March 29, 2024, 05:55:59 AM

Author Topic: 2013 Calypso  (Read 3786 times)

2013 Calypso
« on: November 26, 2012, 05:13:57 PM »
Defosto - Aloo Sing

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/sqxC8dwMMIw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/sqxC8dwMMIw</a>

Re: 2013 Calypso
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2012, 05:14:43 PM »
Hamidullah Wahid - Not My Boy

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/VqhEPohJL7U" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/VqhEPohJL7U</a>

« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2013, 03:40:37 PM »
Ras Kommanda - First Time

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/ZFSjsEyjnTw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/ZFSjsEyjnTw</a>

« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2013, 03:41:35 PM »
Ras Kommanda ft Mighty Power- Respect Yuh Culture

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Z-obpHPXNPg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Z-obpHPXNPg</a>

« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2013, 03:42:09 PM »
Ras Kommanda - What is the Price

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/hLpY43FsG0I" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/hLpY43FsG0I</a>

« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2013, 03:43:12 PM »
Black Stalin & Steve Sealy - Tell Dem

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/rHuKXU8Wm_4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/rHuKXU8Wm_4</a>

« Reply #6 on: January 11, 2013, 03:46:20 PM »
Lani. K - Old Time Days

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/vPxWMdGfUpU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/vPxWMdGfUpU</a>

« Reply #7 on: January 11, 2013, 03:49:43 PM »
Fya Empress - Painter

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/WQPBA2TCEFw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/WQPBA2TCEFw</a>

« Reply #8 on: January 11, 2013, 03:51:55 PM »
Rondell Donawa - MY VISION

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/fORbr0JLOQ8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/fORbr0JLOQ8</a>

« Reply #9 on: January 11, 2013, 03:55:18 PM »
Bally - Clauses

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/8FuuS3rwleU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/8FuuS3rwleU</a>

« Reply #10 on: January 11, 2013, 04:03:36 PM »
Kurt Allen - POLITICAL SIN-PHONY [2013 Trinidad Calypso] The Last Badjohn
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/LLKR_8A4YDk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/LLKR_8A4YDk</a>

Kurt Allen presents 'Political Sin-Phony'
Story Created: Jan 4, 2013 at 11:37 PM ECT

The Last Badjohn of Calypso Kurt Allen has fired his first salvo for the 2013 season with the composition "Political Sin-Phony."

"Political Sin-Phony," (subtitled "Uproar,") is a political commentary Calypsoka (calypso a la Kurt Allen). The song is a symphony featuring politicians as the musicians, explained Kurt.

"I relied heavily on the use of metaphors in describing the actions of politicians in terms associated with a musical opera. The opera house has been transformed into the UPROAR HOUSE where the Political Sin-Phony is being staged - Par-lia-ment," Kurt said.

The track was produced and arranged by Carl "Beaver" Henderson and composed by Kurt during Carnival 2012.

"The idea for the song came on Carnival Monday of 2012 while relaxing at home after my second placing at the National Calypso Monarch finals. I have always been able to write a lot of my material during and right after the Carnival season," he said.

As the reigning Political Commentary Calypso Monarch, Kurt believes he has a responsibility to comment on the political landscape with the view of presenting the findings and observations to the people in song.

While this is the first hit at the title, Kurt has at least four commentaries from which to choose – a strategy he has used for each Carnival season.

"After this release there are other surprises in store, I have always learnt from past experiences so this time around I am set and waiting on the right moment to release the right track," he said.

Kurt was National Calypso Monarch in 2010, winning with the song "Too Bright."

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/sunday-mix/Kurt_Allen_presents__Political_Sin-Phony_-185726151.html
« Last Edit: January 11, 2013, 07:02:10 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #11 on: January 22, 2013, 08:34:02 AM »
Kerice KeKe Pascall - The Pm Shoes

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Hnu6DhUQ2j8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Hnu6DhUQ2j8</a>

« Reply #12 on: January 22, 2013, 10:29:20 AM »
Mistah Shak - Not A Pan Tune

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/HJVxjF6m0cM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/HJVxjF6m0cM</a>

« Reply #13 on: January 22, 2013, 07:58:19 PM »
Lady Adana - Last Call

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/L941R2WKPVs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/L941R2WKPVs</a>

« Reply #14 on: January 22, 2013, 08:46:32 PM »
Lady Adana - Last Call

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/L941R2WKPVs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/L941R2WKPVs</a>

Best Calypso  to my liking

« Reply #15 on: January 22, 2013, 10:41:18 PM »
Lady Adanna mash me up. Powerful!!!

« Reply #16 on: January 24, 2013, 09:52:40 AM »
Marvelous Marva - Come Back To What?

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/9Y7C2rhM18w" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/9Y7C2rhM18w</a>

« Reply #17 on: January 25, 2013, 02:41:57 AM »
This song is just the smoke.

2012 Monarch Duane O'connor-2013 Song,Titled: Section 34.

http://www.duaneoconnor-tt.com/Interview%2006.mp3
« Last Edit: January 26, 2013, 03:21:13 AM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #18 on: January 25, 2013, 08:37:46 AM »
Karega Mandela - Rapso Joy

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/qCDtoWRLxpk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/qCDtoWRLxpk</a>

« Reply #19 on: January 27, 2013, 08:31:19 PM »
The most interesting song playing in panorama this year.

Gerelle Forbes – Sapna (The Dream)
Written and Composed by: Fazad Shageer & Ray Holman (2013)

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/bB0YLVhmAjE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/bB0YLVhmAjE</a>

« Reply #20 on: January 29, 2013, 08:45:10 AM »
Kurt Allen "The Last Badjohn of Calypso": BLACK STALIN SAY

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/pQts-pdO9_U" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/pQts-pdO9_U</a>

« Reply #21 on: February 01, 2013, 01:27:30 PM »
Lady Gypsy - Brand Name

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/hqifT9gVzsg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/hqifT9gVzsg</a>

« Reply #22 on: February 11, 2013, 08:30:45 PM »
BWAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
One of the best calypso/soca remake of an old time Kaiso. Ansem Douglas. You know how long I looking for this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DK_ULiU5L1k
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/DK_ULiU5L1k" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/DK_ULiU5L1k</a>
« Last Edit: February 13, 2013, 01:02:59 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #23 on: March 06, 2013, 01:12:42 AM »
Lady Adanna mash me up. Powerful!!!

Yeah boy!! she mash me up to