March 28, 2024, 06:26:11 AM

Author Topic: Dennis Lawrence Thread  (Read 116003 times)

Re: Dennis Lawrence Thread
« Reply #300 on: February 13, 2017, 12:38:44 AM »
I held on to some optimism until I saw Lawrence's support staff . . . He can't be serious. . .

It is hard to be a footballer

It is frightening to be a T&T footballer

With the poor excuses for an administration making decisions with these people futures and with a nation's pride . . .injustice

Imagine, hart couldn't even get a full staff to support him under this house negro the dictator ...

Them men spiteful

« Reply #301 on: February 13, 2017, 05:34:03 AM »
Lawrence names his Senior Team Backroom Staff.
TTFA Media.

The National Team Staff is as follows:

Head Coach - Dennis Lawrence
Assistant Coaches – Sulzeer “Sol” Campbell, Stuart Charles Fevrier
Coach – Stern John
Goalkeeper Coach – Ross Russell
Fitness Conditioning Coach - Riedoh Berdien
Team Doctor -Israel Dowlat
Football Therapist - Dave Isaac
Massage Therapist - Saron Joseph
Evaluation Science GPRS - Stephen Bradley
Match Analyst - Matthew Hawkes
Media Officer – Shaun Fuentes
Equipment Manager - Michael Williams

If Stuart Charles coach W Connection for ova 20 years and cant do no wrong, how long allyuh feel he go coach T&T if DJW is de President?

Is only a matter of time Dennis Lawrence go be out and Stuart Charles go slip right in.

Expect to see Tyrik John in de team soon, he done running out for Central because he daddy there.

Ross Russell is de worst of of all these selection.

De only good thing about this is Terrance Badwah and Dave Isaac get fired.

« Reply #302 on: February 13, 2017, 06:29:50 AM »
TTFA Media.

Coach – Stern John

If Stuart Charles coach W Connection for ova 20 years and cant do no wrong, how long allyuh feel he go coach T&T if DJW is de President?

Is only a matter of time Dennis Lawrence go be out and Stuart Charles go slip right in.

Expect to see Tyrik John in de team soon, he done running out for Central because he daddy there.

Isaac still dey.

« Reply #303 on: February 13, 2017, 11:23:11 AM »
TTFA Media.

Coach – Stern John

I just waiting to see the team selection and what type of football they playing ....

The dictator selling cat in bag

« Reply #304 on: February 13, 2017, 07:59:11 PM »
I am prepared to give the soldier some space...This shituation is not ideal
I hope we can qualify...But it will take more than prayers at this space in time
The sabotage is in full effect...We will only know if the challenge has been accepted when we play Panama...The first sour note and it's on to the rebuilding phase for Tallest
Rastafari

« Reply #305 on: February 14, 2017, 06:22:47 AM »
I hope we can qualify...But it will take more than prayers at this space in time
The sabotage is in full effect...We will only know if the challenge has been accepted when we play Panama...The first sour note and it's on to the rebuilding phase for Tallest
Rastafari

There it is. Leh de man do his work. Hold him accountable for the product.

« Reply #306 on: February 14, 2017, 12:57:55 PM »
Rastafari

Cheers to that!  :beermug:

« Reply #307 on: February 14, 2017, 02:49:41 PM »
It will be very interesting to see the squad DJW he comes up with.  He said the squad will be named this week.

« Reply #308 on: February 14, 2017, 03:47:17 PM »
Rastafari

Cheers to that!  :beermug:

Totally agree. Give the man space and buss him if he not up to it, not before!

« Reply #309 on: February 15, 2017, 12:48:02 PM »
Local squad announced! Cummings is back!!!

Goalkeepers: Jan-Michael Williams, Marvin Phillip, Glenroy Samuel, Adrian Foncette, Andre Marchan;

Defenders: Carlyle Mitchell, Julius James, Radanfah Abu Bakr, Daniel Cyrus, Jelani Peters, Alvin Jones, Curtis Gonzales, Jesus Perez, Triston Hodge,

Midfielders: Leston Paul, Sean De Silva, Jared London, Hughtun Hector, Tyrone Charles, Akeem Humphrey, Jomoul Francois, Nathan Lewis,

Forwards: Keron Cummings, Hashim Arcia, Akeem Roach, Jameel Perry, Jamille Boatswain.

