March 28, 2024, 09:47:31 AM

Author Topic: 2018 World Cup Thread  (Read 144322 times)

Re: 2018 World Cup Thread
« Reply #930 on: June 27, 2018, 01:20:19 PM »
Brazil playing like Nigeria. They getting pressure. Serbia had enough chances to stick at least 2 on them. Ah see they bringing on Fernandinho.

« Reply #931 on: June 27, 2018, 01:24:52 PM »
Neymar. What ah trap! They getting some breathing room with that goal.

« Reply #932 on: June 27, 2018, 01:55:26 PM »
Brazil playing like Nigeria. They getting pressure. Serbia had enough chances to stick at least 2 on them. Ah see they bringing on Fernandinho.
Serbia did come out strong in the 1st 15mins of the 2nd half but Brazil withstood the pressure and converted. I still think Neymar tries too hard to make things happen at times, if he just play within the flow of the game he'll create and score more chances.

« Reply #933 on: June 27, 2018, 03:42:04 PM »
Serbia did come out strong in the 1st 15mins of the 2nd half but Brazil withstood the pressure and converted. I still think Neymar tries too hard to make things happen at times, if he just play within the flow of the game he'll create and score more chances.

I agree that he tries hard to make things happen. But better he try to make things happen than he just trot around and nothing don’t happen. Is like people says when Messi is not in the game. “boy, the game going on and We eh seeing Messi. He disappearing. He just get the ball and score”.
« Last Edit: June 27, 2018, 03:44:05 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #934 on: June 27, 2018, 04:00:01 PM »
I am skeptical about Brazil. Had Serbia scored two or one of those chances they had, Brazil would have been on pins and needles. I feel Gabriel Jesus does get push around and outmuscled as a striker. NO offense to the guy. He is a skillful striker, but he does get push around, hence the penchant to dive . But has been one of the most exciting opening rounds or the most exciting opening rounds in the WC since it was televised on a global level.

« Reply #935 on: June 27, 2018, 08:19:48 PM »
Imagine Leroy Sane did not make the cut for the Germany side.
Just another reason why dem gettin cutass... oops, did i say that out loud..yup, sure did.. hope it starts with Mexico

:beermug: You predicted it  :applause:

« Reply #936 on: June 27, 2018, 09:49:01 PM »
Just another reason why dem gettin cutass... oops, did i say that out loud..yup, sure did.. hope it starts with Mexico

Unless Sane did something real egregious, I don't see why he was not selected.

« Reply #937 on: June 28, 2018, 07:02:16 AM »

Unless Sane did something real egregious, I don't see why he was not selected.

Sane is the least of the reasons Germany didn't do well.

« Reply #938 on: June 28, 2018, 07:16:23 AM »
This is the nonsense that would actually kill football if it’s allowed to continue unabated. it’s been appalling to see the level of the officiating in FIFA and the power given to these referees to dash the hopes of teams that went through the trouble to prepare for this tournament, and yesterday was a prime example of the ineptitude of these referees.

the South Koreans went on a mission to foul the dickens out of the German team and ignored their skill level altogether and i have to lament that it was the ugliest display of unsportsmanlike conduct......... if you could call it that. now mark Geiger is one of the refs that I rate, but yesterday he was piss poor allowing all kinds of blatant fouls to go unpunished which could have seen at least two sending off.

the Koreans went out their way to hack and impede the Germans at all cost and nothing was done to check them, which to the watchful eye may seem like an agenda was at work here, and IMO so much power should not be given to these officials.

yes there are haters who are happy to see Germany exit the tournament, which begs the question, is it good for football and the spirit of fair play in the sport?
« Last Edit: June 28, 2018, 07:28:23 AM by pull stones »

« Reply #939 on: June 28, 2018, 08:49:29 AM »
Looks like Senegal denied a penalty to me...even with VAR

VAR not perfect.....I can't see how you review that and not give a penalty.

And I want Colombia to go through as I love how they play....especially Quintero

« Reply #940 on: June 28, 2018, 09:39:12 AM »
Damn Africans...  >:(

« Reply #941 on: June 28, 2018, 10:34:09 AM »
The verdict on the pk was that the Colombian got the ball first before he got the opposing player. In slow mo it appears so. When I saw them draw against Japan I had a feeling that it was the end for them. They HAD was to get six points going into their final game. Nothing less for Africans.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2018, 10:43:00 AM by Deeks »

« Reply #942 on: June 28, 2018, 12:02:05 PM »
Damn Africans...  >:(
At least a Concacaf team made it though

« Reply #943 on: June 28, 2018, 02:09:01 PM »
The Draw looks favorable for England.

