April 23, 2024, 07:19:29 AM

Author Topic: 2014 IAAF World Relays: Sat.24th & Sun.25th May, Nassau, Bahamas (videos added)  (Read 26337 times)

2014 IAAF World Relays

Date: Saturday 24th & Sunday 25th May, 2014
Category: Outdoor

IAAF WORLD RELAYS BAHAMAS 2014 PROMO ADVERT
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/9XK-Fxi_OJo" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/9XK-Fxi_OJo</a>

In May 2014, The Bahamas will welcome the fastest athletes for the first ever IAAF World Relays, at the Thomas Robinson Stadium. Over 1000 athletes and officials from over 40 countries will be there.

News, videos and results will be posted to this thread as we get it.

Link to the official website: http://www.iaaf.org/competitions/iaaf-world-relays

Live links to Start list and Results will be added to this thread as soon as they becomes available.

A number of T&T Men & Women relay teams will be participating, see next posts for details.
« Last Edit: June 24, 2014, 12:00:40 PM by Socapro »

Re: 2014 IAAF World Relays: Sat.24th & Sun.25th May, Nassau, Bahamas
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2014, 07:57:17 AM »
2014 IAAF World Relays

Eleven men and twelve women have been selected to represent Trinidad & Tobago at the IAAF World Relays Championships schedule to take place on the 24th & 25th, May 2014 in Bahamas

4x100m Men
1 Keston Beldman 4x100m
2 Richard Thompson 4x100m
3 Marc Burns 4x100m
4 Darrel Brown 4x100m
5 Rondel Sorrillo 4x100m

4x400m Men
1 Lalonde Gordon 4x400m
2 Renny Quow 4x400m
4 Machel Cedenio 4x400m
5 Jereem Richards 4x400m
5 Jarrin Solomon 4x400m
6 Zwede Hewitt 4x400m

4x100m & 4x200m Women
1 Michelle-Lee Ahye 4x100m & 4x200m
2 Kai Selvon 4x100m & 4x200m
3 Kamaria Durant 4x100m & 4x200m
4 Geronne Black 4x100m & 4x200m
5 Aaliyah Telesford 4x100m & 4x200m
6 Reyare Thomas 4x100m & 4x200m

4x400m & 4x800m Women
1 Shawna Fermin 4x400m & 4x800m
2 Alena Brooks 4x400m & 4x800m
3 Domonique Williams 4x400m & 4x800m
4 Romona Modeste 4x400m & 4x800m
5 Jessica James 4x400m & 4x800m
6 Magnolia Howell 4x400m & 4x800m

Officials

1 Dexter Voisin Manager
2 Gerard Franklyn Coach
3 Dr. Anyl Gopeesingh Doctor
4 Zephrinus Nicholas Massage Therapist
5 Dr. Verne Alleyne Physiotherapist

The Teams are schedule to depart on May 22nd and return on May 27th, 2014.

« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2014, 08:32:20 AM »
2014 IAAF World Relays

http://bahamasworldrelays.org/index.php/home/timetable
http://www.iaaf.org/competitions/iaaf-world-relays/iaaf-world-relays-5409/timetable/byday

EVENT TIMETABLE

Day 1 – Saturday, May 26, 2015

3:30-4:30pm   Bahamas Junior Program/Programme junior des Bahamas
5:30pm   4 x 200m   M / H   Round 1/1èresérie
5:47pm   4 x 100m   W / F   Round 1/1èresérie
6:08pm   4 x 800m   M / H   Final / Finale
6:30pm   4 x 400m   W / F   Round 1– 1èresérie
6:59pm   4 x 400m   M / H   Round 1– 1èresérie
7:27pm   4 x 1,500m   W / F   Final / Finale
7:58pm   4 x 200m   M / H   Final / Finale
8:19pm   4 x 100m   W / F   Final B / Finale B
8:28pm   4 x 100m   W / F   Final / Finale

Day 2 – Sunday, May 25, 2015

3:30-4:30pm   Bahamas Junior Program/Programme junior des Bahamas
5:30pm   4 x 200m   W / F   Round 1– 1èresérie
5:48pm   4 x 100m   M / H   Round 1– 1èresérie
6:10pm   4 x 400m   W / F   Final B / Finale B
6:24pm   4 x 400m   W / F   Final / Finale
6:43pm   4 x 1,500m   M / H   Final / Finale
7:13pm   4 x 800m   W / F   Final / Finale
7:36pm   4 x 400m   M / H   Final B / Finale B
7:50pm   4 x 400m   M / H   Final / Finale
8:09pm   4 x 200m   W / F   Final / Finale
8:26pm   4 x 100m   M / H   Final B / Finale B
8:37pm   4 x 100m   M / H   Final / Finale
« Last Edit: May 20, 2014, 09:33:01 AM by Socapro »

Offline Aviator

« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2014, 09:26:03 AM »
Sub Callender for sorrillio and we have the NR 4 X 100m setting team from 2009.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2014, 09:28:54 AM by Aviator »
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

Offline STMB

« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2014, 10:28:55 AM »
What happened to Kayelle Clarke the Carifta U20 200 women's champion (23.10W)?
Doesn't Jereem Richards have conference meet/JUCO nationals prep like Lendore and Roudette for NCAA D1?

Offline jusbless

« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2014, 10:35:40 AM »
Juco is this weekend so jereem richards and dominique williams will be available

« Reply #6 on: May 14, 2014, 10:42:44 AM »
Sub Callender for sorrillio and we have the NR 4 X 100m setting team from 2009.
If anything they should add Callender to the Relay Squad as we are allowed to take 6 per squad.

Maybe Callender is injured or not available for some other reason. Who knows?

What happened to Kayelle Clarke the Carifta U20 200 women's champion (23.10W)?
Doesn't Jereem Richards have conference meet/JUCO nationals prep like Lendore and Roudette for NCAA D1?

Yeah, Kayelle Clarke deserves to be there. Maybe she has studies or some other serious engagement that means she can't make it.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2014, 12:12:21 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #7 on: May 14, 2014, 06:10:30 PM »
No men 4x200 ?

« Reply #8 on: May 14, 2014, 06:46:41 PM »
No men 4x200 ?
The NAAA are not forward thinking enough and need to do better as we have at least 4 sprinters with decent 200m times this season and a few of them are already on the squad to run the other relays.

We have Renny QUOW with a 20.39 SB, Jereem RICHARDS with a 20.59 SB, Richard THOMPSON with a 20.63 SB, Zwede HEWITT with a 20.75 SB, Rondel Sorrillo with 20.16 PB who are already selected to go to run either the 4x100m or the 4x400m.

We could also have taken Kyle GREAUX with a 20.72 SB & Shermund ALLSOP with a 20.74 SB especially for the 4x200m relay in case any of the other sprinters are too tired from running in their other relay events.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2014, 06:58:07 PM by Socapro »

Offline Aviator

« Reply #9 on: May 14, 2014, 07:57:48 PM »
It's not a matter or forward thinking. We are simply not deep enough to field a 4 X 200m team, so it's best we stick to our strengths of the 4x1 and 4x4. A simple look at the meet schedule and our personnel, makes fielding a competent 4x2 team quite difficult.

« Reply #10 on: May 14, 2014, 09:21:31 PM »
It's not a matter or forward thinking. We are simply not deep enough to field a 4 X 200m team, so it's best we stick to our strengths of the 4x1 and 4x4. A simple look at the meet schedule and our personnel, makes fielding a competent 4x2 team quite difficult.
It could and should have been done for the experience and to at least establish a national record for this event at senior level.
All we needed was to add these two athletes (Kyle GREAUX with a 20.72 SB & Shermund ALLSOP with a 20.74 SB) to the 4x200m team as I suggested and let them do it mainly for the experience and to set a record for them to build upon and smash in the future.

Anyway based upon the point you made about the schedule our females will find it very difficult to field a fresh 4x200m team especially as the young and promising Kayelle Clarke has been left at home for some odd reason.

Would have been great if KAB and Hackett were not on suspension and in the Women squad as we could have been looking at definite medals in the 4x100m.

But hopefully we will have all our top in form athletes at our disposal for the next edition.

