March 28, 2024, 03:05:31 AM

Author Topic: Carnival 2013  (Read 9015 times)

Re: Carnival 2013
« Reply #30 on: February 12, 2013, 08:56:58 AM »
MacFarlane say he done, and is not like it wasn't long and boring before. What I saw online was maybe an hour too long, but I thought it was entertaining.

...MacFarlane: Long and boring
By Renuka Singh
Story Created: Feb 11, 2013 at 9:53 PM ECT
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/___MacFarlane__Long_and_boring-190776771.html

Six-time band of the year winner Brian MacFarlane described the new format of Sunday night's Dimanche Gras as "long and boring".

Speaking to the media just before crossing downtown on Carnival Monday, MacFarlane posed for photographs as his masqueraders signed his t-shirt.

"If you want to do away with the final night competition aspect that's fine, but there are so many other elements. The show should have at least showcased the creme de la creme of this year's Carnival," he said.

MacFarlane's King and Queen performed at the show.

His King, Gerard Weekes who tied for first place in Friday's finals was the last to cross the stage just after 1 p.m.   

He would only say "ah shame", when asked to describe the show.

"I have never seen so many last-minute changes, so many disasters backstage," he added.
Bandleader of d'Krewe, 2012 Carnival King Roland St George yesterday dismissed the new format of Sunday's Dimanche Gras as "absolute rubbish".

Roland was not asked to participate in the show that ended after one o'clock Carnival Monday morning.
The new format took away the competition segment from Dimanche Gras and was a showcase for soca, calypso, steelpan and mas bands.

But St George cried shame on both the National Carnival Commission (NCC) and the National Carnival Bands Association (NCBA) for "ruining Carnival".

"I am ashamed that this is where my culture reach at the hands of the NCC and the NCBA," an irate St George said yesterday.

St George is part of the newly-formed Trinidad Carnival Bands Association (TTCBA), a breakaway faction of the NCBA, said he tried to watch the show but soon fell asleep.

"It wasn't worth my time," he said.

The show was advertised as a "tight three hour show" by NCC head Allison Demas but it lasted more than six hours and the fireworks finale was displayed for a handful of people.

Backstage at Sunday night's show, there was some chaos that was not seen on stage as two larger costumes, invited to perform had to be turned away because of the props on the stage.

The show played to a small but appreciative audience who were unaware of the hiccups backstage.

But according to St George those with experience could tell all was not well with the show.

Rosemary Hezekiah, bandleader for Veni and Friends also expressed her disappointment with the show.

"It was way too long. We have so much talent in this country but we haven't been able to harness it and control it," she said.

"We need to have shows that are tighter so that at the end of it, the audience is not asleep in their chairs," she said.

« Reply #31 on: February 13, 2013, 06:05:09 AM »

« Reply #32 on: February 13, 2013, 07:22:39 AM »
Suspiciously cosmetic?

« Reply #33 on: February 13, 2013, 08:18:47 AM »
Suspiciously cosmetic?

what? the barcode?

« Reply #34 on: February 13, 2013, 08:25:19 AM »
But wha de jail, yuh seein de top ah de nip yes

« Reply #35 on: February 13, 2013, 08:38:12 AM »

« Reply #36 on: February 13, 2013, 08:38:25 AM »
But wha de jail, yuh seein de top ah de nip yes
Hmmm

« Reply #37 on: February 13, 2013, 09:08:12 AM »
Fake tits

« Reply #38 on: February 13, 2013, 09:58:32 AM »
Fake tits
So I guess yu see loads of fake tits in your lifetime.....LOL  Looks real enough to me, only way to really know is to squeeze it like a zaboka

« Reply #39 on: February 13, 2013, 11:31:13 AM »
Where is a good place to see carnival pics?

« Reply #40 on: February 13, 2013, 11:57:01 AM »
Where is a good place to see carnival pics?

Brazil

« Reply #41 on: February 13, 2013, 12:35:51 PM »
Fake tits
So I guess yu see loads of fake tits in your lifetime.....LOL  Looks real enough to me, only way to really know is to squeeze it like a zaboka

Yes im a tits specialist  :devil:

« Reply #42 on: February 13, 2013, 01:06:53 PM »
Fake tits

That is not! so. ::)

« Reply #43 on: February 13, 2013, 01:16:59 PM »

« Reply #44 on: February 13, 2013, 04:08:39 PM »
Chalkdust happy for Pink Panther
...kaiso veteran wrote winning songs for ‘godson’
Published:
Sunday, February 10, 2013
Michelle Loubon
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2013-02-09/chalkdust-happy-pink-panther

Riding a crest of popularity is C2k13 National Calypso Monarch Sangre Grande bard Eric Taylor (Pink Panther). After years of labouring in the vineyard, he finally clinched the coveted title with Travel Woes and Crying In The Chapel. It took place at the Queen’s Park Savannah, Port-of-Spain, on Thursday.

