April 26, 2024, 11:01:09 PM

Author Topic: 2016 Outdoor Results for T&T Athletes  (Read 30696 times)

Offline Aviator

Re: 2016 Outdoor Results for T&T Athletes
« Reply #120 on: May 21, 2016, 01:11:17 PM »
She seemed pretty upset, but if everything was I place, why wait until this week to deal with the insurance issue??

One Mr Boldon already ripped her a new one on twitter. I suggest trying to work with her and try to repair the great damage that has been done, instead of the crab inna barrel tear down behaviour. It does no good.
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

« Reply #121 on: May 28, 2016, 02:46:34 PM »

Codeine finished fourth in 45.45 today in Eugene.

Men's 400m

1) Kirani James (Gren) 44.22
2) Lashawn Meritt (US) 44.39
3) Makwala (Botswana) 45.39
4) Machel Cedenio (TT) 45.45

« Reply #122 on: May 28, 2016, 05:06:49 PM »

Cedenio finished fourth in 45.45 today in Eugene.

Men's 400m

1) Kirani James (Gren) 44.22
2) Lashawn Meritt (US) 44.39
3) Makwala (Botswana) 45.39
4) Machel Cedenio (TT) 45.45

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/3UBMKOj3TSM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/3UBMKOj3TSM</a>

« Reply #123 on: May 28, 2016, 06:41:19 PM »
What happened to Keshorn. 7th place? 74 meter throw. I hope he gets it together soon.

« Reply #124 on: May 28, 2016, 09:44:16 PM »
Cedenio did not have the finishing kick. Too much to do against such a great field. He just needs to get stronger and he'll be fine. He is very young and barring injury, he will be champion before long.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #125 on: May 30, 2016, 01:29:55 PM »
Per Monsieur Boldon's twitter account, Richard ran 10.08 legal wind over the weekend.

« Reply #126 on: May 31, 2016, 01:13:02 PM »

T&T Athletes Victorious at 2016 Atlanta Georgia Relays

https://www.facebook.com/TTOlympicCommittee/photos/a.183804871665991.38714.123604181019394/1041556325890837/?type=3

Congratulations to Olympic silver medalist Richard Thompson, Pan Am Junior champ Kahlifa St. Fort and sprinter Kai Selvon, who all triumphed at the Atlanta Georgia Relays International Meet on Sunday at the Langston Hughes High School Stadium, Atlanta

Thompson was first over the line in the Men's 100m dash in 10.08 seconds, while the young St. Fort topped her field in 11.34seconds.
Selvon, who is making a comeback after being plagued by injury last season, competed in the 200m dash and stopped the clock at 23.44 seconds.
https://www.facebook.com/TTOlympicCommittee/photos/a.183804871665991.38714.123604181019394/1041556325890837/?type=3

« Reply #127 on: May 31, 2016, 02:11:23 PM »

T&T Athletes Victorious at 2016 Atlanta Georgia Relays

Congratulations to Olympic silver medalist Richard Thompson, Pan Am Junior champ Kahlifa St. Fort and sprinter Kai Selvon, who all triumphed at the Atlanta Georgia Relays International Meet on Sunday at the Langston Hughes High School Stadium, Atlanta

Thompson was first over the line in the Men's 100m dash in 10.08 seconds, while the young St. Fort topped her field in 11.34seconds.
Selvon, who is making a comeback after being plagued by injury last season, competed in the 200m dash and stopped the clock at 23.44 seconds.

Who did they run against?  Any video available?

« Reply #128 on: June 01, 2016, 05:37:05 PM »
    Richard “Torpedo” Thompson steered his Road to Rio campaign back on track at the Atlanta Georgia Relays, in the United States, on Sunday.

The Trinidad and Tobago track star stopped the clock at a season’s best 10.08 seconds to claim gold in the men’s 100 metres dash, ahead of St Kitts and Nevis sprinter Brijesh Lawrence (10.16) and American D’Angelo Cherry (10.17).

