April 24, 2024, 10:29:57 AM

Author Topic: Gavin Hoyte Thread  (Read 15629 times)

Gavin Hoyte Thread
« on: June 03, 2014, 06:13:34 AM »
New Hoyte on the block
By Ian Prescott (Express).

GAVIN HOYTE has a grandfather who lives in San Fernando.

He was once a member of Arsenal’s youth team and after his elder brother, defender Justin Hoyte, became a full international for Trinidad and Tobago a year ago, it seemed a natural progression that he do so as well.

Due to ancestral links, Gavin is eligible to play for T&T and has been called up by senior men’s national head coach Stephen Hart for international friendlies against World Cup-bound Argentina in Buenos Aires tomorrow and Iran on June 8 in Sao Paulo, Brazil.

Born in Leytonstone, London, 23-year-old Gavin has a heavy English accent. Already a father of two, he is son of former British sprinter Wendy Hoyte, the 1982 Commonwealth Games gold medal winner who missed the 1984 Olympics through pregnancy, and T&T-born British sprinter Les Hoyte.

Gavin was a defender with the England squad at the 2007 FIFA Under-17 World Cup and played in all five of England’s matches in the tournament, coming on as a substitute three times and starting the games against Brazil and Germany.

His current T&T teammates Marcus Joseph, Kevin Molino and Sheldon Bateau represented the twin-island republic at that same tournament in South Korea.

A product of the Arsenal academy, Hoyte signed with the English Premiership club at age nine, was captain of Arsenal’s U-18 team and signed a senior contract which kept him at the club until 2012.

But Gavin had few Premier League appearances for Arsenal, for whom he debuted in 2008, playing for 60 minutes before current star Aaron Ramsey replaced him. He also played League Cup matches against Sheffield United and Wigan.

“I was at Arsenal from the age of nine till 21 when I got released,” he said of his still early career, which has also seen him going on loan to Watford City, Brighton, Lincoln City and Wimbledon, before his release from Arsenal as a free agent two years ago.

He then signed a deal with League Two club Dagenham and Redbridge, which is near its end.

“I’m delighted to be here,” Hoyte exclaimed, not hiding his enthusiasm on joining the Trinidad and Tobago squad. “It’s a big step up to an international side. It’s a big thing for me.”

Gavin’s career mirrors that of 29-year-old brother Justin, who also played internationally for England from under-16 up to under 21 level.

Justin also began at age nine for Arsenal where he made 34 appearances at various (senior) levels, but was still down the pecking order behind Ivory Coast international Emmanuel Eboe and French internationals Gaël Clichy and Bacary Sagna at various times.

Justin became a Trinidad and Tobago international last year, seven years after turning down an initial offer to join T&T’s 2006 World Cup team.

Gavin said that while his brother joining the Soca Warriors was influential, he made his own choice once invited by coach Hart.

“At the end of the day I had to make my own decision,” he said. “My father was born here.”

Gavin has so far forged a relationship with roommate and England-born midfielder Andre Boucad. And Central FC striker Willis Plaza has also taken him out to eat some “doubles”.

He is simply happy to be here and hopes to make playing for T&T a solid future position.

“My long-term goal is to play every game I can,” the younger Hoyte said. “Everyone has made me feel comfortable.”

« Last Edit: November 30, 2019, 12:09:37 PM by Tallman »

Re: New Hoyte on the block.
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2014, 11:54:48 AM »
If Gavin makes his debut today it will be ironic that his brother Justin also made his debut for T&T today a year ago vs Romania.

« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2014, 08:23:33 AM »
Ah hear the commentators were calling him,Hoy-T,they gave him a Spanish sound to his name. :)

« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2014, 09:12:30 AM »
So both brothers were on the field at the same time...When was the last occurrence of an event such as this in T&T?

I know it happens at colleges league level but what about National team level.

Gavin Hoyte on trial at Southend United
« Reply #4 on: July 16, 2014, 06:15:51 AM »
Gavin Hoyte on trial at Southend United
By Chris Phillips (Echo News)

GAVIN Hoyte is on trial at Southend United.

