April 17, 2024, 07:04:23 PM

Author Topic: Carifta swimming  (Read 11276 times)

Carifta swimming
« on: March 22, 2017, 12:20:02 PM »
All the best TT
https://www.swimtt.com/single-post/2017/03/22/Strong-T-T-Team-selected-for-CARIFTA-Swim

March 22, 2017

Jada Chai collects her 15-17 female 1st place trophy at NAGLC from ASATT President Wendell Lai Hing

The Amateur Swimming Association of Trinidad and Tobago (ASATT) has selected a 36 athlete swim team and a 7 member open water team that would represent Trinidad and Tobago at the CARIFTA Swimming Championships in Bahamas from 15 - 19 April 2017.

Times from 1st October 2016 to the recently concluded National Age Group Long Course Championships (NAGLC) were considered, with the minimum qualifying criteria being the median 8th place final time from the last three Championships. While Trinidad and Tobago has won the most CARIFTA trophies, in the 2016 edition the team placed a distant 5th which has been the lowest ranking to date. However, with the depth of the team, swim team Manager Bertram Blackman is confident that the team has a shot at recapturing the trophy.

Blackman who is on his fifth stint as a team official, and 2nd consecutive stint as a manager, is pleased at the team selection
"We have a very experienced cadre of team officials who I am confident can bring the best out of our team. The team itself features a nice mix of experience who have already made the CARIFTA podium, and debutants who have had excellent recent successes by virtue of national records and attaining top tier qualifying times. This group can be nurtured to ensure we have success when we compete at CCCAN right here in Trinidad and Tobago in June, and I am proud to be a part of this unit."

Among the team veterans are Amira Pilgrim, Kael Yorke, Jada Chai, Justin Samlalsingh and Jeron Thompson who have all won regional medals in the past. Age group recordholders Zarek Wilson, Zoe Anthony, Nikoli Blackman and Josiah Changar are poised to make their CARIFTA debut. Jada Chatoor who established the only national record at the recently concluded NAGLC is also a strong contender for CARIFTA gold.  Trinidad and Tobago continues to participate in the open water portion of the tournament and the Head Coach to lead the charge of this contingent is Mrs. Hazel E Haynes. The members will have a 5km distance on the 19th April, in their quest for CARIFTA metal.

The first national team training session is scheduled for 7am Saturday at the National Aquatic Centre in Couva.

« Last Edit: March 31, 2018, 01:00:07 AM by maxg »

Re: Carifta swimming 2017
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2017, 08:02:38 AM »
Anyone has the T&T squad selection? Who are the swimmers competing ?

Hopefully we see an improvement in team performance this year

« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2017, 10:02:15 AM »
Anyone has the T&T squad selection? Who are the swimmers competing ?

Hopefully we see an improvement in team performance this year
https://www.swimtt.com/single-post/2017/03/22/Strong-T-T-Team-selected-for-CARIFTA-Swim

« Reply #5 on: April 04, 2017, 03:59:31 PM »
maxg, any improvement?

« Reply #6 on: April 04, 2017, 10:05:24 PM »
maxg, any improvement?
We are not there this year Deeks - would have only been Lilman. Competition only starts on 15th. However, judging from the psych sheets, right away, I see we have more swimmers at the meet, and a few in medal contention. This speaks well to the new admin allowing and encouraging the less immediate talent to gain valuable experience, i'm sure this very positive move will bode will for now and in the future. Unfortunately doh, I would not be able to report on the actual competition experience.

« Reply #7 on: April 06, 2017, 04:24:49 AM »
Cool!

Offline Swima

« Reply #8 on: April 06, 2017, 08:46:31 AM »
As head of the technical committees for all sports we are tasked with the following objectives:

• To regain regional prominence in swimming/create more sustained swimming pathways for our potential world class athletes

To grow the sport of water polo beyond its current demographic, and to get our senior team to an Olympic Games by 2028

To grow the sport of Open Water swimming and put on more events during the year

To begin the sports of diving and synchronised swimming and get national representation at regional level within two years.
Carifta is our first test.

Regards.
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #9 on: April 15, 2017, 11:51:07 PM »
As head of the technical committees for all sports we are tasked with the following objectives:

• To regain regional prominence in swimming/create more sustained swimming pathways for our potential world class athletes

To grow the sport of water polo beyond its current demographic, and to get our senior team to an Olympic Games by 2028

To grow the sport of Open Water swimming and put on more events during the year

To begin the sports of diving and synchronised swimming and get national representation at regional level within two years.
Carifta is our first test.

Regards.

