15 (35.7%)
Brent Sancho
0 (0%)
David-John Williams
0 (0%)
Foreign Investor
1 (2.4%)

Total Members Voted: 42

Author Topic: TTFA News Thread.  (Read 117130 times)

Re: TTFA News Thread.
« Reply #210 on: July 12, 2018, 12:39:10 AM »
Look Loy wants TTFA answers in 14 days.
By Jelani Beckles (Newsday).

Pre-action protocol letter served to John-Williams

TT Football Association (TTFA) board member Keith Look Loy has threatened to take TTFA president David John-Williams to court if he does not explain by July 24 how money was spent on the Home of Football project in Couva.

A pre-action protocol letter by Look Loy’s attorneys to John-Williams on Tuesday questioned the details of the construction being done by the local football body utilising FIFA funding.

The letter, which was copied to TTFA general secretary Justin Latapy-George and Look Loy, said, “From as early as the 26th December 2017, my client has been requesting from the board, the general secretary and most recently from the president, disclosure of the following documents and/or information:

a. The contribution made by FIFA, TTFA and the Government of TT in respect of the technical centre under construction in Balmain;

b. The names of all the companies/parties which submitted construction/professional bids in connection with the said construction;

c. The TTFA committee, delegate or employee responsible for the selection of the contractor and any subcontractor who has been, is and/or it is intended will be engaged in any way on this project;

d. The name of the project manager is and was and/or it is intended will be engaged in managing this project;

e. The name of the contractors and any subcontractors who have been, who are, and who it is intended will be involved in the said project;

f. The value, duration and terms of all contracts, sub-contracts and/or any other instruments under which services are engaged and/or managed;

g. The current financial and construction status of the project, together with the documentary evidence of same.”

Look Loy said he had received a response from Latapy-George on April 5 saying that he had authorised the release of the requested information via the (TTFA) manager of finance and administration. On June 14, Look Loy asked for further information on the project which was followed up by more requests on July 1.

The letter also said that a number of other board members are asking for the TTFA to be clear on how the technical centre is being developed. “These calls for transparency have also been echoed by other key stakeholders, including fellow board members: Clynt Taylor; Collin Partap; Jason Labon; Anthony Harford; and Steve Gopeesingh.”

Look Loy’s attorneys reminded Williams that it is the TTFA’s responsibility to reveal how money is being spent. “The TTFA should keep in mind that, as the national sporting organisation for football, it has a public duty to maintain the highest levels of transparency and impartiality.”

Look Loy’s representatives warned: “This is the final demand my client will make before approaching the High Court to seek to have a judge order you make the necessary disclosure forthwith. Mr Look Loy has considered Clause 65 of the TTFA constitution which seeks to exclude the jurisdiction of the courts. Given the central role played by the president and the wider board of directors in the establishing of any tribunal thereunder, he is of the firm view that the informed, fair-minded observer would apprehend the possibility of bias in respect of any tribunal established under the TTFA constitution.”

« Reply #211 on: July 13, 2018, 12:47:02 AM »
Look Loy serves John-Williams with pre-action protocol letter.
T&T Guardian Reports.

President of the T&T Super League Keith Look Loy has intensified his efforts to ensure that there are transparency and accountability within the operations of the T&T Football Association (TTFA) by serving a pre-action protocol letter yesterday on the President David John-Williams, as a final request for financial information on the now controversial Home of Football in Balmain, Couva.

Look Loy’s Attorneys Matthew GW Gayle, Barrister & Attorney at Law, delivered a two-page document outlining a list of requests he made to David John-Williams, the TTFA president, concerning the construction of the multi-million dollar football home which is set to be equipped with indoor and outdoor fields, a hotel and restaurant area, among other things.

Look Loy’s attorneys noted that as a TTFA board member by virtue of being the representative for the T&T Super League, their client was entitled to the information requested.

Look Loy’s list of requests which were made initially in December 2017 included the contribution made by FIFA, TTFA and the Government in respect to the technical centre under construction; the names of all the companies/parties which submitted construction/professional bids in connection of the construction; the committee, delegate or employees responsible for the selection of contractor or sub-contractors; the name of the project manager; the name of the contractors; and any sub-contractors who have been, who are, and who it is intended to be involved in the project.

Look Loy, who has received the support of key stakeholders such as Anthony Harford, Clynt Taylor, Collin Partap, Jason Labon and Steve Gopeesingh, also requested the value, duration and terms of all contracts, sub-contracts and/or any other instruments under which services are engaged and/ or managed and the current financial and construction status of the project, together with the documentary evidence. At an emergency general  meeting recently, John-Williams

released the name of some of the contractors employed at the football project, namely ECOTEC EPC Construction Technologies, Transbrokerage Services Limited, Ready Mix (West Indies) Trinidad Limited, Trinrico Steel and Wire  Products Ltd,Ramlagan General Hardware,

Point Lisas Steel Products Ltd and Alescon Ready Mix.

He, however, did not provide the contracts or any financial  agreement with the contractors for works to be done. Look Loy, a former national player and coach as well as a football administrator, sought to expand scope of the disclosure by asking for further documents relevant to the project, seeking invoices and receipts for payment regarding expenditure in relation to the companies.

Look Loy’s attorneys said their client has been seeking information on the financial affairs of the Home of Football for the past months, including as recently as July 1, but has been ignored.