The 24-year-old defender has spent the last two seasons with Dagenham & Redbridge but has yet to commit his future to the club.

And he is expected to line up for the Shrimpers at Billericay Town tonight.

“Gavin will be coming in on trial for the Billericay and Tottenham games,” confirmed Blues boss Phil Brown.

“It would be good to get another defender in and put pressure on the back four for places.”

Hoyte came through the ranks at Arsenal and spent time on loan with Watford, Brighton, Lincoln and AFC Wimbledon before joining Dagenham in July 2012.

He has also played internationally for Trinidad and Tobago and played for them against Argentina before the start of the World Cup.

Hoyte will now be bidding to earn a deal with Blues but is unlikely to be joined in the side by Spaniard Alberto de las Heras.

The midfielder trained with the Shrimpers in Malaga last week and flew over to meet up with them again at the weekend.

However, Echosport understands the 26-year-old has since returned home although this has yet to be confirmed by the club.

« Reply #5 on: July 16, 2014, 10:32:32 AM »
New Hoyte on the block
By Ian Prescott (Express).

Justin became a Trinidad and Tobago international last year, seven years after turning down an initial offer to join T&T’s 2006 World Cup team.

Gavin said that while his brother joining the Soca Warriors was influential, he made his own choice once invited by coach Hart.

“At the end of the day I had to make my own decision,” he said. “My father was born here.”

Gavin has so far forged a relationship with roommate and England-born midfielder Andre Boucad. And Central FC striker Willis Plaza has also taken him out to eat some “doubles”.

He is simply happy to be here and hopes to make playing for T&T a solid future position.

“My long-term goal is to play every game I can,” the younger Hoyte said. “Everyone has made me feel comfortable.”

This makes me wonder. Now I am open to any player (with Trini roots) who has proved himself as potential asset for the national team being given having a chance to represent the country. HOWEVER around the world we see a lot of players who realize after YEARS of being turned down or ignored by their country of birth (Germany, England) they now change their decision to playing for their parents country. (USA, Trini, Jamaica)

This makes me wonder how much passion and how much they really want to play for the T&T national team. And some coaches have the mindset because that because they were born in Europe and progress a European youth system they easily earned a spot on the national team. And that's bullshit! but of course players in Europe know Caribbean and African coaches have this mindset so they will continue to exploit it.. hence why they can take their sweet time (years of time) when making a decision to represent their dad or mom country.

"Let me see if I can make my Germany or England team first, and if I can't then I will make myself available for my mom or dad country"- the mindset of many
« Last Edit: July 16, 2014, 10:36:03 AM by Sando prince »

« Reply #6 on: July 16, 2014, 12:52:46 PM »
u really don't know what you are talking about, and the psychological pressure and stress involved of making that decision as far as these kids are concerned..especially depending on the stress & pressure their parents or aquantances faced if they were also dealing with past selections and some measure of bias and favoritism, predjudice and other turmoultous obstacles...yet belief as you wish...if you against putting forward our best foot, as everybody else does, and bring home our talent (if even to help develop/motivate) to assist our locals..then why stick with only sports ?

« Reply #7 on: July 16, 2014, 07:26:37 PM »
If you read my post as me being against putting forward our best foot by bringing home our talent then you either missed the jist of my argument or you have another topic you want to discuss. My points are loud and clear. Most times players who are born in Europe choose the countries of their parents after realizing a place on the national team of their country of birth is slim to none. Especially for England who have English born players being grabbed by Caribbean and American national team coaches after making themselves available for these coaches. In TnT its even worse because we tend to have an inferior complex by believing these players automatically can make our national team ahead of our local players before they even kick a ball before the coach in practice. Most times we are slapped in the face when reality shows us these players are not who we perceived them to be (does Samuel, Zamora, Shakes ring a bell to you?)  So we continue to desperately seek out these players  with Trini roots instead of just going about our business. This complex has us thinking our national team will automatically become stronger by having European born players on the roster. Disregarding the fact they can be less talented than some of our players playing locally.

