March 28, 2024, 07:02:08 AM

Author Topic: TT footballer and the Commonwealth Games  (Read 8647 times)

TT footballer and the Commonwealth Games
« on: July 22, 2015, 03:11:15 PM »
Which TT footballer has a parent that was a Commonwealth Games Gold Medallist.

Too easy.

Not Tall Man.

Re: TT footballer and the Commonwealth Games
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2015, 08:22:37 PM »
Gregory Agostini.

« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2015, 09:04:38 PM »
Gregory Agostini.

Did he play football for TT? When?

Who was the parent that won a C'wealth Gold and in what event?

« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2015, 07:36:43 AM »
I believe he played a couple friendly games under Alvin Corneal after the Strike Squad era. 
Mike Agostini won gold in 100 yards (1954).

« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2015, 12:22:52 PM »
I believe he played a couple friendly games under Alvin Corneal after the Strike Squad era. 
Mike Agostini won gold in 100 yards (1954).

No proof of that on the internet. But if you could find it, I would appreciate it.

« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2015, 01:35:22 PM »
Don't have any internet proof. Answer based on memory. Other guys on the team were Geoffroy Lake, Alvin Thomas and Anton Thomas.

« Reply #6 on: August 09, 2015, 03:38:03 PM »
Well until you could verify, that is not the answer.  ;D

« Reply #7 on: August 09, 2015, 06:34:38 PM »
I await your answer. Don't have time to verify it. That info may not be on the Internet. Everything is not on the internet and everything on the internet is not true  ;D

« Reply #8 on: August 09, 2015, 07:38:21 PM »
I await your answer. Don't have time to verify it. That info may not be on the Internet. Everything is not on the internet and everything on the internet is not true  ;D

I completely agree.  ;D

On a side note, Agostini's younger brother played for the WI team that toured England in the late 50s. And of course he played for TT.

« Reply #9 on: August 14, 2015, 03:58:47 PM »

I completely agree.  ;D

On a side note, Agostini's younger brother played for the WI team that toured England in the late 50s. And of course he played for TT.

Tallest I know this too easy for you. But go tru.

« Reply #10 on: August 18, 2015, 04:27:47 PM »
Tallest,

doh tell meh yuh buss.

« Reply #11 on: August 18, 2015, 04:49:30 PM »
Tallest,

doh tell meh yuh buss.

I forget about this yes, but ah buss in trute. Ah know de people who win Commonwealth gold medals for T&T, but I eh aware of any of dey chirren playing football for T&T. Unless de gold medallist yuh talking about represented another country like de UK or Canada.

« Reply #12 on: August 18, 2015, 07:34:59 PM »
Tallest,

doh tell meh yuh buss.

I forget about this yes, but ah buss in trute. Ah know de people who win Commonwealth gold medals for T&T, but I eh aware of any of dey chirren playing football for T&T. Unless de gold medallist yuh talking about represented another country like de UK or Canada.

I never said the individual represented TT.  :)

« Reply #13 on: August 19, 2015, 12:18:58 AM »
They have to be in TF or Cycling?  So that is Motley, Bernard, Skinner, Roberts, Ato. I don't know of any of these people siblings playing football. I maybe wrong. Cycling was Roger Gibbon. I don't know if he ever had a son.

« Reply #14 on: August 19, 2015, 12:51:54 PM »
They have to be in TF or Cycling?  So that is Motley, Bernard, Skinner, Roberts, Ato. I don't know of any of these people siblings playing football. I maybe wrong. Cycling was Roger Gibbon. I don't know if he ever had a son.

Deeks,

read my response above to Tall Man.

« Reply #15 on: December 18, 2015, 09:56:14 PM »
Giving allyuh until Jan. 1 2016.

Offline dtool

« Reply #16 on: January 04, 2016, 06:40:34 AM »
January 1 2016 ....pass

« Reply #17 on: January 04, 2016, 03:32:46 PM »
Giving allyuh until Jan. 1 2016.

Breds, U have a serious hangover. Today is the 4th.

Offline dtool

« Reply #18 on: January 07, 2016, 06:35:07 AM »
Still waiting for an answer ......

« Reply #19 on: January 18, 2016, 07:59:59 PM »
I seem to remember that the Hoyte brothers mom had won a medal ,when they were just coming into the team and few years ago .

« Reply #20 on: January 19, 2016, 09:00:40 PM »
Fitzroy and his brother used to play for Ebonites from Barataria. I can't remember any of them making the national football team. Fitzroy did ride bike for TT.

« Reply #21 on: January 20, 2016, 02:00:04 AM »
I seem to remember that the Hoyte brothers mom had won a medal ,when they were just coming into the team and few years ago .

Wendy Hoyte. Gold medal in the 4x100 CW games, Brisbane, Australia, 1982.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wendy_Hoyte

At the time of this post, only Gavin had played for TT but now both brothers have.

« Reply #22 on: January 20, 2016, 04:51:19 PM »
VB, you catch me there. You talking about Gavin Hoyte moms. Ok, Ok!!!!! Jeez!!!!

I read this but could not think of another Trini repping another country in TF other than MacDonald Bailey and Keron Clements.
« Last Edit: January 20, 2016, 04:56:47 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #23 on: January 20, 2016, 10:27:35 PM »
VB, you catch me there. You talking about Gavin Hoyte moms. Ok, Ok!!!!! Jeez!!!!

I read this but could not think of another Trini repping another country in TF other than MacDonald Bailey and Keron Clements.

I also said Trinidadian footballer's mother. Hoyte plays for TT and Wendy is his mum but neither was born in TT. The Hoytes qualify for TT via their dad, a Trini born athlete who represented England.

Offline dtool

« Reply #24 on: January 23, 2016, 11:24:13 PM »

Good research ...... Wow

« Reply #25 on: January 24, 2016, 03:38:39 PM »

Good research ...... Wow

Boss,

this research, buss Tall Man. Dat doh happen often nah.

I want a prize.  ;D

« Reply #26 on: April 05, 2016, 01:41:02 PM »

Good research ...... Wow

Boss,

this research, buss Tall Man. Dat doh happen often nah.

I want a prize.  ;D

Pick ah pan :D