March 29, 2024, 08:44:28 AM

Author Topic: Ricardo Ferretti's debut sees Mexico draw with T&T.  (Read 2773 times)

Ricardo Ferretti's debut sees Mexico draw with T&T.
« on: September 05, 2015, 02:27:21 AM »
Ricardo Ferretti's debut sees Mexico draw with T&T.
ESPN STAFF

SANDY, Utah -- Hector Herrera scored on a long shot in the 84th minute to help Mexico salvage a 3-3 tie with Trinidad and Tobago in an exhibition game Friday night.

Herrera's shot found the upper left corner of the goal, saving Mexico from an embarrassing loss.

Trinidad and Tobago coach Stephen Hart noted Herrera's tying kick was special.

"You can only applaud it,'' Hart said.

Joevin Jones gave Trinidad and Tobago a 3-2 lead off a free kick in the 69th minute.

T&T surprised Mexico when Jonathan Glenn scored off a header in the seventh minute, and Keron Cummings made it 2-0 in the 38th.

Mexico rallied on Carlos Esquivel's goal in the 40th minute and Raul Jimenez's in the 55th. Jimenez threaded in a shot off an assist from Esquivel.

"We were not tight on the ball tonight,'' Hart said. "We gave the ball away cheaply at times. We have to be tighter on offense and better balanced.''

Mexico will play Argentina on Tuesday at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas. It is preparing for a 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup playoff match against the United States on Oct. 10 at the Rose Bowl.

Results

T&T  3  v  Mexico  3
Glenn 7    Esquivel 41
Cummings 39   Cyrus 56 (OG)
J.Jones 69   Herrera 85

Video: - México vs Trinidad y Tobago 3-3 Highlights

Teams

Mexico: - 1.Alfredo Talavera; 13.Diego Reyes, 10.Israel Jiménez, 6.Jorge Torres, 3.Oswaldo Alanís (15.Héctor Moreno 73rd), 20.Jesus Dueñas (16.Héctor Herrera 73rd), 19.Henry Martín (9.Raul Jiménez 54th), 5.Javier Güemez, 8.Javier Aquino, 21.Carlos Esquivel, 11.Carlos Vela (capt).

Unused Subs: 12.Moisés Muñoz (GK), 22.Paul Aguilar, 7.Miguel Layún, 4.Rafael Márquez, 23.José Vázquez, 18.Andrés Guardado, 14.Javier Hernández.

COACH: - Ricardo Ferretti (BRA).

Trinidad and Tobago: - 21.Jan-Michael Williams (capt); 18.Yohance Marshall, 2.Aubrey David, 23.Daneil Cyrus, 6.Radanfah Abu Bakr (17.Mekeil Williams 54th), 8.Khaleem Hyland, 3.Joevin Jones (16.Neveal Hackshaw  87th), 20.Keron Cummings, 13.Cordell Cato (11.Trevin Caesar 58th), 14.Andre Boucaud (5.Kevan George 70th), 7.Jonathan Glenn (10.Willis Plaza 74th).

Unused Subs: 1.Marvin Phillip (GK), 25.Marcus Joseph, 26.Rundell Winchester.

COACH: - Stephen Hart (TRI).

Stats

Mexico  v  Trinidad and Tobago
25 (11) Shots (on goal) 13 (4)
8 Fouls 7
8 Corner kicks 4
1 Offsides 0
70% Time of Possession   30%
0 Yellow Cards 0
0 Red Cards    0
2 Saves 18

Another gripper as Mexico force late tie with ‘Warriors’
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

Two matches, played out in contrasting fashion and two tied results at the end of Friday night’s enthralling 3-3 draw between this country’s senior men’s team and Mexico.

Just over a month ago, T&T rallied from two goals down steal a late 4-4 draw with “El Tri” but on Friday it took a stunning 84th minute strike from Hector Herrera to complete a Mexican comeback from two goals down before just over 20,000 pro Mexican fans at the Rio Tinto Stadium.

Despite conceding late, the “Soca Warriors” would leave the stadium with a burning sense of pride as they more than held their own against the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup champions and had the partisan Mexican crowd quiet for long periods in the encounter. Stephen Hart’s men made another statement to its fans and its upcoming CONCACAF opponents in 2018 World Cup qualifying.

