April 19, 2024, 07:37:02 PM

Author Topic: 2016 SSFL Thread  (Read 26805 times)

2016 SSFL Thread
« on: September 06, 2016, 04:29:54 AM »
SSFL season to provide opportunities for youth
By Sean Taylor (T&T Express)

The 2016 Shell/First Citizen's Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) will be the ideal opportunity for exposure was the message from Minister of Sport Darryl Smith at the official launch yesterday.

The minister was one of many officials and dignitaries present at the launch at Trotters sports bar and restaurant, which announced a number of positive changes to the league, as well as the emergence of the fossil fuel company Shell as one of the major sponsors of the SSFL.

Smith in particular lauded the potential the league has for marketing the best junior players the country has to offer to the world, as Digicel Sportsmax and Digicel Play came on board last year with a US $1.5 million deal to broadcast the competition to the rest of the region, as well as North America and England.

“Patrick (Vieira) was sitting with me as I had invited all the Olympiads as my special guests for that (T&T v Guatemala) game, and Patrick was there. Patrick was blown away by Levi Garcia,” he said.

Smith explained that the former Arsenal player asked him which club he came from (in Trinidad) and what was his development pattern. “I was proud and happy to say that there are many more Levi Garcia's in the (SSFL) league.”

The Minister also mentioned the league's importance in terms of its history of developing players, naming Dwight Yorke, Russell Latapy and Brent Sancho among other players who came through the ranks and went on to represent Trinidad and Tobago.

“This is extremely close to my heart,” he said. “I am one of the few people to represent St Mary's and Fatima, and St Mary's College again. My final year in 1991 as one of the captains of the team, I had the privilege of winning a National Championship which completely changed my life forever.”

The league this year will be televised on both SportsMax and CNC3 which will included 20 matches broadcast in HD, among the Shell/First Citizen's Premiership, the Coca-Cola InterCol and the Digicel Play Cup during the 2016 SSFL season.

SSFL president Anthony Creed explained some of the new developments to be implemented this season. “Shell together with First Citizens (Bank) will be the title sponsors for the boys premier as well as the boys and girls championship league, and the girls InterCol,” he said.

“The SSFL is now finalising a proposal to partner with Coca-Cola to develop our lower-division coaches with basic training from a regional FIFA officer. Simulutaneously we are working on a proposal to work with the Scottish FA for C and B license certification for our practising coaches.”

The action kicks off tomorrow at Irwin park in Siparia with San Juan North taking on reigning champs Naparima College, while Shiva Boys face Presentation San Fernando in the second match of the double-header.

The coverage will continue throughout the season with a weekly broadcast of SSFL Premiership matches as well as the zonal and national stages of InterCol.

The addition of the new Digicel Cup will then kick off for the first time on December 5th and 10th, with the InterCol Champions facing the Premier Division runners-up in one semi-final, while the Premier Division winners will face the InterCol runners-up in the second semi-final.

The winner of the Cup will be crowned the “Champion of Champions”, and receive prize money of approximately $140,000.

US$1.5 million TV boost for SSFL
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2016, 04:30:57 AM »
US$1.5 million TV boost for SSFL
By Nigel Simon (T&T Guardian)

Chances of schoolboy footballers in T&T gaining scholarships or even professional contracts abroad have been given a major boost through a US$1.5 million five-year partnership signed between Digicel Play, SportsMax and the Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL).

This is as a result of a first time ever, top of the line television coverage as SportsMax (Jamaica) and T&T’s CNC3 will be broadcasting 20 matches during the upcoming Shell/First Citizens SSFL Premier Division, Coca-Cola InterCol and the newly formed Digicel Play Cup competitions during the season which kick off with a double-header at Irwin Park, Siparia, tomorrow (Wednesday).

The launch was held at Trotters Restaurant Maraval Road, Port-of-Spain, yesterday and created a buzz among all invited guest which included former SSFL and Soca Warriors standout, Brent Sancho and Minister of Sports Darryl Smith.

