March 28, 2024, 09:09:53 AM

Author Topic: John Bostock Thread  (Read 96583 times)

John Bostock Thread
« on: March 08, 2013, 01:23:52 PM »
Toronto FC acquires midfielder John Bostock from Tottenham Hotspur

Toronto FC acquired midfielder John Bostock on loan from Tottenham Hotspur of the English Premier League on Friday.

He will be officially added to the roster and eligible for selection upon receipt of his International Transfer Clearance.

“I know John from our time at Tottenham and we are very excited to have him in Toronto,” Toronto FC head coach Ryan Nelsen said in a release. “He is a creative player and he will fit in well with the club.”

Bostock, 21, most recently spent time on loan with Swindon Town FC of England’s League One. He began his youth career at Crystal Palace FC and signed with the first team for the 2007-’08 season.

Tottenham purchased Bostock ahead of the 2008-09 campaign and he became the youngest player in club history to play for the Spurs. He played a UEFA Cup match against Dynamo Zagreb at the age of 16 years 295 days.

Since joining Tottenham, Bostock has gone on four different loan spells in England with Brentford FC (2009-10), Hull City AFC (2010-11), Sheffield Wednesday (2011-12), and Swindon Town (2012-13).

He was part of the Swindon Town’s League Two Championship winning side in 2012 and was returned to Tottenham in January.

Bostock has represented England at the under-16, U17, and U19 levels. He also served as captain for England’s U17 side.

« Last Edit: July 29, 2015, 02:22:36 AM by Flex »

Re: Toronto FC acquires midfielder John Bostock from Tottenham Hotspur
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2013, 02:16:01 PM »
he is having a good game .... left footed good  attacking mid

Offline bingie man

« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2013, 02:25:52 PM »
4real

« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2013, 08:21:06 PM »
MLSsoccer.com Men of the Match (Toronto FC - Sporting Kansas City

Rank    Player    What We Saw
1   Robert Earnshaw (TOR)    The hard-working Welshman was ruthless with his first and clinical on his second, sealing a memorable brace on his home debut.

2   John Bostock (TOR)    Toronto's best attacks came when Bostock had the ball at his feet wide right: Creativity, flair and vision that earned him a standing ovation when he was subbed off.

3   Darren O'Dea (TOR)    The captain was the anchor of an organized Toronto back line, leading by example with numerous clearances, step-ups and timely challenges.

« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2013, 08:59:14 PM »
I'm guessing he's Trini??

« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2013, 09:24:11 PM »
bostock was really good for tfc today. so many seasons with de guzman done; this is the first time i see tfc look vaguely competent in mid.

« Reply #7 on: March 10, 2013, 06:45:39 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/pZGka5DBxrw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/pZGka5DBxrw</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/kUTFjdx_2wE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/kUTFjdx_2wE</a>
« Last Edit: March 10, 2013, 06:48:39 AM by Trini _2018 »

« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2013, 04:01:11 PM »
Montreal beat TO 2-1 at the Stade O. 40.000 fans Of which 5 thou. are of TO.

« Reply #9 on: March 16, 2013, 05:31:04 PM »
Cant believe England will let this guy up, he seems a great prospect, the TTFF should cap him fast...

« Reply #10 on: March 16, 2013, 06:03:42 PM »
awesome.

« Reply #11 on: March 17, 2013, 08:14:56 AM »
Cap this f00cker fast !!!!!!!

He good, ah like he movement, he fast, he left footed and he eh fraid to shoot.

'The money never motivated me': John Bostock reflects on a career that has taken him from Tottenham to Toronto
By Anthony Clavane, Steve Stammers

John Bostock would seem to be a prime ­candidate for the “too much, too young” brigade.

Five years ago, he was a teenage prodigy at Crystal Palace, a first-teamer while he was still at school studying for his GCSEs.

He was the next big thing, watched by ­Barcelona and admired by Arsenal and other ­Premier League clubs.

In the summer of 2008, he joined Tottenham for £700,000. Yet this ­weekend he’s been preparing to face LA Galaxy during his loan spell with FC Toronto. Not ­exactly an upward curve when spells at Swindon, Brentford, Sheffield Wednesday and Hull are taken into account.