“It was a performance and a result that left me leaving the venue pleased tonight,” Hart told TTFA Media.
“I thought at times we looked very organized. We were a bit indecisive at centre back a couple of times but other than that we looked very organized. I was really pleased with Glenn and how he put in a lot of work all along. We went on top but it was a great goal to tie it up. Overall I’m satisfied,” Hart added.

Both teams played without some regular starters with Kenwyne Jones and Sheldon Bateau missing for T&T while Javier Hernandez and Andres Guardado was on the bench for Mexico and Jesus Corona who signed recently with Porto and Giovani Dos Santos were not in the team. The game though had all the ingredients of a proper contest.

T&T settled quickly, causing Mexico to appear almost edgy at times and their fans were left stunned in the 7th minute when Keron Cummings’ attempted shot at goal took a deflection and fell nicely for Jonathan Glenn who made the far post run to neatly head home for 1-0 T&T lead.

“It was just the start we wanted. What it did was showed us that we don’t have to chase an opponent like Mexico everytime we play them and this kind of start would help us realize this. And going 2-0 up, despite them scoring just before the break was a good thing for us,” T&T head coach Stephen Hart said.
Ahead 1-0 up against Mexico and you would more than likely expect the team ahead, in this case T&T, to now have to weather the storm but that was not the case this time.

Mexico just couldn’t seem to get a foot in the door as Hart’s men remained solid, composed and were in no mood to be pushed around.

Mexico did have their moments but it would be T&T who surged further ahead. Glenn, making his first start for T&T, earned his match fee with a clever challenge on Oswaldo Alanis that won the ball on the edge of the box before playing over for an awaiting Cummings to side foot into the net. T&T were now up 2-0 in the 39th minute. A first time scoreline since the 4-0 win for T&T in the 1974 World Cup qualifier when Everald “Gally Cummings notched a double.

Mexico, playing its first game under interim head coach Ricardo Ferretti, would hit back before the break with Carlos Esquivel heading past captain Jan Michael Williams in the 40th.

Ten minutes into the second half, Mexico would level the scores when Raul Jimenez’s shot was headed into the net by T&T defender Daneil Cyrus.

T&T never lost control of their game and didn’t allow Mexico to pull away neither. Chicago Fire’s Joevin Jones wiggled his way into the Mexican penalty area but couldn’t get his shot off before hitting the turf in what appeared to be a foul on the player. And then Khaleem Hyland directed his effort wide of the upright.

Jones would make amends in the 69th minute with a perfectly taken left footed free kick which left goalkeeper Alfredo Talavera flatfooted on his line.

Hart made some changes, bringing on Trevin Caesar, Mekeil Williams, Kevan George, Willis Plaza and Rundell Winchester in the second half.

Mexico began to pour forward in desperate search of the equalizer and would eventually get it with Herrara’s laser like strike into the top left corner past Williams five minutes from time.

T&T will now look ahead to the October 8th international friendly away to Panama while Mexico faces Argentina in Dallas on Tuesday. T&T begins its 2018 World Cup qualifying campaign on November 13th against either Antigua/Barbuda or Guatemala and will then host United States on November 17th.

Video: - Hart's Post Match Reactions after 3-3 draw with Mexico in Utah

« Last Edit: September 05, 2015, 04:19:30 AM by Flex »

Offline mouie

Re: Ricardo Ferretti's debut sees Mexico draw with T&T.
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2015, 05:00:50 AM »
I never believed that I would ever see the day that I would be disappointed to see T&T draw with Mexico. Keep up the good work guys

« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2015, 07:06:22 AM »
Jan-Michael Williams - Ah begging Hart, please find an additional keeper, Jan might be we best keeper in T&T but he is very inconsistent. Give Graig Ramjitsingh a trial?? At least we go have one for down de road.

Yohance Marshall - Decent, but all over de place.

Aubrey David - Best of all de defenders tonight

Daneil Cyrus - Always love this player, just not tonight, forget de owe goal, he played real bad, get school, get beat for pace and get bull all night.

Radanfah Abu Bakr - He might be better if we play him as a defensive midfielder. He just to inconsistent and to slow to be we last man in defence.