In  the opening match, two-time reigning Premier Division champions Naparima College, also the Inter-Col champions comes up against San Juan North Secondary from 4 pm while Shiva Boys Hindu College tackles Presentation College of San Fernando, at the same venue at 6.15 pm.

As part of the deal, all TV matches will be broadcast live across 25 Caribbean countries in high definition; seven TV matches will be shown live on CNC3 and 13 TV matches will be showed delayed across T&T; while all TV matches will be shown live in the USA and Canada on CEEN television.

The 11 other schools in the 15-team Premier Division which will see three teams being demoted at the end of the season back to their respective Zonal Championship Divisions are Signal Hill Secondary, Pleasantville, Fatima College, St Anthony’s College, St Benedict’s College, Trinity College Moka, East Mucurapo, Fyzabad Secondary, Queen’s Royal College, St Mary’s College and St Augustine Secondary.

Naps begin title defence against San Juan
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2016, 04:31:43 AM »
Naps begin title defence against San Juan
By Jelani Beckles (T&T Newsday)

FANS of the Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) will for the first time view live matches as SportsMax and CNC3 will be broadcasting 20 matches during the forthcoming Shell/First Citizens Premiership, the Coca-Cola Intercol and the Digicel Play Cup competitions during the 2016 season.

SportMax’s production will kick off at Irwin Park in Siparia with San Juan North facing 2015 Premiership winners Naparima at 4 pm and Shiva Boys playing Presentation College San Fernando at 6.15 pm in a double-header when the season begins tomorrow.

The 2016 season broadcast is largely a result of the US$1.5 million, five-year partnership signed with Digicel Play, SportsMax and the SSFL in November 2015 and runs through to December 2019.

President of the SSFL Anthony Creed said with the league being showed on television it gives the players an opportunity to be seen. Creed said, “the SSFL has moved to another level and as a consequence all that is left is for the work produced by our coaches through our players to be one of the highest quality. This (live matches) will further encourage more scouts to come to TT after seeing the potential of our players on screen.” Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs Darryl Smith, who played in the SSFL, reminisced on his playing days. “I am one of the few people to represent St Mary’s and Fatima and St Mary’s College again. In my final year in 1991 I had the privilege of winning a national championship which changed my life forever.” Minister Smith said he was also given an opportunity to be seen when former local televsion channel Trinidad and Tobago Television (TTT) would highlight players in the SSFL. He explained that TTT showcased the talent of some players including himself which allowed him to be seen by coaches in USA which allowed him to play at an American University.

Olly McIntosh, CEO, Sports- Max said, “we invest heavily in youth sports and for us and our team this marks a significant milestone for SportsMax and Digicel Play.” McIntosh said the TT public will benefit saying that it is not necessary to bring talent from overseas. “In years past many of us involved in the media industry really had a burning sensation inside when we saw West Indies cricket play here or the international football matches played and we would have to fly in production units and fly in overseas talent when we know we have the talent resident here.” He said for the 2012 London Olympics SportsMax utilised 150 local and regional people to prduce the Olympics. He further explained that 90 percent of the individuals involved in the production of the SSFL will be from TT with the anchor team including former Sports Minister and national footballer Brent Sancho and veteran commentator Colin Murray.

Gillian Benjamin, marketing manager of First Citizens said the company is happy to be involved.

She said, “we are proud to share the status of title sponsor of the Secondary Schools Football League with Shell for yet another year. This prestiguous league offers top young footballers a platform to learn, develop and display their talents both on and off the field. These athletes are given the chance to showcase their skills, learn valuable hard work, team work and learn to overcome obstacles in achieving their goals.”

Re: 2016 SSFL Thread
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2016, 11:11:36 AM »
I've heard that players with the U17 and U20 national teams are not eligible to play until the end of their respective tournaments.
Can you confirm this?

« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2016, 02:47:58 PM »
WATCH: Hear from Naparima College Head Coach Angus Eve ahead of the 2016 SSFL season.
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/xQbnbjA5-tk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/xQbnbjA5-tk</a>

WATCH: Interview with Naparima College midfielder Jeremiah Kesar

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/Vz2iJNrp-lg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/Vz2iJNrp-lg</a>

WATCH: Interview with Naparima College midfielder Justin Sadoo

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/6IVg196mzXo" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/6IVg196mzXo</a>
« Last Edit: September 09, 2016, 12:55:16 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2016, 04:32:18 PM »
Three very solid conversations in those interviews.

Also, AE put a lot of policy issues on the table. :applause:

Good stuff, Extra Time.

« Reply #6 on: September 08, 2016, 12:15:24 AM »
i KINDA DISAGREE with angus here in that the players need a professional environment. the quality game in game out in the league isnt as competitive as he would like us all to believe. i think using his eg of dillion. training amongst kenwyne ball pest de silva leston etc. is light years better for his improvement than walking into a school team and bagging up goals against men who cant tie his boots

« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2016, 03:05:02 AM »
Edwards brace powers Shiva to victory.
T&T Guardian Reports.

Ronald Edwards scored a pair of first-half goals to lead Shiva Boys Hindu College to a 3–1 whipping of Presentation College of San Fernando in the opening match of a double-header of the 2016 Shell/First Citizens Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) at Irwin Park Savannah, Siparia, yesterday.

Hoping to improve on a fifth-placed league showing from last year, Shiva Boys, under new coach Hayden Ryan, was quick to settle on the wet and un-even surface and took the lead as early as the second minute, through Edwards, from close range off a Junior Assoon right-sided centre, before the latter set up Quinn Rodney to make it 2–0 midway through the half.

At the other end of the field, Shiva Boys goalkeeper, Denzil Smith showed why he was voted among the 2015 All Star team with two standout saves to keep a blank sheet.

However, nine minutes before the interval, Presentation pulled one back when winger Omri Baird was brought down in the 18-yard box and referee Kheilon Bacchus pointed to the spot and former national captain Kareem Riley made no mistake with the spot kick to cut the deficit.

Edwards then restored Shiv Boys’ cushion when he twisted and turned before he fired in a low shot for a 3–1 lead.

Presentation College began the second-half in much better fashion, but Gerard Gordon wasted a chance to make it 3–2 when he saw a close range blast parried way by Smith and Shiva boys emerged victorious.

« Reply #8 on: September 08, 2016, 03:06:03 AM »
San Juan North holds champ Naparima 2-2.
T&T Guardian Reports.

Two-time defending league champions Naparima College began its bid for a three-peat with a 2-2 draw against San Juan North Secondary after squandering a 2-0 lead in the feature match of a double-header kick off the 2016 Shell/First Citizens Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) at Irwin Park Savannah, Siparia, yesterday.

After enjoying the better of the early exchanges, Akinola Gregory reacted first to a rebound off the San Juan North goalkeeper Shandell Byer to put his team up 1-0 in the 16th minute and ten minutes later, Renaldo Francois also reacted first to a ball that came back off the left upright from a long-range Shobal Celestine free-kick to slot home.

Six minutes before the half, Ronaldo Boyce provided San Juan North with a lifeline when he robbed Naparima captain Shane Sandy of the ball and poked it past the onrushing keeper to trail 2-1.

San Juan North then stunned the defending champions when it tied up the score at 2-2 through Boyce, with his second of the contest to earn his team a share of the points.

Yesterday’s Results

Shiva Boys 3 (Renaldo Edwards 2, Quinn Rodney) vs Presentation (San Fernando) 1 (Kareem Riley pen)

San Juan North 2 (Renaldo Boyce 2) vs Naparima 2 (Akinola Gregory, Renaldo Francois)

Today’s matches

Signal Hill vs Pleasantville, Signal Hill, 3.40pm

Fatima vs St Anthony's, Fatima Grounds, Mucurapo Road, 3.40pm

QRC vs St Augustine Secondary, QRC Ground, St Clair, 3.40pm

St Benedict's vs Fyzabad Secondary, Mahaica Oval, Pt Fortin, 3.40pm

St Mary's vs Trinity Moka, St Mary's Ground, Serpentine Road, St Clair, 3.40pm

East Mucurapo Secondary.

« Reply #9 on: September 08, 2016, 04:42:17 AM »
WATCH: Hear from Presentation College Lions Coach Shawn Cooper as he looks forward to the 2016 SSFL season.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/ZvCfw1n9ZxU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/ZvCfw1n9ZxU</a>

WATCH: Hear from Naparima College defender Khris Stroud as he looks forward to the 2016 SSFL season.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/Czlok4mi-mM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/Czlok4mi-mM</a>
« Last Edit: September 09, 2016, 12:56:20 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #10 on: September 08, 2016, 05:21:02 AM »
WATCH: Highlights of Shiva Boys’ 3-1 win over Presentation College, San Fernando

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/g44dukxwPY8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/g44dukxwPY8</a>

« Reply #11 on: September 08, 2016, 08:38:03 PM »
WATCH: Highlights of Naparima College’s 2-2 draw with San Juan North Secondary

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/1WHvh5KTxHY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/1WHvh5KTxHY</a>

Offline RichGFootball

• ....formerly Richard G. I'm not a newbie. Just new-ish from since Mpurcell days
« Reply #12 on: September 09, 2016, 04:07:08 AM »
Signal Hill 1 vs Pleasantville 1 (Signal Hill Secondary School Grounds, Tobago)

Signal Hill will need some time to gel their team together. They were ok. Not a lot going forward for either team which resulted in very few shots on goal. They should have gone ahead early in the match but a header from a corner went about 2 feet wide of the post. Signal Hill did have a size advantage but didn't capitalise on it.

Signal Hill's goal was from a penalty in the 44th min (Akil Frank). P/ville scored around the 85th min mark. An inability to clear was the main culprit. Not sure who scored.

P/ville played for a draw. Neither team looked like they had enough fire-power to get goal no.2. P/ville has a slim but nippy #10 and I believe a tall #7. A steady team, no real flash. However this was their first match of the season.

Trinidad and Tobago 1st
Everyone else is 2nd

« Reply #13 on: September 09, 2016, 06:51:44 AM »
WATCH: Former Trinidad and Tobago Captain Anthony Rougier talks about revolutionizing football at Fyzabad Secondary School.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/Yb45hqBquTs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/Yb45hqBquTs</a>

« Reply #14 on: September 09, 2016, 09:26:53 AM »
WATCH: Highlights of Naparima College’s 2-2 draw with San Juan North Secondary

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/1WHvh5KTxHY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/1WHvh5KTxHY</a>

:beermug: Naps my team! we have been dominating the SSFL for the last ten years!

« Reply #15 on: September 09, 2016, 12:49:04 PM »
WATCH: Interview with Presentation College Captain Shirwin Noel

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/sOE5Fqni2zQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/sOE5Fqni2zQ</a>

WATCH: Interview with Presentation College midfielder Jordon Riley

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/qBpGRUOfv7E" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/qBpGRUOfv7E</a>

« Reply #16 on: September 09, 2016, 12:57:50 PM »
I know some will tell me I am being to hard and expecting too much from the youths but I still believe the quality is one which is too slow in our school boy league. It should be faster, and it reflects on how our National U-17 team play with the same slow brand of football.

Yes even at this level it should be faster, schoolboy football in the top footballing nations in Concacaf is a lot faster.
« Last Edit: September 09, 2016, 12:59:34 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #17 on: September 09, 2016, 01:44:48 PM »
I know some will tell me I am being to hard and expecting too much from the youths but I still believe the quality is one which is too slow in our school boy league. It should be faster, and it reflects on how our National U-17 team play with the same slow brand of football.

Yes even at this level it should be faster, schoolboy football in the top footballing nations in Concacaf is a lot faster.

Where yuh have in mind?

« Reply #18 on: September 09, 2016, 02:21:54 PM »

Where yuh have in mind?

Iz that serious question? Let's start with United States, you want to see how much faster their youth football on this level is compared to what we are seeing here? Are you really serious?