My opinion is we should go about the natural order of developing our locals through different methods of creating a more competitive and stronger domestic league. If a European born player wants to make himself available that's good. He can come and TRY OUT for the team when the coach names a roster for training or screening. This is how most young local players have been introduced into the national system in the past. In fact his choice to make himself available for his parents or his grandparents country should not even be a news article of high relevance (you know how our media greet past European players with Trini roots as national stars before they even kick the ball smh). But if the national coach ready to just give him an automatic spot in the starting XI just based on his new citizenship then I hope he is ready for the backlash. The cultural mindset has to change if we want to be taken seriously
« Last Edit: July 16, 2014, 09:28:27 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #8 on: July 17, 2014, 12:47:33 AM »
Mostly agreed Sando - I made my misgivings clear when he was called up, but he did come and try out in the camp before the friendlies, and Hart saw/thinks that he's good enough for the NT.

« Reply #9 on: July 17, 2014, 06:38:39 AM »
Of course I misunderstood.. I thought the issue was with the player. Obviously, your issue is with a coach and his team selectors, and the media.
Thank god with our inferiority complex this is only restricted to guys just walking on our football team, and all them foreign players showing up just so. Btw, wha we go do bout all dem good locals who go foreign to play, train and study. Many end up coaching, developing foreign...and getting big up and lauded in foreign media to...them having kids and then ...well, we understand the cycle...and dem not even good enough for we or better than we locals. Good thing a few of us don't have complexes.  ;D

« Reply #10 on: July 17, 2014, 08:14:54 AM »
Southend United manager Phil Brown: Gavin Hoyte could be this year's Ben Coker
By Chris Phillips (Echo News)

SOUTHEND United manager Phil Brown feels he could have unearthed another potential signing in former Dagenham & Redbridge defender Gavin Hoyte.

The right-back is currently on trial with the Shrimpers and lined up against both Billericay Town and Tottenham Hotspur.

And Brown has hinted the 24- year-old could follow in the footsteps of Ben Coker in signing for Blues after a successful trial period in pre-season.

“Gavin played 45 minutes against Billericay and probably 60 against Spurs and he’s done well in those games,” said the Shrimpers boss.

“We could have another situation like the one we had with Ben Coker here last summer.

“We will be talking to him again and hope he will be able to play in our next friendly against Braintree on Saturday.”

Hoyte has figured mostly at right-back during his career, a position Southend skipper John White did well in last season.

As a result, Brown is considering moving White in to a central defensive position.

And he could well figure there in Blues’ forthcoming friendlies.

“John was very commanding in a central position against Billericay and he can play well there so that’s certainly another option for us,” said Brown.

“We are definitely short of defenders at the moment though and we definitely need to bring in one or two more in that area before the start of the season.”

Luke Prosser is currently the only fit recognised centre back in the Southend squad with Adam Thompson currently sidelined with a back problem.

However, Nabil Aslam – who had been on trial with the Shrimpers – will not be joining.

“Nabil showed he can play but, although it sounds crazy, I think he would actually be better off playing at a level higher than League Two so he’s moved on now,” said Brown.

“At our level it’s a war of attrition.

"You play Saturday, Tuesday, Saturday and come up against some big forwards and teams playing route one.

“I’m not sure he would have been able to cope with that."

« Reply #11 on: July 17, 2014, 09:33:00 AM »
I have yet to see a foreign-born player 'walk into the team' who didn't belong there. So I ain't sure what concerns are being expressed.

« Reply #12 on: August 19, 2014, 09:00:14 AM »
Gillingham boss Peter Taylor adds former Arsenal youngster and Dagenham player Gavin Hoyte to his Priestfield squad
By Luke Cawdell (Kent Online)

Gillingham have bolstered their squad with the signing of Gavin Hoyte on a five-month contract.

