April 19, 2024, 03:12:49 AM

Author Topic: New York based Trinis - Let's Link Up for the Games  (Read 39055 times)

New York based Trinis - Let's Link Up for the Games
« on: November 04, 2005, 10:23:59 AM »
Fellas in the interest of getting together to see the games with a good lime and atmosphere let's try and coordinate.

If you are in the NY/NJ/CT and are interested in linking up send me a PM or just state your location in this thread and whether you plan to attend, host, supply food or grog.

It is no scene if you just plan to show up to watch. If there is plenty interest we could find a bar to meet up.

My Location: Norwalk CT

I would gladly host but I know men in the City might not be up for that drive for a 24" viewing experience. If the New Rochelle men want to get together up here though that would be cool.

Walking with drinks and could bring food.

Re: New York based Trinis - Let's Link Up for the Games
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2005, 10:47:26 AM »
JDB I wiil be in NY lets link up my mom's don't have fox sports

Offline Rotato Poti

• VIBES IT UP!!!
    • ACB reloaded
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2005, 10:50:03 AM »
NY ... just say where.

« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2005, 10:51:06 AM »
It looks like a bar might be the best place. I will start looking.

Offline Rotato Poti

• VIBES IT UP!!!
    • ACB reloaded
« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2005, 10:55:43 AM »
It have this place at the top of Liberty ... just off the Van Wyck .. I think the name of the roti shop is Singh's.

They have a bar right there ... and some TVs as well .... and non-stop food - and they're Trini.

I've also seen places that have live cricket a couple blocks lower down.

We could definitely explore those options.

« Reply #5 on: November 04, 2005, 11:03:01 AM »
If y'all not opposed to coming into Manhattan, there is a pretty large football(soccer) bar called Nevada Smiths that is famous for showing big games. They have a number of big screens, and I live very close to it, so it would be no big deal for me to walk down there this weekend, and try to speak to the mgr....ask if he would show the game, (are we absolutely sure that it's on FSC ?) and tell him to expect a decent crowd.....

They usually have a full schedule of games that they advertise and show (mostly EPL........very Man U partisan crowd), so the owner might very well say no...(because he plans to show yadda yadda on that day and has already advertised it).......but it could be worth a shot.

If I get a healthy number of responses from the forum by end of day tomorrow, I can try to contact him on Sunday, and get back to y'all with the verdict....

Let me know.
« Last Edit: November 04, 2005, 11:52:54 AM by kicker »

Offline Rotato Poti

• VIBES IT UP!!!
    • ACB reloaded
« Reply #6 on: November 04, 2005, 11:11:01 AM »
count me in Kicker ... I can go anywhere in the Boroughs.

« Reply #7 on: November 04, 2005, 11:14:44 AM »
Count me in dat kicker

« Reply #8 on: November 04, 2005, 11:14:53 AM »
If y'all not opposed to coming into Manhattan, there is a pretty large football(soccer) bar called Nevada Smits that is famous for showing big games. They have number of big screens, and I live very close to it, so it would be no big deal for me to walk down there this weekend, and try to speak to the mgr....ask if he would show the game, (are we absolutely sure that it's on FSC ?) and tell him to expect a decent crowd.....

They usually have a full schedule of games that they advertise and show (mostly EPL........very Man U partisan crowd), so the owner might very well say no...(because he plans to show yadda yadda on that day and has already advertised it).......but it could be worth a shot.

If I get a healthy number of responses from the forum by end of day tomorrow, I can try to contact him on Sunday, and get back to y'all with the verdict....

Let me know.

Yeah Kicker... Nevada Smiths sounding good... me and meh crew used to go down dey right thru.... If we could get de big big screen all de better...

Singhs have de food... but dem Tv's Small small

Offline Socaman

• Live Yuh Life Like Yuh Playin Mas!!!!
« Reply #9 on: November 04, 2005, 11:17:46 AM »
It have this place at the top of Liberty ... just off the Van Wyck .. I think the name of the roti shop is Singh's.

They have a bar right there ... and some TVs as well .... and non-stop food - and they're Trini.

I've also seen places that have live cricket a couple blocks lower down.

We could definitely explore those options.
Singh's is a nice big place but do they have big screens??? Ah doh remember seeing any big screens in there...ah know sometimes they have ah DJ spinning in there!!! ...Kicker i don't mind tropping from Long Island to see de game in the city!!!!!! We need some iron whereever we go......VIBES IT UP!!!!!

Offline Socaman

« Reply #10 on: November 04, 2005, 11:23:28 AM »

« Reply #11 on: November 04, 2005, 11:28:24 AM »
Nevada Smith's is good but...

They will not care much fo rthe Trini Bahrain game  and if any other games are scheduled at a similar time we probably will get the shaft.

It looks like our match is starting 45 minutes after the Swiss Turkey Match and half hour before the Uruguay Argentina match.

Also if we could get a place in Brooklyn it will have that a more "homey" atmosphere plus we could have access to all the doubles and thing we want.

I still think yuh should check with him and find out though.

« Reply #12 on: November 04, 2005, 11:29:38 AM »

If you have contact nos you should call or post them for some one to call.

« Reply #13 on: November 04, 2005, 11:31:46 AM »
Not rubbin it in, but makiin de trek to TT for dis one, de vibes from all over are needed to handle de playoff, so bless up NY crew on Nov 12th....