I hope we move in the right direction

« Reply #10 on: April 15, 2017, 11:51:19 PM »

« Reply #11 on: April 17, 2017, 03:45:42 AM »

Gabriella Donahue led the medal charge with two golds as Team Trinidad and Tobago bagged five wins on the opening day of the Carifta Swimming Championships at the Betty Kelly Kenning Aquatic Centre in Nassau, Bahamas on Saturday.

Donahue bagged gold in the Girls 13-14 200 metres breaststroke and 50m backstroke. In the 200m breast, she won comfortably in two minutes, 48.01 seconds, ahead of Guadeloupe’s Farah Sheikboudhou (2:49.96) and Sabine Elison of the Cayman Islands (2:48.01). Donahue returned to win the 50m backstroke in 30.55 seconds, marginally slower than her preliminary record swim of 30.36. The first gold medallist Saturday evening, however, was Jada Chatoor in the Girls 13-14 800m freestyle.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170417/sports/donahue-leads-carifta-gold-rush

« Reply #12 on: April 17, 2017, 04:21:28 AM »

Trinidad and Tobago Gabriella Donahue bagged gold in the Girls 13-14 200 metres breaststroke and 50m backstroke

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/kQmhANZAnWY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/kQmhANZAnWY</a>

« Reply #13 on: April 17, 2017, 04:22:06 AM »

I think Bahamas dominating and way ahead of everyone right now

Offline Swima

« Reply #14 on: April 17, 2017, 07:26:30 AM »
Expected that Bahamas would be ahead at home. The goal this year is top three. By 2019, we want to start winning again.

« Reply #15 on: April 17, 2017, 11:00:13 AM »
Expected that Bahamas would be ahead at home. The goal this year is top three. By 2019, we want to start winning again.

I would like to see an improvement from last year. For me its not really what position we finish regardless if its first, second, or third

Offline Swima

« Reply #16 on: April 18, 2017, 04:44:53 AM »

I would like to see an improvement from last year. For me its not really what position we finish regardless if its first, second, or third

...and how would you qualify that improvement?

« Reply #17 on: April 18, 2017, 09:00:48 AM »

Not by finishing first second or third but instead by medal achievement and improvement in swim times. We know how performance has regressed over the last few years so we can compare this year to recent years

« Reply #18 on: April 18, 2017, 11:56:17 AM »
https://www.swimtt.com/single-post/2017/04/18/Yorke-splashes-fly-treble-gold

Yorke splashes fly treble gold

April 18, 2017
|
Jason Wickham - PRO ASATT
Kael Yorke continued his impressive CARIFTA meet in Bahamas by winning gold on Monday evening in the 200 metre butterfly in a personal best 2:09.98.

Yorke won ahead of Luis Sebastian Weekes of Barbados (2:11.18) and John Bodden of Cayman Islands (2:11.42). The 15-17 swimmer has won the 50, 100 and 200 fly in this meet, a feat which he also accomplished in 2015. He also was 8th in the 100m freestyle (53.90).

In addition to Yorke's victory, two other swimmers mounted the top of the medal rostrum in the 200m butterfly. In the 13-14 girls Jahmia Harley stopped the clock on a personal best 2:31.18 to win gold ahead of the Guadeloupe duo of Lucia Francois (2:33.62) and Anouk Kamoise (2:34.48). Jada Chatoor was 5th in 2:40.17. Jae Hwa Lee Wing missed out on precious metal placing 4th in the 13-14 male event in a personal best 2:25.93.

Jada Chai won the 15-17 girls event in 2:30.75 with compatriot Vrisnelit Faure taking silver in 2:31.59, with both athletes achieving personal bests. Albury Higgs of the Bahamas was 3rd (2:31.85).  11- 12 boys Zarek Wilson (2:39.58) and Riquelio Joseph (2:55.18) placed 4th and 8th respectively in their 200 fly race.

Gabriela Donahue continued a golden form winning her fourth individual gold of the meet. The victrix in the 13-14 50 backstroke, 50 butterfly and 200m breaststroke, added the 50m breast to the list winning  gold in a new national record of 34.31 smashing her old record of 35.29. She just missed the CARIFTA record of 34.29. The silver medal went ot Will-Insha Marie Jules-Marthe of Martinique (34.35) with Guadeloupe's Farah Sheikboudhou (35.19) winning bronze. 

After a silver in the 50 fly on Sunday, and a silver in the 2016 15-17 CARIFTA 50 breast, Jeron Thompson splashed gold on Monday evening in the 15-17 50 breast in 29.23 seconds. Thompson edged the Bahamian Izaak Bastian into second (29.39), with Allan Badian of Martinique winning the bronze (30.10). T & T's Luke Gillette was 7th in 31.06. Riquelio Joseph placed 4th in the 11-12 male 50 breast in a personal best 34.95 with compatriot Kyle West placing 6th (35.24). Amira Pilgrim (35.64) and Ileana Bocage (36.69) contributed vital points to T & T as they placed 6th and 8th respectively in the 15-17 girls 50 breast.