“But money,” 21-year-old Bostock ­insisted, “was never my motivation.

“I turned down moves that would have earned me more but chose ­Tottenham because I was impressed about what they had planned for me.

“It just didn’t work out. Yes, hindsight is a great thing, isn’t it? When I think back, of course it may have been better to have stayed at Palace for another year or two.

“But when one of the biggest clubs in Europe wants you and you like what they have to say, it seemed the right decision.

“It was a massive change for me. Huge. I was just 16, I had come from a club which I supported and played for, and where I knew everyone.

Then I was at a club where there were two ­internationals for every position. It was difficult to adapt, I will admit that.

“Maybe it didn’t help when the manager who signed me, Juande Ramos, left soon after I joined and Mr Redknapp came in.

“Then came the loans. I tried to learn something from everywhere I played and every manager.”

Toronto seems to be something of an outpost.

But he was targeted by new boss Ryan Nelsen, the ex-QPR and Spurs ­defender, and is enjoying what he wanted all along – regular first-team football. “All I want to do is play. First-team football is everything,” said Bostock, who hopes to ­follow the trail set by Peter Beardsley in the early 1980s. He had two spells in Vancouver, joined Newcastle and was in England’s 1986 World Cup squad.

Bostock said: “I know some people might think I am one of those players who is in the cash comfort zone and drifting.

“But that is not me. My contract at Tottenham is up in June and that is when my loan spell is over. We will have to look at things again then.

“My hope is that I will improve by playing here in Canada. I am only 21. There is still time for me to achieve what I want.”

Check out all the latest News, Sport & Celeb gossip at Mirror.co.uk http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/john-bostock-reflects-career-taken-1794125#ixzz2Qj84dKJR
Follow us: @DailyMirror on Twitter | DailyMirror on Facebook

Royal Antwerp sign former Tottenham midfielder John Bostock
« Reply #13 on: July 11, 2013, 08:17:54 AM »
Royal Antwerp sign former Tottenham midfielder John Bostock on two-year deal
SkySports.com

Former Tottenham midfielder John Bostock has signed a two-year contract with Belgian side Royal Antwerp.

The 21-year-old was released by Spurs last month after failing to make an impact at White Hart Lane.

He will link up with former Chelsea and Leeds striker Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink, who was appointed as manager of the Second Division side in May.

Bostock tweeted: "Delighted to announce that I've signed for Royal Antwerp FC today. Can't wait to start the season and really looking forward to working under my new coach Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink."

Bostock was regarded as one of the hot prospects in English football when he joined Tottenham from Crystal Palace in 2008 for an initial fee of £700,000.

However, he failed to establish himself at Spurs, making just three substitute appearances, and had loan spells at Brentford, Hull City, Sheffield Wednesday, Swindon Town and Toronto FC.

Andre Villas-Boas decided not to offer Bostock fresh terms when his five-year deal expired last month.

Royal Antwerp finished 10th in last season's Belgian Second Division, winning just 12 of their 34 games.

Re: Royal Antwerp sign former Tottenham midfielder John Bostock
« Reply #14 on: July 11, 2013, 09:31:00 PM »
Is he seriously interested in playing for us?

« Reply #15 on: July 11, 2013, 09:46:35 PM »
Then they need to cap the man

« Reply #16 on: July 12, 2013, 04:27:33 AM »
He is 21 and already played for 8 clubs, he is a next Anelka.

« Reply #17 on: July 12, 2013, 05:06:37 AM »
good move he needs playing time to rebuild his career .... that was a bad move he made going to tottenham ... he is going to play for us in due time ....

« Reply #18 on: July 12, 2013, 08:11:40 AM »
He needs a coach who knows how to get the best out of him. Apparently has a lot of skill but just can't seem to bring it during games. I suspect some of it is due to bad decisions taken on the pitch.

« Reply #19 on: October 05, 2013, 01:07:09 PM »
Seems to be comming into his own now
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/MvcRTIT39PE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/MvcRTIT39PE</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/XIuaB5YXvS8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/XIuaB5YXvS8</a>

« Reply #20 on: October 05, 2013, 06:11:38 PM »
He is 21 and already played for 8 clubs, he is a next Anelka.

