April 18, 2024, 02:06:56 AM

Author Topic: The Sharks: Central FC Thread  (Read 171715 times)

Re: SPoRTT falls short as Central FC faces CFU ban and fine.
« Reply #1050 on: March 04, 2016, 06:28:53 AM »
Karma is a hell of a thing.

De tables turn now.

PNM vs UNC.

It good for Sancho.

Marvin Oliver must be happy as hell.

« Reply #1051 on: March 04, 2016, 01:39:57 PM »
This article really put things in perspective.

You do good, good will follow, you do bad, you pay and Sancho is paying now.

I don't feel sorry for him, SIS have a lot of money.

I remember Sancho as MOS, he was horrible and didn't care about anyone.

« Reply #1052 on: March 05, 2016, 06:33:30 AM »
I hope Sancho learn a lesson here.

You never to big for your shoe.

We all see his true colours when he was MOS, I really hope he never gets the position again, he suffer the game that made him who he is today.

I feel no pain for him, tough luck for Central, the players will pay the price.

« Reply #1053 on: March 06, 2016, 02:58:08 PM »
Central F.C.’s toughest CFU challenge could be just to get there.
Central FC Release.

Reigning Digicel TT Pro League and CFU Caribbean Club Champions, Bankers Central FC will fly to Jamaica to defend their title on Wednesday not knowing if they can actually cover the cost of the trip.

“We submitted a budget for the competition to SPORTT on 2nd January and it was indicated to us that the flights would be covered.” said Managing Director, Brent Sancho.

“But we were told on March 1st that we would only receive 60% of the costs. We were due to fly out on the 8th and this left us with a week to raise $65,000”

Central, who are 7 points clear of Defence Force at the top of the TTPro League, are on an unbeaten run of 13 games stretching back to December.

“The team is in great form. In fact this is the best spell in the clubs 4 year history.” said Sancho.

“Montego Bay United will be a tough test, but there is no point winning a trophy if you have an easy ride. I believe you have to beat the best to be the best. I would go as far as saying that whoever wins this game in Jamaica will go on to be the Caribbean champions”

Central also have to face the relatively unknown Scholars International from Cayman Islands while they’re in Jamaica.

“Our preparation on the field has been good. But off the field, we continually battle with finances. A cut in Government subvention would be perfectly acceptable and understandable. But coming in mid season when all clubs have created budgets based on $83,000 is a bitter blow. Even worse, the subventions are now always late. These subventions specifically cover part of the clubs salaries. We can’t tell players in January that they won’t be paid until March! To make matters worse, the cut in subvention is retrospective, so while we have spent money that we budgeted for, we will receive $33,000 per month less. “

Sancho says that the club is grateful to SPORTT chairman Michael Phillips and Anthony Creed for the support that they are giving. But the cuts are coming from higher up and there is no thought to the effect they are having.

“Because we have lost the seats that were reserved, we now have to fly a day late via Panama. To travel through Panama there is a World Health Organisation requirement that every passenger has a yellow fever vaccination certificate. So now we have to arrange yellow fever vaccinations for the entire squad and staff” said Sancho. “This will cost between $15,000 to $20,000. Ideally you would get these shots a few weeks before you travel because there will be side effects and we need our players at 100% fitness. Because of all these cuts, the shots won’t be given until Monday 7th March, two days before we travel.”

Sancho said that the club literally went begging to corporate T&T for assistance.

“To be honest, we were pleasantly surprised by the reception we received.” said Sancho. “Everyone says that Corporate T&T will not support football. But we found it completely the opposite. There were some companies that wanted to help but couldn’t, but others were adamant that Central had to defend their title. We raised $50,000 in two days, so we booked the flights and pray we can raise the outstanding amounts before we leave. I’d like to personally thank both Bankers Insurance and Ansa McAL for their support in getting us to Jamaica.”

The Sharks play Scholars International on 11th March and Montego Bay United on 13th March. Only the group winners will proceed to the CFU semi finals, from which 3 teams move forward to the Champions League.

“We will fly the flag for T&T in Jamaica and obviously we’re going there to win. But all the time, in the back of your mind, you’re worried about the future of professional football in T&T.”

Central F.C. squad for Jamaica: Elton John, Keion Goodridge, Andre Ettienne, Jason Marcano, Sean de Silva, Kadeem Corbin, Rundell Winchester, Darren Mitchell, Jamal Jack, Nicholas Dillon, Kaydion Gabriel, Michael Darko, Nathaniel Garcia, Jan-Michael Williams, Leston Paul, Kevon Villaroel, Elijah Manners, Mickaeel Gordon, Akel Clarke, Marcus Joseph.