Our best chances of a medal might be in the Men's 4x400m relay and hopefully Cedenio gets to run anchor so he can go up against Francis of Jamaica to keep their rivalry going which I have been enjoying.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2014, 09:27:09 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #11 on: May 14, 2014, 10:09:42 PM »
Lucky we have a squad to participate.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #12 on: May 14, 2014, 10:33:04 PM »
Shermund is at LSU and is not available. The 4x200m is before the 4x1 and 4x4 so you are risking tired legs before their principal events and the ones we are most likely to medal in. We would have to draw from the 4x1 and 4x4 pools to make up a 4x2, which puts both races in jeopardy.

« Reply #13 on: May 14, 2014, 11:39:43 PM »
Shermund is at LSU and is not available. The 4x200m is before the 4x1 and 4x4 so you are risking tired legs before their principal events and the ones we are most likely to medal in. We would have to draw from the 4x1 and 4x4 pools to make up a 4x2, which puts both races in jeopardy.
Nah you are wrong, its quite do-able,

Based on the Timetable the Men can run the 4x200m Heats and Final on Day 1 (if they make the Final) and they would have 24 hours to recover before running the 4x400m Final and 4x100m Heats & Final on Day 2.
Also if we take along just one extra man like Kyle GREAUX for the 200m then we can practically use fresh legs in all the Men's Heats and Finals on Day 1 and day 2.

I think the Women will have more of a difficult challenge on Day 2 to run the 4x800m if they qualify for one of the 4x400m Finals as these long relay races follow each other. If the Women fail to qualify on Day 1 for either of the 4x400m Finals on Day 2 then will definitely have enough energy from their over night rest to tackle the 4x800m Relay Final and not embarrass themselves due to tired legs.

Check out below how we can fit the Male athletes into the schedule to run the 4x200m and still keep everyone's legs relatively fresh.

EVENT TIMETABLE

Day 1 – Saturday, May 26, 2015

5:30pm   4 x 200m   M / H   Round 1/ T&T Men's team (Sorrillo, Richards, Hewitt, Kyle GREAUX) runs their Heat between 5:30pm & 5:45pm
5:47pm   4 x 100m   W / F   Round 1/ T&T Women's team (Ahye, Selvon, Durant, Black, Telesford, Thomas) runs their Heat between 5:47pm & 6:05pm
6:30pm   4 x 400m   W / F   Round 1/ T&T Women's team (Fermin, Brooks, Williams, Modeste, James, Howell) runs their Heat between 6:30pm & 6:55pm
6:59pm   4 x 400m   M / H   Round 1/ T&T Men's team (Gordon, Quow, Cedenio, Richards, Solomon, Hewitt) runs their Heat between 6:59pm & 7:27pm
===============================================================================
7:58pm   4 x 200m   M / H   Final / If they make Final T&T Men's team (Sorrillo, Richards, Hewitt, Kyle GREAUX) runs between 7:58pm & 8:15pm (Men's 4x1 & 4x4 Finals on Day 2 so enough rest will be had)
8:19pm   4 x 100m   W / F   Final B / If make B Final T&T Women's team (Ahye, Selvon, Durant, Black, Telesford, Thomas) runs between 8:19pm & 8:25pm
8:28pm   4 x 100m   W / F   Final / If make Final T&T Women's team (Ahye, Selvon, Durant, Black, Telesford, Thomas) runs between 8:28pm & End of Day 1

Day 2 – Sunday, May 25, 2015

5:30pm   4 x 200m   W / F   Round 1/ T&T Women's team (Ahye, Selvon, Durant, Black, Telesford, Thomas) runs their Heat between 5:30pm & 5:45pm
5:48pm   4 x 100m   M / H   Round 1/ T&T Men's team (Beldman, Thompson, Burns, Brown, Sorrillo) runs their Heat between 5:48pm & 6:05pm
===============================================================================
6:10pm   4 x 400m   W / F   Final B / If make B Final T&T Women's team (Fermin, Brooks, Williams, Modeste, James, Howell) runs between 6:10pm & 6:20pm
6:24pm   4 x 400m   W / F   Final / If make Final T&T Women's team (Fermin, Brooks, Williams, Modeste, James, Howell) runs between 6:24pm & 6:40pm
7:13pm   4 x 800m   W / F   Final / T&T Women's team (Fermin, Brooks, Williams, Modeste, James, Howell) runs in this Final between 7:13pm & 7:30pm
7:36pm   4 x 400m   M / H   Final B / If make B Final T&T Men's team (Gordon, Quow, Cedenio, Richards, Solomon, Hewitt) runs between 7:36pm & 7:45pm
7:50pm   4 x 400m   M / H   Final / If make Final T&T Men's team (Gordon, Quow, Cedenio, Richards, Solomon, Hewitt) runs between 7:50pm & 8:05pm
8:09pm   4 x 200m   W / F   Final / If make Final T&T Women's team (Ahye, Selvon, Durant, Black, Telesford, Thomas) runs between 8:09pm & 8:20pm
8:26pm   4 x 100m   M / H   Final B / If make B Final T&T Men's team (Beldman, Thompson, Burns, Brown, Sorrillo) runs between 8:26pm & 8:35pm
8:37pm   4 x 100m   M / H   Final / If make Final T&T Men's team (Beldman, Thompson, Burns, Brown, Sorrillo) runs between 8:37pm & End of Day 2
« Last Edit: May 15, 2014, 01:48:53 AM by Socapro »

Offline Aviator

« Reply #14 on: May 15, 2014, 07:07:17 AM »
This is not champs or college. No professional athlete is going to run that many rounds in one day, especially all out finals. SAFP and Blake and supposedly down to run both 4x1 and 4x2 and I can assure they will be only running finals.
Let me put this straight, can it be done based on your schedule just for the sake of doing it, yes! But they are not going there just to show up. The men's team are medal contenders in both the 4x1 and 4x4. The 4x1 has a chance to re-assert themselves as the #3 team in the world and considering the early season form of the men's 4x400m members a good chance of breaking the NR is on hand, not to mention the prize money up for grabs. I want them to put their best foot forward and the 4x2 at this stage will hinder that.

« Reply #15 on: May 15, 2014, 10:17:43 AM »
This is not champs or college. No professional athlete is going to run that many rounds in one day, especially all out finals. SAFP and Blake and supposedly down to run both 4x1 and 4x2 and I can assure they will be only running finals.
Let me put this straight, can it be done based on your schedule just for the sake of doing it, yes! But they are not going there just to show up. The men's team are medal contenders in both the 4x1 and 4x4. The 4x1 has a chance to re-assert themselves as the #3 team in the world and considering the early season form of the men's 4x400m members a good chance of breaking the NR is on hand, not to mention the prize money up for grabs. I want them to put their best foot forward and the 4x2 at this stage will hinder that.
What I pointed out was that the Men's 4x200m Heats and Finals is on the Day 1 while the Men's 4x100m Heats & Finals and the Men's 4x400m Final is on Day 2.
We also have enough quality available athletes to use different athletes for both the Men 4x200m Heats and Final on Day 1 and the Men 4x400m Heat on Day 1.

Your argument is more applicable for our Women on Day 2 having to possibly run one of the the 4x400m Relay Finals on Day 2 followed immediately by the 4x800m Relay Final on Day 2 because they have been put down for both those events on Day 2. The only way our Women will be able to run the 4x800m Final on Day 2 is if they don't qualify for one of the Women 4x400m Relay Final. It will be physically impossible for our Women (the same squad of just 6 athletes) to run in one of the Women 4x400m Finals on Day 2 which is followed immediately by Women 4x800m Relay Final. It will be one or the other for our women on Day 2 regards running in one of the 4x400m Relay Finals or running in the 4x800m Relay Final as they would only be able to run in both those finals which follow each other if they are all super human.

If you look at the schedule carefully you will realize that what I am pointing out is correct. It is much easier for one or two of our stronger Male athletes to do both the 4x200m on Day 1 and then one of the 4x100m Relay Finals on Day 2 because we can use practically fresh athletes for each of those Relay races.
We cannot say the same for our Women who are penciled to run both the 4x400m Finals if they qualify followed by the 4x800m Final which they automatically qualify for as both Relays are on Day 2 in succession of each other.

