April 16, 2024, 06:46:22 AM

Author Topic: 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup Thread.  (Read 83624 times)

Re: Gold Cup 2013 Preparations and Meet up
« Reply #30 on: January 23, 2013, 02:10:23 PM »
Great.... I hope we get a game in the GA Dome...........Nice.

« Reply #31 on: January 23, 2013, 04:47:05 PM »
Well I hope TT get to play in Baltimore.

« Reply #32 on: January 23, 2013, 05:41:27 PM »
Me ent care where T&T playing... I going!

Offline JRtheWriter

« Reply #33 on: January 23, 2013, 08:36:41 PM »
Great.... I hope we get a game in the GA Dome...........Nice.

I live in ATL, so if we get a match there you can be sure I'm gonna tailgate or have a meet up at a bar before/after the match.

« Reply #34 on: January 24, 2013, 11:58:45 AM »
ent!

we go make the georgia dome we home.

when de draw is?

Re: 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup Thread.
« Reply #35 on: January 24, 2013, 06:04:32 PM »
CONCACAF Announces 2013 Gold Cup Host Cities and Venues.

Confederation's Premier National Team Tournament to Visit Eight New Venues and Six New Cities Expanding the Footprint of the Event across the United States

MIAMI -- CONCACAF announced Wednesday the 13 venues and host cities that will welcome the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup from July 7-28, 2013.

"We would like to thank all cities and venues in the United States for their interest in our Confederation's Gold Cup and congratulate the ones that have been selected to host its 2013 edition." said CONCACAF President Jeffrey Webb. "CONCACAF is looking forward to a successful tournament, working in close partnership with both stadium and local authorities, while expanding the reach of our competition to a larger number of fans in more locations throughout the United States."

The region's premier National Team tournament will again expand its footprint by visiting eight new world-class venues in this year's edition: Georgia Dome in Atlanta, GA; M&T Bank Stadium in Baltimore, MD; Sports Authority Field at Mile High in Denver, CO; Rentschler Field in East Hartford, CT; BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston, TX; Sun Life Stadium in Miami Gardens, FL; JELD-WEN Field in Portland, OR and Rio Tinto Stadium in Salt Lake City, UT. Six new Gold Cup cities are featured in this group of newcomers, including Atlanta, Baltimore, Denver, Hartford, Portland and Salt Lake City. Houston and Miami return to host the tournament, for the 5th and 9th time consecutive time, respectively.

The event will also return to five venues from its previous editions including Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, TX (2009, 2011); Soldier Field in Chicago, IL (2007, 2009, 2011); Rose Bowl in Pasadena, CA (1991, 2002, 2011); Red Bull Arena in Harrison, NJ (2011) and CenturyLink Field in Seattle, WA (2005, 2009). Years in parenthesis denote Gold Cups at each venue.

With a mix of historic venues and brand new state of the art soccer facilities that average 57,000 spectators, the 2013 edition of the Gold Cup promises to provide fans both in stadium and at home with unforgettable atmospheres in world class venues. In 2011, the tournament drew more than 600,000 fans throughout 13 match-days, including nine sell-outs.

To date, eleven of the twelve participating national teams have qualified for this year's tournament. In alphabetical order: Belize, Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Martinique, Mexico, Trinidad & Tobago and the United States. The final spot will be decided on Friday in the fifth-place match of the 2013 UNCAF Copa Centroamericana between Guatemala and Panama, which is being held in Costa Rica.

Taking place every two years, the Gold Cup has established itself as the region's most popular national team tournament, routinely drawing capacity crowds and millions of viewers across the region. Featuring the best players from the confederation, the tournament includes the top 12-nations in the region.

2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup Host City & Venue list
(In alphabetical order by host city)

HOST CITY - VENUE (Venue Location)

•  Atlanta - Georgia Dome (Atlanta, GA)
•  Baltimore - M&T Bank Stadium (Baltimore, MD)
•  Chicago - Soldier Field (Chicago, IL)
•  Dallas - Cowboys Stadium (Arlington, TX)
•  Denver - Sports Authority Field at Mile High (Denver, CO)
•  Hartford - Rentschler Field (East Hartford, CT)
•  Houston - BBVA Compass Stadium (Houston, TX)
•  Los Angeles - Rose Bowl (Pasadena, CA)
•  Miami - Sun Life Stadium (Miami Gardens, FL)
•  New York- Red Bull Arena (Harrison, NJ)
•  Portland - JELD-WEN Field (Portland, OR)
•  Salt Lake City - Rio Tinto Stadium (Sandy, UT)
•  Seattle - CenturyLink Field (Seattle, WA)

SOURCE: CONCACAF.COM

« Reply #36 on: January 24, 2013, 06:25:25 PM »
Hopefully we in CT, tri-state massive will represent

« Reply #37 on: January 25, 2013, 08:38:25 AM »
Hopefully we in CT, tri-state massive will represent

Ah was glad to see the venues, Rentschler Field is a 10 min drive from me.