Like a hookline from a Road March contender, people have been singing “Ah can’t find the partnership.” The subtle meaning is citizens are yearning for proper governance from Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar’s People’s Partnership administration.

Unknown to calypso connoisseurs it was veteran calypsonian and former eight-time monarch Prof Hollis Liverpool who penned the gems of political satire and social commentary. Crying In the Chapel deals with the loss of valuable cultural icons like Lord Conqueror and Sedley Joseph (Penguin). Both bards belong to the Kalypso Revue tent based at Wrightson Road, Port-of-Spain.

Asked about his contribution, Prof Liverpool said, “I came to the Revue tent and I grew to love him. When I saw he didn’t have a song, I gave him two songs. I did a masterful job. Some people are saying I shouldn’t have given him it. But I am a good Catholic. And I follow the Biblical injunction to treat my neighbours as I treat myself, or even better.”

In the spirit of goodwill, Liverpool is celebrating Taylor’s victory. In a previous interview, Taylor had described him as “his godfather.”

“I feel good. I took over others. I was a godfather to others. But they were not as respectful. So Iet them go,” said Liverpool.

“I wrote the songs for him because he has talent. In Chapel, people are feting while calypsonians are crying. Calypso must be put into language that is not abrasive or arrogant.”

For C2k12, Liverpool said, “I cried with him when he didn’t place. I cried this year with him for his victory.”

Liverpool was also a strong competitor with Prodigal Son and Virginia’s Alzheimer.

“I thank the judges for placing me ninth although I was looking for my ninth victory,” said Liverpool.

« Reply #45 on: February 13, 2013, 05:01:11 PM »
Super Blue dominates Carnival 2013
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/vzNTyl9PRyI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/vzNTyl9PRyI</a>

CARNIVAL 2013 RAP UP
« Reply #46 on: February 17, 2013, 06:59:17 PM »
CHROMATICS - CARNIVAL RAP UP 2013
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/CM4On3vnLrE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/CM4On3vnLrE</a>

Very good Rapso style Carnival Rap Up there from Chromatics and he ent pull no punches!
« Last Edit: February 17, 2013, 07:03:36 PM by Socapro »

Offline Richard G.

• Ah en new...jus doh post as often as oda people
« Reply #47 on: February 17, 2013, 08:37:12 PM »
Guy can flow....
T&T first. Any other country comes a very distant 2nd.

www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg
www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg2
www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg3

« Reply #48 on: February 17, 2013, 11:38:50 PM »
Fya Empress brings the heat
Lornette Nedd-Reid
By By Nicole S Farrell
Story Created: Feb 15, 2013 at 10:41 PM ECT

Lornette Nedd-Reid was born on the island of St Vincent and as an adult, gave birth to Fya Empress, a strong and versatile artiste.

"I came to Trinidad to live with my grandmother. When I first started singing, I tried other islands but it wasn't working and I knew I wanted to sing and make a living at it. I went across to Tobago and worked as a waitress and ended up meeting Michael Baker, who was doing the talent show there." Nedd-Reid participated in the show and would perform weekly wherever opportunities arose.

"The Hilton Hotel was my first big gig and I've performed at top hotels in Tobago for about 10 years. "I remember looking at Michael Baker and thinking that he was getting this money from people and then paying us and I thought, 'When will I be like that?'. So I started buying equipment from him but then had them like toys in my house." That annoyed her husband so with the encouragement from her Tobagonian love, David, otherwise known as Mr Fusion, they eventually started the band, Fire Fusion.

She released many songs over the years, including 'Bam Bam Talk', "Rollin Hard" on the Stag Riddim and has been performing calypsoes penned by Prince Unique, namely, "Painter of the Images" and "Woman". She admitted that singing calypsoes is challenging. "Girl, you know what it is to remember SEVEN verses?! And with "Painter", there was so much history and so many names. Oh lawd!" She fidgeted in her chair and cast her head in the palm of her hand.

She is now enjoying heavy rotation with her offering, "Rum Please" which features a remix with Fay-Ann Lyons. "Bunji actually saw me perform the song in St Vincent and thought that it would be a good idea for Fay-Ann and I to collaborate on the remix."

The idea for "Rum Please" came about when her husband had a drink in his hand and she asked for a sip. They began playing around with a melody for the line "Pass me a drink of your rum". I wanted something to make people move and sing. For a whole week, I was like, 'Pass a drink and what? What next?' I wasn't going anywhere with the song but we got it together."

Her husband is also her manager. Asked about the dynamics of that arrangement, she shouts, "Best thing ever!" My eyebrows shot up as she explained, "I prefer him. I had a manager before who stole my earnings. David has my back. Other men want to feel and see and a woman might want to take mih husband!"