Anyway I am not demanding anything now from the NAAA because to make my suggestion feasible where we can be competitive enough to content for a medal in the 4x200m Relay we would have needed to at least take along an extra two 20.xx 200m athletes like Emanuel Callender and Kyle Greaux for example which we are not doing because our NAAA are not forward thinking enough in that regard. But maybe Emanuel Callender and Kyle Greaux are both injured or otherwise unavailable in which case I will give our NAAA a bligh on this this time round. Hopefully in the future we can select and take along enough quality male athletes to also field a Men's 4x200m Relay team.
« Last Edit: May 15, 2014, 11:37:04 AM by Socapro »

T&T World Relays team announced
« Reply #16 on: May 15, 2014, 10:40:48 AM »
TT World Relays team announced
Thursday, May 15 2014 (T&T Newsday)

The national team scheduled to compete at the inaugural IAAF World Relay in Bahamas was announced yesterday by the National Association of Athletics Administration (NAAA).

The World Relays will get underway from May 24-25 and will see athletes from this country compete in the Men’s 4x100m and 4x400m events as well as the Women’s 4x100, 4x200, 4x400m and 4x800m races.

This country’s best shot at a medal is undoubtedly the Men’s 4x100m team which earned bronze medal at the London Olympics in 2012. Making up the team is two-time Olympics relay silver medallists Richard Thompson and Marc Burns, Keston Bledman, Darren Brown and Rondel Sorrillo.

The national team will arrive in Bahamas on May 22 and will be managed by veteran Dexter Voison. The TT manager yesterday explained that the athletes were selected on availability and form. He also expressed confidence in the contingent especially the Men’s 4x100m team.

“TT has a history in recent years in medalling at major meets specifically the Men’s 4x100 and men 4x400 teams. The Men 4x100m team was upgraded to silver in the 2012 Olympics...and our quarter-milers have showed some good form with Lalonde Gordon, Renny Quow and young Machel Cedenio doing well,” Voison said.

TT World Relays contingent

MEN’S 4x100 - Keston Bledman, Richard Thompson, Marc Burns, Darrel Brown, Rondell Sorrillo.

MEN’S 4x400 - Lalonde Gordon, Renny Quow, Machel Cedenio, Jereem Richards, Jarrin Solomon, Zwede Hewitt.

WOMEN’S 4x100 - Michelle-Lee Ahye, Kai Selvon, Kamaria Durant, Geronne Black, Aaliyah Telesford, Reyare Thomas.

WOMEN’S 4x400 - Shawna Fermin, Alena Brooks, Domonique Williams, Romona Modeste, Jessica James, Magnolia Howell.

WOMEN’S 4x200 - Michelle-Lee Ahye, Kai Selvon, Kamaria Durant, Geronne Black, Aaliyah Telesford, Reyare Thomas.

WOMEN’S 4x800 - Shawna Fermin, Alena Brooks, Domonique Williams, Romona Modeste, Jessica James, Magnolia Howell.
« Last Edit: May 15, 2014, 10:46:16 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #17 on: May 15, 2014, 11:12:19 AM »
Reading the above article I think it is naive that they are saying that our best shot at a medal is undoubtedly in the Men’s 4x100m team. So what about our Men 4x400m Relay team which has more inform sprinters right now than our 4x100m squad?

The only sprinters on our 4x100m Relay team who I believe are in decent form right now are Thompson and maybe Bledman. All the others are guaranteed to be beaten by other world class sprinters from around the world on a given day and not place in the top 3 in a world class 100m race.
Which world class sprinters has Burns, Brown or Sorrillo beaten at 100m this season? But hopefully they can all start throwing down some decent times in training between now and the World Relays and can start approaching 10 flat 100m form so we can have more fast world class legs to back our confidence about medalling in the 4x100m Relay. We may stand a chance if we do plenty baton changing practice and can do safer and more efficient baton changes than the other top teams like USA, Jamaica, Canada, Britain and France not forgetting St Kitts and hosts Bahamas.
A 4x100m Relay medal for us will not be easy and we may be reliant on a little luck if we are to medal.

However in the Men's 4x400m Relay I think we are definite medal contenders with the in-form Gordon, Quow, Cedenio and Richards at our disposal. And if Solomon and Hewitt can also hit top form and we use our personnel in the right order to establish ourselves in one of the top two positions after the first two legs then I think USA, Bahamas and Jamaica will be quite worried about dealing with us and we should be among the medals. In fact our NR could go in the Final as that will be the sort of time we may be required to run for us to medal.
I am just looking forward to hopefully seeing Cedenio on the final leg for us in the Final and up against Javon Francis of Jamaica as I have been enjoying watching the rivalry that has been developing between them.
« Last Edit: May 15, 2014, 11:25:30 AM by Socapro »

Offline STMB

« Reply #18 on: May 15, 2014, 03:16:09 PM »
The men's 4x400m relay seems the best prospect for a medal but is contingent on the order in which they run:
1st Leg: I would put L. Gordon here as he has a strong stretch run. He however has not impressed me on any other leg as he either does not run well in traffic, nor fully understand his role on any other leg in terms of team position (Moscow 2013 2nd leg as a 400 man with 200 speed was a magnanimous flop).
2nd Leg: I would put Quow who has the experience to keep the baton moving through the exchange zone, has the best current 200m speed to get out around the first bend, establish the team into a medal position, and well has the mentality of not giving up his position to any runner
3rd Leg: I would put Solomon there (at least in the final). Though J. Richards SB is 46.1 compared to his 46.2, Solomon is more seasoned in global finals and runs as gutsy as Quow, understanding that he needs to either pick off the man in front of him or not lose his position
4th Leg: Praying to God that Cedenio is healthy. If so, based on how he has improved his first 200m, and how he ran the anchor leg in Carifta, I have new-found respect that he can run with the big boys (compared to his Penn Relays run in 2013?).

The next best prospect is the men's 4x100m which can play anyway, not just on speed but critical baton passing in the zones. As we have seen with the likes of Japan, Australia, Brazil, South Africa, etc. you do not even need to have a top runner in a global finals or semi-finals to be a medal contender, after all their best guys are in the 10.1 high/10.2 range which for relay exchanges is not that far off from a sub-10 guy who cannot exchange/ take the stick properly. In any case it will be tough as the US and Jamaica have had quite a bit of practice in meets in both countries, not so for us, unless that are doing so as we speak (but I doubt it).

As far as the women go, I think that our best chance would actually be the 4x200m relay. The 4x100m team is average by global standards (43.5 at Penn), but quite a few of them have run decent 200m times in the low 23.xxs. Given that the relay exchanges are not as exacting, I would think that this may have been our best chance.

Why are we considering a 4x800m? There is only one athlete (Brooks) who can even mount a decent time to contend with NCAA talent far less the likes of Kenya and Russia. Since they are also running the 4x400m for experience at this level, why the mamaguy? They will fail miserably in the longer relay at best, so they better just save their energy for 1 race.

My 2 cents.
« Last Edit: May 15, 2014, 03:21:14 PM by STMB »

Offline Aviator

« Reply #19 on: May 15, 2014, 03:35:48 PM »
Ditto all you said STMB!

Offline STMB

World Relays Preview - Men's 4x400m
« Reply #20 on: May 15, 2014, 04:46:23 PM »
May 15th 2:33pm
By Noel 'Bravo' Francis, Special to TrackAlerts.com

This could be one of the best and most competitive events of the IAAF World Relays. Bahamas captured the 2012 London Olympic title in this event with a tremendous all-round effort. They were unfortunate at the IAAF 2013 World Championship when they failed to qualify for the final after resting their top quarter-milers in the first round.

This year the Bahamas quartet must be eager to perform before their home fans and provide them with a splendid gift. The Bahamian passion and pride that will emanate throughout this particular race will be unbelievable. The country has retained the winning quartet (Michael Mathieu, Demetrius Pinder, Chris Brown & Ramon Miller) from the 2012 London Olympics.

The same team warmed up for the World Relays with a dramatic victory at the Penn Relays in the 4x400m U.S.A versus the World. The team is planning to repeat that victory and dispel any doubts about their status as one of the top ranking national teams so far this season.