« Reply #1054 on: March 08, 2016, 05:09:19 AM »
‘Sharks’ heading to J’ca by ‘hook or crook’
By Walter Alibey (Guardian).

By the hook or the crook. That’s the extent to which Central FC Sharks will be going to ensure participation in  the play-offs in Group Three of the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Club Championship in Montego Bay, Jamaica, from Wednesday to Sunday. Up to yesterday, the club was still short of its financial obligations to fulfill its fixtures but operations manager Kevin Harrison said that plans were well underway for their 6 a.m. flight tomorrow.

All 22 players received vaccines for yellow fever yesterday, one of the requirements which was compulsory before travelling to Jamaica. 

Harrison said they were awaiting responses from companies from whom they requested financial help. Their bill amounted to $35,000, of which $15,000 was a balance for airfare and accommodation while $20,000 was for yellow fever vaccines. Harrison said the cost of the vaccines was reduced to $15,000 courtesy corporate T&T.

Harrison said the ‘Sharks’ will attempt to raise funds to pay airfare when they return. He gave the assurance his team will go to the play-offs but lamented the embarrassment being faced to do so. “By the hook or the crook, we will be going. I cannot tell you how, but I just know we will be going.”
Central FC are the defending champs of the regional tournament following a dominant season last year in which they made a clean sweep in the domestic competitions.

Monies won are still to be collected, including $1 million for the Digicel Pro League. Harrison said this and a broken promise by the Sport Company of T&T to cover the $130, 000 for airfare and accommodation have put them in a position where they cannot meet their expenses. He told the Guardian the issue is more than football.

“This will pose tremendous embarrassment to the country, the Caribbean and the world at large, as the club will be representing T&T. Can you imagine how it will look if the regional champions cannot defend their title because of financial problems?”     

The team will attempt to qualify from a three-team group that comprises Scholars International of the Cayman Islands and the host team Montego Bay United FC at the Montego Bay Sports Complex. The Central Sharks will face Scholars on Friday and then Montego Bay United on Sunday. Only the top team will advance.

The Sharks will attempt to follow local rivals W Connection which hosted ‘Group One’ two weeks ago and finished at the top with maximum nine points. The teams in that group were Club Sportif Moulien (Guadeloupe), Inter Moengo Tapoe (Suriname) and Atletico of the Dominican Republic).

RELATED NEWS

Money woes hampering Central FC’s CFU defence
T&T Newsday Reports.

Reigning Digicel TT Pro League and CFU Caribbean Club Champions, Bankers Central FC will fly to Jamaica to defend their title tomorrow not knowing if they can actually cover the cost of the trip.

“We submitted a budget for the competition to SPORTT on 2nd January and it was indicated to us that the flights would be covered.” said Managing Director, Brent Sancho, in a press release.

“But we were told on March 1st that we would only receive 60 percent of the costs.

We were due to fly out on the 8th and this left us with a week to raise $65,000” Central, who are seven points clear of Defence Force at the top of the TTP ro League, are on an unbeaten run of 13 games stretching back to December.

“The team is in great form. In fact this is the best spell in the clubs four-year history.” said Sancho.

“Our preparation on the field has been good. But off the field, we continually battle with finances. A cut in Government subvention would be perfectly acceptable and understandable.

But coming in mid-season when all clubs have created budgets based on $83,000 is a bitter blow. Even worse, the subventions are now always late.

These subventions specifically cover part of the clubs salaries. We can’t tell players in January that they won’t be paid until March! To make matters worse, the cut in subvention is retrospective, so while we have spent money that we budgeted for, we will receive $33,000 per month less.” Sancho says that the club is grateful to SPORTT chairman Michael Phillips and Anthony Creed for the support that they are giving. But the cuts are coming from higher up and there is no thought to the effect they are having.

“Because we have lost the seats that were reserved, we now have to fly a day late via Panama.

To travel through Panama there is a World Health Organisation requirement that every passenger has a yellow fever vaccination certificate.

So now we have to arrange yellow fever vaccinations for the entire squad and staff,” said Sancho.