I have been searching all over Google and this is all I could find

Offline Aviator

« Reply #129 on: June 01, 2016, 09:34:33 PM »
The meet is supposed to post results on their FB page, but 3 days later and they still stickin'

« Reply #130 on: June 02, 2016, 09:57:37 PM »
MLA 6th in Rome.

Elaine Thompson wins 100m Women's Diamond League Rome 2016 HD
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/cPPqkOxXXd0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/cPPqkOxXXd0</a>

Lendore also 7th in Rome.

Wayde van Niekerk wins 400m Men's Diamond League Rome 2016 HD
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/tFFVnFfn3pQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/tFFVnFfn3pQ</a>

Full DL Rome Meet.

Diamond League Roma 2016 - FULL Tournament HD Step 5 Italy 02.06.16 Athletics
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/-zZ5jidIlRk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/-zZ5jidIlRk</a>
« Last Edit: June 03, 2016, 01:14:50 PM by Socapro »

Offline Trini1

« Reply #131 on: June 02, 2016, 11:05:14 PM »
Soca MLA was 6th according to iaaf. Just a bad race I guess or she is at a different stage of training to the other ladies perhaps, possibly even jetlag. Something was off today.

I feel like MLA should be up there with the best.
« Last Edit: June 03, 2016, 12:16:06 AM by Trini1 »

« Reply #132 on: June 03, 2016, 01:18:33 PM »
Soca MLA was 6th according to iaaf. Just a bad race I guess or she is at a different stage of training to the other ladies perhaps, possibly even jetlag. Something was off today.

I feel like MLA should be up there with the best.
Thanks, I've made the correction.

MLA posted this on her facebook page after the race so it seems she was suffering from the flu.
Jus one of those days when u run a bad race because the flu decided to pay u a surprise visit
« Last Edit: June 03, 2016, 01:20:04 PM by Socapro »

Offline Aviator

« Reply #133 on: June 03, 2016, 04:35:27 PM »
Richard Vs Gatlin Sunday in Rio over 100m.

« Reply #134 on: June 05, 2016, 07:00:14 AM »

T&T athletes running slow times for the season so far. Anyway what is the deal with Jehue Godon this Olympic season? I have not seen or heard much of him

« Reply #135 on: June 05, 2016, 09:52:24 AM »
It looking kind of bleak for TT. So far. It is just a feeling. I could be wrong.

« Reply #136 on: June 05, 2016, 11:44:58 AM »

You think Richard challenging Gatlin for 1st? It will be an accomplishment for Richard if he run under 10.10 .

As Deeks mentioned, things look bleak for TT.. In fact MLA just came last 11.48 in Birmingham. She is still struggling with the flu. Still trying to find the form if 2014/2015.  Some good times better come soon as RIO is less than 70days away.
« Last Edit: June 05, 2016, 11:47:04 AM by gawd on pitch »

Offline Aviator

« Reply #137 on: June 05, 2016, 01:28:48 PM »

You think Richard challenging Gatlin for 1st? It will be an accomplishment for Richard if he run under 10.10 .

As Deeks mentioned, things look bleak for TT.. In fact MLA just came last 11.48 in Birmingham. She is still struggling with the flu. Still trying to find the form if 2014/2015.  Some good times better come soon as RIO is less than 70days away.

No. Never expected an actual race between the two.
Gatlin won in 10.19 (-1.0), RT second in 10.29.

Video: http://globoesporte.globo.com/atletismo/noticia/2016/06/sob-chuva-gatlin-e-rosangela-vencem-desafio-no-rio-e-browne-sai-de-maca.html

« Reply #138 on: June 05, 2016, 02:36:14 PM »

No. Never expected an actual race between the two.
Gatlin won in 10.19 (-1.0), RT second in 10.29.