Despite the rapid decline of superstar Jeremy Wariner who has faded into obscurity, Team U.S.A still has several quality quarter-milers in their ranks. The U.S.A has been the dominant force in this event, winning five successive 4x400m World Championship titles since their disqualification in 2003. After suffering a shocking loss at the 2012 London Olympics, the U.S. bounced back to winning ways last year at the 2013 IAAF World Championship. Top quarter-miler LaShawn Merritt and his teammates will need to produce something special to deny the Bahamians on home soil on May 25, 2014.

The other Team U.S.A. relay pool members joining LaShawn Merritt in Nassau are Tony McQuay, David Verburg, Torrin Lawrence, Clayton Parros and the somewhat surprising selection of Olympic triple jump champion turn quarter-miler Christian Taylor. Taylor’s reward came because of his impressive run at the Drake Relays where he ran a personal best of 45.17 seconds against a quality field that included LaShawn Merritt, Kirani James, Luguelin Santos and Yousef Al-Masrahi. The notable absentees from Team US are three members from the 2014 World Indoor Championship gold medal team (Kyle Clemons, Kind Butler and Calvin Smith).

Clemons and Butler who also ran for Team U.S.A. at the 2014 Penn Relays (U.S. vs. World 4x400m) seem to have either lost form or fallen out of favour with the selectors. The U.S. 4x400m squad chosen will have a lot to prove in Bahamas, especially newcomer Christian Taylor who will not have the luxury of six attempts to get it right in this discipline.

Jamaica, the 4x400m silver medallist from the 2013 IAAF World Championships will miss the services of rising star Javon Francis who is recovering from an injury. Additionally, national record holder and promising quarter-miler Germaine Gonzales has not competed internationally for over a year, which is a major blow to Jamaica. Many track fans cannot forget Gonzales’ brilliant second leg in the 4x400m final at the 2011 World Championship.

Therefore, one can understand the frustration of the Jamaican track fans, as it is unclear to them if Gonzales is injured or retired. Looking ahead, the current athletes will have ‘many rivers to cross’ and need a fearless leader at this time to enforce a winning culture among the group. According to a JAAA release, the list of possible quarter-milers vying to make the Jamaican 4x400m squad should include Omar Johnson, Chumaine Fitten, Edino Steele, Dane Hyatt, Jermaine Brown and Rusheen McDonald. Although Jamaica will assemble a competent team, some observers feel it will struggle to win a medal, however, making the top eight and qualifying for the Beijing Games is the ultimate goal.

Trinidad & Tobago (T&T) fans would want to see their team return to their 2012 Olympic bronze medal form. The twin-island republic has some quality quarter-milers capable of challenging the top teams and winning a medal. The list includes 2012 double Olympic bronze medallist Lalonde Gordon, 2009 World Championship bronze medallist Renny Quow, Jereem Richards, Jarrin Solomon and Zwede Hewitt.

However, track fans are really looking forward to seeing young T&T star Machel Cedenio in action. Cedenio who seems ‘Ready for the road’ is poised to have a breakout season this year and play a major role in his country’s quest for glory in Bahamas. A notable absentee for the calypso country is Deon Lendore the 2014 NCAA Indoor Champion and the anchor runner on the Trinidad & Tobago 2012 4x400m bronze medal team. He is one of the fastest quarter-milers outdoors this year with 44.90 seconds. Lendore who attends Texas A & M University is unavailable at this time.

My note: Also missing is Carlyle Roudette who has run 45.77 and has dropped some 44 legs as well. The true capability will be seen in the Commonwealth Games, with Lendore and Roudette back and other men in even better form, maybe even J. Gordon for consideration by then. However Cedenio will be missing as the WJC dates overlap with CWG.

Great Britain & N.I., Belgium and Poland are three of the top European teams who could make this event very interesting. Of the three teams, Great Britain seems the most potent. Their squad of Dan Awde, Michael Bingham, Jamie Bowie, Nigel Levine, Martyn Rooney and Conrad Williams looks quite strong and could cause some anxious moments for their opponents. The 2013 World Championship bronze medallist Russia despite not having any superstars in their squad will be aiming to secure another podium spot. A classic final awaits track fans. The men’s 4x400m world record is 2:54.29 set by the U.S.A. in 1993.
« Last Edit: May 15, 2014, 05:45:59 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #21 on: May 15, 2014, 06:25:05 PM »
May 14th 3:11pm
By Noel "Bravo" Francis, Special to TrackAlerts.com

Jamaica seem to have a stranglehold on the men’s 4x100m, the country has won the last five major global championships, that is, the last three World Championships and two Olympics Games in this event. At the time of writing, the official Jamaican squad was not announced. However, it is looking more unlikely that the incomparable Usain Bolt who has recovered sufficiently from a foot injury will participate in Bahamas.

The World and Olympic champion is not in a hurry to compete and is likely to open his season sometime in June. Bolt’s training partner Yohan Blake who missed last season through injury is gradually finding his rhythm and should return to the team. The returning Michael Frater from injury will boost the team morale, whilst veteran starter Nesta Carter alongside youngsters Kemar Bailey-Cole, Warren Weir, Nickel Asmeade and UTECH sprinter Andrew Fisher if available could form the rest of the relay pool.

Jamaica holds the current 4x100m world record of 36.84 seconds. If the entire Jamaican squad is fit, the fireworks could start before the closing ceremony on the final night of competition.

The U.S.A currently does not seem to have the same depth of top class sprinters like Jamaica. They received a massive blow last year when their best sprinter Tyson Gay failed a drug test. Tyson Gay could return to competition from suspension this year, however, he will miss the IAAF World Relays. His absence is a huge setback and the Americans could struggle to keep pace with a Jamaican quartet at full strength.

Nevertheless, it is my view that a U.S.A. squad comprising Michael Rodgers, Trell Kimmons, Walter Dix, Marvin Bracy, Calesio Newman and Charles Simon is still dangerous. We got a glimpse of some relay teams at the 120th Penn Relays in the U.S versus the World contests. At that meet a 4x100m United States quartet including three members from the silver medal team at last year’s World Championship (Justin Gatlin, Charles Silmon & Rakieem Salaam) defeated a third string Jamaica team in a very close encounter. Gatlin, who seems humble until he speaks, had been talking up a storm about his ability and America’s chances in his post-race interview at the Penn Relays.

However, just like the negative wind that he has encountered in his races so far, the U.S. selectors are going in the opposite direction and have omitted Gatlin from their squad to the World Relays. Nevertheless, track fans worldwide are looking forward to these two giants (Jamaica & U.S.A.) in sprint relays to produce a cracking race.

Another Caribbean team, Trinidad and Tobago (T&T) could book their spot to Beijing; however, they would want to qualify in style with a podium finish. The T&T team should come from Richard Thompson, Keston Bledman, Emmanuel Callender, Marc Burns, Rondell Sorillo and promising young sprinter Jonathan Farinha.

The Great Britain team has had their share of problems in the past, the most recent being their bizarre disqualification at the 2013 World Championship which cost them the bronze medal and perhaps many sleepless nights.
This year they have taken a serious approach by preparing meticulously in warmer weather. We hope the eight-week bonding exercise by some members of the Great Britain squad in Florida will lead to better cohesion this time around. The Great Britain & N.I. squad includes World Indoor 60m champion Richard Kilty, James Ellington, Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, Dwain Chambers, Andrew Robertson & Danny Talbot. The only setback to Great Britain’s chances, is the absence of their leading sprinter James Dasaolu through injury and World Junior 100m Champion Adam Gemili who has university exams.