TTFA officials attend CONCACAF Managers Workshop
« Reply #212 on: August 01, 2018, 04:18:41 PM »
TTFA officials attend CONCACAF Managers Workshop
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago Football Association General Secretary Justin Latapy and Senior Men’s Team manager Richard Piper were among Twenty officials from across the region  in Barbados for the CONCACAF Team Managers Workshop this past weekend.

This was the second in a series of five seminars being hosted by CONCACAF with representatives attending from T&T from St. Kitts and Nevis, Trinidad and Tobago, Guyana, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Grenada, Antigua and Barbuda, St. Lucia, Monsterrat, Sint Maarten and the host nation.

The participants are being taken through several topics over the three days, inclusive of pre-event management, stadium inspection and marketing by CONCACAF instructors Les Meszaros of Canada and David Sabir of Bermuda . Speaking during the ceremony, CONCACAF Development Manager for the Caribbean Andre Waugh gave a preface to the upcoming course, which has come quickly on the heels of one in Jamaica.

Calling it CONCACAF’s newest development initiative, Waugh told the participants that there was much in store for them. “This is directly aimed at building capacity in the area of team administration. For us, it is important that the link is clear between the off-the-field activities and the performance on the field and we really want to bring that into perspective and ensure that after three days we leave here with a clear understanding as to the importance of proper team administration.” he said.

Going on to say that participants were charged with carrying the information of to share in their respective nations at the national and club level, Waugh said that the development of all involved in football was pinnacle to its advancement. “We want to continue along that line in investing in capacity for us. That is the important thing. The important thing is not to give a fish, but to teach people how to fish – to build capacity – because we believe that it is through that investment in the human capital that the beautiful game of football that we love will develop within this region.”

The first Concacaf workshop in Jamaica a week ago, targeting team managers and general secretaries was deemed a success by participants and instructors alike.

Staged at the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel in Kingston, the three-day event had an exciting climax on Friday and many attendees gave the development activity the proverbial thumbs up.

“There is no school you can go to become a team manager as that is something that a lot of the times you learn as you go along, so we have seen the need and recognise that we can help develop a curriculum for team administrators, and one of the reasons for bringing the general secretaries along is because a lot of the time the gen-sec doesn’t know what the team manager is doing and vice versa, and we have to get them to understand the importance of communications between the two and that they must work hand in hand,” said instructor, Renee John-Williams, a football administrator in her native Trinidad and Tobago, a report on CONCACAF.com stated.

TTFA holds situation analysis of Women’s Football
« Reply #213 on: August 01, 2018, 04:44:42 PM »
TTFA holds situation analysis of Women’s Football
TTFA Media

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association hosted a symposium entitled “Situation Analysis of Women’s football in Trinidad and Tobago” at the Home of Football, Ato Boldon Stadium today.

The forum was led by TTFA Technical Director Anton Corneal with National Men’s team head coach Dennis Lawrence, Under 15 National Girls Team and Elite Development head coach Marlon Charles, TTFA Vice President Joanne Salazar and Women’s League President Sharon O’Brien among those present. Coaches attached to local women clubs were also in attendance.

According to Corneal, the forum was a critical step in identifying some of the areas that need addressing as it relates to the development of the women’s game in this country.

“What we did today was a situation analysis of where we are now, where we are planning to be and the implementation of what needs to be done. It’s a really circle to come right back around, to improve the level of the game… to grow the amount of women playing the game. We had a coaches who have coached in women’s football over the years, Vice President Joanne Salazar was here and there was also a representation from WOLF, the Women’s Football League,” Corneal told TTFA Media.

“We touched on different areas such as grassroots and areas we can look at including schools, academies,zones, shorelines, youth football, league systems and other areas All of this will be supported by our coach education programme, There is not enough women in football and not enough competitive women’s football and we are looking to address this,”Corneal added.

Salazar expressed satisfaction with the forum and left with a feeling of optimism regarding the direction the TTFA is taking with regards to women’s football development.

“What happened today is so profound. It actually sets a new benchmark for us in terms of planning and preparation for the development of the women’s game. It highlighted a lot of challenges but it has not highlighted any challenge that we cannot deal with. The most important thing with challenges is knowing that they’re there and being prepared to work around them. Wit the passion, excitement and the commitment that I heard from the people here today I couldn’t help but be moved and also be motivated and moved to action,” Salazar stated.

She commented on the approach that was necessary to enable this country to compete with the rest of Concacaf on the international and regional level.

“First of all you have to get your grassroots and youth correct. When you’ve got that sound, it then builds a momentum… . the girls are accustomed playing together, they are familiar with each other’s play, they are familiar with each other’s challenges and they’ve built the right physical strength. And really, the people we are competing against when we come out of the Caribbean, they are actually playing together four to six months of the year. They are not coming together like we do to prepare for a particular tournament and do our best in the tournament, They have got a psyche that is common amongst them because of the familiarity and frequency at which they play and that is what we need to get to as well,” Salazar added.

The TTFA Vice President mentioned that the FA will look at creative ways to improve funding for the development of women’s football.

“I see us putting things in place. Funding is always a ticklish area. We are going to redouble our efforts to actually identify the particular funding but we are also going to look at creative ways at making it happen. So for instance, there is a vast corporate social responsibility programme that our corporate sector gets involved in and there are some very low cost items that we can encourage them to provide us which will enable games to go ahead. For instance, movable goals, cones, simple items of equipment that makes the difference in having a properly regulated game. So yes, funding is always tricky, yes we are going to double our efforts but we are also going to look at what creative ways are available to us to enable the games to go ahead,” Salazar concluded.

