March 28, 2024, 06:45:39 AM

Author Topic: 2018 World Cup Thread  (Read 144294 times)

Re: 2018 CONCACAF World Cup Qualifiers Thread
« Reply #270 on: September 07, 2015, 08:04:24 AM »
Results heading into the next set of games (return-legs) starting tomorrow.

Home team listed first.

Curaçao 0 v El Salvador 1 -
El Salvador needs only a tie.

Canada 3 v Belize 0 -
Canada needs only a tie. Or can lose by a 1-goal margin and still qualify.

Grenada 1 v Haiti 3 -
Haiti needs only a tie. Or can lose by a 1-goal margin and still qualify.

Jamaica 2 v Nicaragua 3 -
Nicaragua needs only a tie. Or can lose by a 1-goal margin and still qualify.

St Vincent 2 v Aruba 0 -
St Vincent needs only a tie. Or can lose by a 1-goal margin and still qualify.

Antigua 1 v Guatemala 0 -
Antigua needs only a tie.

« Last Edit: September 07, 2015, 08:10:19 AM by Flex »

« Reply #271 on: September 07, 2015, 08:43:51 AM »
Nicaragua not afraid to play in The Cubicle.

Yeah it seemed more like a cubicle than an actual office on Friday. .

The Reggae Boyz need a miracle to advance. I don't see them scoring 3 goals in Managua. Its going to be key for them to score in the first half. If they score in the first half, they should go through.. If they  dont, panic will take over and Nicaragua will start to grow in confidence.

We all know that many of the Jamaican supporters won't be rooting for us if we were in the same position.. But I would rather see them through instead of another Central American team.

Nicaragua will score at home. Can't see Jamaica getting 3.

Final score Jamaica 2-1 Nicaragua

And how many red cards?  ;)

Considering that the officiating crew will be all Central American, Jamaica needs to be on their best behavior. The slightest touch by the Jamaicans will be called. Anything in the penalty area will go against the Jamaicans.

Guatemalans will panic if they dont score by the 60th minute. Their crowd will try to keep them in it. But I expect the energy of the crowd to give them more pressure, which will in turn work against them. I picked Guatemala to win 2-0. But if the Antiguans score a goal, I cant see the Guatemalans scoring 3.

« Reply #272 on: September 07, 2015, 09:03:56 AM »
I was really surprised by the initial score, seeing that the game was at JA. In addition JA have had the Copa America and was in the GC final. That goes to show that WC qualifying is one of the hardest competitions in the football world. Look at Holland for the 2016 Euros. They lost 1-0 to Iceland and 3-0 to Turkey. Aye and they placed 3rd in Rio WC.

So let's see what the JA team is really made of. A 2-0 shut out is all it takes. Remember TT in Bahrain.

Interesting parallel. But JA has a much deeper hole to crawl out of.

Yeah. A 2-0 shut out is all that it takes. But I hope they arent counting on scoring 2 and sitting back. Scoring two goals and sitting back will be the worst mistake that JA can make. Because Nicaragua will likely score. I say score three goals and then relax a bit. The pressure will then be on the Nicaraguans to score.. And as we seen, Nicaragua will crack under under pressure. That is the only way JA will make the next round.

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #273 on: September 07, 2015, 09:25:09 AM »
Hey Haters! Long time no see. ;D ;D

Anyway. Here's the link for the Bermuda vs Guatemala WCQ:

http://sportsfree.me/stream/4ef4b7f5e578ce7672b5dbe719c7909d

Enjoy. And see you in the Fourth Round.

Perhaps.
Nice!!!! But no "PERHAPS". And since T&T is in another group in the Fourth Round. We will see you in the HEX. ;) ;)
jjbrown

« Reply #274 on: September 07, 2015, 09:28:22 AM »

Perhaps.
Nice!!!! But no "PERHAPS". And since T&T is in another group in the Fourth Round. We will see you in the HEX. ;) ;)

Best of luck Jamaica2099.. I want to see you guys in the next round. But things just went from bad to worse for you guys:

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport/Barnes-out--Austin-doubtful-for-Nicaragua-return_19227568

Looks like Barnes is out because he cant play on artificial turf. And Austin is not even in Managua.

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #275 on: September 07, 2015, 09:55:24 AM »

Perhaps.

Best of luck Jamaica2099.. I want to see you guys in the next round. But things just went from bad to worse for you guys:

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport/Barnes-out--Austin-doubtful-for-Nicaragua-return_19227568

Looks like Barnes is out because he cant play on artificial turf. And Austin is not even in Managua.
I don't see a problem. We have more than enough Reggae Boyz to fill those positions and get 3 goals or more.
jjbrown

« Reply #276 on: September 07, 2015, 09:58:15 AM »

Perhaps.

I don't see a problem. We have more than enough Reggae Boyz to fill those positions and get 3 goals or more.
If the nics score a goal alyuh arse is grass!!!

« Reply #277 on: September 07, 2015, 10:05:30 AM »

Perhaps.

