June 19, 2013, 03:32:57 PM

Author Topic: U-20 men's team play in Biche.  (Read 1439 times)

U-20 men's team play in Biche.
« on: June 05, 2012, 05:27:01 PM »
U-20 men's team play in Biche.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFF).

Trinidad and Tobago’s National Under 20 training squad travelled to Biche for a training session and practice match at the Biche Recreation ground on Saturday afternoon.

Currently preparing for the Caribbean Football Union leg of the Under 20 World Cup qualifiers, head coach Michael McComie took a squad of twenty-five players to the venue for a 60-minute session prior to the training game against Biche United which is preparing for their first season in the TTFF National Super League.

The game ended 5-1 in favour of the T&T U-20s through goals by Kyle West, a well taken header in the 19th minute, Shaquille Nesbit (38’ and 64’), Adan Noel in the 78th and an own goal in the final minute. Biche pulled a goal back in the 58th minute.

The exercise was part of efforts by the TTFF to take the national teams to communities within the twin-island. Both the Under 20s and Under 17 teams will travel to Tobago this coming weekend for a training camp.

McComie welcomed the chance for his players to venture into a rural community and face the Super League newcomers.

“This is exactly what we wanted to do with the team which was to bring them out in communities where national teams don’t frequent for an opportunity to also  get the people familiar with the team,” McComie told TTFF Media.

“It was a good outing for the boys. It was a training game so we also like the habit of training before games like  these. We have to play three games in like six days so it’s going to be a tough tournament and we have to be physically ready for it.”

McComie has four North American-based players in his current training squad which has Duane Muckette as its current captain. (Further details on the overseas-based players will be disclosed later this week when team visits Tobago).

“It’s good, keen competition for places in the team right now. The boys have trained with us a couple times already and are fitting in well. We will not close the door on any player at this point and even those who do not make it into the final team for the tournament will be monitored and kept as part of the overall pool of players.”

Assistant coach Anthony Rougier said it was important that the fans in the local communities get the chance to have up close experiences with the various national teams.

“I think it’s excellent for us to be here in Biche. The important thing was getting the boys out here in order for them to get a feel of playing in some of these communities.

Having the nucleus of Trinidad and Tobago get to know their teams as well and to know this is their national team is also one of the objectives. Most times the fans only see them on television and they are made to believe that they have to travel to the national stadium to see the national team play,” Rougier said.

“It’s about learning to play in different environments also. They have to experience the comments being made on the sidelines and other factors that will hopefully help them grow as players. The ground was not in the best condition and yet still the boys are mentally ready for the challenge which is really good for us,” added the former Reading player.

T&T will enter the Caribbean leg of qualification from July 23-31 in a group hosted by St Vincent/Grenadines along with Suriname and Guyana. The winner of the four preliminary groups and the best second placed team will advance to the final CFU round in Jamaica from November 3-11, 2012.

The CONCACAF final round takes place in Puebla, Mexico from February 18-March 2, 2013.  The Caribbean will have five berths in the final 12-nation round from which four will qualify for the FIFA Under 20 World Cup in Turkey. Mexico, Canada and USA are automatic qualifiers to the CONCACAF final round.

Re: U-20 men's team play in Biche.
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2012, 06:09:48 PM »
While I applaud de effort tuh take de national teams into rural communities, ah hope dey making sure dat dey eh playing on no jokey field tuh twist up man foot.

« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2012, 06:23:14 PM »
Talented Canadian-born midfielder Kristian Lee-Him‏ will be there with the team in Tobago.

« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2012, 07:59:20 AM »
While I applaud de effort tuh take de national teams into rural communities, ah hope dey making sure dat dey eh playing on no jokey field tuh twist up man foot.

If it's the field that I played on there, then they took a risk.  Not a turf that is friendly to GKs; was bruised by a rock that was embedded in the playing surface.  That was about 12 years ago though, so I imagine they have upgraded.  Hopefully, it wasn't too drenched.

« Reply #4 on: June 06, 2012, 11:04:22 AM »
ah just realize Rougier is asst coach !

« Reply #5 on: June 06, 2012, 11:30:25 AM »
I played against Biche United when I played for Valencia United, we beta them 8-1...... this was almost 10 years ago.  The field was not bad at all for a rural area. I don't know what its like today.

« Reply #6 on: June 06, 2012, 11:40:52 AM »
Talented Canadian-born midfielder Kristian Lee-Him‏ will be there with the team in Tobago.

youth playing for a D1 program. good.

http://www.goasu.com/ViewArticle.dbml?DB_OEM_ID=21500&ATCLID=205247143

« Reply #7 on: June 06, 2012, 01:26:24 PM »

agreed

not to mention ah hope de transport eh no small maxi, whey man fol up tight tight in dem jokey seat
Little known Fact:: Oh gaardoo ah reach 9200 posts
Ah movin like mih pardner west coast

« Reply #8 on: June 06, 2012, 06:09:32 PM »
Marcus Bernard (#14) is another one who will be there, also based in Canada.