« Reply #214 on: August 11, 2018, 12:48:05 AM »
Look Loy calls for TTFA executive to resign.
T&T Guardian Reports.

Keith Look Loy, president of the T&T Super League is calling on the public to support his call for the immediate resignation of T&T Football Association president David John-Williams, vice presidents Ewing Davis and Joanne Salazar, and the appointment of a caretaker administration by the Board of Directors, to govern the affairs for the remainder the term.

Look Loy, who is also the TTSL’s representative on the Board of the TTFA, believes the football boss has exceeded his bounds when John Mc Intyre of the Charge d’Affaires at the US Embassy can publicly criticise the way the sport is being managed.

Only recently John-Williams said the reason why the country’s Under-15 Girls team did not go to the CONCACAF Under-15 Championship at the IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida, USA, was because most Caribbean nations are faced problems when trying to acquire US Visas. Due to this John-Williams suggested that the Concacaf looked into the idea of hosting the event and others in the future in other countries.

However, Mc Intyre, in a response yesterday said, “Williams and the TTFA just flat out dropped the ball on the visa process. Our Embassy for months noted that individuals and groups should plan well in advance for any trips to the USA. The T&T Girls u-15 representatives approached the Embassy about visas after we were closed on Tuesday, July 31 to get their visas by Friday, August 3 with the Emancipation holiday in between.”

Meanwhie, when contacted John-Williams said that what has happened is unfortuniate and the TTFA will contact Mr John McIntyre, Chargé d’Affaires of the U.S. Embassy, to have the issue resolved in an amicable way.

Look Loy, who has already written to the CONCACAF and the FIFA about the way the sport is being managed, believes the US embassy’s involvement should be the last straw for the embattled president and his executives.

He said collectively, these three TTFA officials have presided over, indeed engineered the calamitous deterioration of our football.

“Since the advent of John-Williams and his officers in November 2015, TTFA has been buffeted by Unilateral decision-making by the president: “one-manism” with no consultation of, and/or agreement by, the TTFA Board of Directors, such as contracts supposedly awarded in the “Home of Football” project: Purchase of service from radio I95.5FM: Steady deterioration of TTFA’s national teams’ programme – we no longer win in the international arena and are no longer a force even in CFU: and Cronyism in the appointment of national teams/programmes technical and administrative staff who are all associated (past or present) with W Connection FC.”

He also took offence to “Mismanagement of TTFA’s finances– the debacle of the 2016 audit, the inability to pay staff and players and maintain programmes: Frivolous accumulation of lawsuits and the various expenses associated with same, e.g. Caroline Morace, Sheldon Phillips, Stephen Hart, etc – due to poor management and illegal actions: Lack of transparency in administrative and financial matters – legitimate requests for information from members almost invariably go unanswered, e.g. the ongoing failure to present documents from the works on the “Home of Football”

He said the current administration has taken football to its lowest point and it might be a position we may not recover from.

« Reply #215 on: August 12, 2018, 03:05:53 AM »
Press Release – US Visa Application.
TTFA Media.

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) has taken note of the recent statement issued by the Chargé d’Affaires of the U.S. Embassy, Mr. John McIntyre.

With utmost respect for the sovereign authority of the Chargé d’Affaires, and based on the already agreed plan of action decided by the TTFA given the matter surrounding visa applications for our Girls Under-15 Team, the TTFA will be seeking an audience with the U.S. Embassy through the Chargé d’Affaires.

Notably, it remains our desire to maintain the cordial relationship we have developed with the U.S. Embassy over these many years. A relationship that augurs well for the TTFA and all stakeholders of football.

Therefore, following an opportunity to meet and treat with this matter directly, with a designated official(s) of the U.S. Embassy, the TTFA will be better positioned to treat with visa related affairs.

Additionally, we wish to state that a recent report in a local daily news publication, ascribed to the President of the TTFA, was taken out of context, and more importantly, was not sanctioned by the TTFA.

RELATED NEWS

US Embassy news release.
T&T Guardian Reports.

Re: T&T Girls U-15 Football Team Port of Spain August 10, 2018:

I, along with my embassy colleagues, rarely comment on visa matters due to the respect we have for the privacy of the applicants and our rules and regulations. However, I must respond to the Red Card commentary of Mr. David John Williams. Why we have chosen to respond is because your failure to plan is effecting promising football (soccer) players from Trinidad and Tobago who we would welcome playing in the USA. In addition, your comments can adversely affect our ongoing efforts to grow our sports diplomacy programs here in T and T.

I will be blunt. Mr. Williams and the TTFA just flat out dropped the ball on the visa process. Our Embassy for MONTHS noted that individuals and groups should plan well in advance for any trips to the USA. The Trinidad and Tobago Girls Under-15 representatives approached the Embassy about visas after we were closed on Tuesday, July 31 to get their visas by Friday, August 3 with the Emancipation holiday in between.

No names or details about the visa applicants were provided. Even after games were rescheduled, there was too little time allowed, just two working days for an established 7-10 day process, not to mention that this is peak visa season when most people have to wait six weeks just for a visa interview. Many groups have successfully traveled to the USA by being prepared and planning in advance. In fact, if you look at our Facebook page from a few weeks ago you will see a youth team playing in the USA at a major football (soccer) tourney.

I want to take this opportunity to again ask the Trinidad and Tobago public, as we have since April, to please plan in advance for travel to the USA. Know, as you see in the news almost daily, we are committed to our relationship with the citizens of T and T at all levels, including sports diplomacy. Don’t let folks with cocoa in the sun mislead you.