« Reply #310 on: February 15, 2017, 12:48:56 PM »
Boatswain, James and Cummings in Lawrence’s first squad; Carlos and Ford out
Lasana Liburd  Wednesday 15 February 2017 Global Football, National Football, Volley Leave a comment

Defence Force striker Jamille Boatswain and Police FC forward Jameel Perry were rewarded for their fine form this Pro League season with their first international call-ups to the Trinidad and Tobago National Senior Team.

The 27-man squad, which was announced by Soca Warriors head coach Dennis Lawrence at a press conference this afternoon, consisted entirely of local-based players.

Photo: Defence Force striker Jamille Boatswain (centre) celebrates the second goal of his treble against Police FC during the Pro Bowl semifinals at the Ato Boldon Stadium on 12 February 2017. Looking on (right) is his teammate and captain Jerwyn Balthazar. Defence Force won 4-0. (Courtesy Sean Morrison/Wired868)
Photo: Defence Force striker Jamille Boatswain (centre) celebrates the second goal of his treble against Police FC during the Pro Bowl semifinals at the Ato Boldon Stadium on 12 February 2017.
Looking on (right) is his teammate and captain Jerwyn Balthazar. Defence Force won 4-0.
(Courtesy Sean Morrison/Wired868)
Lawrence hopes to get two practice games for his local-based contingent before he decides which players will advance to his full team for next month’s World Cup qualifiers against Panama and Mexico.

Boatswain scored 16 goals in all competitions—eight with his former club, Point Fortin Civic—and is the joint second highest domestic scorer, alongside fellow national recruit Hashim Arcia, while Perry managed just one goal less for the “Lawmen”.

Club Sando attacker Akeem Roach, who managed a league high 11 goals, is in the squad too and keeps his place from the Trinidad and Tobago team which played in last month’s 2017 Gold Cup Play Offs under former coach Tom Saintfiet.

However, Lawrence omitted former 2006 World Cup teammate Carlos Edwards, who captained the national team under Saintfiet, as well as defender Maurice Ford who was also a regular starter under Saintfiet. Winger Aikim Andrews is also out although he is believed to be unavailable due to overseas commitments.

Defence Force poacher Devorn Jorsling, whose 16 goals in all competitions was the highest tally in the domestic game, was also overlooked from the 27-man squad.

Photo: Defence Force striker Devorn Jorsling (right) cushions the ball while San Juan Jabloteh defender Jevon Morris stands guard during Pro League action at the Ato Boldon Stadium on 18 September 2016. (Courtesy Sean Morrison/Wired868)
Photo: Defence Force striker Devorn Jorsling (right) cushions the ball while San Juan Jabloteh defender Jevon Morris stands guard during Pro League action at the Ato Boldon Stadium on 18 September 2016.
(Courtesy Sean Morrison/Wired868)
Lawrence said he spoke to Defence Force coach Marvin Gordon before deciding on Jorsling’s fate and suggested that he felt the time was not right to consider the 33 year old forward at present. The burly striker has just returned to full fitness from an injury.

Lawrence did not offer an explanation for the exclusion of Edwards or anyone else, though.

“This is the group I am starting with,” said Lawrence, at today’s press, “but not necessarily the list I am going to end with.”

Other significant returnees are the Central FC pair of defender Julius James and midfielder Keron “Ball Pest” Cummings.

James, a former Columbus Crew player in the MLS, has not represented Trinidad and Tobago since 11 November 2011 when the Warriors lost 2-1 away to Guyana. But he caught the eye with a series of steady showings for the “Couva Sharks” as they clinched their third successive Pro League title.

James joined Central just last month.

Photo: Central FC defender Julius James (right) looks for passing options during Pro League action against Defence Force at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva on 24 January 2017. (Courtesy Chevaughn Christopher/Wired868)
Photo: Central FC defender Julius James (right) looks for passing options during Pro League action against Defence Force at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva on 24 January 2017.
(Courtesy Chevaughn Christopher/Wired868)
Cummings has not worn red, black and white strip since he was shot in his leg, just over a year ago. The stylish midfielder has not consistently commanded a starting role for Central this season and, arguably, his call-up might hint at the shortage of potential number 10s.

Lawrence was certainly happy to be unconventional in his initial squad. Cummings apart, Defence Force goalkeeper Andre Marchan is not even a regular starter at his club while defender Jesus Perez has not always held on to a first team spot at W Connection.

There were more debutantes too as Club Sando midfielders Jared London and former National Under-20 player Akeem Humphrey were also selected.