Right-back Hoyte, 24, is a product of Arsenal’s academy, but spent the last two years at Dagenham & Redbridge.

He has joined the Gills on a deal until January 18.

Boss Peter Taylor said: "I'm pleased to have Gavin on board. He's trained with us for a couple of weeks and has a lot of games under his belt."

Hoyte was on trial with Southend United over the summer after rejecting a new contract with Dagenham.

He had been with the Daggers for two seasons, signing on for them in 2012 following his release from Arsenal, playing 68 Football League matches.

He made his one and only Arsenal league appearance in November 2008, starting in a 3-0 defeat to Manchester City. His three other appearances for the north London side were in the Carling Cup.

Loan spells at Watford, Brighton, Lincoln and AFC Wimbledon followed before joining being released in 2012.

Hoyte played youth football for England but in the summer appeared for Trinidad & Tobago during their tour of South America, with games against Argentina and Iran.

In June he was a substitute against Argentina, who were preparing for the World Cup, coming up against the likes of Lionel Messi.

He could be involved on Tuesday night against Swindon, if registered in time, but Taylor does have Matt Fish as an option at right back. Fish came through Saturday's game unscathed after recovering from a knee injury.

« Reply #13 on: August 19, 2014, 10:41:43 AM »
Awesome :) Gillingham's not too far from me so might go see them in action

Whatever happened to the Hoyte brothers?
« Reply #14 on: September 14, 2014, 07:35:56 PM »
Whatever happened to the Hoyte brothers?
By Devon Gray (vavel.com)

Justin and Gavin Hoyte joined Arsenal as children, but failed to establish themselves as regulars in the side - a common fate among academy products at England's biggest clubs.

At the conclusion of this summer's transfer window, Arsenal released or loaned out a number of academy products, including the formerly exciting prospects Chuks Aneke and Benik Afobe. It is not uncommon these days for highly touted youngsters to fail to live up to expectation, especially at large clubs like Arsenal. But what is proving to be an increasing worry is the lack of first team players that have been able to successfully break through from Arsenal's famed youth system.

Despite an ever-growing English core in Arsène Wenger's side, only Jack Wilshere and Kieran Gibbs have established themselves whilst coming through the Arsenal ranks - with the rest having been developed at Southampton and, with the addition of Danny Welbeck, Manchester United.

Two more memorable names that failed to live up to their billing were Justin and Gavin Hoyte, the brothers from Leytonstone who each joined the club at nine years of age. Justin, five years his brother's senior, made his first team debut in 2002 as an 18-year-old. In six seasons with the club, he amassed only 34 league appearances, but holds the record as the first Englishman to score for Arsenal at the Emirates Stadium, with a goal scored during a substitute appearance against Charlton in 2007.

Despite coming back from a fruitful loan spell the previous year with Sunderland, he returned as only a reserve to first choice full-backs Emmanuel Eboue and Gael Clichy. When the following season saw him pushed further down the pecking order with the signing of Bacary Sagna, Justin soon moved to the northeast to join Gareth Southgate's Middlesborough, but the club was relegated to the Championship later that season. Still a youngster at 23, however, Justin became a regular at right back for the Teessiders as they fought for promotion. A trip back to the top flight never came though, and after a six-year spell with Boro, he moved back to London to join Millwall at the start of 2014, where he currently plies his trade.

Gavin, the younger of the Hoyte brothers, has experienced much less fortune than Justin. His potential with Arsenal was nearly as promising, having had success throughout the various youth teams. But after a disastrous first team debut, in a 3-0 defeat to a Robinho-inspired Manchester City in 2008, Gavin was sent to Watford on loan the very next month. The following seasons saw Gavin sent out on loan three more times, to Brighton and Hove Albion, Lincoln City, and AFC Wimbledon, with relatively little success to show for it.

In 2012, he was finally released from Arsenal and signed with Dagenham and Redbridge, where he had arguably his most successful spell, albeit in the fourth tier of English football. Despite this, he was released from the club at the start of this summer after failing to agree to a new contract. Gavin has since signed with League 1 side Gillingham on a deal that runs until January.