World Championship bronze medallist Canada, who benefitted from Great Britain’s blunder on appeal, and who had suffered a similar fate (disqualification) at the 2012 London Olympics will want to ensure there are no more drama this time around and qualify for Beijing fair and square on the track and not in the boardroom. This level of determination from the teams should intensify the battle for bronze and could prove to be the most competitive aspect of this 4x100m event. Japan, St. Kitts & Nevis, France and Brazil should also be engaged in a spirited dash to claim a medal. Former World and Olympic champion Maurice Greene is now a member of the Nigerian coaching staff; let us see if he will have an impact on that country’s sprint relay teams, whose performances have been ordinary over the years.
« Last Edit: May 15, 2014, 07:33:30 PM by Socapro »

Offline Aviator

NEW CHAPTER: World Relays role for Tonique Williams
« Reply #23 on: May 17, 2014, 02:47:33 PM »
NEW CHAPTER
World Relays role for Tonique Williams

By Kwame Laurence
Story Created: May 15, 2014 at 10:22 PM ECT (T&T Express)

You know Tonique Williams as the Bahamian athlete with the charming smile who struck gold in the women’s 400 metres at the 2004 Athens Olympics, and then followed up with the world title in the same event in Helsinki, Finland one year later.

Williams ran her last race in 2006. Athletics, though, is still a big part of her life. The charm is still there, but the retired quarter-miler has a brand new role.

Williams is the Local Organising Committee (LOC) deputy director of Event Media Services for the inaugural IAAF World Relay Championships. On May 24 and 25, Bahamas will host the global event, and it represents a huge opportunity for the athletics powerhouses.

“To be able to experience this level of competition here in Bahamas,” says Williams, “is a dream come true for myself and other athletes. I want my Bahamian people to be able to experience what I experienced. The stadium will be packed. The level the IAAF will bring in terms of a quality event, I want my people to experience that.

“As a working and planning member of the LOC,” she continues, “I’m hearing the word legacy. And it’s legacy in so many ways—800 volunteers, some of our junior athletes taking part in the junior programme…”

Williams says she is gaining valuable experience in her role as deputy director of Event Media Services.

“So are a lot of other planning volunteers. That in itself is a legacy.

“Our stadium is fabulous, and we’re making even more improvements to it, which is a legacy for us.”

Though Bahamas has a population of just 319,000, Williams is not the country’s only Olympic hero.

Sailors Durward Knowles and Cecil Cooke earned Star class gold in Tokyo, Japan in 1964.

At the 2000 Games in Sydney, Australia, Savatheda Fynes, Chandra Sturrup, Debbie Ferguson and Pauline Davis-Thompson teamed up for women’s 4x100m gold. That quartet and Eldece Clarke-Lewis, who ran in the opening round and semis, became known as the “Golden Girls”.

Nine years after Golden Girl Davis-Thompson finished second in the 200m final in Sydney, she was promoted to gold, a beneficiary of Marion Jones’ doping disqualification.

And at the 2012 London Games, Chris Brown, Demetrius Pinder, Michael Mathieu and Ramon Miller combined for the men’s 4x400m title, earning the moniker “Golden Knights”.

Williams made her global mark in an individual event. As a junior athlete, however, she enjoyed relay success as well.

“I’m kind of a part of the Bahamian (relay) legacy. At Carifta Games, we set the national record, so I experienced it as a younger person. I was at the 2000 Games when the Golden Girls won, and was actually in London when the guys won their gold. This is something I have lived.

We are definitely considered a powerhouse.

“I feel honoured,” she continues, “that the IAAF has chosen the Bahamas. I understand why they have. There’s nothing greater than highlighting a country as small as ours doing phenomenal things. Part of what the IAAF wants to do is reach millions, in a way that makes the whole world say ‘wow’. These relay championships will go a very, very long way in helping us to continue our relay tradition.”

As deputy director of Event Media Services, Williams can make a difference as Bahamas bids to make a favourable impression at the global meet.

“From what I would have experienced as an athlete in terms of dealing with the media, I definitely have something to contribute in the years to come, whether it’s in track and field or otherwise.

“There’s something called institutional knowledge, so when (IAAF deputy director of Communications) Anna Legnani would talk about the mixed zone, I’m way ahead of some persons that I work with because I actually know what the mixed zone is (the area where athletes are interviewed by the media). But so much of it is still new. I’m merging what I know and what I’m learning.”

Williams expects Bahamas to host other global events in the future, including the IAAF World Championships.

“Going forward it’s going to be an easier process if opportunities come here to the Bahamas because I don’t think this is going to be our last event.

“We have so many hotels and facilities now. We also have the expertise in terms of persons who know how to plan events such as this. And we have a great location, being very close to the US, and can have international flights in and out. That’s the reason the Bahamas was chosen for the World Relays. When we pull off this event and it’s a success, persons are going to want to come back again and again.”

Williams is devoting a lot of energy to her World Relays role. She still finds time, however, to keep fit. After all, she is an athlete, and her body is used to being finely tuned. An early morning run on the beach gives the former one-lap queen the perfect start to the day.

And in the afternoon, there’s more running on the schedule for Williams. This time, though, she’s at the Thomas A Robinson National Stadium warm-up track watching athletes run, not just for the sake of it but with a coach’s eye.

“Coaching,” Williams explains, “is something I stumbled upon. A young man came to my door, knocked, and said ‘can you help me?’ That’s how I started my club, TWD Athletics. It has been going strong for five years now—a very small group, about 20 kids. I’m one of those coaches who believe in individual attention.”

Among the beneficiaries is quartermiler Doneisha Anderson. Just 13, she is already close to six feet tall, and has a 400m personal best of 55.06 seconds. The former world and Olympic champion could well be grooming a talent that could go on to match or even surpass her own achievements.

For now, though, the primary focus for Williams is on building her part of the World Relay Championship wall.

kwame.laurence@trinidadexpress.com

EDITOR'S NOTE: Trinidad Express writer Kwame Laurence is among a select group of sports journalists chosen to be part of the latest IAAF Day in the Life series, a project featuring some of the Caribbean's best athletes as well as other major players in the sport of track and field. Next Friday, track stars ready to rumble at World Relays.

World Relays Preview - 4x800m
« Reply #24 on: May 20, 2014, 08:52:36 AM »
World Relays Preview - 4x800m
May 19th 9:51am (TrackAlerts.com)

Men’s 4x800m

One of the great things about this year’s IAAF World Relays is that it will give the middle distance runners a great opportunity to be in the spotlight just like the sprinters. This 4x800m event will be the first of two straight finals on the opening day. Some fans are thankful there are no preliminary rounds in the events that go beyond one lap.

An important fact concerning this event states if the final number of entries requires the running of more than one heat, then the final placing will be determined by time. In other words a time final will decide.

Kenya has been preparing intensely for the IAAF World Relays by hosting a series of relay qualification meets around the country between March and April as well as a national trial. Kenya is perhaps the most suited of the African countries to seize control of the middle distance relays, as they possess several of the world’s best athletes ranging from 800m and beyond.

The East African country is the proud record holder of both the men’s 4x800m (7:02.43) and 4x1500m (14:36.23). The Kenyans are determined to protect their legacy and have selected a very strong men’s 4x800m squad for the World Relays (Alfred Kipketer, Job Kinyor, Ferguson Rotich, Sammy Kirongo and Nicholas Kiplagat).

However, a notable absentee from the Kenyan team will be David Rudisha the Olympic Champion and world record-holder at 800m (1:40.91). Rudisha who missed most of last season due to injury is set to open his season in the same city where it ended last year at the New York Diamond League. Another athlete who will be missing from the World Relays is Rudisha’s compatriot and 2012 Olympic bronze medallist Timothy Kitum whose form has dipped considerably.

Over the last few years, the U.S.A. has had some very good 800m runners plying their trade on the Diamond League circuit. While some observers feel Team U.S.A does not have the firepower to topple the Kenyans, an interesting tussle should ensue between both countries. With Kenya’s David Rudisha not participating, some persons are of the view that this 4x800m final will be a lot closer because the Kenyans will not be at full strength.

However, the Americans will be missing a few stars as well in 2013 World Championship silver medallist Nick Symmonds and U.S Indoor Champion Erik Sowinski who ran 1:44.58 seconds outdoor in April.

Duane Solomon Jnr, the 2013 American champion, has been showing good early season form and clocked a fast 1:43.88 at a meet in April. He along with Brandon Johnson, Robby Andrews, Michael Rutt and Mark Wieczorek complete the U.S.A. 4X800m squad. This squad, despite the absence of Symmonds and Sowinski should run well and claim a podium spot. This is shaping up to be a very exciting race.

