March 28, 2024, 04:26:10 AM

Author Topic: President Anthony Carmona Thread  (Read 25365 times)

President Anthony Carmona Thread
« on: March 09, 2014, 02:37:23 AM »
Reema Carmona: Carnival conduct a mark of moral decay

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,191636.html

Reema Carmona, wife of President Anthony Carmona , yesterday said the conduct of some persons on Carnival Monday and Tuesday was a mark of the moral decay in society.

Speaking at the Interclub of Trinidad and Tobago’s annual International Women’s Day celebration at Pier 1 in Chaguaramas, Carmona said commercialisation has skewed TT’s moral compass and resulted in unethical and distasteful conduct.

“The perceived licence exercised and the conduct exhibited during Carnival may well be a reflection of the more insidious aspects of our daily existence which we knowingly and willingly accept into our lives and the lives of our family, which truly mark the moral decay of our society,” she said.

Carmona challenged attendees at the event to take control of themselves and consider the language they use, conversations they engage in, movies they watch, music they listen to, clothes they wear, places they go and things they do.

She also asked them to take control of their health and that of their families, noting lifestyle diseases such as obesity, diabetes and hypertension were prevalent in the country.

“The preemptive strike of change must take place in the kitchen and in the meals we provide. We are shortening the lives of our loved ones when we allow them to engage in unhealthy eating habits,” she said.

Referring to numerous reports of violence and abuse against women and children recently, Carmona noted that some homes had become battlefields, prisons and torture chambers.

She said some women endure abuse from male relatives because they believe they have no where else to go.

“The feelings of hopelessness and helplessness maintain the mentality of victimhood that leaves women paralysed, afraid to demand that they be treated with dignity and equality,” she said.

Saying there were both Government and non-government organisations providing support to women who want to get themselves and their children out of harmful situations, said she recognised that many women were not informed of their options, or that options were not accessible.

She suggested more proactive and realistic outreach initiatives were necessary.

Carmona advised that every woman should be their “sister’s keeper” instead of remaining silent spectators.

« Last Edit: December 17, 2014, 06:31:31 AM by Flex »

Offline congo

Re: Reema Carmona: Carnival conduct a mark of moral decay
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2014, 10:31:02 AM »
Steupsss...Where all these bible thumper come out from all of a sudden. WTA they don't actually find some solutions to our everyday problems like crime and unemployment.  She don't know that it have some people who find her immoral for marrying a man much older than her?
« Last Edit: March 09, 2014, 11:04:27 AM by congo »

President Anthony Carmona Thread
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2014, 11:44:47 AM »

Rachel Price gets Carmona warning letter

Lawyers representing President Anthony Carmona have sent a pre-action protocol letter to comedian Rachel Price requesting she cease and desist from discussing the attire of his wife, Reema Carmona. 

A news report on CNC3 said it was the first time they were aware a president of this country has taken such an action. The material had been advertised for an upcoming show of the comedian.

An official attached to President’s House said he was not sure what was happening. But there was “some document that is taking place with lawyers”. 
Contacted last night, Price said she had no comment.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Rachel-Price-gets-Carmona-warning-letter-280000162.html

Re: President Anthony Carmona Thread
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2014, 11:45:28 AM »

Rachel Price gets Carmona warning letter

Lawyers representing President Anthony Carmona have sent a pre-action protocol letter to comedian Rachel Price requesting she cease and desist from discussing the attire of his wife, Reema Carmona. 

A news report on CNC3 said it was the first time they were aware a president of this country has taken such an action. The material had been advertised for an upcoming show of the comedian.

An official attached to President’s House said he was not sure what was happening. But there was “some document that is taking place with lawyers”. 
Contacted last night, Price said she had no comment.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Rachel-Price-gets-Carmona-warning-letter-280000162.html

« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2014, 01:39:36 PM »
Well I never see more. What's a pre-action protocol, anyway?

« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2014, 02:31:44 PM »

Notice of intent to sue, more or less.

« Reply #6 on: October 22, 2014, 05:41:38 PM »

Notice of intent to sue, more or less.

Steups well he bold! Doesn't something have to be untrue to be called defamation? So what, all the calypsonians have to watch what they sing for carnival? Why he doh tell his wife to dress with decorum at the next UN function.

« Reply #7 on: October 22, 2014, 07:11:03 PM »
Our President is rapidly losing the respect I once had for him much like our PM has done.

« Reply #8 on: October 22, 2014, 07:17:15 PM »
BIG FAT WET LOUD STEUPSSSSSSSSSS.

« Reply #9 on: October 22, 2014, 08:13:13 PM »
The powers you think i have my wife guts it the power you think i dont have my wife guts that too.

« Reply #10 on: October 22, 2014, 10:24:52 PM »
someone post the picture of the attire lol :D

« Reply #11 on: October 22, 2014, 11:41:56 PM »

« Reply #12 on: October 22, 2014, 11:43:49 PM »

« Reply #13 on: October 23, 2014, 08:18:25 AM »
Well the powers working. Didn't know he could do that. Nice to see him take a stance on an important issue.

The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #14 on: October 23, 2014, 09:31:51 AM »
Dise wha she go look to wear at a UN function and doh expect to get talk? Is not Divali Nagar yuh was!

« Reply #15 on: October 23, 2014, 09:35:13 AM »
actually i just read another site and saw a side picture and I believe it's a belt... i could be wrong so don't quote me, if it wasn't a belt, then it was highly inappropriate to wear...
« Last Edit: October 23, 2014, 09:40:30 AM by Controversial »

« Reply #16 on: October 23, 2014, 09:45:55 AM »
It wasn't no belt...