Video: http://globoesporte.globo.com/atletismo/noticia/2016/06/sob-chuva-gatlin-e-rosangela-vencem-desafio-no-rio-e-browne-sai-de-maca.html

I almost ate my words. Thompson did not look too bad against Gatlin.

Offline Trini1

« Reply #139 on: June 05, 2016, 07:04:59 PM »
Nice run by Thompson his patience is paying off and I think he will be ready for the Olympics. I think he can be a finalist.

Unless MLA had an obligation to fulfill by running in Bham then she should not have. The Olympics is round the corner and she needs to think even beyond that. Maybe drop out of the Racers Grand Prix to recuperate for trials. Then again I'm not paying her bills and sprinting is but still care should be taken.

« Reply #140 on: June 05, 2016, 08:24:09 PM »
Nice run by Thompson his patience is paying off and I think he will be ready for the Olympics. I think he can be a finalist.

Unless MLA had an obligation to fulfill by running in Bham then she should not have. The Olympics is round the corner and she needs to think even beyond that. Maybe drop out of the Racers Grand Prix to recuperate for trials. Then again I'm not paying her bills and sprinting is but still care should be taken.

What I am happy about where MLA is concerned is she has had no apparent injuries so far this season.

However I would much prefer if MLA don't compete if she has the flu but as you said we are not paying her bills.

If both MLA and KAB don't run legal sub-11 times at Trials then I'll start to get a bit worried but I would not start to panic just yet.

If our top 3 female sprinters can all run legal sub-11 times at Trials and then emulate those times outside of T&T as we head to Rio then I think our Women's 4x100 relay team should remain strong medal contenders but we got to have at least 3 of them in 11-flat form or better to try to keep ahead of Britain.

In fact a similar scenario applies to our male sprinters. If our top 3 male sprinters can all run legal sub-10 times at Trials and then emulate those times outside of T&T as we head to Rio then I think our Men's 4x100 relay team can be rated as strong medal contenders but we got to have at least 3 of them in 10-flat form or better to be in the mix with the USA and JA for a 4x1 relay medal in Rio.
« Last Edit: June 06, 2016, 08:11:50 PM by Socapro »

Offline Trini1

« Reply #141 on: June 06, 2016, 07:23:02 PM »
Soca I'm happy about that too and was thinking the same. She has been healthy and has not gotten injured let's hope it stays so.

I think they are both comfortable enough to run sub 11 in Trinidad. They've both ran fast there before so I won't make the mistake of getting excited if KAB throws down a 10.8x. When that form can be replicated at league meetings/major games I will be excited. I dont even mean running sub-11 at every meet. I just mean being in the mix with the big guns. Right now though it seems as if she is in heavy training mode since switching back to the Brauman camp. Maybe her move to Ato's camp should have been done in a non championship year. I still feel he would have had her ready.

The British girls are coming for us! Desiree Henry and Ashleigh Nelson appear to be in 11.0x form and we already know about Dina Asher Smith... If Asha Philip somehow rounds into shape then we will have a real tussle on our hands. We need Kai/Semoy/Reyare in 11.1 shape atleast.

If Keston has recovered fully then we have 2 strong legs. I'm not sure about the other two maybe Jamol James and Rondell Sorillo?
« Last Edit: June 06, 2016, 07:25:07 PM by Trini1 »

« Reply #142 on: June 06, 2016, 08:05:34 PM »
Soca I'm happy about that too and was thinking the same. She has been healthy and has not gotten injured let's hope it stays so.

I think they are both comfortable enough to run sub 11 in Trinidad. They've both ran fast there before so I won't make the mistake of getting excited if KAB throws down a 10.8x. When that form can be replicated at league meetings/major games I will be excited. I dont even mean running sub-11 at every meet. I just mean being in the mix with the big guns. Right now though it seems as if she is in heavy training mode since switching back to the Brauman camp. Maybe her move to Ato's camp should have been done in a non championship year. I still feel he would have had her ready.

