April 24, 2024, 08:01:32 PM

Author Topic: Warriors get $15m.  (Read 3577 times)

Warriors get $15m.
« on: November 08, 2005, 08:40:02 PM »
'Warriors' get $15m.
By: Kern De Freitas.

The Trinidad and Tobago "Warriors" will now have little else to worry about other than facing Bahrain in their upcoming home and away World Cup play-offs.
Yesterday, Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs Roger Boynes announced that the Government, as well as several corporate sponsors, have stepped in with financial contributions, the total sum of which surpasses the $13.1 million requested by the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF).
At the Ministry's office on Abercromby Street, Port of Spain, Boynes outlined contributions made by several companies, including NGC, Petrotrin, the National Lotteries Control Board (NLCB), BG T&T, BHP Billiton, BPTT, UTC and Carib.
The latter are still locked in negotiations, but the Minister revealed the total input is in the vicinity of $15 million.
"Mr dear friend, Mr Peter O'Connor," Boynes said as he addressed the T&TFF marketing manager at the Ministry's conference room, "we are all here to give you the support and, through you, team Trinidad and Tobago without a shadow of a doubt will make history in our country and take us to the next World Cup in Germany."
Boynes also used the opportunity to respond to comments suggesting Government had not been doing enough to help the national football team, explaining that the total amount being contributed by state-owned entities was in excess of $15 million, including TSTT, NLCB, Petrotrin, and NGC, as well as the $6 million Cabinet approved towards facilities, travel and accommodation, and training of the Warriors.
"The last time I checked, Government had 51 per cent interest in TSTT," Boynes stressed, adding there were also pledges being made by other companies, as well as corporate bodies from the Point Lisas Industrial Estate, who have expressed interest in giving financial support to the team.
The Sport Minister also expressed satisfaction with the corporate response.
"In a sense, ladies and gentlemen, I am pleased with corporate Trinidad and Tobago with their effort now, and their continued effort."
Boynes went on to list several initiatives of his Ministry, in conjunction with the newly-formed Sports Company (SPORTT), including $120 million for development of playing fields and a further $20 million for upgrading of playing fields and parks.
He also noted funds given to the T&T Pro League and the National Super League.
Following the media conference, O'Connor summed up the event. "Well what happened here today was the fruition of a campaign to bring corporate Trinidad and Tobago on board with a full understanding of their opportunities, as well as ours. If I grouped that, what we received today is about $15 million, according to the quick sums from Government and the corporate sector."
O'Connor was also pleased with the monetary boost for the team.
"What we had before this was about $8 milllion. We are delighted in what we have seen today, it was a long time coming. If we didn't have a benefactor in Mr (Jack) Warner, we would not have been where we are today.
"But that's water under the bridge now...people were skeptical, you know the team was not a shining team in the beginning, but they showed character beyond what Trinidadians, what we like to be. And I think now people joined us and there's a tremendous opportunity for all of us, football, and everybody else."
Warriors get necessary funding.
By: Kwame Williams (Guardian).[/color][/size]

Corporate T&T pledges more than $10m.
Peter O’Connor, marketing manager of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF), had to have left the Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs on St Vincent Street, Port of Spain, a happy man yesterday.
O’Connor was on hand to receive a cheque from Sport Minister Roger Boynes on behalf of the T&T government, which approved $6 million in funding for the national football team—the Warriors—ahead of its two-leg World Cup 2006 play-off with Bahrain.
The TTFF originally requested $13.9 million to cover the cost of the team’s preparation, administration expenses and match expenses, but government was only able to provide aprroximately half of that.
It now seems as though the TTFF should have nothing to worry about heading into the second-leg of the play-off in Bahrain on November 16, however, as corporate T&T is poised to pledge more than $10 million to the World Cup qualifying cause.
Also presenting cheques to O’Connor yesterday were representatives of the National Gas Company (NGC), who contributed $500,000, local petroleum producers Petrotrin, who have promised $1 million, resource company BHP, the pledgers of $150,000, and British Gas, who have pitched in $250,000.
Although it was not represented at yesterday’s press-conference, Boynes said that the Carib Brewery was in talks with the Ministry and the TTFF to contribute close to $5 million, while the Unit Trust Corporation, who had a representative present, have also given assurances that they too will make a substantial donation. The value of the donation is yet to be revealed, however. He also disclosed that several companies from the Point Lisas Industrial Estate were eager to get involved.
The National Lotteries Control Board recently agreed to assist the TTFF with $5 million for the next five years, as well.
“The journey to Germany ends on the 16th (November). It will either conclude with a safe landing in Germany, figuratively speaking, or it just ends. There were few believers when we began this journey, now their are many,” O’Connor stated.
“It seems now that our (the TTFF) needs have been met. Now, we need everyone who has contributed today to consider this not as a donation, but as an investment in football, the nation and the nation’s youth,” O’Connor added.
“The government understands the importance of football to this country. That is why we have given football this type of support,” Boynes said.
“When we met with the TTFF, people found we weren’t doing enough, so we decided that in the best interest of T&T we need to do more and give further assistance. And I want to applaud corporate T&T, who we have always pleaded with, because their response was tremendous,” he stated.

Winners rally around Warriors
Thousands of entries have come out in support of the national football team and the Guardian’s ‘Rally around the Warriors’ contest. Today we publish the third group of winners who will all receive two tickets for Saturday’s first leg qualifier against Bahrain.

1. DONNA CROOKS - MARAVAL

2. SUSAN SMITH - BELMONT

3. NYALA MOHAMMED - CHAGUANAS

4. PAULA WALTERS - AROUCA

5. ZAID BRAHIM - SAN FERNANDO
« Last Edit: November 09, 2005, 04:09:39 AM by Flex »

Re: Warriors get $15m
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2005, 12:25:47 AM »
wey yuh Infnite?

Yuh does talk so much poo-poo...yuh doh even know what time it is.

Yuh see some ah dat money come from de sale ah Panday flat in Londonium!

Re: Warriors get $15m.
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2005, 07:13:44 AM »
Great news,,,, lets hope it materlise...

« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2005, 08:34:32 AM »
Finally some financial help.. Good news..

« Reply #4 on: November 09, 2005, 09:17:32 AM »
everything comin tegether fellas.de final pieces of de puzzle will b on 12 and 16.

Offline Gladman

« Reply #5 on: November 09, 2005, 09:21:53 AM »
Boynes went on to list several initiatives of his Ministry, in conjunction with the newly-formed Sports Company (SPORTT), including $120 million for development of playing fields and a further $20 million for upgrading of playing fields and parks.
He also noted funds given to the T&T Pro League and the National Super League.
Following the media conference, O'Connor summed up the event.

Another promise
« Last Edit: November 09, 2005, 09:36:08 AM by Tallman »
Life Is Like Sugar Cane,It Hard But Sweet