Khaleem Hyland - Played decent, should have score, but he playing much much better.

Joevin Jones - Played a good second half and scored a beauty, but he does be ghost on de field, yuh doh see him much but when he up to it, he can play ball, he should use his dribbling skills more and shoot more, nice player, MLS mad him much better, he grow up real fast.

Keron Cummings - What a player, he look above his teammates in all aspects, he getting a big contract soon. Ah next number 10 player,,,,. Please take de number 10 from Plaza, PLEASE !!! ah beging yuh Hart.

Cordell Cato - My boy, brave, fast, deadly, love him. I woulda never sub him.

Andre Boucaud - Big mistake taking Boucaud off, de man spray some serious football, he calm and compose, Hyland shoulda been sub instead. Ah next number 10 player, love him.

Jonathan Glenn - What a player, fight, fast, hussle, defend, everything, should work good together with Kenwyne.

The subs did not make a difference much as far as attack goes. Trevin Caesar on de wing was a waste. Willis Plaza is no number 10 and he does wait to much, just hit de ball man.

But I understand Hart have to see players and give a good few ah them a chance. This was a friendly and this is de purpose of it, to try stuff and help de team gel.

Hart have this team playing REAL TOP FOOTBALL.

But we in a mess defensively, because we defenders not covering de zones, getting leave out for pace and they passing.

We really should step it up and get Ryan Inniss and Shannon Williams, even if de TTFA have to do all de paper work for them, we need some defenders bad bad. Come on Sheldon, handle it, sometimes we have to push a little even if de players eh want to show much. Because if it was a next Latapy ah sure de TTFA woulda do everything to get these players.

Allyuh see how Jamaica get they kakahole open by Nicaragua, WC go be a different animal, s we have to play every game hard.

Ah want to say big up to de TTFA for getting games like this.

Big up to Hart, de man is a BOSS!!!!!!!

And I eh care, we playing good football, forget de score, but we need to plug them holes, Mexico had aces to space in de center and they keep going center.

They love to take short corners and shoot from ontop de box, all de time, fast, one touch and shoot.

We missing a link from defence to midfield, like a Nakhid type player.

« Last Edit: September 05, 2015, 07:19:59 AM by Sam »

Offline Thomo

« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2015, 07:22:02 AM »
Spot on assessment of player performance last night Sam. Kerron Cummings and Glenn were absolutely brilliant.

« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2015, 07:50:37 AM »
Jan-Michael Williams - Ah begging Hart, please find an additional keeper, Jan might be we best keeper in T&T but he is very inconsistent. Give Graig Ramjitsingh a trial?? At least we go have one for down de road.

Yohance Marshall - Decent, but all over de place.

Aubrey David - Best of all de defenders tonight

Daneil Cyrus - Always love this player, just not tonight, forget de owe goal, he played real bad, get school, get beat for pace and get bull all night.

Radanfah Abu Bakr - He might be better if we play him as a defensive midfielder. He just to inconsistent and to slow to be we last man in defence.

Khaleem Hyland - Played decent, should have score, but he playing much much better.

Joevin Jones - Played a good second half and scored a beauty, but he does be ghost on de field, yuh doh see him much but when he up to it, he can play ball, he should use his dribbling skills more and shoot more, nice player, MLS mad him much better, he grow up real fast.

Keron Cummings - What a player, he look above his teammates in all aspects, he getting a big contract soon. Ah next number 10 player,,,,. Please take de number 10 from Plaza, PLEASE !!! ah beging yuh Hart.

Cordell Cato - My boy, brave, fast, deadly, love him. I woulda never sub him.

Andre Boucaud - Big mistake taking Boucaud off, de man spray some serious football, he calm and compose, Hyland shoulda been sub instead. Ah next number 10 player, love him.

Jonathan Glenn - What a player, fight, fast, hussle, defend, everything, should work good together with Kenwyne.

The subs did not make a difference much as far as attack goes. Trevin Caesar on de wing was a waste. Willis Plaza is no number 10 and he does wait to much, just hit de ball man.

But I understand Hart have to see players and give a good few ah them a chance. This was a friendly and this is de purpose of it, to try stuff and help de team gel.