« Reply #14 on: November 04, 2005, 11:31:52 AM »
NoBody NOT showing this game !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!......

Before allyuh decide to meet up...find out first if they showing it........

The issue is not whether you can perusaude or ask a sports bar to cover the came...

The issue is that there is not network covering the game or has bought rights from Trinidad for the Trinidad leg of the match. The one in Bahrain on 11/16/05 is being covered by ART TV because they have sold the rights for network coverage for the game.

Currently is channel-4 in TNT whcih is owned by the Gov't that is respobsle for broadcasting the game as well as boadcasting rights. If they did not attempt to sell or more importantly market the broadcast rights how would someone know it is for sale in the first place. !!

The gov't again !!!!

« Reply #15 on: November 04, 2005, 11:39:35 AM »
Alyuh Singh's go be de better fling . Dem is ah trini bar so you go geh all yuh doubles , channa , roti and anything trini . De last time I was dey ah think dey haD AH BIG SCREEN TV .Even self it have another place down de road from dem who does show all dem Cricket match and dem . Dat is another trini bar . I sure dem does show all dem football match dey .

« Reply #16 on: November 04, 2005, 11:40:51 AM »
Wish ah could make de lime fellas, better yet ah wish all yuh coulda make de trip to Trini. Is all good though, if de lime is anything like it was at Continental ah know ah go hear all yuh in Trini when we score on Bahrain. Plus, de Firebrand will be in HS Stadium representing de Eastside in fullforce!

I will look into de Downtown Brooklyn area for ah good bar to host de crew so you all will have more options.  Will pass on de info as soon as I get it. In de mean time, "vibes it up!".

« Reply #17 on: November 04, 2005, 11:43:30 AM »
Wish ah could make de lime fellas, better yet ah wish all yuh coulda make de trip to Trini. Is all good though, if de lime is anything like it was at Continental ah know ah go hear all yuh in Trini when we score on Bahrain. Plus, de Firebrand will be in HS Stadium representing de Eastside in fullforce!

I will look into de Downtown Brooklyn area for ah good bar to host de crew so you all will have more options.  Will pass on de info as soon as I get it. In de mean time, "vibes it up!".

Thanks Fire, when yuh leaving?

« Reply #18 on: November 04, 2005, 11:49:48 AM »
Wed 9th

« Reply #19 on: November 04, 2005, 11:55:03 AM »
orright Fire .........large up yuhself !!

You right sah mek you style . I go settle for de tele .  :beermug:

Ah see man talking bout big screen when de last time against guatemala everybody was watching de match from ah 20'' tv  and leave out de big screen . ;D

« Reply #20 on: November 04, 2005, 12:27:09 PM »
orright Fire .........large up yuhself !!

You right sah mek you style . I go settle for de tele . :beermug:

Ah see man talking bout big screen when de last time against guatemala everybody was watching de match from ah 20'' tv and leave out de big screen . ;D

fuh real!! bout 30 man watching a 20" tv in continental

Offline Dre Day

« Reply #21 on: November 04, 2005, 12:54:58 PM »
that continenetal experience was the best atmosphere for a match fuh a long time dread....

we cant recreate that... but we could do better....

i think we need a trini or carib. place so when we win man could put on some soca and chip down liberty or flatbush wee....

« Reply #22 on: November 04, 2005, 01:51:25 PM »

The issue is not whether you can perusaude or ask a sports bar to cover the came...

The issue is that there is not network covering the game or has bought rights from Trinidad for the Trinidad leg of the match. The one in Bahrain on 11/16/05 is being covered by ART TV because they have sold the rights for network coverage for the game.

Currently is channel-4 in TNT whcih is owned by the Gov't that is respobsle for broadcasting the game as well as boadcasting rights. If they did not attempt to sell or more importantly market the broadcast rights how would someone know it is for sale in the first place. !!

The gov't again !!!!

Offline Socaman

« Reply #23 on: November 04, 2005, 01:56:46 PM »

The gov't again !!!!

Where you getting this infomation from soldier?

« Reply #24 on: November 04, 2005, 02:03:31 PM »
The only game showing is the one on the 16th...

http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=6003.0

« Reply #25 on: November 04, 2005, 02:06:04 PM »
kicker i in for watchin dat game for sure

« Reply #26 on: November 04, 2005, 02:10:13 PM »

kicker i in for watchin dat game for sure

Men here like they not on Nevada Smiths though.....Nevada is a kinda hype up scene...and it eh have no Trini flavor (although we could change that)....

I think men lookin' for something more West Indian,  and if I gonna talk to the mgr I want to be able to guarantee him a big crowd...or else he eh go take me on.....so I need men to commit....

Offline royalian

« Reply #27 on: November 04, 2005, 02:13:23 PM »
I don't understand what's so hard to understand. Fox Soccer Channel will be carrying the games, they even have it on their website for their schedule for the next week.

their website: http://msn.foxsports.com/soccer

and the link with proof of thie carrying the game: http://www2.foxsports.com/world/pdf/fsw46.pdf

Offline Dre Day

« Reply #28 on: November 04, 2005, 02:20:41 PM »
some men like they still need bib and baby food to understand the game showing....

« Reply #29 on: November 04, 2005, 02:26:00 PM »
Okay!!!!

you tell me what this mean then.....

http://tv.yahoo.com/grid/?lineup=us_NY54362d&genres=0&dur=3&starttime=1131829200&.intl=us

This is according to Time Warner cable channel line up