March 29, 2024, 04:51:49 AM

Author Topic: 2014 Caribbean U-20 Tournament  (Read 27379 times)

Re: 2014 Caribbean U-20 Tournament
« Reply #120 on: September 17, 2014, 10:37:43 PM »
Hear nah...I know allyuh want only positive talk and big ratings for de youths dem..but seriously ..how far this team goin?
I am sorry but that keeper could never make my team...
the best defender is the #2
the two Garcias dem good to go and de yankee midfielder is a quality player but the rest..? oh gawd de team needs rel work..de football is much to be desired..
it lacks cohesiveness ,structure and flow..help is needed from somewhere other than King.
Maybe bring in Hart to show dem how to play compact on defence, how to keep the ball, how to transition and how to finish.
And de keeper topped out at the U17 level..

« Reply #121 on: September 18, 2014, 02:04:20 AM »
Young Warriors in Caribbean final
Late goal secures draw with Cuba
By Ian Prescott (Express).

Defender Josiah Trimmingham scored on debut, as Trinidad and Tobago booked a spot in tomorrow’s 2014 Caribbean Men’s Under 20 Championship Final, despite a 1-1 draw with Cuba on Tuesday night at Hasely Crawford, Port of Spain.

Both Group A teams qualified for the CONCACAF leg of qualifying, but Cuba will only play for third in the Caribbean tournament tomorrow, after ending the group in second spot. The Young Warriors ended the group with victories over Suriname (2-1) and Curacao (4-0) and a draw with Cuba. In the final, they are likely to meet Haiti, who needed a point last night to top Group B.

The Young Warriors spent much of Tuesday night chasing a “soft” early goal, conceded in the 10th minute, when goalkeeper Johan Welch was caught off his goal-line by a long shot. Trimmingham’s equaliser only came with two minutes left in normal time, when the big T&T defender got the last touch to put in a free-kick.

The very short Welch, was similarly beaten by Suriname striker Ricardo Fauber at the start of the tournament, and the Cubans appeared to be ready to capitalise on the T&T goalie’s habit of pushing high up—many times outside his penalty area—to negate a lack of height.

Frank Lopez let fly from deep infield, when seeing the Welch almost at the edge of his penalty area, and scored. Cuba never created another good chance.

“We allowed a soft goal,” stated T&T head coach Derek King, who admitted to some worry that his goalkeeper has now been twice similarly beaten. “There is a bit of concern, and I believe he was a bit lackadaisical. But he is a good guy, consistent and likes to work hard.”

King added that going forward to the CONCACAF stage, T&T will be opening the selection process to gather the best team to represent the country. He further added that there are still a couple of goalkeepers to look at.

For the most part, Cuba were disciplined and compact behind the ball, but not adventurous going forward, and never quite created another scoring opportunity. But, they did stop the better Trinidad and Tobago team from dominating the wide positions, as in previous matches. William Bennett, who is in charge of Cuba’s entire coaching programme, admitted the Cubans mainly played for a point, and to win if possible.

Speaking through local interpreter Tristan Benjamin, he said: “Due to the (result of the) first game, we knew that we needed only a draw to move forward. We played a strategic game,” stated Bennett, who even admitted to putting in their tallest goalkeeper Elier Pozo, simply to eliminate T&T’s cross balls.

“We played against one of the toughest teams in the Caribbean. They play almost total football.” Bennett said of the Young Warriors. “Trinidad players are very explosive and they play very good one on one. So the best thing was to play two against one, to avoid them from coming into the area.”

Even so, T&T dominated possession, creating the odd chance along the way. Replacing the rested Kadeem Corbin up front, lanky 16-year-old striker Nicholas Dillon had two early chances, including when he struck the crossbar two minutes before the Cuban goal. And having scored explosively against Suriname and Curacao, midfielder Jabari Mitchell was off the mark with a hat-trick of close misses against Cuba. Not that the Cubans gave him more than a split second to shoot.

“We met a Cuba tonight that really did not create any chances’” King said. “We created four or five chances, which we did not put away.”

“Today against Cuba we made a couple of changes to the starting team to give a couple of guys (a run) to have a look at them,” King added. He commended young Dillon for his first showing for the national team, despite shouts in the crowd for Corbin’s inclusion, when T&T were losing.

“He (Dillon) did well. He held the ball well. He created a couple of scoring opportunities where he did not take the chances. All in all, it wasn’t bad,” King said.

« Reply #122 on: September 18, 2014, 08:51:58 AM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/Mca50Vt3e98" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/Mca50Vt3e98</a>

« Reply #123 on: September 18, 2014, 12:20:08 PM »
Hear nah...I know allyuh want only positive talk and big ratings for de youths dem..but seriously ..how far this team goin?
I am sorry but that keeper could never make my team...
the best defender is the #2
the two Garcias dem good to go and de yankee midfielder is a quality player but the rest..? oh gawd de team needs rel work..de football is much to be desired..
it lacks cohesiveness ,structure and flow..help is needed from somewhere other than King.
Maybe bring in Hart to show dem how to play compact on defence, how to keep the ball, how to transition and how to finish.
And de keeper topped out at the U17 level..
Thank you sir,that's exactly how I saw this team,you mentioned it...DISORGANISEDI saw some of the Curasoa match,and it looked like some kickabout in a park,Haiti must be better than us,our attacking play never looks like achieving anything.We may be lucky and beat Haiti,but that is wher everything stops,no Under 20 WC for we,sorry.
« Last Edit: September 18, 2014, 12:27:04 PM by frico »

« Reply #124 on: September 18, 2014, 12:49:00 PM »

King added that going forward to the CONCACAF stage, T&T will be opening the selection process to gather the best team to represent the country. He further added that there are still a couple of goalkeepers to look at.

sounds good king

« Reply #125 on: September 18, 2014, 01:24:53 PM »
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-1eGamKDTPQ
recognize some of thes goalies who didn't top out yet ?
« Last Edit: September 18, 2014, 01:28:30 PM by maxg »

« Reply #126 on: September 18, 2014, 10:19:40 PM »

sounds good king

------------------------------------------------------------------/------------
So just to look at this with a reframe-  this is beginning to feel like the pattern of the senior team- the locals get to struggle and battle for glory then all of a sudden players  appear that did not go through the qualifiers and get to benefit by playing at the other stage?