Both of the Hoyte brothers have chosen to represent Trinidad and Tobago at the national level, despite appearing for various England youth teams earlier in their career. Justin, as it so happens, had the opportunity to represent the Soca Warriors at the 2006 World Cup, but declined the offer in hopes of one day donning the England shirt at the highest level. That chance never came, and that disparity between expectations and reality has summed up the careers of the Hoyte brothers and many others who come through high-profile footballing institutions.

So often, it seems, young and exciting prospects wither away in the youth teams of England's biggest clubs. It is becoming increasingly unlikely that England will ever see another "Class of '92" to emerge out of a club like Manchester United. As will be the case for years to come, larger sides prefer to invest in proven talent rather than bleeding youth players at the highest level to gain experience - a phenomenon that we've all come to expect.

But with so few youngsters getting the chance to break into the first teams of massive clubs, why do they choose to start their careers there when there are plenty of more suitable academies like Southampton's that have earned a reputation for giving youth a chance? For one, it must be awfully difficult for a parent to turn down the opportunity to send their prodigy to an establishment like Manchester United or Liverpool. And for families who grow up in the local area of a large club, just like the Hoytes, sometimes receiving an education at a club like Arsenal is simply more convenient.

What is worrying, however, is that in the midst of extreme pressure to succeed immediately, Arsène Wenger may have lost his reputation as a manager who will take a chance on youth. His experimentation with young sides defined the majority of the past decade with Arsenal, but the club has only started to find success again with the abandonment of this policy.

Currently, there are few hopes of another local talent breaking through anytime soon. Even the imported prospects have struggled in this regard. Thomas Eisfeld, who was bought from Borussia Dortmund, was just sold to Fulham despite consistently showing high potential whenever given an opportunity. Other young players in the team, like Serge Gnabry and Gedion Zelalem, will be disappointed with their lack of chances on the pitch in competitive matches.

The Hoyte brothers, though, did get their opportunities but failed to establish themselves as indispensable members of the squad. Despite being touted as England hopefuls, neither reached their expectations. But as is becoming increasingly apparent, the expectations placed on the shoulders of a young teenager in a high-pressure environment can completely stall a career, particularly with limited opportunities available.

Perhaps things would have been different for the Hoytes had they begun their careers in a more conducive environment with more available opportunities to gain professional experiences. Or maybe this is just a case of two players simply not possessing the talent to succeed at the highest level. If one thing is certain though, it's that fewer and fewer local academy products will succeed at the very highest level. With the largest clubs possessing the cash to buy all of their requisite talent, it is less frequently in their best interest to invest in the development of local talent.

« Reply #15 on: September 15, 2014, 02:16:03 PM »
For me, the important take aways from the above are:
But with so few youngsters getting the chance to break into the first teams of massive clubs, why do they choose to start their careers there when there are plenty of more suitable academies like Southampton's that have earned a reputation for giving youth a chance?

and, most importantly:

If one thing is certain though, it's that fewer and fewer local academy products will succeed at the very highest level. With the largest clubs possessing the cash to buy all of their requisite talent, it is less frequently in their best interest to invest in the development of local talent.

I think more and more English players should forego the immediate glory of the big clubs and look to get experience playing for the smaller clubs with the potential of a bigger payday if/when they develop into better players.

« Reply #16 on: September 17, 2014, 11:11:20 AM »
Thought that for a while - interesting article. Players need graduated experience just like in any field for youngsters basically doing an apprenticeship. Moreover, too much football at a high level can cause injury problems down the line á la Michael Owen.

Gillingham defender Gavin Hoyte hoping for another call-up by Trinidad & Tobago
By Luke Cawdell (Kent Online)

Gavin Hoyte is hoping a run of form for the Gills will be rewarded by an international call-up.

Last summer the former Arsenal youngster got a taste of the international life with two appearances for Trinidad & Tobago.

And with the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup taking place this summer, Hoyte wants to be a part of it.

