May 25, 2013, 08:54:15 AM

Author Topic: T&T Express Olympic Special Section  (Read 784 times)

Online Observer

T&T Express Olympic Special Section
« on: July 26, 2012, 11:06:46 AM »
 Trinidad Express produces an Olympics Special Section that features Usain Bolt as the main image on the cover (with smaller images of T&T's athletes in the Olympic rings. WTF is wrong with this picture?!?!?)

Bolt is the man everyone knows this, but this is about T&T Olympic Athletes First! If I am a financial
supporter of T&T Olympic effort I would be pissed. Where is our National Support? Where is the National Pride? WTF!

Re: T&T Express Olympic Special Section
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2012, 11:25:04 AM »
u assume lucid thought goes into producing these things...dais yuh first mistake
heeeerrree's johnny!

Online Jah Gol

« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2012, 12:05:03 PM »

« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2012, 12:27:56 PM »
agreed, no sense of pride always looking up to Jamaica...kids is one thing, but a national newspaper?

No disrespect, if you going and look up and emulate a country, choose a better role model....

I am fed up with the number of Trinbagonians who fall in love with the Jamaican culture.  And they wonder why they laugh at us.  I am glad to see I'm not the only one noticing this.

« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2012, 03:25:14 PM »
Am guys how much calypsonians performing in JA for their Independence ?this is the thing with we, know  national pride  .
I am hoping on that night rain should fall, just fall,fall to give the promoters mind ah cleansing for the 50Th independence anniversary
« Last Edit: July 26, 2012, 03:28:44 PM by zuluwarrior »

• Goldove Entertainment
« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2012, 06:03:13 PM »

no offense but those trini artists have no sense in their head...

its T&T independence and they are on the bottom of the flyer with damian and them at the top, keep in mind, damian's son and wife are trini and i have many yard friends but these trinis have no identity whatsoever, its laughable

who are their managers? to allow a promoter to put trini artists second, second fiddle on a flyer about TT independence and they cool with that, absolutely no sense...

the radio stations, even laundry are to blame for this, having pong so much reggae and dancehall that the youths forget about their local music that has always been the superior music in the caribbean.

this is what happens when you have uneducated artists with zero patriotism controlling the industry...

no offense but bunji and dem, dotish, you think for JA independence, the JA promoters putting them large on a flyer and leaving off the yard artists name with them on the bottom?

wow, the way artists and promoters moving back home is so stupid, its not even funny anymore, no wonder soca can't break billboard and there is no soca category at the grammys, they need to get rid of this current crop of artists
« Last Edit: July 26, 2012, 06:06:54 PM by Controversial »
Down with "The HERD" aka "The Sorority Row"

« Reply #6 on: July 26, 2012, 07:10:06 PM »

no offense but those trini artists have no sense in their head...

its T&T independence and they are on the bottom of the flyer with damian and them at the top, keep in mind, damian's son and wife are trini and i have many yard friends but these trinis have no identity whatsoever, its laughable

who are their managers? to allow a promoter to put trini artists second, second fiddle on a flyer about TT independence and they cool with that, absolutely no sense...

the radio stations, even laundry are to blame for this, having pong so much reggae and dancehall that the youths forget about their local music that has always been the superior music in the caribbean.

this is what happens when you have uneducated artists with zero patriotism controlling the industry...

no offense but bunji and dem, dotish, you think for JA independence, the JA promoters putting them large on a flyer and leaving off the yard artists name with them on the bottom?

wow, the way artists and promoters moving back home is so stupid, its not even funny anymore, no wonder soca can't break billboard and there is no soca category at the grammys, they need to get rid of this current crop of artists

And then our govt paying Machel to make an independence album that contains Chaka Khan and Beenie Man, but nothing of artists like Kitchener, SuperBlue etc. How does that reflect 50 years? Just a money maker for another of the PPs favourites.

« Reply #7 on: July 26, 2012, 07:10:44 PM »

RUBBISH!