Central goalkeeper Jan-Michael Williams and midfielders Leston Paul and Sean De Silva are in as well, although club captain Darren “Chucky” Mitchell—who scored nine goals from a variety of positions across the midfield and even full back—was another surprise omission.

Lawrence explained that his coaching staff comprised of all people he felt comfortable working with and who he felt shared his vision.

Photo: W Connection coach Stuart Charles-Fevrier (second from right) and assistant coach Earl Jean (far right) speak to their players during a break between the action against Atlantico FC in 2016 Caribbean Club Championship action. (Courtesy Chevaughn Christopher/Wired868)
Photo: W Connection coach Stuart Charles-Fevrier (second from right) and assistant coach Earl Jean (far right) speak to their players during a break between the action against Atlantico FC in 2016 Caribbean Club Championship action.
(Courtesy Chevaughn Christopher/Wired868)
Lawrence said Connection coach Stuart Charles-Fevrier—who was initially recommended for his job by the TTFA technical committee—had valuable knowledge of the local league and its players while Central assistant coach Stern John, who is Trinidad and Tobago’s record goal scorer, was a bright upcoming coach who can impart his goalscoring knowledge to the squad.

Lawrence said he decided to appoint South African fitness trainer Riedoh Berdien based on the positive feedback of people who worked with him in Trinidad.

The Warriors squad had their first meeting this afternoon at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

(Trinidad and Tobago 27-man squad)

Goalkeepers: Jan-Michael Williams, Marvin Phillip, Glenroy Samuel, Adrian Foncette, Andre Marchan;

Defenders: Carlyle Mitchell, Julius James, Radanfah Abu Bakr, Daniel Cyrus, Jelani Peters, Alvin Jones, Curtis Gonzales, Jesus Perez, Triston Hodge,

Midfielders: Leston Paul, Sean De Silva, Jared London, Hughtun Hector, Tyrone Charles, Akeem Humphrey, Jomoul Francois, Nathan Lewis,

Forwards: Keron Cummings, Hashim Arcia, Akeem Roach, Jameel Perry, Jamille Boatswain.

« Reply #311 on: February 15, 2017, 01:46:03 PM »
Let the support staff work with Cummings and get him back to where he was, he needs a physio as well..

I wonder if the dictator will allow Tallest to select bostock since bostock didn't answer his call

« Reply #312 on: February 19, 2017, 06:33:03 PM »
WATCH: Russell Lately is confident that Dennis Lawrence is the right man to lead the Soca Warriors

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/BENvtDeW264" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/BENvtDeW264</a>

« Reply #313 on: February 19, 2017, 09:25:27 PM »
WATCH: Russell Lately is confident that Dennis Lawrence is the right man to lead the Soca Warriors

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/BENvtDeW264" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/BENvtDeW264</a>

What was latas opinion about hart?

« Reply #314 on: February 20, 2017, 03:18:07 PM »
Latas was "confident that Hart was the right man for the job" .......that was  then.   Right now he is confident DL is the right man for the job.

« Reply #315 on: February 20, 2017, 04:22:06 PM »
Latapy look like a drunk uneducated f00king idiot.

DJW and Jamaal have he bazodee..

« Reply #316 on: February 21, 2017, 04:50:57 AM »
Lawrence satisfy after holding first training session.
T&T Guardian Reports.

National football coach Dennis Lawrence held his first training session with his squad of players at the Larry Gomes Stadium in Malabar Arima, yesterday, ahead of the two FIFA World Cup Qualifiers on March 24-28 against Panama and Mexico at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo.

Only defenders Julius James and Radanfah Abu Bakr were missing from an otherwise full turn-out of players and staff members. The session lasted an hour and 10 minutes and according to Lawrence, they will train everyday this week until Saturday, where they will break for the Carnival festivities and return on Ash Wednesday.

He noted that both Abu Bakr and James are both out of the country, having made arrangements to be abroad long before the training session was called.

He said both players and coaches were excited to begin training yesterday, which they used basically to acquaint themselves with each other, as well as formalise how they will function going forward. Before yesterday’s session, members of the staff-that included assistant coaches Ross Russell (goalkeeper coach), Stern John (assistant coach) and Stuart Charles-Fevrier, were briefed on what was expected of them.