« Last Edit: June 06, 2012, 06:11:42 PM by Flex »

« Reply #9 on: June 06, 2012, 07:20:37 PM »
I played against Biche United when I played for Valencia United, we beta them 8-1...... this was almost 10 years ago.  The field was not bad at all for a rural area. I don't know what its like today.

I played a an exhibition game for Essex in Valencia, a very long time ago. We played Greyhound Dovers from SFA on a field near a community center. The field their was not to bad. I don't no how it is now. Nice place, Valencia.

« Reply #10 on: June 06, 2012, 08:28:20 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/5J2VXZorMdI" target="_blank" class="new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/5J2VXZorMdI</a>

« Reply #11 on: June 06, 2012, 09:50:06 PM »

I played a an exhibition game for Essex in Valencia, a very long time ago. We played Greyhound Dovers from SFA on a field near a community center. The field their was not to bad. I don't no how it is now. Nice place, Valencia.
Yea that was our home field, we shared it with the cricketers, which was always bacchanal. yes it was a nice place when I was there. I understand its much more developed now. I enjoyed the rivers we had. nothing like bussing down a pot by the river and drinking. ;D

Offline Trini _2018

« Reply #12 on: June 07, 2012, 06:36:13 AM »
Marcus Bernard (#14) is another one who will be there, also based in Canada.

Flex that guy look like  Keane Mc Ivor from st anthonys
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/sh8SeGmzai4" target="_blank" class="new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/sh8SeGmzai4</a>

« Reply #13 on: June 07, 2012, 08:40:02 AM »
Attendance?

« Reply #14 on: August 01, 2012, 04:36:56 PM »
Quick update.

Kristian Lee-Kim had trials with the Under 20 team, Michael McComie promised he would get intouch with them, he said he was impress with Kris professional manner on/off the pitch and his skill level, since June 20th they have been waiting for a call, they all seem to be dodging the call/emails...

The player got fed-up and is looking at different options.

A simple courtesy phone call or an email would have been fine on his status on whether he made the team or not, that's all.

I think (Marcus Bernard) a kid that played  "B" team soccer at a rep level, stopped at 16yrs, attend a CDN university and is currently not in the soccer program has made the team.

« Reply #15 on: August 01, 2012, 09:30:34 PM »
Quick update.

Kristian Lee-Kim had trials with the Under 20 team, Michael McComie promised he would get intouch with them, he said he was impress with Kris professional manner on/off the pitch and his skill level, since June 20th they have been waiting for a call, they all seem to be dodging the call/emails...

A simple courtesy phone call or an email would have been fine on his status on whether he made the team or not, that's all.

I think (Marcus Bernard) a kid that played  "B" team soccer at a rep level, stopped at 16yrs, attend a CDN university and is currently not in the soccer program has made the team.

we keep putting these unprofessional people in leadership positions in our football.They are very selfish and doh know about proper protocol.

« Reply #16 on: August 02, 2012, 04:56:46 AM »
Ah hate Michael McComie more than Oliver Camps. !!!!

He head big and he brain small.

Offline kaiser

« Reply #17 on: August 02, 2012, 11:12:43 AM »
i heard U20 coach has been suspended can anyone confirm this?

« Reply #18 on: August 02, 2012, 11:15:55 PM »

I heard at tonites game that he has been released

Offline Trini _2018

« Reply #19 on: August 03, 2012, 07:11:30 AM »
Quick update.

flex tell Kristian Lee-Kim to hold tight the coach is gone according the football supporter
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/sh8SeGmzai4" target="_blank" class="new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/sh8SeGmzai4</a>

« Reply #20 on: August 03, 2012, 08:48:49 AM »

I heard at tonites game that he has been released

Yes, I also received confirmation.

