March 28, 2024, 05:39:26 AM

Author Topic: Father and Son - Olympic boxing alternates  (Read 4306 times)

Father and Son - Olympic boxing alternates
« on: June 09, 2017, 11:44:41 PM »
What father and son were both boxing alternates on the USA Olympic team.

NOT TALL MAN.

Let me spice this up. Who were the fighters that beat them and for which Olympics?
« Last Edit: June 12, 2017, 01:54:52 PM by vb »

Re: Father and Son - Olympic boxing alternates
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2017, 12:15:35 PM »
What father and son were both boxing alternates on the USA Olympic team.

NOT TALL MAN.

Let me spice this up. Who were the fighters that beat them and for which Olympics?

Hint........father and son both fought in the same division.

« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2017, 03:18:56 PM »
Tallest go ahead.

« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2017, 08:45:38 PM »
Fellas, these two fighters are WELL known.

« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2017, 01:31:55 PM »
Both father and son fought as heavyweights.

« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2017, 11:19:36 AM »

Joe Frazier was the alternate on the USA 1964 Olympic team. He lost in the final to Buster Mathis.
Mathis got injured and Frazier went on to win the Olympic Gold Medal.

Frazier's son, Marvis Frazier, was well on his way to winning the 1980 US Olympics trials against James Broad.
In the final second of the bout Broad knocked him out.

Frazier Jr. only had two losses in his career, vs. Larry Holmes and Mike Tyson. Both in  the first round. The Holmes bout was for the Heavyweight Championship of the world.

« Reply #6 on: July 01, 2017, 05:40:40 PM »
Yuh see dat? All along I thought you meant that they were on the same Olympic team (i.e. the same year).

« Reply #7 on: July 01, 2017, 06:35:40 PM »
Yuh see dat? All along I thought you meant that they were on the same Olympic team (i.e. the same year).

TM, how could they be alternates in the SAME division in the SAME year. That is not mathematically possible.

« Reply #8 on: July 01, 2017, 07:07:52 PM »

TM, how could they be alternates in the SAME division in the SAME year. That is not mathematically possible.

Me eh know. Me eh study all ah dat. Ah know it have instances of parents and children who competed in de same Olympic sport in de same year.