He said: “The Gold Cup is a big one to look forward to and hopefully they call me up.

“The tournament has some big teams and is being held in America. I can learn so much from being involved.”

Hoyte played for England under-17s as a youth but qualifies for the Trinidadians through his father, who was born there. His grandfather still lives in Trinidad.

Last summer, Hoyte represented the Caribbean country in friendly matches against Iran and Argentina, playing 20 minutes against Lionel Messi.

The defender was sounded out about a return to the national team earlier this season but decided to put club before country.

He said: “I was just coming back from suspension. I needed to concentrate on getting back into the team at Gillingham and Trinidad were understanding.”

Gavin Hoyte signs for Barnet FC
« Reply #18 on: June 11, 2015, 07:51:02 AM »
Gavin Hoyte signs for Barnet FC
barnetfc.com

Barnet FC are delighted to announce the latest new arrival to The Hive in 25-year-old defender Gavin Hoyte, who has signed for the club on a two-year deal.

Gavin Hoyte joins the Bees after his contract with Gillingham expired, of whom he made over 30 appearances for last season. Hoyte signed for Arsenal’s academy when he was just nine years old, where he featured regularly for their U18 and Reserve team – going on to sign a professional contract with the Gunners in September 2007.

Since then, Gavin has featured for Watford, Brighton, Lincoln, AFC Wimbledon, Dagenham & Redbridge and Gillingham – along with appearances for the Trinidad and Tobago National Team.

Commenting on his move to Barnet, Gavin said that he’s delighted to be at Barnet and can’t wait to get back playing football:

“I’m delighted to be at Barnet, the club won the league last year and coming up into League Two they’re going to be on a big high and I want to be part of it.”

“I can’t wait to get back to playing football again, you really miss it when you’re off over the summer so I can’t wait for the league to start.”

“I’ve played quite a lot of games in League One and League Two, so I think I can bring good experience to the team. My strongest attribute is definitely my speed, I love to get up and down the pitch and get crosses in – but more important than anything, I love defending.”

Meanwhile, commenting on his latest signing, Bees Manager Martin Allen has said that Gavin is a great young player and received a glowing reference from his previous club Gillingham: 

“Gavin’s a very good player and he’s at a good age.

“I spoke to some people at Gillingham that gave him fantastic references and we have signed another very good player today.”

« Reply #19 on: September 04, 2015, 03:06:45 PM »
Barnet FC fans discuss the club’s refusal to let Gavin Hoyte go on international duty with Trinidad and Tobago
http://www.onlybarnet.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=9968

« Reply #20 on: September 05, 2015, 08:16:23 AM »
after all de talk Hoyte not even on de starting 11 for Barnet today. He on de bench.

« Reply #21 on: September 05, 2015, 11:06:52 AM »
after all de talk Hoyte not even on de starting 11 for Barnet today. He on de bench.

what a shame

« Reply #22 on: September 05, 2015, 03:57:01 PM »
He didn't make it off the bench in their 3-2 loss to Carlisle.

« Reply #23 on: September 05, 2015, 05:03:17 PM »
From de Barnet link, it seem like de team have injuries in defence and dey keep he for cover. My bigger concern is he cyah get a start for a League 2 side. Is he even on par with what's available to us?
« Last Edit: September 05, 2015, 09:09:33 PM by Dinner Mints »

« Reply #24 on: September 05, 2015, 07:49:06 PM »
My bigger concern is he cyah get a start for a League 2 side.

This is the first game of the season where he didn't get ah run. He has started all previous 5 games.

« Reply #25 on: September 05, 2015, 08:21:54 PM »
Seems like clear intimidation to me... A slap on the wrist for even thinking about playing for T&T. There has to be some rule against this!