“This will cost between $15,000 to $20,000. Ideally you would get these shots a few weeks before you travel because there will be side effects and we need our players at 100 percent fitness. Because of all these cuts, the shots won’t be given until Monday 7th March, two days before we travel.” Sancho said that the club literally went begging to corporate T&T for assistance.

“To be honest, we were pleasantly surprised by the reception we received.” said Sancho.

“Everyone says that Corporate T&T will not support football.

But we found it completely the opposite.

There were some companies that wanted to help but couldn’t, but others were adamant that Central had to defend their title. We raised $50,000 in two days, so we booked the flights and pray we can raise the outstanding amounts before we leave. I’d like to personally thank both Bankers Insurance and Ansa McAL for their support in getting us to Jamaica.”

« Last Edit: March 08, 2016, 05:13:52 AM by Flex »

« Reply #1055 on: March 08, 2016, 07:31:07 AM »
Sancho and them have money, they just trying to squeeze out some more from de MoS.

Harrison is cool, and still meh boy, sorry for he that he get tie up with a smartman like Sancho.

Good for Sancho, ah hope they don't get a black cent, he burn we when he was sport minister, time to get pay back.

He use to wok for Kamla, now he woking for Karma, next thing he go be woking for Kurma.

« Reply #1056 on: March 09, 2016, 09:33:22 AM »
I not sure if pro league teams deserve any more money. They already getting from the government and the PFL is a private league. Correct me if I am wrong but I don't think cricket teams and track teams get money from Sportt...just the governing body who then distributes if they choose so I don't think it fair to compare this situation to the EAP at all.

In fact, Hart recently questioned how we could be paying salaries of PFL teams yet have our national team suffering for wages? What sense that really make? Plus, I have no doubt that football already gets the most money from the government.

PFL clubs need to learn to survive on their own. If we cant have a professional league because of finances and mismanagement, let the chips fall where they may and stick with amateur football. Maybe the government could just invest in a local based academy or something instead.

« Reply #1057 on: March 09, 2016, 10:08:59 AM »
Lets not forget that if Central FC qualifies for the CONCACAF Cup they will get an addition US $44,000 from CONCACAF like they did last year when the money mistakenly went into Sancho's private account.

So there is no way, Central FC will pass up that opportunity.

« Reply #1058 on: March 19, 2016, 05:09:51 AM »
More trouble for Central FC

The CFU Club Championship finals to be played in Haiti.
Concacaf.com.

The Caribbean Football Union announced Friday that the last stages of the 2016 CFU Club Championship will be held in Port-au-Prince, Haiti.

The four, first-round group winners will converge on the Stade Sylvio Cator for the semifinals on April 29. Two days later, the match for third place and final will be contested at the same venue.

Defending champion Central FC (Trinidad & Tobago) will take on host Don Bosco FC (Haiti) in one semifinal, while DireccTV W Connection (Trinidad & Tobago) is pitted against Arnett Gardens (Jamaica) in the other.

In addition to a place in the tournament decider, the winner of each semifinal will gain a berth in the 2016/17 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League. The region’s last representative to the annual confederation competition will come from the survivor of third-place match.

Central FC, W Connection (both participants in the 2015/16 SCCL) and Don Bosco FC are all making a second straight trip to the Caribbean’s final four.

The Sharks defeated W Connection, 2-1, in the 2015 final for their first-ever international trophy.

« Reply #1059 on: March 19, 2016, 06:59:17 PM »
Lets not forget that if Central FC qualifies for the CONCACAF Cup they will get an addition US $44,000 from CONCACAF like they did last year when the money mistakenly went into Sancho's private account.

So there is no way, Central FC will pass up that opportunity.

Just to clarify...it was US$40,000 which was to cover flights and hotels in Los Angeles. Do the math. If you can carry 25 people to LA and house them for 3 or 4 nights on US$40,000, you could seriously tender for the role of travel agent at SPORTT. 

« Reply #1060 on: April 08, 2016, 12:32:17 PM »
Central F.C. take a boat to reach Haiti.
Central F.C. Release.

Caribbean Club Champions, Central F.C. are organising a boat cruise to help fund the defence of their title in Haiti at the end of April.

The Chaguanas based club have been joined in the semi-final of the 2016 Caribbean Club Championship by last season’s losing finalist, W.Connection, and Haitian outfit, Don Bosco who The Sharks defeated in the 2015 semi-final. The fourth team in the semi-finals is Arnett Gardens of Jamaica, who will face W.Connection, while Central and Don Bosco replay last season’s game.

