March 28, 2024, 06:08:18 AM

Author Topic: Earthquake in Trinidad  (Read 21082 times)

Re: Earthquake in Trinidad
« Reply #60 on: October 04, 2006, 10:28:18 AM »
Wait nuh! Why San Juan in central Trinidad? The government move it and eh tell nobody or what? I sure the maxi drive past the Croisse this afternoon.  ;D
dem ent easy eh :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
san juan dong by ato stadium
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #61 on: October 04, 2006, 11:35:07 AM »

3) Wooden buildings are the safest type of construction to be in during an earthquake. Wood is flexible and moves with the force of the earthquake. If the wooden building does collapse, large survival voids are created. Also, the wooden building has less concentrated, crushing weight. Brick buildings will break into individual bricks. Bricks will cause many injuries but less squashed bodies than concrete slabs.

In California most residential homes are wood frame, BUT we don't have hurricanes to contend with, so for us it's the safest construction. In the Caribbean, though not so much in Trinidad you have to strike a balance - The cinder block is more common. (I still don't know why getting a house build that way in Florida is such a problem. A lot of contractors don't seem to like it.

This thread has mentioned a lot about what to do during an earthquake, but not what to do after. One of the biggest hazards after is fire especially due to ruptured gas lines. Knowing were to shut off your gas main is important - but only do it if there is damage to the line - and having a wrench handy. Fasten or hang a wrench near the valve and keep it there.- A great way to make a buck in California is going door to door with wrenches painted bright neon colors to fit the gas mains.

Other stuff:
-Damaged electrical wiring: Shut off power at the control box.
-Downed or damaged utility lines: Stay away from downed lines even if power appears to be off.
-Fallen objects in closets and cupboards: Displaced objects may fall when you open the door.
-Check your telephone: Make sure each phone is on its receiver. Telephones that are off the hook tie up the telephone network unnecessarily.
-Clean up potentially harmful materials and/or medicines which may have spilled. -Use flashlights or battery-powered lanterns. Do not use lighters, matches, candles, or lanterns until you are sure there are no gas leaks.
-Use your telephone only in the event of life-threatening emergencies.
-Turn on a battery-powered radio for information, damage reports, and for information on volunteering your assistance.
-Keep streets clear for emergency vehicles. Cooperate with public safety officials.

« Reply #62 on: November 16, 2006, 07:53:53 PM »
Anyone feel this 5.0 quake yesterday - or too busy studying the Warriors lose? We had a little tsunami action in California from that 8.1 in Japan - washed away a couple of piers up north.

Offline Patterson

« Reply #63 on: November 16, 2006, 08:44:02 PM »
Anyone feel this 5.0 quake yesterday - or too busy studying the Warriors lose? We had a little tsunami action in California from that 8.1 in Japan - washed away a couple of piers up north.

felt it alright sitting at the PC watching the match but i just brushed it off.......it was really light

Offline kandi_tt

« Reply #64 on: November 16, 2006, 11:13:17 PM »
all i was thinking about was all d tv's and huge mirrors mounted on d wall at trotters...presshahhhh
iNnOcEnT aNd UnInFoRmEd...

« Reply #65 on: November 16, 2006, 11:48:48 PM »
all i was thinking about was all d tv's and huge mirrors mounted on d wall at trotters...presshahhhh

good one Kandi

ya was close tur dey...ah hope ya had ya camera sling roun ya neck - jus incase eh

« Reply #66 on: August 21, 2018, 06:31:54 PM »
From some videos I saw this evening it looks like Trinidad got hit with a decent earthquake that caused some destruction.

« Reply #67 on: August 22, 2018, 03:07:40 PM »
Are we lucky or what? There have been earthquakes of that magnitude in various parts of the world which causd tremendous damages and deaths. Luckily no known casualties. Is it because of the time of the day the earthquake hit. Or the length of the tremor.  Or did our infrastructure withstood the tremors at this time. Whatever it is, we should thank our lucky stars about the outcome. Somebody whatapps this tidbit.

Haiti 2010
7.0 magnitude
316,000 casualties

China-2014
6.1 magnitude
617 casualties

Indonesia-2018
6.9 magnitude
469 casualties

Trinidad-2018
6.9 magnitude
Zero casualty

Repent Trinis. Go and take a bush bath and count your blessings.

« Reply #68 on: August 22, 2018, 05:04:11 PM »
Another tidbit sent about yesterday's tremor. Some contrast between Haiti tremor and the one that happen with TT-Ven. They said the earth surface absorb a lot of the shock. The 7.0  tremor Haiti experienced in 2010 occurred 14 km beneath the earth's surface, while yesterday's tremor occurred 123  km below the earth. The epicenter was 25 km from Port au Prince, while TT was approx. 140 km from the epicenter. So that is why it was not so deadly.

« Reply #69 on: August 22, 2018, 06:58:15 PM »
From what I know, no one lost their life yesterday and that is great news!

« Reply #70 on: August 22, 2018, 06:59:17 PM »

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/9UuLQuhVRgA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/9UuLQuhVRgA</a>

« Reply #71 on: August 22, 2018, 07:30:52 PM »

« Reply #73 on: August 23, 2018, 04:33:33 PM »

« Reply #74 on: August 23, 2018, 04:49:11 PM »