That other half is death.

Based on the games I've watched, I think Croatia is the team to beat.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2018, 05:07:03 PM by Bitter »

« Reply #944 on: June 28, 2018, 08:15:28 PM »
England eh sure to get past Colombia but they are on the easier side of the bracket.

« Reply #945 on: June 29, 2018, 08:19:49 AM »

My prediction for Quarter finals winners;

Argentina
Uruguay
Spain
Croatia
Brazil
Belgium
Sweden
Colombia

Colombia will beat England and not really an upset to me, since previous World Cup, we see Colombia has proved themselves to be in the big league. England performances in the last few WC's have demoted their prestige in world football

« Reply #946 on: June 29, 2018, 10:29:36 AM »

Argentina
Uruguay
Spain
Croatia
Brazil
Belgium
Sweden
Colombia

Colombia will beat England and not really an upset to me, since previous World Cup, we see Colombia has proved themselves to be in the big league. England performances in the last few WC's have demoted their prestige in world football
wish i knew you personally to make a huge wager on that one. there’s no way Columbia beating england. they struggled the whole way through and would be destroyed come next week. my prediction is that england will be in the semis, they Belgium and Portugal.

« Reply #947 on: June 29, 2018, 11:59:29 AM »

Argentina
Uruguay
Spain
Croatia
Brazil
Belgium
Sweden
Colombia

wish i knew you personally to make a huge wager on that one. there’s no way Columbia beating england. they struggled the whole way through and would be destroyed come next week. my prediction is that england will be in the semis, they Belgium and Portugal.

Few key points to consider here;

You say Colombia struggled, but look at the quality of teams Colombia has faced thus far compared to England.

Look at the head to head record between Colombia vs England in the last five years

When you say "no way" I get the impression you one of the few who still believe England is a powerhouse, watch them falter to reach far in the world cup again, England making WC semis have not happened for twenty four years and won't happen this year

« Reply #948 on: June 30, 2018, 09:06:01 AM »
France is like:  ??? ???

« Reply #949 on: June 30, 2018, 09:14:04 AM »
 :flamethrower:

« Reply #950 on: June 30, 2018, 09:19:47 AM »
Argentina is like:  ??? ???

« Reply #951 on: June 30, 2018, 09:25:56 AM »
let dem entitled assholes go home

« Reply #952 on: June 30, 2018, 08:46:04 PM »
Mbappé have some TOES sah.  Wheeyyy!

« Reply #953 on: July 01, 2018, 08:41:50 AM »
Why even have a handball rule, if they going to call whatever they like?

Handling the ball involves a deliberate act of a player making contact with the ball with the hand or arm.

The following must be considered:
  • the movement of the hand towards the ball (not the ball towards the hand)
  • the distance between the opponent and the ball (unexpected ball)
  • the position of the hand does not necessarily mean that there is an offence
  • touching the ball with an object held in the hand (clothing, shinguard, etc.) is an offence
  • hitting the ball with a thrown object (boot, shinguard, etc.) is an offence
« Last Edit: July 01, 2018, 08:48:48 AM by Bitter »

« Reply #954 on: July 01, 2018, 08:49:54 AM »
unless they were certain dat header was on target and gave a decision based on dat, I can't understand how dat could be deemed deliberate iniesta doh have eyes behind he head

« Reply #955 on: July 01, 2018, 09:06:12 AM »
unless they were certain dat header was on target and gave a decision based on dat, I can't understand how dat could be deemed deliberate iniesta doh have eyes behind he head

Wuss yet! He handle the ball from on the bench...  ;D

« Reply #956 on: July 01, 2018, 09:28:35 AM »

Wuss yet! He handle the ball from on the bench...  ;D
Ah mean pique. .....steups lolol

Sent from my SM-J105B using Tapatalk

« Reply #957 on: July 01, 2018, 10:35:39 AM »
Penalties!

« Reply #958 on: July 01, 2018, 10:48:24 AM »
spain gone apart from brazil and france how many former champs remain ???

edit 4 Uruguay and england
« Last Edit: July 01, 2018, 10:51:07 AM by lefty »

« Reply #959 on: July 01, 2018, 10:56:41 AM »
spain gone apart from brazil and france how many former champs remain ???

Uruguay, England