March 28, 2024, 01:33:16 PM

Author Topic: A mad man bet: TT vs England, 2006 WC  (Read 3558 times)

A mad man bet: TT vs England, 2006 WC
« on: May 17, 2013, 04:20:35 AM »
Mods merge this as you see fit.
===================================

Teaching a class in Istanbul the other day and trying to explain to the class where Trinidadn & Tobago is.

A student ask me to write it on the board. As I write Trinidad, he start to jump.

He tell the class that during the 2006 WC, he made a bet (with the local betting service IIDA) of 500 Turkish Lira that TT and Eng. would 0-0 at the end of the first half. The odds were 5 to 1.
He won 2,500 TL.

Basically that was 333 dollars to win a little over 1600 dollars.

Ah tell him he had to be a mad man. I from TT and would never have been brave enough to make such a bet.

Re: A mad man bet: TT vs England, 2006 WC
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2013, 02:32:25 PM »
I talking about a bet re. the 2006 WC, a man win  money and allyuh move my post to the Fantasy League?? ::)

« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2013, 09:08:24 AM »
I had £10. on England winning 2-1.

« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2013, 02:47:24 PM »
I had £10. on England winning 2-1.

I thought Eng. would win but I just couldn't bring myself to bet against my country.
Still can't.