Sports > Trinbago, NBA & World Basketball

NBA Trades

<< < (3/3)

Marcos:
STAT and Melo are both black holes on the floor. Add in a PG that needs the ball in his hands and that is a recipe for disaster. The Knicks played their best ball when it was Lin, Shumpert, Tyson and Fields getting most of the run. I don't care if ppl make the argument that their opposition was weak, they were losing to those same caliber teams before that.

Melo is a phenomenal talent, but just CANNOT play in a team environment. That shit works in college, but in the pros, one man eh beating yuh. The only man who can play without the ball in NY is Chandler. If I were them, I lining up a trade of Melo for Kidd-Gilchrist plus a couple first round picks, which from Charlotte could potentially be lottery picks.

Imagine a line-up of Lin, Schumpert, Kidd-Gilchrist, Stat and Chandler. Plenty more potential than the current crop and yuh have potential franchise players in future draft picks. Bring back D'Antoni too.

Bakes:
So long Jeremy Lin... it's been real. You left to chase a fat third-year contract in Houston, hope your bet pays off. You were a great servant to the team, we thank you accordingly and wish you well.

Let's go Knicks!!

royal:

--- Quote from: Bakes on July 17, 2012, 09:37:07 PM ---So long Jeremy Lin... it's been real. You left to chase a fat third-year contract in Houston, hope your bet pays off. You were a great servant to the team, we thank you accordingly and wish you well.

Let's go Knicks!!

--- End quote ---

so we know Jeremy Lin won,but which team won, Houston or New York?

Bakes:

--- Quote from: royal on July 19, 2012, 05:42:01 AM ---
--- Quote from: Bakes on July 17, 2012, 09:37:07 PM ---So long Jeremy Lin... it's been real. You left to chase a fat third-year contract in Houston, hope your bet pays off. You were a great servant to the team, we thank you accordingly and wish you well.

Let's go Knicks!!

--- End quote ---

so we know Jeremy Lin won,but which team won, Houston or New York?

--- End quote ---

Honestly, I don't think either team won.  Hard to really understand Houston's philosophy.  They really wanted to keep Dragic, Lin is their back up plan.  Dragic wanted out and went to Phoenix, but they had a good #2 in Kyle Lowry.  I really don't understand why they traded him to sign Lin... and for that much money.  They better pray that Lin work out or else they'll look real foolish.  Personally, I think Lin will be decent for them, but not a star, still too many holes in his game and without good players around him (Howard likely to end up in LA now), hard to see him developing.

The Knicks aren't the losers some are making them out to be, especially the idiot fans.  The way the cap works is that the first $4,999,999 is taxed at a rate of $1.50 for every dollar over the tax line... meaning $7,499,999 in tax payments. The next $5 million to $9,999,999 is taxed at a rate of $1.75 per dollar over the tax line, bringing that total to $8,749,998. The final $10 million to $14,800,00 is taxed at a rate of $2.50 for every dollar, bringing that total to $12,000,000.

Add it all up and the final tax tally in 2014-15 would be $28,249,997. Together with his base salary of $14.8 million, that would bring Lin's total cost to the Knicks in the third year to $43,049,997. Lin would have understood most, if not all of this, and how difficult it would be for the Knicks to match the re-worked offer. The Knicks 'won' by not falling for the sentimental trap of paying that much for an unproven player, but they taking a huge PR beating right now (unjustly so), and will miss out a a great marketing opportunity by letting him walk.

Navigation

[0] Message Index

[*] Previous page

Go to full version