Lawrence, a former national stand-out defender is not expecting any challenges due to the Carnival season, promising he will keep his players focused by doing his job on a daily basis. “I cannot put a string on them and tell them don’t go parties, as they are all grown men, they are all professionals, so they know exactly what I expect of them, so I expect them to carried it out,” Lawrence said.

The T&T team is second from bottom on the six-team standing and are in need of victories in their coming two matches next month, following losses to Costa Rica 2-0 and Honduras 3-1 last year.

They are scheduled to face Suriname in an International Friendly encounter on March 10 at the Andre Kamperveen Stadium in Paramaribo, Suriname. The match has been arranged specifically for the local based players.

Lawrence pointed out that while he faces a difficult task of taking the country to the World Cup, he believes it is not an impossible one and promised to ensure the team is properly prepared to give a good account of themselves on match days and hopefully get the required results.

Sol Campbell, the team’s other assistant coach is expected to join them on March 10.

RELATED NEWS

Lawrence starts work with T&T players.
By Joel Bailey (Newsday).

RECENTLY APPOINTED Trinidad and Tobago football team coach Dennis Lawrence got his stint underway with a training session at the Larry Gomes Stadium, Arima yesterday morning.

Lawrence and his technical staff, including assistants Stuart Charles-Fevrier, Stern John and Ross Russell (goalkeeping coach), had an hour long session under cloudy conditions.

“The players are looking forward to get started,” said Lawrence, moments before his session began.

“I am looking forward to working with the players.” The former T&T central defender said that his intention yesterday was “more or less, to make an introduction to myself and to the players, to get an idea of how we want to work (and) how things are going to be done from now on.”

Trinidad and Tobago are set to face Suriname in a friendly fixture in Paramaribo on March 10 before a pair of FIFA World Cup CONCACAF Zone Final Round qualifiers at home to Panama (March 24) and Mexico (March 29).

“We’re going to be working,” Lawrence pointed out.

“I think it’s important that, no matter what type of session we’re doing, we need to always work on something. So we’ve got particular things - the staff and myself - that we’re going to be looking for. And hopefully players will enjoy (it).

Lawrence called up 27 players for the training squad but central defenders Radanfah Abu Bakr and Julius James were absent from yesterday’s session.

“They had already arranged prior engagements,” said the T&T coach. “Radanfah is away, Julius James is away, but apart from that, everybody else is here.” Asked about the chemistry among the technical staff, Lawrence replied, “they all know each other and I think they all know exactly where we’re at.

We had meetings prior to this session and everybody knows exactly what we expect of them.” Sessions will take place daily until Saturday, and will resume on Ash Wednesday, after the Carnival festivities.

Lawrence said he is not adopting a ‘big stick’ approach towards the players during this Carnival period.

“I can’t put a string on them and say don’t go to a party,” said the T&T coach.

“They’re all grown men. They’re professionals so they know exactly what I expect of them. I expect them to carry it out.”

« Last Edit: February 21, 2017, 05:06:11 AM by Flex »

« Reply #317 on: February 26, 2017, 07:13:31 AM »
Lawrence wants players and fans to be as one.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

“I wants the players out on the pitch and the fans up in the stands to be as one.”

That was the clear signal of T&T Senior Team head coach Dennis Lawrence, who took to the field on Monday as T&T senior men’s team began its preparations for its friendly against Suriname on March 10, then its two 2018 World Cup qualifying matches on March 24 and 28 here at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

“I don’t just want the boys to go out and perform for the sake of it,” he said. “We’re not England or Brazil, but our fans have a special way of loving the game. They want success and I want to give it to them again,” Lawrence said this week in a FIFA feature article.

The former Wrexham man spoke of the influence Leo Beenhakker has had on him.

Lawrence paid close attention to his chain-smoking boss back in those glory days, the colourful Dutchman who masterminded T&T’s qualifying campaign.

“In my eyes, Leo Beenhakker has no equal when it comes to influence on a football team,” Lawrence said. “The way he conducted himself, his discipline, and the way he managed the men was incredible.”

Beenhakker was the first person Lawrence called after being offered the national team post. “He just told me ‘you’re ready, so go and do it.”

Lawrence began his first training camp with a provisional squad on Monday ahead of the March 24 and 28th World Cup qualifiers in Port of Spain against Panama and Mexico.