T & T's 13-14's golden girls of Jada Chatoor, Regan Allen, Gabriela Donahue and Jahmia Harley won the 800 free relay in 9:04.15 comfortably ahead of Cayman Islands (9:09.35) and Guadeloupe (9:10.23). These girls continue to the impress each athlete has now won at least one individual medal and it is the only T & T age group that has won a relay medal in every swim. They will seek to win their 3rd consecutive relay tonight in the 4 x 50 free. T & T's 13-14 boys (8:51.70), 15-17 boys (8:12.59) and 15-17 girls (9:27.82) place 4th, 5th and 6th respectively in their 800 free relays. The 11-12 mixed freestyle relay was 8th.

Despite the impressive performance Team TTO slipped to 4th on the overall standings with 455.5 points. However with one day to go the team has already surpassed their 2016 score of  437.5. The meet concludes today with the 400m freestyle, 200m backstroke, 50m freestyle, 100m breaststroke and the 200 freestyle relays.

« Reply #19 on: April 18, 2017, 12:14:39 PM »
Some things to note , we sent more competitors this year(kudos to the assoc. for making this possible),Experience counts for plenty. Our 13-14 girls are top of the age group and this reflects in their performances, bodes well for the program into next year. We have a few 11-12 boys bottom of the age group and still making finals, again great for next year. Our 2 strongest 15-17 boys will hopefully be repeating next year, and are medalling(and winning) now in their stronger events and competitive in others. Seems last year and this year our 13-14 boys transition and maintenance needs some work, is the only issue I see.
Outside of Carifta, we need to maintain a 18-24 women program/plan for CCCan and other world competitions. Thinking about this. (tyla Martin, Kristen Julien, Ally Donahue (gabby big sister), Jonnaya Ferdinand, a young lady from England - I think Rebecca Marshall or maybe Hannah Chatfield)
« Last Edit: April 18, 2017, 12:31:10 PM by maxg »

« Reply #20 on: April 18, 2017, 12:35:19 PM »
Swima, how does the association handle/recruit swimmers from Tobago? Historically, what has happened?

Offline Swima

« Reply #21 on: April 18, 2017, 12:35:57 PM »

Not by finishing first second or third but instead by medal achievement and improvement in swim times. We know how performance has regressed over the last few years so we can compare this year to recent years

Fair enough, but we award the overall trophy on the basis of a points tally. Medals tell part of the story, and points provide a little more depth perspective. I think we are moving past our previous medal tally, but we have had some great individual performances. We are still lacking in the depth department, though I think we are getting a little bit better.

Regards.

Offline Swima

« Reply #22 on: April 18, 2017, 12:36:56 PM »
Swima, how does the association handle/recruit swimmers from Tobago? Historically, what has happened?

There is competitive swimming in Tobago and a club that competes at all national events. There are three swimmers on the team who either currently or previously training in Tobago.

« Reply #23 on: April 18, 2017, 12:43:09 PM »

There is competitive swimming in Tobago and a club that competes at all national events. There are three swimmers on the team who either currently or previously training in Tobago.

That's positive.

Would you say that one club meets the needs sufficiently? Seems like a higher yield would be viable?

Offline Swima

« Reply #24 on: April 18, 2017, 02:16:11 PM »

That's positive.

Would you say that one club meets the needs sufficiently? Seems like a higher yield would be viable?

It's a start. If you want to break it down completely, no one is really working at full pelt. Lots of systematic issues. Almost all coaches are part time. Almost all clubs lack sufficient pool time. The aquatic centre provides limited options due to the the financial situation in the country and certain bugetary constraints I am not at liberty to speak about.

It's time the country focus on developing a sporting academy and do systematic development of its young athletes. Too many slipping through the crack. I have heard mention of it in high places, so maybe it is on its way.

« Reply #28 on: April 20, 2017, 11:54:12 PM »

Important for the young local swimmers to remain competing in the next couple months and not become stagnant from competing. They should be engaged in different events attempting to improve their swim times. The infrastructure to develop local potential has to be place..

Offline Swima

« Reply #29 on: April 24, 2017, 03:35:43 AM »
We got nudged put of 2rd by Cayman islands, but we topped the medal table with the most good at the meet. We improved our points total by over 100 easily from last year. So certain parameters have brought satisfaction, but there is a lot of damage to repair in local aquatics.

Onto CCCAN.