Why did we not start with the best selected players? How would the coach feel if all of a sudden his weakness was exposed and a top notch foreign coach took over at the next stage?

Should these players not have the opportunity  in the first place to a competent coach who could help them organize an  attack and defend? Why blame it all on the players. From the clips I saw it appears that we have some raw talented players  and with a good coach one could transform raw talent to highly skilled players.

« Reply #127 on: September 18, 2014, 11:51:29 PM »
Congrats to these young men on a very succesful campaign thus far.  No matter the outcome of today's game they have acquitted themselves well and done the nation proud.  Good luck today against Haiti fellas  :beermug:

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/L3hWt2yQP7Q" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/L3hWt2yQP7Q</a>

« Reply #128 on: September 19, 2014, 10:33:22 AM »

Looking forward to win later against Haiti. Playing at home and we claim to have the better team so lets get the job done Young Warriors  :beermug:

Offline socalion

« Reply #129 on: September 19, 2014, 10:38:59 AM »
Simply want to wish the coaching staff and the  team /our national u20's the very best tonight  .......you've done the country proud thus far keep it up with a discipline and determined effort tonight...together as a team   best wishes guys.....

Offline Insider

« Reply #130 on: September 19, 2014, 12:42:50 PM »
Haiti are very good and T&T will have to play their best. The coach is from France, the assistant of the senior coach also from France.

All their teams including the U20 have been together for 9 months.

The U20 has Three from France, one from Brazil and 2 from USA (MLS). They get their funding assistance from various countries & a good portion from France.

Also expats living abroad invest in the various teams generously.

Offline jj1

« Reply #131 on: September 19, 2014, 01:32:43 PM »
Can't wait till that short goalkeeper makes you all believers tonight.....

« Reply #132 on: September 19, 2014, 03:54:33 PM »
Can't wait till that short goalkeeper makes you all believers tonight.....

Which short Goalkeeper? T&T's?

I not worried about height, but about technique, and decision making.

« Reply #133 on: September 19, 2014, 04:46:19 PM »
Good luck Warriors. This one is big!! This is it.
Supporting you all the way as I like what y'all showing with the limited resources you had.
Supporters please come out.

« Reply #134 on: September 19, 2014, 04:56:17 PM »
good luck fellas

« Reply #135 on: September 19, 2014, 05:55:44 PM »
Is there a link?

« Reply #136 on: September 19, 2014, 07:04:25 PM »
Any updates anyone??

« Reply #137 on: September 19, 2014, 07:20:45 PM »
Any updates anyone??

Only news I got was that Kadeem Corbin scored a goal in the 34th minute.

« Reply #138 on: September 19, 2014, 07:24:30 PM »
Live link...uwisportsonline

Tt up 2-0

« Reply #139 on: September 19, 2014, 07:25:22 PM »
Wisportonline

« Reply #140 on: September 19, 2014, 07:41:12 PM »
Wisportonline

Can you post a direct link please?

« Reply #141 on: September 19, 2014, 07:50:29 PM »
T&T won 3-0. Levi Garcia made 2 assists for Corbin.

Well done guys!!

« Reply #142 on: September 19, 2014, 07:58:31 PM »

Well done guys!!

FS  :beermug: but oh gorm spare me wit d assist

« Reply #143 on: September 19, 2014, 08:06:18 PM »
So does that mean we have won every CFU Cup we've challenged for in the last year?

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #144 on: September 19, 2014, 08:07:20 PM »

Well done guys!!

lol d man must advertise he Central FC player, wah yuh expect... Good going though to the team. Looking forward to CONCACAF Final Round to see what they are made of  :beermug:

« Reply #145 on: September 19, 2014, 08:17:29 PM »

Well done guys!!

Sorry miss, ah was excited lol

« Reply #146 on: September 19, 2014, 08:24:00 PM »
TnT are CFU Under 20 Champions.
TnT 3 vz Haiti 0
Not sure about the third goal ,as it may have been an own goal ( TBC)
If not ,then its a Kadeem Corbin hat-trick. Well Played young man.
Congrats to the squad ,the coaching staff and the Management Staff.

« Reply #147 on: September 19, 2014, 09:22:38 PM »
Congrats young warriors!

Offline socalion

« Reply #148 on: September 19, 2014, 09:24:33 PM »
 Congratulations  to the  young warriors ,  skipper shannon gomez and all of your fellow team mates , the coaching staff   kudos for a job well done ...........    on to the next  phase  the journey has only just started ....   well done  well done     i pray everyone remain injury free   wishing all of you and the    team further success... congrats once again .......

« Reply #149 on: September 19, 2014, 09:28:38 PM »
Congrats to these young men and congrats to the coaching staff on a job well-done.  Congrats too to the TTFA for a fantastic job in hosting this tournament, and doing so with aplomb.  Small steps on the road back to credibility for both program and administration.