« Reply #38 on: January 26, 2013, 02:58:53 AM »
hmmmm...like i have to sort a USA tour for my band

had a good time at the gold cup in 2005...nice warm up for world cup 2006

« Reply #39 on: January 27, 2013, 11:29:13 AM »
We need to make an effort to have the very best of the  best players  available to us in our talent pool. Let us not  just go with the most convenient and  cost effective team. By any means necessary - Corporate TnT  get together and sponsor ah player- the payoff would be huge in advertising if we show well.

« Reply #40 on: January 27, 2013, 11:36:36 AM »
The bigger picture is WC 2018 preparations. This Gold Cup appearance and our performance must be a huge building black  for the future. What are we doing to show that 2018 preparations begins now for us?

« Reply #41 on: January 28, 2013, 12:43:05 AM »
Massive victory for Belize today in the UNCAF Cup over Nicaragua.  Costa Rica and Guatemala are playing right now and any result other than a Guatemala win will see Belize qualify for their first Gold Cup.  If Guatemala win Belize could still qualify if they beat Panama in the playoff.

EDIT: Belize are through

Belize lost to the Salvadorans in the third place match less than 12 hours ago. Mostly a game of one-way traffic. The UNCAF analyst says Belize played a 3-2-3-2 whereas El Salvador went with a 4-4-2.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/8zuket3NIHE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/8zuket3NIHE</a>
El Salvador 1 Belize 0

EL SALVADOR    [Coach: Alberto Agustín Castillo (Perú)]
Derby Carillo; José Henríquez, Moisés García, José Granadino, Gerson Villavicencio (Herbert Sosa 90'); Darwin Ceren, Richard Menjívar, Rafael Burgos (Mark Blanco 76'), Darwin Bonilla, Nelson Bonilla (Christian Castillo 85'), Alexander Larín.

BELIZE   [Coach: Leroy Sherrier Lewis (Costa Rica)]
Woodrow West; Ian Gaynair, Elroy Smith, Trevor Lennen, Tyrone Pandy (Russel Cassanova 77'); Devon Makin, Jeromy James (Cristobal Gilharry 31'), Dalton Eiley, Andrés Makin; Deon McCaulay, Harrison Roches.

Match Officials
Referee: Sandy Vásquez (Dominican Republic) ... hmmm, interesting coz he's not a Central American official.
Assistants: Leonel Leal (Costa Rica) and Keytzell Corrales (Nicaragua)
Fourth official: Roberto Moreno (Panamá).

***Footage of the entire game available here ***:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xLtG_wtp80s&list=LEOC6n5gbktagxIUrQrp42ywP&index=2

(Shabazz take a peek nah since you were in Turkey ... it's the least I could do ::))
« Last Edit: January 28, 2013, 01:06:23 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #42 on: January 28, 2013, 01:20:48 AM »
Costa Rica won its 7th UNCAF championship (first since 2007) in beating Honduras 1-0. Highlights here:
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/CQIZzihP2yU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/CQIZzihP2yU</a>

***Footage of the entire game available here (better quality than the highlights)***:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RerSbisdSJQ

(Anton & Hutson ... in case yuh need to revisit the scouting notes; Shabazz, yuh done know ... it's the least I could do ;) ... and, of course, you should sample Teletica for footage of the other encounters you missed during the week ... 3 heads being better than 1 etc.). Hol' tight ... ah soon link yuh wid de Peru footage.

« Reply #43 on: January 30, 2013, 05:41:05 AM »
CONCACAF to tackle match fixing.
T&T Express Reports.

CONCACAF have announced that they are exploring a number of measures designed to combat match-fixing and corruption in football.

The governing body for football in the Americas and the Caribbean has released a statement saying it's in the process of identifying measures on a case-by-case basis following a workshop which ended in New York Friday.

CONCACAF says it's also examining a number of preventive steps in the form of courses and training programmes as well as specific legislation.

"Match manipulation in football must be tackled in the strongest possible way and we are glad that CONCACAF is taking a proactive approach on this subject," said Serge Dumortier, Senior Security Manager at FIFA.

"We must take all the steps necessary to safeguard the integrity of our sport."

More than 30 delegates from football, government and law enforcement in Canada and the United States attended the workshop co-hosted by CONCACAF and organized by INTERPOL and FIFA.