Women’s 4x800m

Some observers feel that competition among the women in the 4x800m will be a lot closer than that of the men. If this theory holds true then track fans will witness riveting action throughout the event. The Kenyan women did not produce any intimidating times at the trials; however, the squad remains confident of winning gold in Bahamas.

Reigning World champion Eunice Sum and 2007 World champion Janeth Jepkosgei leads a talented set of runners that include former World Youth champion Cherono Koech, Sylvia Chesebe, Miriam Chepkemoi and Agatha Jeruto. Eunice Sum like most of the Kenyans giving interviews has ambitions of breaking the World Record in this event.

However, it is my view that with the absence of Pamela Jelimo, the only record the current Kenyan team can break is their own national record of 8:07.58; the women’s 4x800m world record of 7:50.17 should remain intact.

Team U.S.A. is one of the teams who many observers consider could make the Kenyans produce some extra sweat on their way to victory. Some of America’s top performers emerging over the last two years are World Championship bronze medallist Brenda Martinez, Alysia Montano, Ajee Wilson, Laura Roesler, Amy Weissenbach and Chanelle Price. Price is the 2014 World Indoor Champion at 800m and followed up that performance at the Doha Diamond League with a personal best run of 1:59.75.

The American five-member squad chosen for the World Relays includes Martinez, Wilson, Price along with Geena Gall-Lara and Charlene Lipsey. Based on the circumstances this was probably the best available group. With no major global championship scheduled this year, some athletes have wisely used the time to explore other important areas of their life and start a family.

Therefore, congratulations are in order for America’s 800m national champion Alysia Montano, who made this tactical move and should give birth in August this year. The scheduling of the World Relays in May could have played a part in the omission of two of the U.S.A’s most exciting teenagers in Mary Cain and Olivia Baker both still attending high school. The versatile Cain is excellent at 800m and 1500m and was a finalist at the 2013 World Championship.

Baker’s claim to fame came at the Penn Relays with two stunning anchor legs in 2013 and 2014. This year she produced the fastest ever 800m split (2:02.55) in the 4x800m Championship of America final for high school girls. Despite her youth, Baker is an excellent relay runner who would not be out of her league against some of the seniors.

A few Caribbean countries such as Jamaica and Trinidad & Tobago will be using the World Relays to give their upcoming middle distance runners international exposure. It will be a big moment for these athletes and it is hoped that the valuable lessons learnt will be manifested in the near future.

Last year Russia had three of the world’s best 800m runners in Ekaterina Poistogova, Mariya Savinova and Elena Kotulskaya. Savinova won the 2011 World Championship title and was runner-up last year. She is also the 2012 Olympic Champion. It could be very interesting if Russia can find another competent athlete to complete the team.

Another team that could spring a surprise is Australia. They have at least four runners capable of running 2:02.00 splits or faster. The squad of Zoe Buckman, Kelly Hetherington, Brittany McGowan, Selma Kajan, Heidi Gregson and Bridey Delaney will not be playing the role of rabbit, instead they should be in the mix challenging for a medal. The team tactics employed in this event could be one of the deciding factors.
« Last Edit: May 22, 2014, 10:41:12 PM by Socapro »

WOMEN’S EVENTS PREVIEW – IAAF WORLD RELAYS
« Reply #25 on: May 22, 2014, 09:56:07 PM »
21 MAY 2014 PREVIEW NASSAU, THE BAHAMAS
WOMEN’S EVENTS PREVIEW – IAAF WORLD RELAYS

Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, Jamaica’s much-decorated “Pocket Rocket”, loves relays. After all, in addition to being the world and Olympic champion at 100m, the diminutive sprinter was the anchor of Jamaica’s championship-record-setting 4x100m relay team in Moscow, the second-fastest of all time at 41.29. She also led off Jamaica’s silver medal team in London, bested there only by USA’s 40.82 world record run.

Fraser-Pryce will be carrying the baton twice for Jamaica in Nassau, entered in both the 4x100m and 4x200m pools. With 24 countries entering teams – from Jamaica’s Rocket-powered 4x100m to Bahrain’s 4x1500m team featuring Maryam Yusuf Jamal – every women’s race list includes global champions.

And for every team with a world or Olympic champion, there is another quartet hoping to gain just enough ground on the other three legs to overcome that advantage.

4x100m

The USA holds the world record of 40.82 in this event, set in London at the 2012 Olympics, but the clear favourites in Nassau will be world champions Jamaica.

While the USA only have one member of their world-record-setting team from London, Jamaica has all four of the world championship-winning team from Moscow entered, the second-fastest team of all time: Carrie Russell, Kerron Stewart, Schillonie Calvert and Fraser-Pryce, plus Natasha Morrison and Samantha Henry-Robinson to fill the pool.

The USA will put up Alexandria Anderson, Tianna Bartoletta, LaKeisha Lawson, Babara Pierre, Stacey-Ann Smith, and Jeneba Tarmoh.

France and Ukraine had the next fastest marks in 2013, and Great Britain and Trinidad and Tobago are second and fourth for the best national-team marks in 2014 (Jamaica and the USA are first and third respectively). Ukraine, unfortunately, is not entered, but the other three are and will be looking for an open door.

Nigeria’s quartet, boasting a baton carry from world 2000m bronze medallist Blessing Okagbare, is also not to be discounted.

Sentimental favourites here and a reasonable outside shot for the victory are hosts The Bahamas, whose “Golden Girls” marked up victories at the 1999 IAAF World Championships and 2000 Olympic Games. Bahamas’ relay tradition was part of their motivation for hosting the event and their sprint quartet is likely to be competitive to a degree beyond that suggested by the sum of their PBs.

4x200m

Most of the Jamaican 4x100m team is also entered in the 4x200m on the following day, and their competition is again most likely to come from the USA.

While Jamaica has more power in their pool – including Fraser-Pryce, and Henry-Robinson from the shorter race, and adding Sheri-Ann Brooks, Anneisha McLaughlin, and Elaine Thompson – the USA has an experienced group comprising Tori Bowie, Paris Daniels, Kimberlyn Duncan, Bianca Knight, Tawanna Meadows and Shalonda Solomon, with several 200m specialists in their pool and nobody doubling back from the 4x100m.

Nigeria, Trinidad and Tobago, and Great Britain have all entered identical 4x100m teams again for the 4x200m, meaning notably that Okagbare will double back to put Nigeria in good position for the longer race.

The world record here is a 1:27.46 run by a US team at the 2000 Penn Relays, and it’s not unreasonable to expect that to be approached if not bested here. Heats and final will both be run on Sunday.

4x400m

The only teams to run faster than 3:18 in this longer championship relay since 2000 have come from the USA. With past world and Olympic 400m champion Sanya Richards-Ross anchoring the US pool, they are likely to be the favourites here again.

However, Russia are the reigning world champions and posed the strongest challenge to the USA at several recent major championships, pressing that challenge to success in their capital last year. The Russians have not sent the same quartet to Nassau as ran in the final in Moscow, but they are nonetheless likely to be one of the USA’s strongest challengers.

Jamaica again has a stellar line-up in this race, including Novlene Williams-Mills and Kaliese Spencer, and may be hard to beat should they be in contention on the final leg.

Again not to be ignored is the presence of Great Britain and their world champion Christine Ohuruogu, the mistress of the close finish.

Heats of the 4x400m will be run on Saturday with the final scheduled for Sunday.

4x800m

Much of Russia’s 4x400m pool will double in the 4x800m, where the world best dates back to 1980 with the Soviet Union’s 7:50.17 – a performance which equates to roughly 1:57.5 for each leg. It’s impossible not to consider Kenya the favourite at this distance, however, with the likes of world champion Eunice Sum and 2007 world champion Janeth Jepkosgei in their line-up.

To challenge, the USA brings Moscow bronze medallist Brenda Martinez, world Indoor champion Chanelle Price, world junior champion Ajee Wilson, and former 1500m Diamond Race winner Morgan Uceny, but even that might not be enough to challenge the Kenyans.

The real question may be strategy at this rarely-run distance. Will the Kenyans try to break away early and build an insurmountable advantage, or will they be content to stay in a pack and count on superior speed on the last leg to win? Neither strategy is a certainty.