« Reply #318 on: February 26, 2017, 12:03:47 PM »
Tallest doing plenty talking and I not seeing anything happening lol

Them men limin steady for the carnival, pretty soon pictures of him and stern will surface playing mas

« Reply #319 on: February 26, 2017, 03:54:28 PM »
Lawrence completes first week of Training with Senior Men.
TTFA Media.

Head coach Dennis Lawrence has completed his first week of training with the National Senior Men’s Team ahead of the upcoming international friendly with Suriname on March 10th in Paramaribo.

Lawrence began his sessions on Monday at the Larry Gomes Stadium and closed off the first part on Saturday at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva.

During this period, he welcomed back W Connection defender Alvin Jones who returned from a trial with MLS club Minnesota United while Central FC’s Darren Mitchell was also drafted into the provisional squad.

“The payers have applied themselves in the right way. I think this week was important for us getting together as a group for the players to understand the way myself and the staff wants to work. I think they have showed a fantastic attitude towards the work and hopefully it’s been beneficial towards the players with regards to fitness first and foremost,” Lawrence told TTFA Media.

“Technically we have to improve on things but in generally the players have showed a good attitude. I am pleased with the progress but there’s still a long way to go,” Lawrence told TTFA Media on Saturday.

This week also saw the introduction of the General Packet Radio System (GPRS) into the senior team programme overseen by football scientist Stephen Bradley who was named as a member of Lawrence’s backroom staff.

The GPRS is a software designed to analyze players’ physical condition in detail. The jacket worn by the players during the training has a  tiny radio inside it which sends all the data of the player’s physical condition to the computer, operated by Bradley. GPRS Trackers clarifies everything, from the player’s pulse rate, blood pressure, his endurance capacity, the blood circulation, the condition of important bones in his body and Lawrence and his staff will be able to know every aspect after using GPRS tracking system.

“I think it’s been fantastic. We allowed the players to feel themselves into it. We did a full presentation on it and the players are fully clear on what the GPRS does and I am hoping to see a reaction to that,” Lawrence said.

The Training camp will continue on Ash Wednesday following a break between today (Sunday) and Tuesday.

“I think it is important to work in trust in any organisation. I have given the players trust. They all understand and they know exactly what I expect of them over the next three days. We have worked hard over the past six days.

“They are going to be back on Ash Wednesday. I understand as well that Carnival is part of our culture and I think it was necessary to allow the players some time with their family and Ash Wednesday we will be back on the training ground working hard again,” Lawrence added.

« Reply #320 on: February 26, 2017, 09:05:16 PM »
Money for GPRS and ting now.

WASA fete. $$$oca flowing like water again

« Reply #321 on: February 26, 2017, 10:16:18 PM »

I want tuh know how come Hart couldn't get it when he was asking for it long time.

« Reply #322 on: February 26, 2017, 11:05:56 PM »

I want tuh know how come Hart couldn't get it when he was asking for it long time.
Shows how much of a raw deal Hart got, he had very minimal resources to work with.

« Reply #323 on: February 27, 2017, 11:56:25 AM »
seeker, yuh must one day explain to me the benefits of the GPRS system in National team selection and training. Maybe I just don't understand. As a exercise sciencetist and understand it's uses, but not benefits

« Reply #324 on: February 27, 2017, 12:24:11 PM »
Sounds to me like fitness will be a significant factor in National team selection.

Offline Thomo

« Reply #325 on: February 27, 2017, 02:38:37 PM »
Just goes to show how wicked and nasty DJW is. Hart begged for this but the narcissistic oaf that was DJW never obliged.

« Reply #326 on: February 27, 2017, 03:30:06 PM »
Well Hart got much more done with less
Let's see if the soldier can prosper with all the goods at his disposal

« Reply #327 on: February 27, 2017, 04:25:40 PM »
seeker, yuh must one day explain to me the benefits of the GPRS system in National team selection and training. Maybe I just don't understand. As a exercise sciencetist and understand it's uses, but not benefits

Yuh sure yuh eh want tuh ask, Dennis? :devil:

« Reply #328 on: February 27, 2017, 04:45:25 PM »
Look ting!

Tallest get GPRS

Hart had to rely on.............................................................................BABWAH!  :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #329 on: February 27, 2017, 05:09:22 PM »

Yuh sure yuh eh want tuh ask, Dennis? :devil:
nah..he might hit meh an answer that ah doh wha hear..if it come from you we can debate Ultimate Reject style - Full Extreme, from him is Machel & Bunji - Busshead, he go get...in the spirit of Carnival nah    :devil: