March 28, 2024, 04:47:37 AM

Author Topic: 2018 World Cup Thread  (Read 144275 times)

Re: 2018 World Cup Thread
« Reply #1020 on: July 06, 2018, 02:41:15 PM »

Well a WC with all semi finalists from Europe, not sure if I like this..turning more and more into the Euros

Ah fella named Infantino loves the idea.

« Reply #1021 on: July 06, 2018, 02:44:06 PM »

Well a WC with all semi finalists from Europe, not sure if I like this..turning more and more into the Euros
France from Africa

Sent from my BLU STUDIO C 8+8 using Tapatalk

Funny but all their black players were born in France and developed their football in France  :)

Read Pogba's biography and you'll appreciate that place of birth is only part of the equation. The people who came brought something with them.

I read it, and still cannot agree that the French team is an African one when ALL their black players were born French, lived in France and developed their football in France. Sorry I have to call a spade a spade

« Reply #1022 on: July 06, 2018, 02:48:52 PM »
Even in losing, Brazil delivered some pleasurable moments today. Ah well, it's time to start preparing for Qatar making the Rounds of 16 next rounds.

Past Brazilian losses didn't feel as odd as this one. This WC is a  :banginghead:
« Last Edit: July 06, 2018, 02:51:14 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #1023 on: July 06, 2018, 02:51:30 PM »

France from Africa

Funny but all their black players were born in France and developed their football in France  :)

Read Pogba's biography and you'll appreciate that place of birth is only part of the equation. The people who came brought something with them.

I read it, and still cannot agree that the French team is an African one when ALL their black players were born French, lived in France and developed their football in France. Sorry I have to call a spade a spade
I was being tongue in cheek due to ah meme that claimed there were only three African teams in Russia..... Senegal, Nigeria and france, wasn't looking for a debate, hence d Smiley's........ apparently much of Africa does disregard d north

« Last Edit: July 06, 2018, 02:54:13 PM by lefty »

« Reply #1024 on: July 06, 2018, 02:53:14 PM »
Sando, then read it properly ... his youth coaches were not establishment coaches. His environment was not establishment. France didn't build Pogba from scratch.
« Last Edit: July 06, 2018, 02:56:32 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #1025 on: July 06, 2018, 03:30:41 PM »
Well yes.....dais all I could muster.....

« Reply #1026 on: July 06, 2018, 03:48:36 PM »
Eh brownie why yuh scarce so dis WC

« Reply #1027 on: July 06, 2018, 03:57:01 PM »

Ah posting on Facebook mostly plus......well yuh know, mih side eh in it nah sooooo.....meh.... :)

« Reply #1028 on: July 06, 2018, 04:43:51 PM »

Ah posting on Facebook mostly plus......well yuh know, mih side eh in it nah sooooo.....meh.... :)
Ah go to say sumting but decided to leave yuh be

« Reply #1029 on: July 06, 2018, 06:21:53 PM »
I know a lot of people all over the world bubble buss this evening. Brazil is not going to the WC final. Is a Euro nation cup friggin final
« Last Edit: July 07, 2018, 08:32:03 AM by Deeks »

« Reply #1030 on: July 07, 2018, 11:41:39 AM »

Ah go to say sumting but decided to leave yuh be

:thinking: :waiting:

« Reply #1031 on: July 07, 2018, 05:28:51 PM »

Ah see some England fans on other football forums already booking dey seat in the final, England better be careful and not underestimate Croatia

« Reply #1032 on: July 07, 2018, 07:30:57 PM »
This Is the England I want  to Win the World Cup
By Musa Okwonga, The New York Times

I hoped this would happen, but I have to admit that I was doubtful.
On Tuesday, England secured a spot in the World Cup’s quarterfinals for the first time since 2002. What’s more, the team did it by winning a penalty shootout, which they had never done before in the World Cup. Today they are playing against Sweden to enter the semifinals. As I write this, I am beyond excited.

Here’s the thing: Even if England loses today against Sweden, this World Cup still feels like something of a triumph for England fans. Our team is, I’m sorry to say, known for screwing up. Reared on years of tragedy, we had very low expectations.
So that’s why since Tuesday’s victory against Colombia, people in England have been freaking out with excitement. A favorite meme is “It’s coming home,” a reference to the fact that football is believed to have been invented in England. Much of the country is in a state of euphoria.

At least that’s the impression I get from reading the newspapers, looking at social media and chatting with friends. I was born and raised in England, but I don’t live there anymore. Almost four years ago, I moved to Berlin. (I’ve written about that before.) Watching England flourish from afar is tough: I feel oddly detached from that unique energy when the country, however briefly, feels united.

This England team is particularly likable. An engaging, affable manager, Gareth Southgate, presides over a group of gifted, charismatic players. With an average age of 26, it’s the second-youngest squad in this year’s tournament. In short, they’re making me excited to see the English flag again.

Ah, that flag … a red cross on a white background. It’s known as the St. George Cross. My relationship with this symbol is best summed up by lyrics from Kendrick Lamar: “Loving you is complicated.” When I was growing up in a small town just outside London, the flag was one of the emblems of the English far right — nationalists for whom that red cross symbolized exclusivity, purity, whiteness. Whenever I saw it in the windows of a pub, it was a warning to quicken my step.

The current England team, though, couldn’t be farther from the vision of the nationalists who like to wave that flag. Of the 11 players who started the game against Colombia, six had parents of non-English heritage. Southgate himself has emphasized this: “We are a team with our diversity and youth that represents modern England,” he said recently.

I agree — and I disagree. I think there are several modern Englands. There’s the England in which Southgate delights. But there’s also the England of The Daily Mail and The Sun, two of the country’s most-read newspapers, both of which routinely spout anti-immigrant invectives. (The Sun’s xenophobic headlines have even attracted the attention of the United Nations’ human rights commissioner.) There’s the England that wanted to leave the European Union because of its treatment of African farmers, and then there’s the England that wanted to leave the European Union because it didn’t want immigrants from, er, outside the European Union.

I want Southgate’s England to win. That’s the one I’m cheering for.

The last time Britain was so united — during the 2012 Olympics — was followed by years of austerity, which eventually led to the toxic climate that resulted in the Brexit referendum. I am cautiously optimistic that this World Cup bliss isn’t another false dawn. An English friend told me that he’d never seen the country connect with a team like it has with this one. Another friend posted a thread that went viral on Twitter with a message I can get behind: Englishness isn’t just for people with white skin. It’s for everyone.

That’s good enough for me, and a future I want to believe in. And frankly, if England can win a penalty shootout at a World Cup, anything is possible.
« Last Edit: July 07, 2018, 07:36:54 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #1033 on: July 07, 2018, 09:38:33 PM »
Who feels it knows it. Mandatory listening. (And Sando P,  dis link is also related to previous comments about outside the establishment).

https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p06cxwsc
« Last Edit: July 07, 2018, 09:42:27 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #1034 on: July 07, 2018, 10:03:25 PM »
Who feels it knows it. Mandatory listening. (And Sando P,  dis link is also related to previous comments about outside the establishment).

https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p06cxwsc

I know about this Belgium player, my previous comment as intended was meant for the black French players. My point is they were all born, lived their adult lives and developed their football in France and not Africa. To me they are nothing else but French

This is different from some of the black players who were on the French 1998 World Cup team

« Reply #1035 on: July 08, 2018, 08:12:14 AM »
Look like people going with France or England https://tinyurl.com/yalg8dgv

« Reply #1036 on: July 08, 2018, 09:49:10 AM »
It was ah tongue in cheek jab, but most of dem fellas coulda play for dey parents birth land if so motivated so....

« Reply #1037 on: July 08, 2018, 10:25:15 AM »
It was ah tongue in cheek jab, but most of dem fellas coulda play for dey parents birth land if so motivated so....

France was a finalist in my original bracket vs Germany. So France is it for me, though any of these teams could do it. A new winner would be great, too.

« Reply #1038 on: July 08, 2018, 11:08:16 AM »
I saw Spain released Hierro, I wonder if they regret the decision of letting their coach go 2 days before the 1st game.

« Reply #1039 on: July 08, 2018, 12:47:12 PM »
I thought Hierro did a decent job looking at the controversial nature under which he got the job. I blame the president and or the association for handicapping the tram.

« Reply #1040 on: July 08, 2018, 03:16:14 PM »

coulda play? there is no 'ifs' , 'coulda' or 'shoulda' in sports. Its what is the reality, bust since we speculating how about they coulda not wanted to play for any other country but their home country France?
« Last Edit: July 08, 2018, 03:21:36 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #1041 on: July 08, 2018, 03:48:54 PM »

coulda play? there is no 'ifs' , 'coulda' or 'shoulda' in sports. Its what is the reality, bust since we speculating how about they coulda not wanted to play for any other country but their home country France?
Chill I made a point in jest, unravel yuh panty from yuh ass killjoy

« Reply #1042 on: July 08, 2018, 06:56:57 PM »

Its ok old man, I am just pointing out facts. Go take yuh viagra next time you need a rise

« Reply #1043 on: July 09, 2018, 07:26:45 AM »

Its ok old man, I am just pointing out facts. Go take yuh viagra next time you need a rise
Wow even your attempt at insult have no joy.......carry on :

« Reply #1044 on: July 09, 2018, 07:29:41 AM »
Seeker thanks for d podcast have ah new found respect for lukaku

Offline StoreBayLimer

« Reply #1045 on: July 10, 2018, 01:57:38 AM »

France was a finalist in my original bracket vs Germany. So France is it for me, though any of these teams could do it. A new winner would be great, too.

Belgium and France are the two teams I wanted to see in the final. That kind of team from a small country like Belgium comes along once in a proverbial generation (in this case it might be twice) and it would be fantastic if they win the whole thing. 

« Reply #1046 on: July 10, 2018, 03:54:05 PM »
France fulfills its destiny. No complaint.

« Reply #1047 on: July 10, 2018, 06:54:14 PM »
Every team I supported lost thus far, tomorrow I'm rooting for England!

« Reply #1048 on: July 10, 2018, 07:35:32 PM »

:thumbsup: :thumbsup:

« Reply #1049 on: July 10, 2018, 10:59:13 PM »

Good game on tap later today. Hopefully Croatia can muster up the energy to give England some trouble.