the radio stations, even laundry are to blame for this, having pong so much reggae and dancehall that the youths forget about their local music that has always been the superior music in the caribbean.
this is what happens when you have uneducated artists with zero patriotism controlling the industry...
no offense but bunji and dem, dotish, you think for JA independence, the JA promoters putting them large on a flyer and leaving off the yard artists name with them on the bottom?
wow, the way artists and promoters moving back home is so stupid, its not even funny anymore, no wonder soca can't break billboard and there is no soca category at the grammys, they need to get rid of this current crop of artists
RUBBISH!
What makes Soca superior music to Reggae? What you say or what the world buys and supports/
steups.
first of all, reggae music took from rock steady which was born from a trini, lets begin there breds. I'm not about to get into musicality and specifics, no time for a diatribe of why, you have your opinion as I do mine. right now you are finding strong elements of soca in mainstream music and nothing is leading back to trinis. calypso has always been the backbone of the west indies.
you are referring to the artists and not the potential of the music, in the golden era, calypso ruled, soca if done correctly has a bigger mass appeal than reggae, your actually witnessing a small portion of it with reggaetone and some dancehall music, which should be renamed. the vincy and bajan listened to what the execs have spoken about for over a decade and they hit billboard, the tt artists haven't listened yet, so its not the music, its the artist and they could sell out the stadium if they had other artists on the bill or just had trini artists in general, maybe from other genres of music.
and trust me i have discussions with label execs and the top in the music industry, i know what the soca artists are doing wrong and how they can correct it but they have an identity crisis and don't like listening to reason.
laundry and the radio stations single-handedly created a monster whether you or anyone would like to admit it, which is part of the problem.
roy maharaj is making his money and i know its a money thing, i aint stupid to the fact these promoters bringing ja artists to fill stadium and make money but the artists should have some pride in their nation and music, which they don't so they are sheep and have no sense.
roy needs to be more patriotic, sometimes money isn't the only thing, especially for independence day, some respect for your nation and stop destroying the music. you see thats the problem with trinis, everything is a money thing, regardless of the repercussions