Hart have this team playing REAL TOP FOOTBALL.

But we in a mess defensively, because we defenders not covering de zones, getting leave out for pace and they passing.

We really should step it up and get Ryan Inniss and Shannon Williams, even if de TTFA have to do all de paper work for them, we need some defenders bad bad. Come on Sheldon, handle it, sometimes we have to push a little even if de players eh want to show much. Because if it was a next Latapy ah sure de TTFA woulda do everything to get these players.

Allyuh see how Jamaica get they kakahole open by Nicaragua, WC go be a different animal, s we have to play every game hard.

Ah want to say big up to de TTFA for getting games like this.

Big up to Hart, de man is a BOSS!!!!!!!

And I eh care, we playing good football, forget de score, but we need to plug them holes, Mexico had aces to space in de center and they keep going center.

They love to take short corners and shoot from ontop de box, all de time, fast, one touch and shoot.

We missing a link from defence to midfield, like a Nakhid type player.

Good post Sam, spot on. On the subs, Cedar made a good run leading to the Joevin FK, defensively he sold himself too much though...

« Reply #5 on: September 05, 2015, 08:18:00 AM »

A good result, not the best result but still we played well. and yes we should have done better. We need to work on our defense.

« Reply #6 on: September 05, 2015, 10:39:41 AM »
Mexico, T&T play to another thrilling draw in Ferretti's first game in charge.
By Alicia Rodriguez (mlssoccer.net)

Believe it or not, Mexico vs. Trinidad & Tobago is becoming one of the most entertaining fixtures in international soccer.

Less than two months after an eight-goal thriller draw between the sides in the CONCACAF Gold Cup group stage, the countries met for the second time this summer in a friendly on Friday night at Rio Tinto Stadium in Salt Lake City, playing to another exciting goalfest draw, this time by a 3-3 score.

It was the first game in charge of the Mexican national team for interim boss Ricardo "Tuca" Ferretti, following the dismissal of Miguel Herrera immediately following Mexico's Gold Cup triumph due to an off-field incident. Playing a largely reserve side, Mexico faced off against a Trinidad & Tobago lineup that featured more regulars from the Gold Cup, but also fielded a few newcomers. Ferretti's lineup is believed to have been made with next week's friendly against Argentina and next month's CONCACAF Cup showdown against the US national team in mind.

T&T found the breakthrough against the run of play in the seventh minute. Keron Cummings dribbled through the midfield unchallenged and eventually unleashed a long-range shot that deflected off a Mexico defender's foot. Jonathan Glenn, making a run to the far post, ran towards the looping ball and headed it past Mexico goalkeeper Alfredo Talavera. It was Glenn's first career goal for the senior national team.

Cummings then doubled the lead himself in the 39th minute, as Glenn challenged Mexico defender Oswaldo Alanis near the endline and won the ball, then dribbled in and sent a low cross into the center of the box, with Cummings burying the shot on the trailing run.

But Mexico answered to cut the lead just a minute later. Carlos Esquivel headed the ball in from the penalty spot off a Jorge Torres Nilo cross to make it 2-1.

El Tri nearly tied it up just after the restart, as Trinidad and Tobago 'keeper Jan-Michael Williams failed to punch away a Mexico cross, but debutant Henry Martin could not capitalize with a tap-in at the far post.

But they got the equalizer in the 55th minute, as second-half substitute Raul Jimenez connected well with Esquivel on a run into the box, and ended up slotting a deflected shot into the net.

The Soca Warriors were not demoralized, however, as a well-placed free kick from just outside the box was sent in by Chicago Fire's Joevin Jones in the 70th minute, going over the Mexican wall and past Talavera, rooted to his position, to give T&T the lead once more.

Unlike the last meeting between the countries, it was Mexico that got the late equalizer, as Hector Herrera unleashed an absolute golazo from range off a corner kick with five minutes left in regulation to make it 3-3. He nearly followed that up with a go-ahead goal off a free kick a few minutes later, but the chance sailed just over the goal.

Trinidad & Tobago's slate for the current international window is complete, while Mexico will take on Argentina at AT&T Stadium in Dallas on Tuesday.