"Rum Please" earned her a spot in the finals of this year's International Soca Monarch competition and she is excited at her 'virgin' opportunity. "I am doing my thing. I've been getting advice on how to prepare for such an event. This is big." Speaking animatedly with her husky tone, she shared, "There is a theme that I'm going with and at semis people probably didn't get it but they will on finals night. Trust me."

Over the years, she has won many titles, some of which are consecutive wins. Her accolades include 'Best New Soca Artiste' in the International Soca Awards in 2011 (different to the International Soca Monarch competition); National Calypso Queen last year, among others. Additionally, she was among the top 20 artistes for calypso awarded in 2012. This year, she was named as a reserve for the semi-final round of the National Calypso Monarch competition. The highlight of her career was when she won three titles: Calypso, Groovy and Road March titles in her homeland. "At one point, I even had eight songs on rotation!"

The Vincy-born gripes about certain issues in the industry. "I can't stand the 'jump, jump, jump; wave, wave, wave' thing. As simple as "Rum Please" is, I paid attention to the music in the song. I don't like how people are just putting a stupid drum beat in songs now. You won't find me singing "Rum Please" at any show for children either. It eh happening!"

Nedd-Reid prides herself on her work ethic. "I record my performances so I can review and make whatever changes." The petite artiste even does her own background vocals. The vocals on her calypso, soca and background tracks sound like three different persons.

Her looks are as versatile as her voice. She bears a striking resemblance to dancehall queen, Lady Saw at times and her range of photos depicts images from edgy to classic glamour. Sporting a cornrow-styled Mohawk for the interview, she swung her head like a pendulum as she said, "I don't like to look the same way all the time. Besides, if I don't dress well, one of my daughters, they're 17 and 18, would say, 'You shaming me. I don't want you shaming me' so I have to keep up with things."

She is one of the few female soca artistes who has a fairly conservative dress code on-stage. "I don't have anything to hide, you know, mih girl, but I can't handle the nakedness. I didn't want a separation of Lornette and Fya Empress."

She also 'covers up' her disappointment in people at times. She has gone through experiences where people she trusted did not invite her to important events and then lied to others to make it seem as if she just did not show up and recently, she was even cursed at and verbally abused by an artiste at the local airport simply because he did not favour something she did during a performance.

"I try to tread light on people's corn. I like keeping a clean vibe." Some of her accounts revealed that she spoke her mind when necessary and as she spoke of petty behaviour from men in the industry, she quipped, "Girl, is like men wearing the panties now yes."

She already has bookings for gigs in Canada, London and a host of other countries and she'll be heading to her native land for their Carnival season which is from early May to early July.

"The sky is the limit." She believes in destiny and one of her mantras is: "When the stars are aligned…"

« Reply #49 on: February 18, 2013, 09:07:08 AM »
New group aims to topple NCBA
Published:
Monday, February 18, 2013
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2013-02-18/new-group-aims-topple-ncba

The newly formed T&T Carnival Bands Association (TTCBA) is preparing to challenge the National Carnival Bands Association (NCBA) to become the main voice for Carnival bands. 

Its interim president and this year’s joint Carnival King Gerard Weekes, said the association was formed in September by concerned members of the NCBA. The group, Weekes said, has more than 77 bands which includes J’Ouvert bands as well as steelbands including Exodus and Silver Stars and Curtis Eustace (with whom Weekes shared this year’s crown).

Weekes said Carnival had experienced many challenges and many masqueraders have been disrespected over the years. The concerned group, which includes Rosalind Gabriel (well-known children’s bandleader) and Trini Revellers’ David Cameron, attempted to gain control of the NCBA in its elections in June 2012. Weekes said the group lost the election by 30 votes and so decided to form its own association.

Asked how the TTCBA would navigate in a space that already has two bodies seeking to represent masqueraders—the NCBA and the National Carnival Development Foundation (NCDF)—Weekes said the group collaborated with the NCDF, but the TTCBA had the majority of bands, which made it eligible to be the main voice.

“The organisation with the majority of bands controls Carnival in Port-of-Spain,” he said. He criticised the NCBA for its treatment of masqueraders, citing the 30-minute limit given to large bands to cross the Queen’s Park Savannah stage. He also criticised the NCBA for its handling of traditional mas, saying under the NCBA’s leadership traditional mas had suffered even though the NCBA has been hosting a Nostalgia Parade.

He said the TTCBA held its own competition downtown under the auspices of mayor Louis Lee Sing and awarded the winners $10,000. The group intends to challenge the NCBA from as early as this week and plans to hold internal elections by next month to firmly establish an executive. At the moment, Weekes said, the group is looking to set up an office.

Weekes added that the TTCBA held discussions with National Carnival Commission chairman Allison Demas. Veteran masman Brian MacFarlane had no lead role in the group, said Weekes, but was a member.

« Reply #50 on: March 25, 2013, 08:47:51 PM »
Are there any official Parade of the Bands DVDs available? I've seen ones for Soca Monarch and Panorama, but nutten fuh de road.