« Reply #17 on: October 23, 2014, 09:51:28 AM »
It wasn't no belt...

Who cares if it was a belt. It look like her guts. That is all that matters.

« Reply #18 on: October 23, 2014, 10:13:28 AM »
actually i just read another site and saw a side picture and I believe it's a belt... i could be wrong so don't quote me, if it wasn't a belt, then it was highly inappropriate to wear...

« Reply #19 on: October 23, 2014, 10:50:52 AM »
The President's wife obviously needs some dress protocol training.

A UN function where you are in fact representing the country as the First Lady is not a function where you dress like a belly dancer.
« Last Edit: October 23, 2014, 02:00:12 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #20 on: October 23, 2014, 12:28:28 PM »

Dah belt have muscles.

« Reply #21 on: October 23, 2014, 12:58:12 PM »

Dah belt have muscles.

:D :D :rotfl:

just looked at the close up.. can't believe she would wear that to a UN function to represent the nation... socapro is right she needs a consultant to help her dress...

« Reply #22 on: October 23, 2014, 01:53:57 PM »
Also how come our President did not pull up his wife about her dress code at the UN function? Afterall he is a bit older and wiser than her and she should thus be willing to take his advice on certain matters. Or is this one of the powers that we think he has that he does not have, the power to advise his wife on how to dress?

Also is one of the powers that our President has that we don't think he has, the right to interfere with freedom of speech and stop people like Rachel Price from pointing out the obvious?

Remember he said that the powers that we think he has he does not have and the powers that we don't think he has, he has. I am finally beginning to understand what our President meant when he spoke that gibberish.
« Last Edit: October 23, 2014, 02:05:09 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #23 on: October 23, 2014, 02:08:46 PM »

I cant believe all this shit.
 I see absolutely nothing wrong with what she wore. We are Trinidadians and our women wear fashionable out fits. The cost of that dress is probably more than most of our monthly salaries. On the one hand we talking about freedom of expression and on the other hand lambasting the woman for showing some skin. When celebrities show massive cleavage not a word.
We just full of double standards maybe she should dress like Taliban.

The real issue here as far as I see it is freedom of speech. If yuh fraid powder doh play mas !!!

You are now a public figure and open to scrutiny by the public and if the small minded view allows a comedian our somebody else like say a calysonian to make fun of a situation then so be it. Rachel Price has not crossed any decency barriers that we are accustomed to and does not deserve this action by this " moral" President.

But my personal view is that there is absolutely nothing wrong with what the lady wore

« Reply #24 on: October 23, 2014, 02:54:32 PM »
Actually, I think she look good in it.  No problem with me. I have seen worse than that worn at important functions. But I understand there are protocols for certain events. And being the President, they should know the ropes. But it easy for men to just put on a suit. Always different strokes for women. Much Ado About Nothing. What I want to know. Was Price remarks about the dress, malicious!
« Last Edit: October 23, 2014, 02:57:34 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #25 on: October 23, 2014, 03:10:29 PM »
Actually, I think she look good in it.  No problem with me. I have seen worse than that worn at important functions. But I understand there are protocols for certain events. And being the President, they should know the ropes. But it easy for men to just put on a suit. Always different strokes for women. Much Ado About Nothing. What I want to know. Was Price remarks about the dress, malicious!

Are you serious? You do not dress for a UN function where you are representing the country as the First Lady in the same way as you would dress for a belly dancing competition.

I am sorry but the President should have known better and should have advised his wife accordingly even if she did not realise that it would be pointed out and viewed by members of the public as lacking protocol for a UN function where you are representing your country as our First Lady.

But our President did say the powers that we think he has he does not have and the powers that we don't think he has, he has so may be that explains it.
« Last Edit: October 23, 2014, 03:21:25 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #26 on: October 23, 2014, 03:22:52 PM »
Sorry, I wouldn't even wear a top like that in the street and I'm my 20s. She should have known better, a woman of her age and supposed stature. But that aside, as Fish said, the main issue here is the threat to sue madame Price if she dares to talk about his wife's attire at said function.

« Reply #27 on: October 23, 2014, 03:53:20 PM »
the main issue here is the threat to sue madame Price if she dares to talk about his wife's attire at said function.

So Price have said anything as yet! Did she say anything malicious about the Prez wiife's dress? So if in the future Price would say, "the Prez wife wore a beautiful dress at the UN function". She could get sued!!??

« Reply #28 on: October 23, 2014, 04:22:54 PM »

I cant believe all this shit.
 I see absolutely nothing wrong with what she wore. We are Trinidadians and our women wear fashionable out fits. The cost of that dress is probably more than most of our monthly salaries. On the one hand we talking about freedom of expression and on the other hand lambasting the woman for showing some skin. When celebrities show massive cleavage not a word.
We just full of double standards maybe she should dress like Taliban.

The real issue here as far as I see it is freedom of speech. If yuh fraid powder doh play mas !!!

You are now a public figure and open to scrutiny by the public and if the small minded view allows a comedian our somebody else like say a calysonian to make fun of a situation then so be it. Rachel Price has not crossed any decency barriers that we are accustomed to and does not deserve this action by this " moral" President.

But my personal view is that there is absolutely nothing wrong with what the lady wore

Yes we do have a double standard here, she is not a celebrity she is the wife of our head of state, and she's representing the nation at a diplomatic function for UN heads of state.

« Reply #29 on: October 23, 2014, 05:33:17 PM »
Ms Price's delivery needs work. From the morning show, to her vlogs and everything else in between. She usually on point, but the manner in which she goes one..lets just say she coin the word wajang. A few months back she was schooled by a Bajan blogger.

The outfit is indeed questionable when you consider the event.