The two-day Integrity in Sport workshop examined a range of topics including the betting industry, match-fixing threats, governance, education and prevention.

"This workshop has the goal to raise awareness of the key contemporary match-fixing issues and threats in football, and to identify good practice and areas for development," said Shawn Bray, Head of the US National Central Bureau in Washington.

"The goal is to bring together players, referees, coaches, sports associations, betting regulators and law enforcement to improve individuals' awareness and understanding of corruption in football".

Officials say match fixing has become a global matter affecting every sport on the planet and that football is now a high target for unlawful business deals.

Presentations were made by INTERPOL, FIFA and Early Warning System, a company established to monitor matches and to safeguard the integrity of football.

"The football family must certainly be an intrinsic part of the battle against match fixing through education, surveillance and sanction," said CONCACAF General Secretary, Enrique Sanz.

"However, we mustn't forget to work in partnership with all other affected sports, governments, media, fans and society as a whole".

A similar workshop for the confederation's Caribbean members will take in Panama at their Congress in April.

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #44 on: February 09, 2013, 08:14:34 AM »
Mods...any idea when the Group Stage draw is ? 

« Reply #45 on: February 10, 2013, 07:09:31 PM »
allyuh getting ready to lime??  ;D

Offline #4

• #YGBfiles: The Young, Gifted, and Black Files
« Reply #46 on: February 10, 2013, 07:42:42 PM »

There's no draw- they place the teams in groups based upon parity and potential crowd draw. In the last tournament, they announced the groups in early March, though.

« Reply #47 on: February 10, 2013, 08:02:17 PM »
When is our next warm up?

« Reply #48 on: February 10, 2013, 09:38:46 PM »

There's no draw- they place the teams in groups based upon parity and potential crowd draw. In the last tournament, they announced the groups in early March, though.
anybody remember how many stadiums were selected for the last tournament?
was it 13?
will be nice if we can play all our group games at 1 venue

« Reply #49 on: February 11, 2013, 05:09:28 AM »
Costa Rica, El Salvador, Honduras, Belize and Panama qualifies for the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

« Reply #50 on: February 11, 2013, 09:33:43 AM »
Imagine this bullsh!t! there are seven central american teams in concacaf and they get to have five spots, while CFU have over twenty teams and we only allowed four!

and it have man who does want tuh come here and big up jack warner, who mind you was both CFU and concacaf president, and to add insult, if he wanted to up the anti on CFU he could have implemented that quite easily bc he was also 2nd in command of FIFA.

i believe we should be the region to have the most teams in the tourney, since we have the most teams and the most FIFA votes.

« Reply #51 on: February 11, 2013, 09:49:05 AM »
 :thumbsup:

« Reply #52 on: February 11, 2013, 10:10:01 AM »
there are people that will argue that central america ball "collectively" is a better standard than caribbean ball "collectively" then there is the big picture, CA teams will fill stadiums in the US, can u say the same for caribbean teams ???

« Reply #53 on: February 11, 2013, 10:27:43 AM »
Imagine this bullsh!t! there are seven central american teams in concacaf and they get to have five spots, while CFU have over twenty teams and we only allowed four!
When all four Caribbean qualifiers can be competitive in the tournament then it might be bullshit...sadly that has not been the case.

« Reply #54 on: February 11, 2013, 10:45:28 AM »
there are people that will argue that central america ball "collectively" is a better standard than caribbean ball "collectively" then there is the big picture, CA teams will fill stadiums in the US, can u say the same for caribbean teams ???

Lefty, point taken. you correct to a point. The Caribbean teams can get big crowds but unlike the Central American, who are all over the place(11 million "illegal"), The WI population are mostly on the East Coast. If they put most of the games there we can match them. But they will play TT/US in in Tennesse or St. Louis. Now why must the US play Barbados, Greneda, Guyana on the East Coast. They can't try that with most CA teams, because like I said that all over the place. How many Haiti/US WC games you see in NY or Miami. Cuba in a none factor because of politics. PR and SD are now reviving their footbal, as you know football is not their "favorirte" sport. But that is changing.

« Reply #55 on: February 11, 2013, 11:19:15 AM »

Lefty, point taken. you correct to a point. The Caribbean teams can get big crowds but unlike the Central American, who are all over the place(11 million "illegal"), The WI population are mostly on the East Coast. If they put most of the games there we can match them. But they will play TT/US in in Tennesse or St. Louis. Now why must the US play Barbados, Greneda, Guyana on the East Coast. They can't try that with most CA teams, because like I said that all over the place. How many Haiti/US WC games you see in NY or Miami. Cuba in a none factor because of politics. PR and SD are now reviving their footbal, as you know football is not their "favorirte" sport. But that is changing.