You serious? Barnes and Austin are probably the best players on the team. Both had outstanding Gold cup and Copa performances. It would be foolish to think that this is not a devastating blow. Perhaps your resiliency will see you through to the next round. I agree with Redman.. One Nica goal will f00k things up for you guys. So I hope you guys get 3 goals.. Because youre going to need 3 to go through.

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #278 on: September 07, 2015, 10:31:17 AM »

Perhaps.

You serious? Barnes and Austin are probably the best players on the team. Both had outstanding Gold cup and Copa performances. It would be foolish to think that this is not a devastating blow. Perhaps your resiliency will see you through to the next round. I agree with Redman.. One Nica goal will f00k things up for you guys. So I hope you guys get 3 goals.. Because youre going to need 3 to go through.
Look carefully at this Reggae Boyz roster:

http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/matches/round=274851/match=300334096/index.html#nosticky

Now tell me which of these Boyz did not play a role bigger than Austin and Barnes? 
jjbrown

« Reply #279 on: September 07, 2015, 10:49:49 AM »

Perhaps.

Look carefully at this Reggae Boyz roster:

http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/matches/round=274851/match=300334096/index.html#nosticky

Now tell me which of these Boyz did not play a role bigger than Austin and Barnes? 

No team will want to go into a crucial qualifier missing key players like Austin and Barnes. Yes there are replacements for Barnes. But if there is anytime you need your "engine" in the midfield, its now. If Austin does not play, the boyz will miss him.

I will like to see how the team  responds to such adversity. Maybe JA is a team that plays better when their backs are against the wall. We will see tomorrow.

« Reply #280 on: September 07, 2015, 11:56:36 AM »
Don't be fooled by 2099's bravado. Austin's absence would be significant.

Next thing: could someone render an authoritative comment regarding these artificial surfaces that are popping up in WC qualifying? Is this what FIFA's goal projects have resulted in? If Rwanda and Ghana can play on that field in Kigali, what the heck is happening here?

« Reply #281 on: September 08, 2015, 06:15:27 PM »
Haiti 2-0 Grenada 2nd half now starting

Aruba 1-0 SVG . 15mins into the game

« Reply #282 on: September 08, 2015, 06:25:26 PM »
Haiti just secured their spot into the next round. 3-0 with 40 mins to go.

« Reply #283 on: September 08, 2015, 06:43:06 PM »
jca game start? finished?

« Reply #284 on: September 08, 2015, 06:50:06 PM »
jca game start? finished?

Soon. At 930.

SVG is playing a set of .. Aruba can find themselves back in the hunt if they keep it up.

SVG has a speedy forward. He creates a lot of chances. 

« Reply #285 on: September 08, 2015, 07:21:29 PM »
SVG is letting this one get away. Aruba 2-0 SVG

Offline CAPITANO

• I heart zaboka
« Reply #286 on: September 08, 2015, 07:27:07 PM »
wow..Jamaica looking like they would be in trouble with this one..Nicaragua crowd looking serious!!
WE JAMMIN STILL!!!!!!

« Reply #287 on: September 08, 2015, 07:31:19 PM »
Wey Big Mag . . .?

Time fuh dem tuh buy a TV?  ;)
« Last Edit: September 08, 2015, 07:40:17 PM by Cocorite »

« Reply #288 on: September 08, 2015, 07:31:51 PM »
Nicaragua vs Jamaica now starting. Their stadium is packed. Fans are no joke.

« Reply #289 on: September 08, 2015, 07:48:49 PM »
Nicaragua vs Jamaica now starting. Their stadium is packed. Fans are no joke.

any link?

« Reply #290 on: September 08, 2015, 07:50:57 PM »
 A little help please. I missed the link for this Nicaragua vs Jamaica game. Is there one?

Offline TdotTrini

Teamwork divides the task and multiplies the success

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #292 on: September 08, 2015, 07:54:18 PM »
Jam up 1 - 0
Teamwork divides the task and multiplies the success

« Reply #294 on: September 08, 2015, 07:59:17 PM »
Thanks folks

« Reply #295 on: September 08, 2015, 08:07:14 PM »
Ah know this is not a qualifying game but anyone watching the US game? Brazil rolling them like a tamarind ball. 4-0

« Reply #296 on: September 08, 2015, 08:08:12 PM »
SVG scores late. They lose 2-1 but advance 3-2 on agg.

« Reply #297 on: September 08, 2015, 08:08:37 PM »
Ah know this is not a qualifying game but anyone watching the US game? Brazil rolling them like a tamarind ball. 4-0

Dem Brazilians too wicked . . . Nasty goals
« Last Edit: September 08, 2015, 08:26:39 PM by Cocorite »

« Reply #298 on: September 08, 2015, 08:10:56 PM »

These types of scores not good for Concacaf on a whole. When one of our top two teams get handle like that at home it just makes the whole fed look weak.

« Reply #299 on: September 08, 2015, 08:13:46 PM »
Belize giving Canada all they can handle 1 all early second half. Nicaragua hit the post and outplaying Jam but losing 1nil.