Semi-Final winners will advance to the final, guaranteed of a place in the CONCACAF Champions League while the losing teams will face each other in the third place play off in which only the winner will advance to the Champions League.

While the CFU will provide accommodation for the teams in Haiti and award US$5,000 towards travel costs, Sharks Managing Director, Brent Sancho said it’s not nearly enough.

“The flights alone will cost TT$130,000 and we also have to overnight in Curacao. So we have to raise at least TT$100,000 in the next four weeks”

Sancho said that the club could have saved over TT$50,000 had they received outstanding monies they are owed. “There was a special offer which provided direct flights at only TT$70,000, but we only had three days to decide and 14 days to make payment. It was impossible to commit as we have no guarantee that we will receive the required funds.”

“It’s all about cashflow” said Sancho “Until we can receive our outstanding funds, every day is a struggle”

Central F.C. have never lost a game in the CFU Club Championships and were unbeaten in 15 games this season, including their recent CFU trip to Jamaica, until they lost to Police through an own goal on 1st April.

The club will be hosting a boat ride, named “Bitten”, on April 23rd on the MV Harbour Master boarding at 11 pm. “We have been fortunate that once again Corporate T&T have stepped forward to help the club” said Sancho. “We hope to raise at least $50,000 from the boat ride. We are inviting corporate leaders to step up and purchase some tickets for distribution to their staff”

Sancho said that guest artists have not yet been finalised, but he is confident that “Bitten” will be a great night and may become an annual event. “We are appealing to top artists to step forward and volunteer to perform to assist us” said Sancho.

As usual, Central F.C. will be flying the flag for T&T on and off the pitch while in Haiti. “The people of Haiti have suffered badly over the last decade and while we are there we hope to liaise with United Nations to visit an orphanage with our players and bring a little cheer. It’s something that our players are used to now. While it gives them a break from the tension and monotony of being in camp, it also, on a personal level, develops their understanding of life outside of Trinidad & Tobago and increases their empathy for those less fortunate.”

Sancho said the club will have one or two more fundraising efforts before they depart on 27th April. However, the club also need to focus on retaining their Pro League title. The Sharks are 4 points clear at the top of the league with a game in hand and 6 games remaining.

“Obviously we were upset about the loss to Police” said Sancho “But, of course, no unbeaten run can last forever. Winning 9 straight games, including two in Jamaica, was indicative of the work put in on the training field.”

Sancho said, however, that the timing of the defeat could be fortuitous. “It was a wakeup call to the lads, who may have become a little complacent. But if we had to lose a game, then that was the right one to lose. We still have breathing space at the top of the league and we now enter the Lucozade Goal Shield. If we can go the next 6 or 7 games unbeaten we would retain the Lucozade Goal Shield, our Caribbean Club Championship and probably our league title as well! Tuesdays game against W.Connection could be instrumental in deciding the destination of this seasons title”

The club welcomed back national striker, Rundell Winchester against Police, who spent a season on loan to MLS club Portland Timbers.

“Rundell is a great addition to the squad for the final third of the season. His pace and power are awesome” But Sancho warned the returning Tobagonian that there are no automatic picks. “We’ve been scoring freely from all over the field, so goals are not a problem. Winchester has to buy in to our style of play which requires 100% effort for 90 plus minutes. Physically he is more than capable, but we will see how he fares mentally. There’s no room for players who switch off during the game. “

Sancho added that Winchester could be devastating in Haiti and this is his chance to regain his place in the National team.

Anyone requiring tickets for “Bitten” should contact the club via its Central F.C. Fan Club facebook page.

« Reply #1061 on: April 08, 2016, 02:24:07 PM »
the headline makes one believe they will be going to  Haiti by boat!

« Reply #1062 on: April 09, 2016, 04:04:32 AM »
What is kickoff time on the 29th?

« Reply #1063 on: April 09, 2016, 06:22:39 AM »
About half way through I realize they fool me with the head line  :cursing: :cursing:

« Reply #1064 on: April 11, 2016, 10:31:03 AM »

7.30 pm (not sure if that's 8.30 in T&T?)

« Reply #1065 on: April 11, 2016, 04:30:21 PM »

7.30 pm (not sure if that's 8.30 in T&T?)

So FS, I see allyuh chartering boat to go to Haiti.  ;D. Allyuh could carry a lot of fans too!

Re: The Sharks: Central FC Thread
« Reply #1066 on: August 16, 2016, 06:46:17 PM »
if somebody could shout to them men to run off the ball (stop being lazy) they might win this match.