Be well,

John McIntyre
Chargé d’Affaires
U.S. Embassy

« Last Edit: August 12, 2018, 03:08:01 AM by Flex »

« Reply #216 on: August 12, 2018, 06:14:08 AM »
Not taking side with DJW on this. but imagine if the US had approached TT in a similar situation. You doh think that TT would have done everything to accommodate the USSF to come to TT.

« Reply #217 on: August 12, 2018, 07:12:35 AM »
Not taking side with DJW on this. but imagine if the US had approached TT in a similar situation. You doh think that TT would have done everything to accommodate the USSF to come to TT.

Relevance?

« Reply #218 on: August 12, 2018, 08:44:30 AM »
Not taking side with DJW on this

Ahmmmmm....yes you are.  And you’ve done it consistently from when he was running for TTFA President.

Nothing wrong with that BTW. You free to support who you want.  But doh support and then play like you eh supportin

« Reply #219 on: August 12, 2018, 11:25:50 AM »
Loud steups

« Reply #220 on: August 12, 2018, 12:17:21 PM »

Doesnt matter who you are or where you're from. There are rules to follow, and you simply cant get a Visa within a few days. These other countries, who dont have a US embassy by the way, got theirs done. What do you have to say about that?

Offline rastafari

« Reply #221 on: August 12, 2018, 01:24:10 PM »
Everybody on this board blind or what? We knock dem out the world cup at the qualifying stage and dey toting feelings. Let we blank dem entry to t&t and yuh will hear d cry.

Jah bless
Rastafari

« Reply #222 on: August 12, 2018, 02:23:58 PM »
Maybe but the USSF are very organized and well prepared so the chances of this happening are slim to none. How long in advance did we know we were going to this tournament?

« Reply #223 on: August 12, 2018, 03:30:27 PM »
This tournament? This is not ah eff-up of first impression. There's a long and torturous history between the TTFA and the US consular section. The path forward by way of a workable solution has been clear for some time now ... before the call for an "audience" at Marli Street.
« Last Edit: August 12, 2018, 03:53:05 PM by asylumseeker »

TTFA football foul
« Reply #224 on: August 12, 2018, 05:54:18 PM »
TTFA football foul
T&T Express

ONE can only imagine the disappointment of the national Under-15 Girls team which has been forced to sit out Concacaf’s Girls Under-15 Championship that opened at the IMG Academy campus in Bradenton, Florida on Monday.

Billed as the “largest Concacaf tournament ever for female participants”, it features a record number of Concacaf member associations. By any standard, the championships are a big deal for young female footballers and our team should have been there. Unfortunately, they have had to stay at home because of a visa application slip-up which has prompted strong words between TTFA president David John-Williams and the US Embassy Charge d’Affaires John McIntyre.

In rather surprising language, the US diplomat has taken public issue with John-Williams’ statement that the TTFA had applied for visas for the footballers “in the usual way, at the usual time” and had thereafter done everything possible to secure them, including making representations to the Government, Concacaf and the US Olympic Committee. What may have stung was John-Williams’ loaded comment that Concacaf “needs to look at ... where they place the tournament” in the future.

Accusing John-Williams of having “just flat out dropped the ball on the visa process”, the US Charge d’Affaires went on to say that the visa applications were submitted with inadequate information late Tuesday July 31 for Friday August 3, with the August 1 Emancipation holiday in between. If this is the “usual way at the usual time” that the TTFA applies in seeking visas, then it must enjoy a quite unusual advantage over the rest of the population. There is no excuse for such a last-minute application. As far back as the end of May, details of the Girls Under-15 tournament in Florida were announced. Somewhere along the line, the ball was indeed dropped and instead of suggesting that the regional football federation should consider where it locates tournaments, John-Williams should be focusing on where the responsibility for such a disaster is located.

The football fraternity and the general public are owed an explanation about where along the chain of command, from the team manager to the TTFA president, the responsibility for this fiasco resides, bearing in mind that the ultimate responsibility lies with the president. In the interest of transparency, such an exercise should be conducted by an independent investigator. The one option the TTFA president must avoid is escalating the situation into a war of words with the US Embassy. In attempting to set the record straight as he knew it, Charge d’Affaires McIntyre’s warning to the public not to let “folks with cocoa in the sun mislead you”, was unnecessary and even undiplomatic.

However, regardless of where the responsibility lies, the TTFA owes an apology to the Under-15 Girls team which was in training for this tournament for the past three months. To discover at the last minute that they would not be among the estimated 2,000 footballers in Florida this week, testing themselves against the other Concacaf teams, must have been devastating. One can only imagine what opportunities might have been lost to them by not showing up.

« Reply #225 on: August 12, 2018, 05:56:25 PM »
‘A football disaster’
By Azard Ali (T&T Newsday)

Warner hits TTFA as officials seek US talks

UPDATE:

A NATIONAL football disaster.
This was former FIFA vice-president Jack Warner’s opinion of the fallout over the TT Football Association’s (TTFA) failure to secure US visas for the Under-15 girls team, for which association president David John-Williams blamed the US Embassy’s application process drawing sharp criticism from Charge d’ Affaires John McIntyre.

“TTFA today has given this country a national disaster and the quicker they relieve themselves from office, the better for football,” Warner said, weighing in on the issue.
In a rare statement on local affairs, McIntyre on Friday accused Williams of improper planning saying he had dropped the ball with a late attempt to apply on July 31, on the eve of the August 1 Emancipation Day holiday, for visas for the players to attend the Concacaf Under-15 girls championship which began in Florida last Monday. The tournament ends tomorrow.

McIntyre knocked Williams for suggesting the embassy delayed processing the applications, saying the public must not be misled by “folks with cocoa in the sun.”
Williams, in a Newsday interview on Friday, denied the diplomat’s claims, saying it was “a lie” and demanded an apology. He claimed the visas were paid for on July 26, but also said the coach only selected the players on July 30. The embassy, he further said, scheduled an appointment for August 28, a date after the end of the tournament.

However, the TTFA yesterday distanced itself from Williams’ comments and said it will be “seeking an audience” with the embassy through McIntyre, given the agenda for the girls team. The TTFA said it wanted to maintain “the cordial relationship” it had with the embassy for many years. “Therefore, following an opportunity to meet and treat with this matter directly, with a designated official(s) of the US Embassy, the TTFA will be better positioned to treat with visa-related affairs,” the TTFA said in a release posted on its website.

On Williams’ remarks to Newsday, although the TTFA said his comments were “taken out of context” it noted “more importantly” that his statement “was not sanctioned by the TTFA.”
US embassy spokesman AJ Jagelski, contacted yesterday for comment, told Sunday Newsday that “nothing will be added at this time to the Charge d’ Affaires statement.” Although he faces extradition on FIFA corruption-related charges, Warner, who admitted he and the US were not “the best of friends” agreed with McIntyre.

Warner said Concacaf tournaments are scheduled years in advance, “and, therefore, preparations are made months in advance.”
He said before training tournaments are held, visas are obtained months in advance.
“So, no amount of press release from Williams and the embassy, will correct what is now a national embarrasment,” Warner said.

Referring to his decades-long tenure at the helm of local football, Warner said the current TTFA “came into office like a knight in shinning armour to correct the ills of the Jack Warner regime.
“Today, it is ten times worse and to compound matters, Government is pouring money into football when it is at its lowest and in chaos. No amount of money will help football today.” Only recently, the Sport Company of TT gave the TTFA $4.8 million for the Pro League clubs, and funding had been delayed because teams were financially non-compliant.

Despite his legal woes, Warner said he was willing to once again help local football but in an advisory capacity.
“After 30 years in football, I will be willing to advise. Though, I have no special love for the US,” he said.

Sunday Newsday was told that TTFA’s officials were locked in a meeting yesterday and were not willing to speak further on the matter.

ORIGINAL STORY:

The TT Football Association wants to meet with US Embassy officials after its president David John-Williams accused Charge d'Affaires John McIntyre of lying in his criticism of how Williams handled applying for visas for an Under-15 girls team.

In a statement posted on its website today, the TTFA said it will "seek an audience" through McIntyre, adding it wants to maintain a "cordial relationship" with the embassy.

On Thursday, Williams said TTFA was unsuccessful in getting visas for the girls team to attend a development tournament in the US which began on Monday. He said the TTFA could not get a group appointment for the players.

McIntyre, in a statement on Friday, criticised Williams for dropping the ball, warning the public to not be misled by "folks with cocoa in the sun" and said team representatives approached the embassy after it was closed on July 31, noting the next day, August 1, was a public holiday for Emancipation Day.

Williams in a Newsday interview said the embassy release was "an outright lie", and demanded an apology. He said the TTFA paid for visas on July 26, and the embassy gave them an appointment date for August 28, long after the tournament. He said though the coach selected players for the tournament on July 30.

Williams had promised to issue a statement on Friday, but this was not done until the TTFA posted a release online.

See TTFA statement below:

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) has taken note of the recent statement issued by the Chargé d’Affaires of the US Embassy, Mr. John McIntyre.

With utmost respect for the sovereign authority of the Chargé d’Affaires, and based on the already agreed plan of action decided by the TTFA given the matter surrounding visa applications for our Girls Under-15 Team, the TTFA will be seeking an audience with the U.S. Embassy through the Chargé d’Affaires.

Notably, it remains our desire to maintain the cordial relationship we have developed with the U.S. Embassy over these many years. A relationship that augurs well for the TTFA and all stakeholders of football.

Therefore, following an opportunity to meet and treat with this matter directly, with a designated official(s) of the U.S. Embassy, the TTFA will be better positioned to treat with visa related affairs.

Additionally, we wish to state that a recent report in a local daily news publication, ascribed to the President of the TTFA, was taken out of context, and more importantly, was not sanctioned by the TTFA.

« Reply #226 on: August 12, 2018, 06:08:54 PM »
Despite his legal woes, Warner said he was willing to once again help local football but in an advisory capacity.

Sounds familiar.

Buh if Sepp could roll into Moscow during the WC,  why not the Dean of Advice? ;D
« Last Edit: August 12, 2018, 06:11:44 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #227 on: August 12, 2018, 06:11:12 PM »
Who allyuh think penned the tempered TTFA media release?

« Reply #228 on: August 13, 2018, 02:43:57 AM »
T&TFA seeks meeting with US Embassy.
T&T Guardian Reports.

After the United States Embassy here in T&T put all the blame from T&T national girls Under-15 team not securing visas to participate in a CONCACAF tournament in the United States earlier this week, through a news release on Friday by the Embassy’s Charge d’Affaires, John Mc Intyre, the T&T Football Association (TTFA) headed by David John-Williams, the president issued the following release.

It reads: ‘The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) has taken note of the recent statement issued by the Chargé d’Affaires of the U.S. Embassy, Mr John McIntyre.

Notably, it remains our desire to maintain the cordial relationship we have developed with the U.S. Embassy over these many years. A relationship that augurs well for the TTFA and all stakeholders of football. Therefore, following an opportunity to meet and treat with this matter directly, with a designated official(s) of the U.S. Embassy, the TTFA will be better positioned to treat with visa-related affairs.

Additionally, we wish to state that a recent report in a local daily news publication, ascribed to the President of the TTFA, was taken out of context, and more importantly, was not sanctioned by the TTFA.”

Speaking earlier this week after the local girls’ team was not granted US Visas to attend the tournament at the IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida, USA, T&TFA president John-Williams suggested that the governing body for the region, Concacaf, looked into the idea of hosting the event and others in the feature in other countries, because most Caribbean nations are faced with problems when trying to acquire US Visas.

However, in a strongly worded reply from them, the T&TFF was cited as being the ones to drop the ball on the matter.

According Mr. McIntyre, who wrote: “I, along with my embassy colleagues, rarely comment on visa matters due to the respect we have for the privacy of the applicants and our rules and regulations. However, I must respond to the Red Card commentary of Mr David John Williams. Why we have chosen to respond is because your failure to plan is effecting promising football (soccer) players from Trinidad and Tobago to whom we would welcome playing in the USA. In addition, your comments can adversely affect our ongoing efforts to grow our sports diplomacy programs here in T and T.

I will be blunt. Mr Williams and the TTFA just flat out dropped the ball on the visa process. Our Embassy for MONTHS noted that individuals and groups should plan well in advance for any trips to the USA. The Trinidad and Tobago Girls Under-15 representatives approached the Embassy about visas after we were closed on Tuesday, July 31 to get their visas by Friday, August 3 with the Emancipation holiday in between. No names or details about the visa applicants were provided. Even after games were rescheduled, there was too little time allowed, just two working days for an established 7-10 day process, not to mention that this is peak visa season when most people have to wait six weeks just for a visa interview. Many groups have successfully travelled to the USA by being prepared and planning in advance. In fact, if you look at our Facebook page from a few weeks ago you will see a youth team playing in the USA at a major football (soccer) tourney.

I want to take this opportunity to again ask the Trinidad and Tobago public, as we have since April, so please plan in advance for travel to the USA. Know, as you see in the news almost daily, we are committed to our relationship with the citizens of T and T at all levels, including sports diplomacy. Don’t let folks with cocoa in the sun mislead you.”

Offline RichGFootball

• ....formerly Richard G. I'm not a newbie. Just new-ish from since Mpurcell days
« Reply #229 on: August 13, 2018, 04:35:19 AM »
‘A football disaster’
By Azard Ali (T&T Newsday)

Warner hits TTFA as officials seek US talks

UPDATE:

A NATIONAL football disaster.

However, the TTFA yesterday distanced itself from Williams’ comments and said it will be “seeking an audience” with the embassy through McIntyre, given the agenda for the girls team. The TTFA said it wanted to maintain “the cordial relationship” it had with the embassy for many years. “Therefore, following an opportunity to meet and treat with this matter directly, with a designated official(s) of the US Embassy, the TTFA will be better positioned to treat with visa-related affairs,” the TTFA said in a release posted on its website.

On Williams’ remarks to Newsday, although the TTFA said his comments were “taken out of context” it noted “more importantly” that his statement “was not sanctioned by the TTFA.”
US embassy spokesman AJ Jagelski, contacted yesterday for comment, told Sunday Newsday that “nothing will be added at this time to the Charge d’ Affaires statement.” Although he faces extradition on FIFA corruption-related charges, Warner, who admitted he and the US were not “the best of friends” agreed with McIntyre.

The TTFA President made a statement as the TTFA President and did not speak on behalf of the TTFA concerning TTFA football.  ??? ??? ???

T&TFA seeks meeting with US Embassy.
T&T Guardian Reports.

After the United States Embassy here in T&T put all the blame from T&T national girls Under-15 team not securing visas to participate in a CONCACAF tournament in the United States earlier this week, through a news release on Friday by the Embassy’s Charge d’Affaires, John Mc Intyre, the T&T Football Association (TTFA) headed by David John-Williams, the president issued the following release.

It reads: ‘The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) has taken note of the recent statement issued by the Chargé d’Affaires of the U.S. Embassy, Mr John McIntyre.

Notably, it remains our desire to maintain the cordial relationship we have developed with the U.S. Embassy over these many years. A relationship that augurs well for the TTFA and all stakeholders of football. Therefore, following an opportunity to meet and treat with this matter directly, with a designated official(s) of the U.S. Embassy, the TTFA will be better positioned to treat with visa-related affairs.

Additionally, we wish to state that a recent report in a local daily news publication, ascribed to the President of the TTFA, was taken out of context, and more importantly, was not sanctioned by the TTFA.”

Speaking earlier this week after the local girls’ team was not granted US Visas to attend the tournament at the IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida, USA, T&TFA president John-Williams suggested that the governing body for the region, Concacaf, looked into the idea of hosting the event and others in the feature in other countries, because most Caribbean nations are faced with problems when trying to acquire US Visas.

However, in a strongly worded reply from them, the T&TFF was cited as being the ones to drop the ball on the matter.

