April 24, 2024, 07:30:01 PM

Author Topic: Caledonia duo moves to Kazakhstan while five more consider Finnish deals  (Read 6706 times)

Re: Caledonia duo moves to Kazakhstan while five more consider Finnish deals
« Reply #30 on: February 24, 2013, 10:04:23 PM »
No contract for Theobald: http://www.kups.fi/news.php?id=822

So man saying how good Theobald is and he eh fit? What happen to playing in India all this time, he didn't work on fitness? How are these other places "better" yet our players coming back with the same deficiencies as they left?

« Reply #31 on: February 25, 2013, 12:53:27 AM »
where you get jealous from....Trayon Bobb is a talented and deserving player. it speaks volumes that these fellas ketching they ass to play in finland, the same country whose senior team was whipped by T&T U-23s

Does the English national team reflect the talent in its top tier domestic league?

« Reply #32 on: February 25, 2013, 06:21:28 PM »
where you get jealous from....Trayon Bobb is a talented and deserving player. it speaks volumes that these fellas ketching they ass to play in finland, the same country whose senior team was whipped by T&T U-23s

Does the English national team reflect the talent in its top tier domestic league?

It does not. However almost every single player on the English National team plays their trade in England. And the English league is stocked with a number of high quality internationals from top footballing nations. Most of the Finnish National team, unlike the English NT, ply their trade outside Finland. On the other hand the 4-time Finnish Premier League club champion 2009-current consists almost exclusively of Finns. And their few foreign players are not internationals or players of note as far as I know.

I do understand your point though, but in this particular case the situation is not equivalent. Unlike the EPL, the Finnish league is understrength relative to its NT, and to quality internationals in particular.

« Reply #33 on: February 25, 2013, 06:41:37 PM »
It does not. However almost every single player on the English National team plays their trade in England. And the English league is stocked with a number of high quality internationals from top footballing nations. Most of the Finnish National team, unlike the English NT, ply their trade outside Finland. On the other hand the 4-time Finnish Premier League club champion 2009-current consists almost exclusively of Finns. And their few foreign players are not internationals or players of note as far as I know.

I do understand your point though, but in this particular case the situation is not equivalent. Unlike the EPL, the Finnish league is understrength relative to its NT, and to quality internationals in particular.

Well I won't belabor the argument... but there really is very little correlation between the strength of a National Team's performance and the relative strength of it's top flight domestic league.  There are any number of factors which affect the performance of the national team, not the least of which being chemistry/morale and coaching.  See for example, the difference that coaching made to a team such as TnT or Germany.  In our case we arguably overachieved relative to what our PFL would suggest our capabilities to be.  Prior to Klinsmann (and now Low), arguably Der Mannschaft underachieved relative to the strength of the DFB.  Where quality of the domestic league DOES factor, is in providing a rich talent pool for national selection... but as we know, talent isn't everything, just ask Brazil.

« Reply #34 on: February 25, 2013, 08:32:38 PM »
"but there really is very little correlation between the strength of a National Team's performance and the relative strength of it's top flight domestic league."

this is generally true, with the added complexities of the global football system. either way, when your best midfield prospects appear to be ketching they nen-nen in godforsaken places in finland we arse in dire straights. its one thing to make inroads into diverse global markets. but i think the pro-league is being pushed (or pushing itself) into increasingly peripheral markets. you dream of playing before millions in the EPL or La Liga. But no little boys or girls put up their hand in class and declare they dream of being a big star in Vietnam  lol

« Reply #35 on: February 25, 2013, 11:27:16 PM »
"but there really is very little correlation between the strength of a National Team's performance and the relative strength of it's top flight domestic league."

this is generally true, with the added complexities of the global football system. either way, when your best midfield prospects appear to be ketching they nen-nen in godforsaken places in finland we arse in dire straights. its one thing to make inroads into diverse global markets. but i think the pro-league is being pushed (or pushing itself) into increasingly peripheral markets. you dream of playing before millions in the EPL or La Liga. But no little boys or girls put up their hand in class and declare they dream of being a big star in Vietnam  lol

Agree that this is generally the case and that there certainly are notable exceptions.  Cogent points about the PFL's talent sources and where our more promising talents are currently finding professional homes.

« Reply #36 on: February 26, 2013, 01:35:17 PM »
No contract for Theobald: http://www.kups.fi/news.php?id=822

Yuh see dis??!! Plenty answers in dis outcome.

hmmmm

I say we send his "understudy" to the same club and see if he gets signed. Anyone a betting poster?

« Reply #37 on: February 26, 2013, 06:05:36 PM »
seem like Guerra is doing well and may get signed

Offline finformer

Guerra signed one-year deal with RoPS: http://tinyurl.com/c8h95lv

Offline madness