« Reply #1067 on: August 22, 2016, 01:04:55 PM »
Slow to the party, but that deal with maracas looks like an excellent one

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

« Reply #1068 on: September 17, 2016, 06:47:21 AM »
It was encouraging to listen to Emmanuel John, our U17 NT goalkeeper, refer to Jan as his "local role model" on the field.

Central FC in Vancouver
« Reply #1069 on: September 28, 2016, 12:00:21 PM »
Not often we get the pleasure of seeing a local team out here on the Canadian West Coast so it's a thrill for Trinbago peeps in the lower mainland that Central FC is in town to play Vancouver Whitecaps tonight at BC Place

A few trinis had the pleasure of meeting up with the team as they arrived and hoping for a good turnout tonight to support the guys.

Among the members of the Central FC contingent are:

T&T captain Kenwyne Jones
T&T goalkeeper Jan Michael Williams
T&T forward Keron "Ball Pest" Cummings
T&T midfielder Sean DeSilva
T&T midfielder Leston Paul
Soca Warriors 2006 Striker Stern John and defender Brent Sancho are also part of the Central FC management team on this trip

Looking forward to a great game tonight.  Will post a recap later.

Re: Central FC in Vancouver
« Reply #1070 on: September 28, 2016, 12:47:00 PM »
Nice and enjoy

« Reply #1071 on: September 28, 2016, 12:58:24 PM »
the down times when you have to accept how large Canada is ..  :'(

« Reply #1072 on: September 28, 2016, 01:22:45 PM »

Full Squad List

Jan-Michael Williams - Goalkeeper - Nat'l Team
Akel Clarke - Goalkeeper
Javon Sample - Goal Keeper
Kevon Villaroel - Left Back - Nat'l Team
Glenn Sutton - Right Back
Keion Goodridge - Central Defender
Keston George - Defender
Leston Paul - Central Midfield - Nat'l Team
Sean de Silva - Central Midfield - Nat'l Team
Nathaniel Garcia - Central Midfield - Levi's brother
Darren Mitchell - Left Midfield - Nat'l Team
Keron Cummings - Left Wing - Nat'l Team
Johan Peltier - Left Wing - Corn Curls brother
Kadeem Corbin - Right Wing - Nat'l Team
Jason Marcano - Right Wing - Nat'l Team
Mickaeel Jem Gordon - Right Wing
Kenwyne Jones - Striker - Nat'l Team captain
Marcus Joseph - Striker - Nat'l Team
Nicholas Dillon - Striker
Kaydion Gabriel - Striker

« Reply #1073 on: September 28, 2016, 01:32:50 PM »
A few trinis had the pleasure of meeting up with the team as they arrived and hoping for a good turnout tonight to support the guys.

« Reply #1074 on: September 28, 2016, 01:43:21 PM »
temp. lil cool...the guys going from 32 to 14, and it would probably drop lil lower this evening...fans have to warm it up for the boys, good start trinivancouverites

« Reply #1075 on: September 28, 2016, 02:09:26 PM »
temp. lil cool...the guys going from 32 to 14, and it would probably drop lil lower this evening...fans have to warm it up for the boys, good start trinivancouverites

Indoor...temperature controlled stadium.  Don't think temperature will be a factor. 

Jet lag and weariness from a 18 hour trip?  ABSOLUTELY.  Some men comin from Mayaro and had to be in the airport at 4 am Trini time on Tuesday.  That's 1 am Tuesday Vancouver time.    That means waking up around 1:30 am Trini time or 11:30 pm Monday night Vancouver time.

The team touched down in Vancouver at 5:15 pm. Checked into hotel and then did light training at the stadium at 7:00 pm. 

LONG ASS DAY.

« Reply #1076 on: September 28, 2016, 03:13:10 PM »
Palos trying to sneak on the team bus the way it look.

« Reply #1077 on: September 28, 2016, 03:48:07 PM »
10 channels, To vs Orlando on 3...Premier league darts on another, wrestling, and baseball..oh frig man

« Reply #1078 on: September 28, 2016, 05:43:02 PM »
10 channels, To vs Orlando on 3...Premier league darts on another, wrestling, and baseball..oh frig man

At least yuh getting to see Molino in action

« Reply #1079 on: September 28, 2016, 06:59:07 PM »

At least yuh getting to see Molino in action
Molino not giving much action