March 28, 2024, 01:49:47 PM

Author Topic: TT Olympian's father.  (Read 9596 times)

Re: TT Olympian's father.
« Reply #30 on: August 11, 2014, 08:55:08 AM »
I still trying to get a copy of the book. I want to win bad, bad, bad!!!!

« Reply #31 on: August 11, 2014, 11:36:23 AM »
It around the first three or four chapters. But I'll wait a few days and just tell you.

Remember this is a trick question.

« Reply #32 on: August 20, 2014, 05:16:59 PM »
Deeks,
I read to give the answer if you don't mind.

« Reply #33 on: August 21, 2014, 07:06:41 AM »
Deeks,
I read to give the answer if you don't mind.

nah, nah. Doh give out the answaer yet.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #34 on: August 21, 2014, 04:02:16 PM »
OK boss is up to you.

« Reply #35 on: August 25, 2014, 08:54:50 AM »
  Would somebody answer the frigging question ?

I is ah old man I doh have the time to be waiting this loooong for ah frigging answer.
 Let DEEKS look for another question

« Reply #36 on: August 25, 2014, 01:55:39 PM »
  Would somebody answer the frigging question ?

I is ah old man I doh have the time to be waiting this loooong for ah frigging answer.
 Let DEEKS look for another question

LOL ... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #37 on: August 29, 2014, 04:28:57 AM »
Deeks,

you have 'til Sept. 30th.

« Reply #38 on: August 29, 2014, 10:52:39 PM »
Deeks,

Ok, stah!!!

« Reply #39 on: October 27, 2014, 09:36:54 AM »
Deeks,

Ok, stah!!!

Deeks,

people getting vex. Yuh read the book yet? ;-)

« Reply #40 on: October 27, 2014, 10:34:25 AM »
 Not jus vex damn vex

Deeks I know the book doh have pictures but try nah !!!

« Reply #41 on: October 27, 2014, 07:42:04 PM »
Not jus vex damn vex

Deeks I know the book doh have pictures but try nah !!!

Ok go ahead and give them the answer. i eh read the book.

« Reply #42 on: October 29, 2014, 05:15:19 PM »
As I said this was a bit of a trick question.

He is Trini and he was an Olympian.
However, he did not represent TT at the Olympics.

The answer is MacDonald Bailey.

CLR wrote about him in Beyond a Boundary.
He said as a yute, watching cricket in Tunapuna. The local fellas were practicing. A man came up. Put down his briefcase, took off his jacket and his suspenders. He had just come from work. There was a rush to provide him with pads and a bat. He batted for a while. then took his jacket and ran off  to catch the train home.

The young CLR asked who this fella was. He was told that it was ??? Bailey who played cricket for TT. He was the father of Mac Bailey.
In later years when CLR was trying to figure out which First Division side to play cricket for in TT. He asked the advice of the older Bailey.

CLR had to think because one side was the working class Blacks, the other was the brown skin and lighter blacks - it indicated your social standing and was a big thing back then.

« Last Edit: October 29, 2014, 05:20:52 PM by vb »

« Reply #43 on: October 31, 2014, 08:52:45 AM »
VB, yes it was indeed tricky. Well only because I did not read the book. But nice once. he came to mind but I jus could not figure if any of his family was into sport. I knew his son Robert of Bert Bailey and the Jets and Osibisa fame, was one of TT finest musicians. But nothing sporting about them. bring ah next one, I will be prepared.