« Reply #19 on: September 09, 2016, 02:28:52 PM »

Where yuh have in mind?

Iz that serious question? Let's start with United States, you want to see how much faster their youth football on this level is compared to what we are seeing here? Are you really serious?

Thought you had somewhere else in mind. High school football in the US? You can't be serious.

« Reply #20 on: September 09, 2016, 02:33:45 PM »

Where yuh have in mind?

Thought you had somewhere else in mind. High school football in the US? You can't be serious.

You look down on High School football in the US? Let us look at the quality they produce for their national team compared to T&T. What in your mind make you believe the best High School football teams in the US do not make the grade? I know they play a higher quality football than their youth counterparts in T&T.

Anyway when we see our national U-17 team playing slow and not very good at the basics just come back and look at these videos.
« Last Edit: September 09, 2016, 02:35:51 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #21 on: September 09, 2016, 02:40:21 PM »
You look down on High School football in the US? Let us look at the quality they produce for their national team compared to T&T. What in your mind make you believe the best High School football teams in the US do not make the grade? I know they play a higher quality football than their youth counterparts in T&T.

Anyway when we see our national U-17 team playing slow and not very good at the basics just come back and look at these videos.

Someone else will pick up where I left off. Maybe between then and now, you will have done some homework.

« Reply #22 on: September 09, 2016, 02:48:10 PM »
Sando P. First to begin US National players are not being developed in High Schools.
Start there...

I think I know where you comparison is meant to go but you land off base

« Reply #23 on: September 09, 2016, 02:50:07 PM »

Someone else will pick up where I left off. Maybe between then and now, you will have done some homework.

Nah just say you still holding on to this old mentality thinking that the 'soccer' nation not good enough. The proof over the years at every level from youth to senior, from high school to club football to International football is there to refute this old mentality that some Trinis still hold.

The faults of our national U-17 national team is a reflection of the low quality of our schoolboy football, On the other hand the Americans are the opposite as their youth football is far more advanced.
« Last Edit: September 09, 2016, 02:52:12 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #24 on: September 09, 2016, 02:56:28 PM »

Nah just say you still holding on to this old mentality thinking that the 'soccer' nation not good enough. The proof over the years at every level from youth to senior, from high school to club football to International football is there to refute this old mentality that some Trinis still hold.

The faults of our national U-17 national team is a reflection of the low quality of our schoolboy football, On the other hand the Americans are the opposite as their youth football is far more advanced.

In part, I see wha going on wid you. You are using "schoolboy football" and "youth football" interchangeably. That will lead yuh down all sorts of dead ends.

Yuh also seem to have ignored de road FF was guiding yuh to. Why?

« Reply #25 on: September 09, 2016, 02:59:43 PM »

In part, I see wha going on wid you. You are using "schoolboy football" and "youth football" interchangeably. That will lead yuh down all sorts of dead ends.

How about this let us stick to U-17 level, so you can eliminate the confusion in your head.

« Reply #26 on: September 09, 2016, 03:05:41 PM »

How about this let us stick to U-17 level, so you can eliminate the confusion in your head.

And you think I am confused?   :)

« Reply #27 on: September 09, 2016, 05:40:16 PM »
@Rougier:  :applause: :applause: :applause:  Looking to see how it translates and evolves.

« Reply #28 on: September 09, 2016, 06:40:14 PM »
WATCH: Highlights of St. Anthony’s College 2-1 win over Fatima College

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/YUN1CjqqyZk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/YUN1CjqqyZk</a>

WATCH: Highlights of St. Mary’s College goalless draw with Trinity College (Moka)

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/lMJW53oOBfk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/lMJW53oOBfk</a>

« Reply #29 on: September 10, 2016, 08:37:30 PM »
I am very happy to hear that Anthony Rougier cares about the development of the whole person and sees himself as a mentor for young men.

His profound statement that adults of the present are responsible for influencing kids to become good productive citizens of Trinidad and Tobago.

Big Up to the  man Rougier!