According Mr. McIntyre, who wrote: “I, along with my embassy colleagues, rarely comment on visa matters due to the respect we have for the privacy of the applicants and our rules and regulations. However, I must respond to the Red Card commentary of Mr David John Williams. Why we have chosen to respond is because your failure to plan is effecting promising football (soccer) players from Trinidad and Tobago to whom we would welcome playing in the USA. In addition, your comments can adversely affect our ongoing efforts to grow our sports diplomacy programs here in T and T.

I will be blunt. Mr Williams and the TTFA just flat out dropped the ball on the visa process. Our Embassy for MONTHS noted that individuals and groups should plan well in advance for any trips to the USA. The Trinidad and Tobago Girls Under-15 representatives approached the Embassy about visas after we were closed on Tuesday, July 31 to get their visas by Friday, August 3 with the Emancipation holiday in between. No names or details about the visa applicants were provided. Even after games were rescheduled, there was too little time allowed, just two working days for an established 7-10 day process, not to mention that this is peak visa season when most people have to wait six weeks just for a visa interview. Many groups have successfully travelled to the USA by being prepared and planning in advance. In fact, if you look at our Facebook page from a few weeks ago you will see a youth team playing in the USA at a major football (soccer) tourney.

I want to take this opportunity to again ask the Trinidad and Tobago public, as we have since April, so please plan in advance for travel to the USA. Know, as you see in the news almost daily, we are committed to our relationship with the citizens of T and T at all levels, including sports diplomacy. Don’t let folks with cocoa in the sun mislead you.”

Too late, too late is the cry now...... Damn shameful.
Trinidad and Tobago 1st
Everyone else is 2nd

« Reply #230 on: August 13, 2018, 05:01:06 AM »
Not taking side with DJW on this

Ahmmmmm....yes you are.  And you’ve done it consistently from when he was running for TTFA President.

Nothing wrong with that BTW. You free to support who you want.  But doh support and then play like you eh supportin

Dude, doh play the arse with me. I am just as pissed off with DJW as you. As Lookloy said, it is high time he and  his assistants resign. But I stick to what I say. If the shoe was on the other foot. TT embassy in DC and the HC in NY would have BEND OVER to accommodate them. I living in US and yes, they are a stickler for rules and regulation. But there are always exceptions when their friends are close to the edge. I am not making excuses for John Williams. He has to know that US immigration under Trump is going by the "book".

« Reply #231 on: August 13, 2018, 05:02:56 AM »
And by the way, tell Jack to shut his arse.

« Reply #232 on: August 13, 2018, 06:24:05 AM »

It's been said that it was Salazar.

« Reply #233 on: August 13, 2018, 07:38:46 AM »

It's been said that it was Salazar.

No doubt.

Offline rastafari

« Reply #234 on: August 13, 2018, 05:10:53 PM »
Jack d us embassy have a visa 4 u. Go and collect it nah.

Jah bless
Rastafari

« Reply #235 on: August 14, 2018, 06:11:07 AM »

“After 30 years in football, I will be willing to advise."  he said.

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #236 on: August 14, 2018, 06:40:26 AM »

“After 30 years in football, I will be willing to advise."  he said.

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!

« Reply #237 on: August 15, 2018, 10:52:57 AM »
For all he Jackula ways, Jack infinitely more competent than this clown we have masquerading as a TTFA President.

And no....I not advocating for Jack Warner to be anywhere near our football.  I just outlining what dire straits T&T football is in with DJW and he crew.

« Reply #238 on: August 16, 2018, 06:36:12 AM »
Shameful TTFA; Congratulations TTPBA
By Colin Murray (T&T Guardian)

When I think about the Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board (TTCB), I think of a soap opera; a never-ending drama series but, along comes to an action-packed horror movie desperately trying for the #1 rating: the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA).

Just like cricket, you hold steadfast to the belief that our football can’t get any worse than it already is, and wham! a headline hits you, “McIntyre: Williams, TTFA dropped the ball”. I asked myself, who is Mc Intyre? I was unfamiliar with the goodly gentleman, but I assumed he may have been associated with some aspect of football. To my absolute horror, I realised the man is the Chargé d’Affaires at the US Embassy and penned an unprecedented release, accusing Williams and his jokers of total inefficiency in not obtaining visas for our National Girls Under-15 team to compete in the CONCACAF Girls Under-15 Championship in Florida, USA.

Can you imagine the hurt and pain that these young girls would have been made to endure by not getting the opportunity to showcase their talents in the USA? I am certain many football scouts, who would be on the lookout for young recruits to give them scholarships to attend their respective universities, will be present. What about their parents who would have been psyching them up for this tournament? How would they be feeling? How do they now explain this to their daughters?

There is absolutely no excuse for submitting visa applications with inadequate information to the US Embassy on 31st July 2018, to be processed by 3rd August 2018 with a public holiday on August 1st. I have neither seen nor heard of the US embassy coming out and penning a release about why a particular group had not obtained visas. They have always been known to not comment on individual cases; of course, the TTFA has once again created history for the wrong reasons. The US Embassy officials must have felt betrayed by the TTFA’s President’s statement that CONCACAF looked into the idea of hosting the event (and others in the future) in other countries because most Caribbean nations are faced with problems when trying to acquire US visas. The US has hosted many tournaments, both at the junior and senior level, and there are a procedure and time span for clubs, teams and countries to obtain visas. You can check with your technical director if you were ignorant to the procedure, as he tours yearly with his club team; I am sure he is well aware of how you obtain visas to play in the USA.