What makes Soca superior music to Reggae?  What you say or what the world buys and supports/

steups.

« Reply #8 on: July 26, 2012, 09:37:23 PM »
Roy Maharaj of Tri Star Promotions is a friend of the Marley's and the man is looking to make money.  When there was a launching of a Bob Marley film he was specially invited.  He is a big time local fete promoter and also brings down to T&T a lot of Jamaican entertainers.

He looking to fill the stadium yuh feel he want it half full with Bunji and dem?  steups

incidentally yuh eh find it kinda ironic that de soca tunes to top charts worldwide come from a Saint Vincent and the Grenadines singer and a Montserrat artist re-sung by a yankee????   Even if leston paul was behind the latter????  Maybe yuh could add dollar wine by Colin Lucas to that list as a top seller, but chart topping???

« Last Edit: July 26, 2012, 09:55:17 PM by truetrini SC »

Online Jah Gol

« Reply #9 on: July 27, 2012, 06:24:07 AM »
I have no problem with the promoter. He's just an entrepreneur exploiting an opportunity. The issue I have is this wouldn't occur without a market. There's a great deal of demand for those artists here and the date just happens to be before our Independence Day. The fact that the Trinidadian public doesn't have the civic sensibility to promote their own culture during this period is disappointing and saddening to me. This is the major event the night before independence and it has no real competition with any concert involving our artists or culture. We are a people who lack consciousness and are frivolous beyond measure. This along with the fact that the Jamaicans have much more developed music industry is why we don't have broad global appeal.

I happen to love reggae music and the Marleys would probably be very entertaining but I can't see myself bringing in Independence Day in a reggae concert.
« Last Edit: July 27, 2012, 07:53:16 AM by Jah Gol »

• Goldove Entertainment
« Reply #10 on: July 27, 2012, 07:32:40 AM »

RUBBISH!

What makes Soca superior music to Reggae?  What you say or what the world buys and supports/

steups.

first of all, reggae music took from rock steady which was born from a trini, lets begin there breds. I'm not about to get into musicality and specifics, no time for a diatribe of why, you have your opinion as I do mine. right now you are finding strong elements of soca in mainstream music and nothing is leading back to trinis. calypso has always been the backbone of the west indies.

you are referring to the artists and not the potential of the music, in the golden era, calypso ruled, soca if done correctly has a bigger mass appeal than reggae, your actually witnessing a small portion of it with reggaetone and some dancehall music, which should be renamed. the vincy and bajan listened to what the execs have spoken about for over a decade and they hit billboard, the tt artists haven't listened yet, so its not the music, its the artist and they could sell out the stadium if they had other artists on the bill or just had trini artists in general, maybe from other genres of music.

and trust me i have discussions with label execs and the top in the music industry, i know what the soca artists are doing wrong and how they can correct it but they have an identity crisis and don't like listening to reason.

laundry and the radio stations single-handedly created a monster whether you or anyone would like to admit it, which is part of the problem.

roy maharaj is making his money and i know its a money thing, i aint stupid to the fact these promoters bringing ja artists to fill stadium and make money but the artists should have some pride in their nation and music, which they don't so they are sheep and have no sense.

roy needs to be more patriotic, sometimes money isn't the only thing, especially for independence day,  some respect for your nation and stop destroying the music. you see thats the problem with trinis, everything is a money thing, regardless of the repercussions

« Last Edit: July 27, 2012, 07:49:17 AM by Controversial »

• Goldove Entertainment
« Reply #11 on: July 27, 2012, 07:44:31 AM »
I have no problem with the promoter. He's just an entrepreneur exploiting an opportunity. The issue I have is this wouldn't occur without a market. There's a great deal of demand for those artists here and the date just happens to be before our Independence Day. The fact that the Trinidadian public doesn't have the civic sensibility to promote their own culture during this period is disappointing and saddening to me. This is the major event the night before independence and it has no real competition with any concert involving our artists or culture. We are a people lack consciousness and are frivolous beyond measure. This along with the fact that the Jamaicans have much more developed music industry is why we don't have broad global appeal.