Australia, France, Jamaica, Mexico, Romania, and Trinidad and Tobago are the other six teams entered in this straight-final race, to be held on Sunday.

4x1500m

If strategy is a question in the 4x800m, it is even more so for the 4x1500m, where a fourth runner may deliberately give up a lead in order to position herself better for the closing sprint.

The world record* at this distance, 17:05.72, was put up just this spring by a Kenyan quartet including Mercy Cherono, Irene Jelagat, Ann Karindi Mwangi and Perin Nengampi. In their team for Nassau, Nengampi has been swapped for 2012 world indoor champion Hellen Obiri, who recently set an African 3000m record.

Kenya's world record mark was just three seconds under the previous world record, a five-year-old mark run by the University of Tennessee at the 2009 Penn Relays, and if a world record could be forecast for any event at the inaugural IAAF World Relays, this one would be rated most likely as the Kenyans might be interested in putting the record well out of reach.

Forecasting their competition – if any – is a hazardous occupation, but the presence of Jamal on Bahrain’s squad suggests the Gulf state will be looking for a podium finish in the only race they’ve entered. Australia, Romania, and the USA all have quality teams entered in this Saturday final, with Martinez and Uceny listed in the US pool should they decide to double with the 4x800m.

Parker Morse for the IAAF

*subject to the usual ratification procedures
« Last Edit: May 22, 2014, 10:43:54 PM by Socapro »

MEN’S EVENTS PREVIEW – IAAF WORLD RELAYS
« Reply #26 on: May 22, 2014, 10:05:18 PM »
They must be crazy to rate T&T in the Men's 4x100m Relay and not rate us in the Men's 4x400m Relay as well when we are stronger in the 4x400m Relay than in the 4x100m Relay at present.
These people may be in for a surprise if they are this uninformed about T&T's Men 4x400m Relay strength.

21 MAY 2014 PREVIEW NASSAU, THE BAHAMAS
MEN’S EVENTS PREVIEW – IAAF WORLD RELAYS

With 36 different countries entering men’s teams in at least one of the five relays at the inaugural IAAF World Relays, picking potential highlights is close to impossible.

World champions are present from the shortest race – Yohan Blake highlights the Jamaican 4x100m squad, current world record-holders – to the longest, with Asbel Kiprop just one of the top-tier milers on Kenya’s 4x1500m quartet.

Before looking at the front of the races, though, it’s worthwhile to notice some of the others. Bermuda’s 4x800m squad, for example, is a novelty not often seen by a global audience; likewise Mexico’s.

In addition to their stellar middle-distance runners, Kenya has a 4x200m quartet entered; in fact, of the five races, Kenya has entered men in all but the 4x100m. Ukraine has managed to put up a 4x100m squad. And Papua New Guinea is entered in the 4x200m as well.

With only the 4x100m and 4x400m contested at global championships, three of the five races are likely to see a forest of national records chopped down as rarely-run events see competition of a sort not seen before.

The depth of entries in the championship distances is no doubt due to the offer of automatic qualification to the 2015 IAAF World Championships in Beijing for the first eight teams across the line; most countries with only one or two teams entered have chosen those races, although Ethiopia is one exception.

4x100m

Calling Jamaica the heavy favourites in the short relay is something of an understatement. The team in gold and green own the past three world titles, the past two Olympic titles, and the world record (36.84).

For the first time, Jamaica will build its squad around 2011 world champion Yohan Blake, but their depth is such that any of their legs – Oshane Bailey, Kemar Bailey-Cole, Nesta Carter, Andrew Fisher and Michael Frater round out the pool – could be global semi-finalists.

Before Jamaica was the unstoppable 4x100m juggernaut, that role went to the USA, and they remain a contender, waiting for the Jamaicans to show a weakness. Mike Rodgers and Trell Kimmons highlight the US squad here, with Calesio Newman, Charles Silmon, Marvin Bracy and Rakieem Salaam rounding out the pool.

Not to be ignored, however, Great Britain’s men are looking to reverse run of bad luck. After a phenomenal race was met with disqualification in Moscow, the British will head to Nassau with much the same squad, particularly Dwain Chambers and Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, but with the addition of world Indoor champion Richard Kilty. Andrew Robertson, Daniel Talbot, and James Ellington are the rest of the pool.

This is one of the deepest races of the weekend, and there are likely to be competitive squads on hand from Nigeria, Trinidad and Tobago, France – including Christophe Lemaitre and Jimmy Vicaut – Canada, and hosts The Bahamas, just to name a few.

4x200m

The world best in this seldom-run event is a 1:18.68 by the Santa Monica Track Club at the 1994 Mt SAC Relays. Twenty years later, it’s probably going to see its most serious challenge since 2003, which was the last time any team ran faster than 1:20.

Jamaica, again, are heavy favourites here, with world silver medallist Warren Weir and Nickel Ashmeade carrying the flag and Jason Livermore, Jermaine Brown, Julian Forte and Rasheed Dwyer filling the pool.

The USA – this time led by Wallace Spearmon and Walter Dix with Ameer Webb, Isaiah Young, Curtis Mitchell and Maurice Mitchell (no relation) rounding out the pool – are likely to be Jamaica’s biggest threat.

A world record would require the four runners to average 19.67, but only one of them has to do it from a standing start. Dix and Spearmon have run that kind of time, and Weir has approached it, but if the transitions go seamlessly, the running start should be more than enough to put their teammates in reach of the record. And if both Jamaica and the USA see the record as a possibility, it may be a necessity to earn the victory.

Also in the hunt are strong teams from Nigeria, France (again with Lemaitre, one of the best 200m runners in the meeting), hosts Bahamas, and some other Caribbean nations including St Kitts and Nevis and the Virgin Islands.

4x400m

The 4x400m is the traditional closing event for many meetings worldwide, and for good reason. The distance is long enough to be uncomfortable for pure sprinters and draw in some middle-distance runners, short enough to demand total effort above tactics, and tremendously dramatic, even among other relays.

As with the women, the US men have used their depth to dominate in recent memory, but potential challenges come from all sides, not least from the Olympic champion Bahamian team.

LaShawn Merritt and Tony McQuay will highlight the US squad in Nassau, but there’s another champion in the pool: Christian Taylor, the 2011 world triple jump champion. Taylor ran the relay for the University of Florida and claims a 45.17 PB, set last month. Clayton Parros, David Verburg and Torrin Lawrence round out the pool.

The Bahamians, led by world indoor silver medallist Chris Brown, have their entire Olympic relay team entered, including Demetrius Pinder, Michael Mathieu and Ramon Miller. LaToy Williams and Wesley Nemour fill out the pool. The hosts will need to leave their gold medals at home if they’re not to be slowed down in their rematch with the USA, however.

Jamaica has the power to be in the final here as well, but there are several strong European teams likely to mount a challenge. Belgium, in particular, brings three Borlee brothers to the race (Kevin, Jonathan and Dylan), and the French are not to be ignored.

Two more formidable teams will come from the Caribbean; Cuba brings William Collazo, and the Dominicans will have Olympic silver medallist Luguelin Santos. If they all run the anchor legs – which is far from a certainty – the final could have all the single-lap credentials of a Diamond League race.

4x800m

In the middle-distance races, Kenya is always the first name to be mentioned, and here they hold the world record, a 7:02.43 from 2006. They’ll be represented in Nassau by Alfred Kipketer, Ferguson Cheruiyot, Job Kinyor, James Magut, Nicholas Kipkoech, and Sammy Kirongo.

But the next-best time in history is barely half a second behind, a 7:02.82 from the US team in the same race, and two US quartets were under the old world indoor record in February. Four members of the US pool here come from those two teams – David Torrence, Duane Solomon, Michael Rutt and Robby Andrews – with Brandon Johnson and Mark Wieczorek rounding out the pool.

Outdoors can be a different story than indoors, though, and there are certainly more than two teams in this race. Uganda could mount a challenge, and Poland brings both their aces, Adam Kszczot and Marcin Lewandowski, to the fray, although they’re also entered in the 4x1500m and will be making this their second race.