« Reply #7 on: September 05, 2015, 11:04:16 AM »
To be fair, I thought Caesar was useful and should be brought back
As a sub he did exacty what Hart wanted: dangerous dribblin' dong dey approaching de box .... leading to the free kick that Joevin Jones scored with his left foot.
Cummings great, Joevin very talented, etc etc.

« Reply #8 on: September 05, 2015, 03:07:41 PM »
WATCH: Players Jonathan Glenn, Jan-Michael Williams, and Keron Cummings give their thoughts on Trinidad and Tobago’s 3-3 draw with Mexico.
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/IbgzJq1ygh0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/IbgzJq1ygh0</a>

« Reply #9 on: September 06, 2015, 05:24:23 AM »
We have something to work with. Tighten up the defence and also I was pleasantly pleased by the fact that we made a set piece count. Copa and WC are attainable if we build properly on this.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #10 on: September 06, 2015, 09:45:18 AM »
Mexican coach: T&T not an easy opponent.
T&T Guardian Reports.

Mexico’s interim head coach Ricardo Ferretti got more than he may have catered for in his first international match in charge of the Mexican national team in Friday’s 3-3 draw with T&T at the Rio Tinto Stadium in Utah.

Ferretti’s team found themselves trailing 2-0 before half time before fighting themselves back into the encounter. The 61-year-old Brazil-born coach later admitted that his team had to hold off a very determined “Soca Warriors” unit on the night.

“I think the team completed an acceptable job. It is not easy to come back from 2-0 but we made it 2-1 and then we came back to level it. The defence had some work to do. But generally I think it was a good game and I was happy with that aspect,” Ferretti said.  “I am satisfied but naturally I would have liked a better result.”

Asked to comment on T&T, he responded “I think there is the possibility will meet again (in the World Cup qualifiers). T&T has demonstrated a very high level of play. And this is like a lot of teams in CONCACAF now. They have to also focus on getting better and the level in Concacaf is higher these days and it is not easy to play teams in the region anymore, especially teams like T&T.”

T&T forward Jonathan Glenn scored on his first starting debut for T&T and later expressed thanks to Stephen Hart for giving him the chance after the Iceland-based forward occupied the bench for the entire CONCACAF Gold Cup campaign in July. “I’m pleased with the performance. Mexico is a fantastic team and this was a huge moment for me and I knew I just had to go out there and give it my all. We were unlucky to give up that late goal but I’m still very excited at the moment,” said the 28-year-old Glenn.

“I think in the Gold Cup the team was playing really well. The coach spoke to me and he let me know that my time will come and that I just needed to be patient and I just needed to continue working hard. With that mindset I was not worried about, once I was able to continue doing well for my club and have the right attitude, I would get my chance and it came today.

“We knew they are a great passing team and that at certain spells in the game that we would have to defend really solidly and we would have to go periods of the game without having the ball. I think it was really important that we got  the early goal to kind of settle us. But even if we went two nil up that it wasn’t going to be game over because they would be a team that would keep coming at us. We go the third goal and then we were unlucky to concede the third goal which was an amazing one by them.”

The home-based contingent of the T&T team led by Hart will return home at 8 pm on Saturday from Houston.

« Reply #11 on: September 06, 2015, 10:36:24 AM »
Who allyuh go say was man of de match, Glenn or Cummings as both of them had a goal and assist?

Offline Thomo

« Reply #12 on: September 06, 2015, 11:09:22 AM »
Who allyuh go say was man of de match, Glenn or Cummings as both of them had a goal and assist?
Both were brilliant and combined well with each other in addition to their workrate. It's a close call but I'll have to give to Glenn as he was given his first chance to start, scored and assisted in Cummings goal!

« Reply #13 on: September 08, 2015, 03:22:02 AM »
Héctor Herrera is ah f00cking beast !!!!

De man could play ball.

Andrés Guardado boss to.

« Reply #14 on: September 08, 2015, 12:27:37 PM »
Héctor Herrera is ah f00cking beast !!!!

De man could play ball.

Andrés Guardado boss to.

Them fellas is lynchpins of that side. They don't however have a general in the back any more now that Marquez gone. My Mexican coworker was vexed about that today, he expected an easy win ;D