May 21, 2013, 02:53:29 PM

Author Topic: Is the MLS a shit league?  (Read 3312 times)

Re: Is the MLS a shit league?
« Reply #60 on: September 02, 2009, 10:50:51 PM »
It is clear from results between the two leagues that the Pro League is as good if not better than the MLS. 

That's quite a reach... hard to make that determination based on Joe Public's defeat of a tired and depleted NE squad, and Jabloteh's rout of NY... the weakest team in MLS this season.  If there are other victories that you factored into the equation feel free to mention them, these are the only two which presently comes to mind.  Other than that the PFL is good to surprise the occasional MLS team, but not sure I'd put them on par just yet, let alone to say that the PFL is ahead.

« Reply #61 on: September 03, 2009, 12:05:55 AM »
play yuh suckker

« Reply #62 on: September 03, 2009, 04:51:05 AM »
It is clear from results between the two leagues that the Pro League is as good if not better than the MLS. 

That's quite a reach... hard to make that determination based on Joe Public's defeat of a tired and depleted NE squad, and Jabloteh's rout of NY... the weakest team in MLS this season.  If there are other victories that you factored into the equation feel free to mention them, these are the only two which presently comes to mind.  Other than that the PFL is good to surprise the occasional MLS team, but not sure I'd put them on par just yet, let alone to say that the PFL is ahead.

I think is safe to say that the MLS is better than the PFL..... but only slightly, I doubt a PFL side would perform well  consistently if put to play in the MLS. IMO the good results we get against their sides is mainly because they view us as weak opposition (just read the big soccer forums fuh evidence) as such they class their league games as higher priority (especially) when playing us and the MLS's scheduling clearly gives short shrift to the Concacaf club competitions. The MLS thinks its on par with the Mexican league, but they are wrong and clearly don't have the depth that Mexican sides have. I assume the longer they collect embarrassing beatings from our sides things may change.
Longterm they will always have the ability to improve on anything we can achieve due to the nature of America (funds, population, TV etc, its all bigger and better). Unless they horrendously mismanage the MLS's finances they will always have more financial clout than the PFL so will be able to attract better players, coaches and facilities. However, as long as the PFL concentrate on development and local coaches on producing sides that play well as a unit, our sides will always have the chance of winning the one-off games

Offline judge101

• If it is to be, then it is up to me
« Reply #63 on: September 03, 2009, 06:52:33 AM »
the MLS doesn't evan make that much of an impact on the regional scene losing out to so called mino league teams the reason they are this popular is because they have alot of money and market them self well i do see this league growing but right now its pure crap especially with there bias comentators

wise men talke because they have something to say,fools talk because they have to say something

« Reply #64 on: September 03, 2009, 07:51:32 AM »
the MLS doesn't evan make that much of an impact on the regional scene losing out to so called mino league teams the reason they are this popular is because they have alot of money and market them self well i do see this league growing but right now its pure crap especially with there bias comentators

some of that is that MLS clubs don't take these tournaments as seriously as they could.

another thing to consider is that relatively there is a lot of parity in the MLS.  some teams are noticeably better than others but the drop off from the first team to the worst team isn't as drastic as in other leagues.

« Reply #65 on: September 03, 2009, 10:59:33 AM »
I think is safe to say that the MLS is better than the PFL..... but only slightly, I doubt a PFL side would perform well  consistently if put to play in the MLS. IMO the good results we get against their sides is mainly because they view us as weak opposition (just read the big soccer forums fuh evidence) as such they class their league games as higher priority (especially) when playing us and the MLS's scheduling clearly gives short shrift to the Concacaf club competitions.

I've been on BigSoccer for about 3 yrs now... unless is the coaches of team execs talking I wouldn't pay any mind to what them clowns have to say.  The are just as clueless and opinionated as posters on here.

I always laugh when I see men say this... they not better, they only market deyself better.  I've heard small islanders say the same thing about our soca industry... and from critics of the EPL.  You can gauge the quality of a league by just assessing the play on the field, that marketing talk is just an excuse.

That aside, what the "biased commentators" have to do with assessing whether they are a "shit league" or not?