I would welcome ah next Nico.

« Reply #21 on: October 05, 2013, 06:33:22 PM »
Fuh me, there are 2 telling portions of his interview: 3:08 to 3:55 when he discusses how his team moves the ball versus his experiences in England, and 4:41 to 5:48 when he responds to getting regular first-team ball. (Jake Thomson's name came to mind right away.)

Rell happy fuh Haselbaink.

« Reply #22 on: October 19, 2013, 12:42:00 AM »
Listening to the most recent edition of World Football on the BBC ... there's a segment in which Papé Abdoulaye Diakite describes his experience at AS Trencin, the Slovakian club he was at before moving to Royal Antwerp. He says the racism he experienced reduced him to tears. He is at Antwerp hoping to rebuild his career. Ah hope Hasselbaink can help him. Something tells me this club will return to the Jupiler League.

Anyhow, ah posting this because he credits a player from Trinidad & Tobago with helping get through the lows. Well done, Mr. Peltier!!! Big up. Who feels it knows it.
« Last Edit: October 19, 2013, 12:46:13 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #23 on: October 19, 2013, 02:38:02 AM »
I thought there was some issue with Bostock and him playing for Trinidad? Something that might prevent him being capped?

« Reply #24 on: October 21, 2013, 09:43:36 AM »
I thought there was some issue with Bostock and him playing for Trinidad? Something that might prevent him being capped?

I thought the issue was simply him being undecided about comitting at this point due to him struggling to cement a first team place with first Toronto and now Antwerp. Having not been a regular starter for most of his career, don't think going off with T&T would have been helpful in his specific circumstance. Still too early at Antwerp; he's only had a few games!

If it's to do with eligibility....well that is too complex for me to figure out these days. It used to be straightforward - foreign born were only eligible if they had a Parent born in T&T, Grandparents were not a factor like in the UK. Now there is talk that Grandparent's do make you eligible, also naturalised Parents but if Parent or grandparents do not have in date citizenship documentation (wether born or naturalised) no application will be processed regardless.

If he is having issues (and I have no idea what his status is) he may well fall into any of these categories. Might even be down to incorrect advice he's been given or friends/family speaking out of turn. There have been a few UK born who thought (or were lead to believe) they were eligible only to find out they weren't. All have happened before. Not to be too critical of the T&T High commission in the UK but even they aren't the greatest at clarifying such issues; the most recent dealings my family have had with them have been.....confusing. That's the most diplomatic assessment I can give.

« Reply #25 on: October 21, 2013, 11:28:39 AM »
Yea, completely confusing the lot of it. To be honest I'm not expecting the world of Bostock - Trinidad and Tobago have some great midfielders who can compete him out.

« Reply #26 on: October 21, 2013, 11:35:32 AM »
Yea, completely confusing the lot of it. To be honest I'm not expecting the world of Bostock - Trinidad and Tobago have some great midfielders who can compete him out.

Who? which mid fielders  ? that mid is open .........come 2015
« Last Edit: October 21, 2013, 11:39:03 AM by Trini _2018 »

« Reply #27 on: October 21, 2013, 11:42:04 AM »
Hyland, Daniel, Theobold, Birchall and Boucaud I'd rate higher than Bostock (ironically I'm speaking mostly from ignorance on those players but seen Bostock play a couple times)

« Reply #28 on: October 21, 2013, 12:10:40 PM »
Hyland, Daniel, Theobold, Birchall and Boucaud I'd rate higher than Bostock (ironically I'm speaking mostly from ignorance on those players but seen Bostock play a couple times)

Our player pool is too small to discard anyone. The man has potential....we should at least give him a chance if he wants to play for us. By the way, Birchall retired from international football and the rest yuh named (with the exception of Daniel) are different type midfielders. Bostock is an attacking midfielder/winger.
« Last Edit: October 21, 2013, 12:12:15 PM by FireBrand »

« Reply #29 on: October 21, 2013, 12:19:28 PM »
oh no definitely don't discard him! I thought Bostock played along the middle rather than wing? And doesn't Hyland play attacking mid and central?

Across the rest ya got Guerra, Peltier, Molino, Joevin Jones, Kevon Carter and Villaroel, so there's lots of competition at least.