« Reply #26 on: September 11, 2015, 11:01:02 AM »
Barnet boss Martin Allen has hit back at claims from Trinidad & Tobago coach Stephen Hart that he “bullied” Gavin Hoyte into skipping international duty. “At no point has their manager tried to contact me, called me, texted me or emailed me,” sniffed Allen, failing to mention if Hart had MySnapGrammed him instead. “I have been doing this since I was 15 years old. I’ve just won a championship and we are one of the most professional, organised, tight-knit little teams of staff in the lower leagues. So it is a shame he never had the decency to ring me. That is what you call unprofessional.”
http://www.theguardian.com/football/2015/sep/11/the-fiver-the-one-where-david-de-gea-picks-up-his-toys-and-gets-handsomely-remunerated-for-doing-so

« Reply #27 on: September 11, 2015, 11:17:09 AM »
Haha. The Fiver at it again. Allen real boldface.

Here is the original story they have riffed.

http://m.times-series.co.uk/sport/13713343.Allen_hits_back_at_Trinidad___Tobago_coach_s__unprofessional__claims/?ref=erec

« Reply #28 on: September 11, 2015, 05:29:39 PM »
Allen has always been a mad man in de lower leagues.he mash up plenty teams like Leicester City with his unorthodox approach to coaching

« Reply #29 on: October 07, 2015, 02:00:11 AM »
Hoyte excited to join Soca Warriors.
T&T Guardian Reports.

England-based Soca Warriors defender Gavin Hoyte was among the group of overseas-based players to link up with the T&T squad in Panama on Sunday.

The 25-year-old Hoyte who plies his trade with Barnet FC  after being on the Arsenal player list until 2011, has only featured twice for the Soca Warriors, both last year, against Argentina and Iran in two friendly internationals.

Since then he has not suited up for the Stephen Hart-coached Soca Warriors and missed the 3-3 draw with Mexico last month in Utah after a mix-up in communication.

After being named in the T&T team for the match, Hoyte was asked by his club to miss the friendly just a day before his departure from London, and speaking in Panama yesterday he said he felt confident that there will not be such an occurrence again.

“I’m quite excited to be back. It’s been more than a year now since I’ve played for T&T. I’m very relieved. I don’t think this will happen again as obviously there was a bit of a mix up in communication between my manager and the coach but hopefully now it’s all resolved and I’m happy to be here.  I’ve spoken to my manager and he’s very happy. I think he now knows more of what’s going on and he’s happy for me to go and play.

“I’ve been following the team and it’s good to be back and hopefully I can get back into the mix,” the former Arsenal and England youth international added.

Defender Yohance Marshall who is attached to Mexican club Murcielagos believes the two friendlies are key to the preparations for the November 2018 World Cup qualifiers, away to Guatemala on November 13 and four days later at home to USA (November 17).

“I think it’s very important to come together as a group again especially with one game being in Central America and then the other back in T&T. There are a couple new faces and it’s good for us to get that unity and chemistry going. We know the kind of opposition Panama is and they will present us with a good test. The mentality of our preparation and hopefully the results will build the confidence of the team heading into the two qualifiers in November,” Marshall said.

T&T captain Kenwyne Jones who celebrated his 31st birthday yesterday reflecting on his assist to Stern John which helped T&T to a 1-0 win over Panama to revive its World Cup 2006 campaign said, “It’s already ten years since that game here against Panama.

“Time flies but it’s great to be back and on the verge of another qualifying campaign. We’re here to prepare for the two opening matches and we’ll take it one step at a time with the hope of being sufficiently ready,” Jones said.

Thursday’s match will take place at the Estadio Rommel Fernandez at 9:30pm (TT time) and coach Hart was expected to have his first session last night at the match venue with his team, minus Sheldon Bateau, Aubrey David, Jonathan Glenn and Radanfah Abu Bakr who were expected in last night.

Thursday’s match will be broadcasted live on Flow channel 99.

More Info:

Tickets can be purchased at:

The Fan Club (Movietowne, Trincity and Gulf City), Sports & Games, Kenny’s Sport Shop, Ramsingh’s, www.islandetickets.com

Cost $200 (covered), $100 (uncovered).

Kick off time for the T&T vs Nicaragua: 7pm.