It is glaringly obvious that the TTFA and its President didn’t drop the ball, but rather turned up at the wrong venue for the match. To be blunt, this Administration continues to be inept. Its failure to plan has adversely affected these young girls and they then have the audacity to blame the US Embassy.

Now the horse has bolted, the TTFA is requesting a meeting with the same people who were lambasted and blamed for not getting the visas. What has quite obviously shocked the TTFA President is the response from the Embassy. My dear readers, the jokers never expected such a response from the Embassy, so the goodly President gave us his usual garbage to hold and thought we would have accepted it hook, line and sinker; but may the good Lord bless Chargé d’Affaires McIntyre who came out and told us the truth. But it is unfortunate because the jokers don’t care. I hope they get their wish for a meeting.

If I was McIntyre, I would tell Williams December 25th as he seems to enjoy having meetings on public holidays.

On another note, TTFA Board Member Keith Look Loy is still waiting for over two years for the financials from the “Home of Football” and has gone the legal route to get the TTFA to supply some form of accountability to the members.

He has now called for the TTFA executive to resign (he must be dreaming!) after this latest debacle and in his own words, “collectively they have engineered the calamitous deterioration of our football”. Look Loy has listed close to a dozen examples of total mismanagement by this bunch and as he says, “the frightening aspect is the bunch have taken football to its lowest point and it might be a position we may never recover from”. A scary thought indeed, didn’t I say it was a horror show starring the TTFA executive?

Anyway, on a more positive note, congratulations to the Trinidad and Tobago Powerboat Association (TTPBA) as this Saturday we will witness the 50th running of the Great Race. The Great race has gone from being a national event to an international event with the sanctioning of the race by the Union Internationale Motonautique (UIM), the world governing body for all powerboating activities which makes the event eligible for the UIM record books. This year also sees a foreign boat joining the competition in Lucas Oil; something which I have been clamouring for as I felt our racers need to be exposed to more international competitors.

Godspeed to all the participants! My wish for you is a safe crossing and great racing on the 50th running of the Trinidad and Tobago Great Race.

« Reply #239 on: August 19, 2018, 04:51:26 AM »
Aanensen: TTFA rife with arrogant, deceitful, power-hungry leadership; true fans must stand up!
Wired868.com

“Dictatorship, poor leadership, arrogance and downright defiance at the top, seem to be the order of the day. Poor selection or appointment of administrators and staff continues unabated, and planning, implementation of policies in accordance with the constitution, transparency, honesty and accountability do not exist at any level of the TTFA…”

The following Letter to the Editor on the current state of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) was submitted to Wired868 by World Cup 2006 manager Bruce Aanensen, who was also a former WICB CEO, Royal Bank HR director and QPCC president:

I had the distinct honour and privilege of being the Manager and Head Of Delegation of the National Football Team of Trinidad and Tobago at the 2006 Soccer World Cup in Germany.

When I reflect on the representation, the great team camaraderie, and the positive performances of the players and staff who proudly represented our country on and off the field—in the build up to, and during the tournament—my heart still pounds with pride and joy.

The entire team of players were like a family, proud and happy to represent their country knowing that all administrative matters were responsibly and carefully taken care of by their managerial and technical staff. We all knew our roles and responsibilities, but also knew that if something needed to be done, and we were there, we did it—even if it was not our job. We were all a very happy bunch of ambassadors for our country.

It is against this background that my heart—and those of the 2006 group of ambassadors—aches to see the depths to which our national game and teams have descended in the last five to 10 years.

There seems to be no end to the negative issues within the framework of the TTFA. Nothing seems to function, there is no cohesion among the TTFA Board and corruption appears to be rampant from what one reads. Dictatorship, poor leadership, arrogance and downright defiance at the top, seem to be the order of the day.

Poor selection or appointment of administrators and staff continues unabated, and planning, implementation of policies in accordance with the constitution, transparency, honesty and accountability do not exist at any level of the TTFA.

From what I can see, there is no proper evaluation or matching of income and expenditure streams to ensure that proceeds—particularly grants from the FIFA and the Trinidad and Tobago government (GORTT)—are utilised for the purpose for which they were granted.

Decision-making—critical to the success of the sport—appears to be vested in the hands of one or a few, and the appointed board or senior technical officers are either not privy to or are not part of those discussions, in accordance with the constitution.

All of this has left the sport without public interest or adequate government and corporate financial support, as these parties do not wish to be supporters of a runaway train.

There seems to be only one—or two maybe—appointed board members with the guts to stand up to the leaders and demand proper processes for decision making, transparency and accountability. I say to the others, if you do not have the ability to carry out your duties in accordance with the constitution, please step down in the interest of the game.

All of our young and promising as well as our experienced players and support staff are suffering at the hands of a few power-hungry, objectionable, arrogant, selfish and deceitful leaders. The time has come for football lovers and decent people to do something drastic to rescue the game from these destroyers.

I would seek the assistance of the “serious and respectable media personnel” to join in a crusade to free our sport from these people, who are carefully enjoying the benefits of positions while the players, support staff and sport-loving people in this country continue to suffer because of their selfishness, incompetence, arrogance, deception and power-hungry lifestyle.

In closing, let me say that my time with the National Team—and working with a group of players and staff who were all 100% committed to the cause and to each other—was a healthy, rewarding and wonderful time.

If only we could find our way back to that experience that had the entire country proud to be Trinbago football supporters or contributors.