I here u brother, good points, and yes games on the east coast will draw more WI peeps, but I think economically, catering to CA more is jus good business.

« Reply #56 on: February 12, 2013, 03:55:35 PM »
The first group to go home would be:Canada,guatemala,Trinidad and Tobago,Cuba,Martinique.

« Reply #57 on: February 24, 2013, 02:30:26 PM »
Well now that the qualifying teams are known, it is time for a focus on plans and possible players selections and availability for TnT. It seems abundantly clear that with WC Hex on the line that some of these teams who are in that battle will be fielding very strong teams in in the GC tournament. I would think that TnT would not be hastily putting together an undermanned team or some second rated group.

This tournament with our very best available talent show show case to the world the ability we have to create and upset some of those teams who have booked their passage to Brazil.

Have the TTFF lost focus  on this tournament? have we as fans  gone silent on this front as well? How do we keep this important tournament on thE forefront to ensure that those in charge doh put we  in the limelight and have we embarrass down the place?

QUESTIONS: Are there other players to consider adding to this  pool of players/ are there some that should be omitted? for example those who have indicated a lack of desire to represent TnT? Shuld we consider teh quality of our coaching staff? Is it time to seriously consider have these coaches conduct guest coaching camps:

Terry Fenwick and his possible contributions to  our coaching staff? maybe Stephan Hart in some capacity? and a Dennis Lawrence?

what would  our team look like if we could have  all these players available for the best selection:

Europe
Kenwyne Jones-  S  -  28  -  Stoke City (EPL)
Carlos Edward-  M/D  -34  -  Ipswich Town (League Championship)
Jake Thompson-  D  -  23  -  Newport County (Conference National)
Andre Boucaud-  M  -  28  Notts County (League One)
Chris Birchall-  M  -  28  -Port Vale (League Two)
Robert Primus-  D  -  21  -  Aktobe (Kazakhstan Premier League)
Khaleem Hyland  -  M  - 23  -  Racing Genk(Belgian Pro  League)
Darryl Robert-  S  -  29  -  Samsunspor (TFF First League)
Lester Peltier- S -24-  SK Slovan Bratislava (Slovak Super League)
Sheldon Bateau- M- 21-  KV Mechelen (Belgian Pro League)
Meikel Williams-D-22- FC Fyn (Danish 1st Division)
Shahdon Winchester-S-23- FF Jaro (Veikkausliiga- Finnish Premier League)

Asia
Jlloyd Samuel-  D  -  31  -  Esteghlal Tehran FC (Iran Pro League)
Kendall Jagdeosingh -S-26-  Chainat FC (Thai Premier League)
Hughtun Hector -M -28-  Song Lam Nghe An FC   (V-League)
Willis Plaza -S-25- Song Lam Nghe An FC   (V-League)   

US
Julius James-  D  -  28  -  ?
Kevan George – M-22- Columbus Crew (MLS)
Keon Daniel-  M  -  25  -  Philadelphia Union (MLS)
Uriah Betnick- D – 23 - Philadelphia Union (MLS)
Damani Richards- D 18 - Philadelphia Union (MLS)
Cordell Cato – S –20- Seattle Sounders (MLS)?
Carlyle Mitchell – D-25- Vancouver Whitecaps (MLS)
Kevin Molino-  M/S  - 20  - Orlando City (USL)?
Sean Da Silva- M-22-?
Leston Paul-M-22-?

Prospective US born caps (not selected to January US training camp)
Kamani Hill- M-26 -Colorado Rapids
Nick DeLeon – M-22- DC United
Sheanon Williams- D- 22  -  Philadelphia Union

PROPER PLANNING PREVENTS POOR PERFORMANCE
« Last Edit: February 24, 2013, 02:41:42 PM by AB.Trini »

« Reply #58 on: February 24, 2013, 03:17:39 PM »
Qualifiers

North American zone:

Canada
    Mexico
    United States

Caribbean zone:

Cuba
    Trinidad and Tobago
    Haiti
    Martinique

Central American zone:

Costa Rica
    Honduras
    Belize
    El Salvador
    Panama

LET IT BE KNOWN THAT Jamaica is the only team in the final round of World Cup qualifying who failed to make this summer’s Gold Cup.

« Reply #59 on: February 26, 2013, 10:20:21 AM »
So wait nah, it appears that some are we come  like the TTFF- we taking a hiatus from all the Gold Cup talk  suggestions plans and we go wait till two weeks prior to hastily start speculating on players, coaching decisions, training and team readiness.
We get ah little marmaguy fete match prior to Carnival and we good with that? 

PROPER PLANNING PREVENTS POOR PERFORMANCE