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #21 on: August 03, 2012, 09:01:57 AM »
Ref McComie, I am not too sure about him being released but my understanding is that he has been suspended following an incident with a W Connection player Alvin Jones brother to Joevin Jones (both sons of Kelvin Jones,former national Player & current Police FC coach).
My understanding is that W Connection wrote to the TTFF & he has been suspended pending investigation but to me he should have been released forthwith.
The U20s were playing a practice game vs Caledonia AIA on Friday 27th July, 2012 at Larry Gomes Stadium, when apparently he made an error in the game in the 5th minute, Mc Comie immediately withdrew him and had him run continuously around the Stadium from about the 8th minute, throughout the entire half time interval, throughout the entire second half of the game. An additional 20 minutes was played and he had him run throught that entire period, The player eventually collapsed during the coach's team talk after the completion of the additional 20 mins and his nails were beginning to turn blue, other staff members had to work overtime to eventually revive him and fortunately he did. He had to go see the doctor & it was determined that he suffered serious dehydration as a result of running over 70 laps around the stadium nonstop. This to me is a criminal act & McComie should be prosecuted and should never ever coach any team ever again.
« Last Edit: August 03, 2012, 09:04:13 AM by soccerrama »

« Reply #22 on: August 03, 2012, 09:12:27 AM »
Ref McComie, I am not too sure about him being released but my understanding is that he has been suspended following an incident with a W Connection player Alvin Jones brother to Joevin Jones (both sons of Kelvin Jones,former national Player & current Police FC coach).
My understanding is that W Connection wrote to the TTFF & he has been suspended pending investigation but to me he should have been released forthwith.
The U20s were playing a practice game vs Caledonia AIA on Friday 27th July, 2012 at Larry Gomes Stadium, when apparently he made an error in the game in the 5th minute, Mc Comie immediately withdrew him and had him run continuously around the Stadium from about the 8th minute, throughout the entire half time interval, throughout the entire second half of the game. An additional 20 minutes was played and he had him run throught that entire period, The player eventually collapsed during the coach's team talk after the completion of the additional 20 mins and his nails were beginning to turn blue, other staff members had to work overtime to eventually revive him and fortunately he did. He had to go see the doctor & it was determined that he suffered serious dehydration as a result of running over 70 laps around the stadium nonstop. This to me is a criminal act & McComie should be prosecuted and should never ever coach any team ever again.

Good for de f00cker.... he mouth gone up in de ass now...
'

Offline Trini _2018

« Reply #23 on: August 03, 2012, 10:04:03 AM »

Jones should have stopped run .....

« Reply #24 on: August 03, 2012, 10:56:58 AM »
The woman accused of 'running to death' her nine-year-old stepdaughter - who died of extreme dehydration - gave birth the same day she was arrested.

Joyce Hardin Garrard, 46, and 27-year-old Jessica Mae Hardin, from Alabama, were charged with the murder of Savannah Hardin yesterday, who they made run without stop for three hours as punishment for lying about eating a candy bar.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2105028/Grandmother-stepmother-charged-murder-Savannah-Hardin-9-Etowah-County-Alabama.html#ixzz22VFTLR2E

"It matters not what you can do, If you cannot do it

Online D.H.W

« Reply #25 on: August 03, 2012, 11:02:26 AM »
No way I was running all that. McComie is a fool if that true

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #26 on: August 03, 2012, 11:33:00 AM »
It is easy for us to say that he should have stopped running but these young guys so want to make the National Team that they want to please the coaches and McComie & these guys have these young guys fearful of them because they are so spiteful.
Pray tell me what mistake could the young man have made in a "practice game" to warrant such a punishment.
During this same incident young Jones asked if he could stop and was told no by McComie, he asked for water & was refused. Imagine when he was collapsing one of his teammates ran to his assistance and McComie stopped him, asking if he was a doctor? There are also lots of other incidents. I implore Flex &/or Tallman to try talking to some of these U20 players and even ex Mau Pau players and you would find out how McComie coaches by "FEAR".

Online D.H.W

Re: Re: U-20 men's team play in Biche.
« Reply #27 on: August 03, 2012, 11:35:59 AM »
It is easy for us to say that he should have stopped running but these young guys so want to make the National Team that they want to please the coaches and McComie & these guys have these young guys fearful of them because they are so spiteful.
Pray tell me what mistake could the young man have made in a "practice game" to warrant such a punishment.
During this same incident young Jones asked if he could stop and was told no by McComie, he asked for water & was refused. Imagine when he was collapsing one of his teammates ran to his assistance and McComie stopped him, asking if he was a doctor? There are also lots of other incidents. I implore Flex &/or Tallman to try talking to some of these U20 players and even ex Mau Pau players and you would find out how McComie coaches by "FEAR".

Wow seriously. Nah man, he should get a ban. How the ass he ain't give the fellah water. So he would of let the boy dead Stueps.

Offline Trini _2018

« Reply #28 on: August 03, 2012, 01:15:32 PM »

Wow seriously. Nah man, he should get a ban. How the ass he ain't give the fellah water. So he would of let the boy dead Stueps.
where were the assistant coaches rougier and Marcelle when this occurred

Online D.H.W

« Reply #29 on: August 03, 2012, 01:16:03 PM »
Good question