The British girls are coming for us! Desiree Henry and Ashleigh Nelson appear to be in 11.0x form and we already know about Dina Asher Smith... If Asha Philip somehow rounds into shape then we will have a real tussle on our hands. We need Kai/Semoy/Reyare in 11.1 shape atleast.

If Keston has recovered fully then we have 2 strong legs. I'm not sure about the other two maybe Jamol James and Rondell Sorillo?

Don't forget Khalifa. Ato is planning on unleashing her soon. She is a fast learner and I think she will occupy a spot on the team. One last thing, Semoy ran a week and a half ago. Came 2nd in a okay field. Mark my words, Kai is going to impress. She has finally overcome a few injury niggles in the past two years.

Word out is that ALL the usual suspects in the men's 100m will be showing up. This will surely be the last hurrah for the Burns, Brown,
Thompson, Calendar, Sorrillo era. That generation has given us good service.

Offline Trini1

« Reply #143 on: June 07, 2016, 12:34:41 AM »
Gop I hear you and I believe Khalifa will get that spot on the team. I trust Ato's guidance and Khalifa's talent, work ethic and mindset so seeing as she peaked at 11.19 last year and would have run 11.17 at Carifta this year if the wind had allowed, I'd say she is on course for 11.0x if not sub 11. I love how Kai runs, smooth and effortless but she seems to be always cruising in gear 5 but if she can tap into that extra gear I think she can get some great results.

I hope the guys come ready. I hate to think of it as the last hurrah but all good things must come to an end. It would be nice if both our women's and men's team could medal in the same championship.
« Last Edit: June 07, 2016, 12:37:44 AM by Trini1 »

« Reply #144 on: June 09, 2016, 07:59:55 PM »
Walcott was at Oslo diamond league. 86.35. Came 3rd. 5th on top list. Slowly rounding into form.

« Reply #145 on: June 11, 2016, 04:20:38 PM »
Section 2 Wind: 2.0
1 Hackett, Semoy 27 Unattached 22.62
2 Williams, Tameka Elite PerformanceTC 23.05
3 Selvon, Kai 24 Unattached 23.14
4 Livingston, Ornella 25 Unattached 23.20
5 Clarke, Lanece 28 Unattached 23.22
6 Asumnu, Gloria 31 Nigeria 23.34 23.338
7 Fraenk, Emmy 23 Unattached 24.71

The wind was legal at 2.0. Don't get too excited. I believe this was a Claremont meet.

Other results:
Bledman - 100m - 10.07
Thompson - 200m - 20.84
Allsop - 200m - 20.66
Solomon - 400m- 45.65

Offline Aviator

« Reply #146 on: June 11, 2016, 06:13:27 PM »
Meet wasn't in Clermont, but rather at Gatlin's training track.

KAB will go in the 100m and Cedenio and Lalonde in the 400m tonight at the Inaugural Racers Invite.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #147 on: June 11, 2016, 06:49:56 PM »
Cedenio almost PR'd just now. 44.37 to win with a powerful finish. Lalonde 4th in 44.84

« Reply #148 on: June 11, 2016, 06:50:57 PM »
Meet wasn't in Clermont, but rather at Gatlin's training track.

KAB will go in the 100m and Cedenio and Lalonde in the 400m tonight at the Inaugural Racers Invite.

Thank you.

Btw ...
Cedenio 44.37 1st
Francis 44.79 2nd
Tapljn 44.81 3rd
Gordon 44.84 4th.

Very impressive run. Cedenio made it look EASY. Remember dat .

Must say this meet is very very well organized.

Offline Trini1

« Reply #149 on: June 11, 2016, 07:32:27 PM »
I don't think that the meet was Clermont but it was in Florida. I'm a bit skeptical too but I will wait for them including Murielle Ahoure who ran 10.78 to back it up when the time comes.

Wow Cedenio is rounding into form. I will give him another year before he can challenge WVN, Kirani and Merritt. Definitely a finalist if things go to plan.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2016, 07:40:25 PM by Trini1 »