4x1500m

The real middle-distance battle will be joined in the longest relay, with three world powers bringing ‘A’ teams to the table.

Kenya again has an edge with world champion Asbel Kiprop, but this is the only relay Ethiopia is contesting, and they also send a top-grade squad. The spoilers may be Bahrain behind 2009 world champion Yusuf Saad Kamel.

Kenya’s stated goal of a world record at this distance come down to race tactics. The mark already belongs to them at 14:36.23, an average of 3:39 per leg when, as Kiprop has pointed out, everyone on the Kenyan team has run 3:32 or faster. Kiprop will be joined by Collins Cheboi, James Mugut (who would be coming back from the 4x800m the day before, if he runs), Nixon Chepseba, and Silas Kiplagat.

Ethiopia brings Aman Wote, Chalachew Shimels, Mekonnen Gebremedhin, Soresa Fida and Zebene Alemayehu. Both Wote and Gebremedhin have sub-3:32 PBs and world indoor medals.

Bahrain’s team is heavily decorated with both Kamel and Rashid Ramzi on the squad, but most of those medals have a slightly older vintage than those of Kenya and Ethiopia.

The teams from the USA (featuring Olympic silver medallist Leonel Manzano) and Australia (featuring Ryan Gregson, another sub-3:32 ace) have outside shots. Poland, with Kczszot and Lewandowski doubling back, may be a contender, as might Qatar with Mohamad Al-Garni as their ace.

Parker Morse for the IAAF
« Last Edit: May 22, 2014, 10:56:14 PM by Socapro »

21 MAY 2014 PRESS RELEASE MONACO
INAUGURAL IAAF WORLD RELAYS IN BAHAMAS - SOLD-OUT STADIUM AND EXTENSIVE GLOBAL TV COVERAGE

The first ever IAAF World Relays will play out to a worldwide TV audience and a capacity two-day stadium this coming weekend (Sat 24 / Sun 25 May) in The Bahamas.

The inaugural edition of the IAAF World Relays, which takes place in Nassau’s Thomas A. Robinson Stadium, has attracted teams from more than 40 nations comprising more than 500 athletes who form the best relay quartets on the planet, including powerhouses like USA, Jamaica, Kenya and Russia. The innovative two-day competition will see men and women compete in the 4x100m, 4x200m, 4x400m, 4x800m and 4x1500m in front of sell-out crowds.

A total prize purse of USD $1.4 million is on offer, and the top eight teams in the 4x100m and 4x400m will automatically qualify for the 2015 IAAF World Championships in Beijing.

Fans worldwide can also soak up some of the Caribbean sun and the scintillating sporting magic which awaits Nassau this weekend thanks to extensive broadcasting coverage of this new event.

There will be LIVE TV coverage including Pan-Europe on Eurosport, Pan-Asia on multiple Fox Sports and Star Sports channels, in the USA on Universal Sports, in Brazil on SporTV2, Pan-Middle East on Abu Dhabi Sports Channel 5, and Pan Sub-Saharan Africa on Supersport Channels.

There will also be a mixture of live, highlights and delayed coverage being delivered by Official IAAF Broadcaster TBS in Japan and many other broadcasters across the globe.

The IAAF will also for the first time in its history stream one of its events via the following platforms:

In Europe, the stream is available via http://bit.ly/iaaflive

and on the Eurovision Sports Live App:

iOS - http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/eurovision-sports-live/id833505517?mt=8

Android - https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=net.edgesuite.eurovision.livemanager

Furthermore, the IAAF, in partnership with Dentsu, who are the IAAF’s broadcasting partner for the rest of the world, will provide a stream on the “IAAF Magazine” YouTube channel - https://www.youtube.com/user/IAAF2012

The territories from where the YouTube stream will be accessible are as follows:

Afghanistan, American Samoa, Angola, Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Ascension Island, Australia, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Bermuda, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, British Virgin Islands, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde, Cayman Islands, Central African Republic, Chile, Christmas Island, Cocos [Keeling] Islands, Colombia, Comoros, Congo - Brazzaville, Congo [DRC], Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Heard Island and McDonald Islands, Honduras, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Niue, Norfolk Island, North Korea, Outlying Oceania, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Rwanda, Saint Helena, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Martin, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tokelau, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, Tuvalu, Uganda, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

IAAF
« Last Edit: May 22, 2014, 11:21:07 PM by Socapro »

$1.4MILLION IN PRIZE MONEY UP FOR GRABS IN NASSAU – IAAF WORLD RELAYS
« Reply #28 on: May 22, 2014, 11:07:28 PM »
21 MAY 2014 PRESS RELEASE MONACO
$1.4MILLION IN PRIZE MONEY UP FOR GRABS IN NASSAU – IAAF WORLD RELAYS

A total prize purse of USD $1.4million will be paid by the IAAF for the men's and women's races at the inaugural IAAF World Relays in Nassau, The Bahamas, on 24-25 May.

Team prize money for each race (all amounts are in US$)

1st – 50,000
2nd – 30,000
3rd – 20,000
4th – 12,000
5th – 10,000
6th – 8000
7th – 6000
8th – 4000

World record bonus

Any team who breaks a world record in Nassau will be awarded a USD $50,000 bonus by the IAAF.

The current ratified world records are:

Men
4x100m: Jamaica 36.84, 11 August 2012, London
4x200m: United States 1:18.68, 17 April 1994, Walnut
4x400m: United States 2:54.29, 22 August 1993, Stuttgart
4x800m: Kenya 7:02.43, 25 August 2006, Brussels
4x1500m: Kenya 14:36.23, 4 September 2009, Brussels

Women
4x100m: United States 40.82, 10 August 2012, London
4x200m: United States 1:27.46, 29 April 2000, Philadelphia
4x400m: USSR 3:15.17, 1 October 1988, Seoul
4x800m: USSR 7:50.17, 5 August 1984, Moscow
4x1500m: Kenya 17:05.72*, 26 April 2014, Nairobi

NOTE: The payment of all prize money is dependent upon athletes undergoing and clearing the usual anti-doping procedures.

Timetable

Saturday 24 May (times are local; GMT -4 hours):

17:30 Men’s 4x200m heats
17:49 Women’s 4x100m heats
18:14 Men’s 4x800m final
18:38 Women’s 4x400m heats
19:12 Men’s 4x400m heats
19:43 Women’s 4x1500m final
20:15 Men’s 4x200m final
20:33 Women’s 4x100m final B
20:42 Women’s 4x100m final

Sunday 25 May:
17:30 Women’s 4x200m heats
17:49 Men’s 4x100m heats
18:14 Women’s 4x400m final B
18:26 Women’s 4x400m final
18:46 Men’s 4x1500m final
19:17 Women’s 4x800m final
19:41 Men’s 4x400m final B
19:52 Men’s 4x400m final
20:11 Women’s 4x200m final
20:28 Men’s 4x100m final B
20:37 Men’s 4x100m final

IAAF

*subject to the usual ratification procedures
« Last Edit: May 23, 2014, 10:48:30 PM by Socapro »

IAAF World Relays -Nassau, Bahamas 2014 - Welcome & Day 1 Preview
« Reply #29 on: May 23, 2014, 10:41:28 PM »
2014 IAAF World Relays - Commentary Team Preview Day 1

IAAF World Relays -Nassau, Bahamas 2014 - Shaunae Miller & Chris Brown Welcome
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/uQljySwl1SQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/uQljySwl1SQ</a>

World Relay 2014 Bahamas - 2 Laps Men Relays Heats & Final - Commentary Team Preview
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/xSe_wrhU7to" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/xSe_wrhU7to</a>

World Relay 2014 Bahamas - 1 Lap Women Relays  Heats & Final - Commentary Team Preview
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/JpHamRfox1A" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/JpHamRfox1A</a>

World Relays Bahamas 2014 - 8 Laps Men Relay Final - Commentary Team Preview
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/exzbsWucu7Q" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/exzbsWucu7Q</a>

World Relay 2014 Bahamas - 15 Laps Women Relay Final - Commentary Team Preview
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/ron-oOcQnos" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/ron-oOcQnos</a>
« Last Edit: May 25, 2014, 12:07:11 PM by Socapro »