 PM »

[/b]

Ahhh boy Ribbit... yuh finally hack TT account.

Well done  :beermug:
boy!!! if you know how exactly you read my thoughts there :)  :rotfl:

« Reply #10 on: January 22, 2012, 12:49:53 AM »
TC if this issue is a test of the president's office in the role of a check to overreach, how many of the past presidents would have killed the bill in the same situation? maybe 3 in the last 40 years...?

« Reply #11 on: January 22, 2012, 07:36:08 AM »
TC if this issue is a test of the president's office in the role of a check to overreach, how many of the past presidents would have killed the bill in the same situation? maybe 3 in the last 40 years...?

That is NOT the issue.

rewind.  The man claims to be different, new politics and he is as dangerous as the rest!

Offline Qmire

« Reply #12 on: January 22, 2012, 08:23:52 AM »
Opinion Columnists
Keystone cop-out
Obama chose conflict Venezuelan oil over ethical Canuck oil, and movie stars over working men, women

Ezra Levant_op
By Ezra Levant ,QMI Agency

First posted: Saturday, January 21, 2012 08:00 PM EST | Updated: Friday, January 20, 2012 05:59 PM EST

U.S. President Barack Obama made a choice last week: He chose Venezuela over Canada.

That’s what he did when he rejected the proposed Keystone XL pipeline that would have taken oilsands oil from Alberta to the Gulf Coast of Texas.

That pipeline would have delivered 700,000 barrels of oil every day from Canada (and from a new oilfield called Bakken that straddles the North Dakota-Saskatchewan border).

Which is almost precisely the amount of oil Venezuela now ships to the United States, to those same refineries in Texas.

With one fell swoop, Obama could have replaced conflict oil, from a belligerent, authoritarian OPEC regime, with ethical oil from Canada.

But he didn’t.

Hugo Chavez, the bully ruler of Venezuela, is a serial human rights violator.

He’s a Marxist, too, but that’s a different matter. According to impeccably liberal human rights groups like Amnesty International and Human Rights Watch, Chavez has shredded civil liberties in Venezuela — crushing independent labour unions, shutting down newspapers and radio stations that disagree with him, corrupting the political system and abusing Aboriginal people.

It won’t surprise you to learn that a ruler who treats his own people that way threatens other countries, too.

Chavez routinely menaces Colombia, a true democracy, even massing troops on the border and giving cover support to narco-terrorists seeking to undermine Colombia’s government.

And Chavez’s new ally is none other than Mahmoud Ahmadinejad — the two men share a hatred for Americans. And they have something else in common: If it weren’t for oil revenues, they’d both have been toppled by now.

Venezuela sells an enormous amount of oil to the U.S. About 800,000 barrels a day. At a hundred bucks a barrel, that’s $80 million a day.

That’s about $30 billion a year America pays to its greatest enemy in the western hemisphere.

It’s not just conflict oil, though. Venezuelan oil is some of the most carbon-intense oil in the world — even more so than Canada’s oilsands.

So by replacing Venezuelan imports with Keystone XL oilsands oil, not only would Obama have been doing the right thing geopolitically, it would have reduced America’s carbon footprint — which Obama claims to care about.

And it’s more than environmental.

Venezuelan oil tankers don’t give a lot of jobs to Americans. A few at the ports, but that’s about it. Whereas a new pipeline coming down from Canada provides a lot of “shovel-ready” jobs for Americans still reeling from the worst recession in that country since the 1930s.

Not only would the pipeline construction create jobs, but Keystone XL would have been the largest property taxpayer in many of the counties through which it flowed.

But Obama made another choice this week: Hollywood celebrities over working men and women.

See, those Hollywood celebrities — mainly airheads, such as Daryl Hannah, or pro-Chavez socialists, such as Sean Penn — will raise tens of millions of dollars for Obama’s re-election now that he nixed Canadian oil.

Whereas the thousands of American construction workers — well, they’re from states like Nebraska that weren’t going to vote Democrat anyways.

Obama’s decision is a disgrace, but it’s America’s business.

So now our business is to sell our oil to Asia.

Not just for our economic success, but to prove we are an independent country.

If Obama doesn’t want our oil, well, the rest of the world does.

Obama’s decisions are bad for America. They’re bad for U.S. jobs, U.S. energy security and U.S. foreign political entanglements.

But they’re bad for us, too. Canadians love America — we did before Obama came along, we do now, and we will after Obama is gone.

But let’s not sit by the phone waiting for Obama to love us in return.

Let’s open up markets in Asia and grow up as a country — a country with friends and trading partners around the world.

It’s about self-respect — and it will make America respect us more, too.
« Last Edit: January 22, 2012, 11:42:12 AM by Quags »

« Reply #13 on: January 22, 2012, 09:36:16 AM »
That article come from the Washington Times?'
yuh need to put a source on that.

Offline Qmire

« Reply #15 on: January 24, 2012, 03:14:41 PM »
ah hear chris hedges is suing de prez over DAA.  :rotfl:

« Reply #16 on: May 14, 2012, 08:14:44 AM »

[/b]

Thisremind me of your post here.  Ent military men say to fight terrorism like the masters do - indefinite detention and profiling and all?

« Reply #17 on: May 16, 2012, 11:35:06 AM »
wait till the American people find out the Government has a private army  :beermug:

So wha multinational corp have always had one  ;D

« Reply #18 on: May 16, 2012, 12:54:32 PM »
Opinion Columnists
Keystone cop-out
Obama chose conflict Venezuelan oil over ethical Canuck oil, and movie stars over working men, women

Ezra Levant

ah read his book on the provincial human rights tribunals - this fella is a skilled provocateur.

but that tar sands oil selling $30/barrel less than the venezualen oil because of the lack of pipelines. ah could well imagine the fuss BC would kick up for a pipeline running through the interior.  :-\