I happen to love reggae music and the Marleys would probably be very entertaining but I can't see myself bringing in Independence Day in a reggae concert.

soca and calypso music being seasonal created the problem, soca artists and calypso artists touring for the rest of the year and not making albums that cater to other general topics other than carnival was also the problem and still is. the artists make money touring and they are content, they are now wrapping their mind around doing music that caters to topics outside carnival and lyrics that the mainstream audience can relate to in north america.

the radio stations in TT created a big problem, not playing soca/calypso year round, now they are but the artists have to start making music that north americans can relate to, the world can relate to, slow down the tempo, get some more singers in the mix, groovy has the crossover potential with the right marketing behind it. tt culture and music is above and beyond any others in the west indies.

christopher blackwell an english jew introduced reggae and bob marley to the world, he knew what they had to do to cross over the music to the mainstream audience, he is one of the major if not major reasons everyone knows about marley and reggae worldwide. tt artists need to understand the power of their music and what it can do, they haven't realized that yet because they have an identity crisis, and don't have the sense to see it.

you have latin artists taking our music and making millions, while tt artists play 2nd fiddle at a tt independence day to other artists from another island because the promoter looking to eat a food. too bad the artists don't have the sense to walk away and stand up for their music.
« Last Edit: July 27, 2012, 07:46:53 AM by Controversial »

« Reply #12 on: July 27, 2012, 08:51:52 AM »
In Toronto, they celebrating TnT independence with this fete for Caribana weekend...
in the detailed print flyer it's actually billed as celebrating TnT's independence....

« Reply #13 on: July 27, 2012, 09:55:20 AM »
Because T&T is ah bunch of f0ccking followers...

I love we athletics, I hope they win gold everyone ha them.....

« Reply #14 on: July 27, 2012, 10:32:21 AM »
I have no problem with the promoter. He's just an entrepreneur exploiting an opportunity. The issue I have is this wouldn't occur without a market. There's a great deal of demand for those artists here and the date just happens to be before our Independence Day. The fact that the Trinidadian public doesn't have the civic sensibility to promote their own culture during this period is disappointing and saddening to me. This is the major event the night before independence and it has no real competition with any concert involving our artists or culture. We are a people who lack consciousness and are frivolous beyond measure. This along with the fact that the Jamaicans have much more developed music industry is why we don't have broad global appeal.

Totally agreed... Junior Gong right now is hands down my favorite artiste and I saw them in NYC earlier this year. After that show, i say that is the one group I will pay to go and see anytime they have a show where i within reach. What I love about them is that they follow through on all their songs in their performance, sing all the verses and chorus... No setta "Wheeel selector, Haul and pull up" that you get from every dancehall and hip hop artist.. A quality must see show.

But nah, i really cyah see myself in that jump up on the eve of our 50th anniversary.. That is madness, poorly thought out and poorly construed...

Despite all that, show will sell out though.

Online Observer

« Reply #15 on: July 27, 2012, 01:40:15 PM »
Allyuh real hijack this thread we. How it end up Junior Gong / Reggae WTF!  :cursing:

« Reply #16 on: July 27, 2012, 01:41:34 PM »
Allyuh real hijack this thread we. How it end up Junior Gong / Reggae WTF!  :cursing:

They eh hijack it man... they just take it fuh ah ride dong by de beach, they coming back juss now  ;D

« Reply #17 on: July 27, 2012, 06:11:34 PM »
Bakes yuh good  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Online Jah Gol

« Reply #18 on: July 27, 2012, 06:37:10 PM »
It's about national pride as you pointed out. I saw the sport magazine and felt the same way.

Online Observer

« Reply #19 on: July 28, 2012, 09:21:05 AM »

They eh hijack it man... they just take it fuh ah ride dong by de beach, they coming back juss now  ;D

hahhaha ;D I ok wid a joy ride