March 28, 2024, 02:43:32 AM

Author Topic: Fire Dennis Lawrence Thread.  (Read 59444 times)

Re: Fire Dennis Lawrence Thread.
« Reply #180 on: November 27, 2018, 10:35:28 PM »
A kid is in high school from 11 to 16, during that time he might (or may not) play with a club in the non-school season.
Pray tell, when will one expect him to develop and improve. Sure there is further and much more to be done after, provided he can afford to stick with football. Not many can afford such a privilege, even in TT where many Nationals feel , if one wants it, yuh just go and get it. However in the real world ..after high school, yuh better start getting yuh vehicle to yuh life in gear and stop playing period. If football is yuh vehicle, on average, yuh can’t be now learning and developing at 20.

Add: my point being, developing should occur during yuh school years, that’s what school supposed to be for,  anything else although fun and glorious,may not be correct. You try to keep learning all yuh life.
Just my opinion
« Last Edit: November 27, 2018, 10:40:18 PM by maxg »

« Reply #181 on: November 27, 2018, 11:52:33 PM »
congo, if not "develop", how about "improve"?

Not even that.

Unless the "improvement" is for them to go to better Universities through scholarship etc.

Remember those games are nothing more than friendly rivalries and bragging rights.

Has nothing to do with developing so why should the schools carry this burden.

Pro League players not even suppose to be playing in SSFL cause that is a step backward and could hamper their development. These are two completely different paths a footballer must take.

Where in the world is a schools' league expected to develop and improve footballers?

We need to start removing SSFL from the football vocabulary. The problem is the pull that it still has that causes players to gravitate towards it for "glory".

Madness

Why is everybody blaming the SSFL here. The schools job is to educate. During your  4 or 5 years in school you are supposed to get an allrounded education. Not books alone. It involve books, sports discipline or disciplines, other extra curricular activities that shape you into a young men or women. Football has always been popular from the days when was only QRC and Saints playing intercol. Remember these school use to play in the POS  league in the lower division. So these guys were playing among men and they developed fast. That is why in the past these college players could transition from high school to the POS and SFA leagues and the national team with very little problem.

Fast forward after 62 when they started the CFL and the brought all the schools, the standard did drop but not much. In addition the entertainment was superb. Intercol is the closest thing we could  compare with the English FA or league cup. School bands and rhythm section, printed jersys for the occasion. Banners and flags.  GIRLS, GIRLS, GIRLS!!!!! As someone who went thru that, I can't tell you that the pro league eh have the atmosphere like that. Have anyone of allyuh been to a pro-league game. The football might be good. The friggin atmosphere is dead.

Now some pro-league people complain that the schools spoiling their players. The schools educating them, not the clubs. If the clubs have a problem with that, then they should have academies with schools where they can educate their players. Just like Bradenton. Then the clubs will not have issues with intercol.

Offline congo

« Reply #182 on: November 28, 2018, 08:59:47 PM »
A kid is in high school from 11 to 16, during that time he might (or may not) play with a club in the non-school season.
Pray tell, when will one expect him to develop and improve. Sure there is further and much more to be done after, provided he can afford to stick with football. Not many can afford such a privilege, even in TT where many Nationals feel , if one wants it, yuh just go and get it. However in the real world ..after high school, yuh better start getting yuh vehicle to yuh life in gear and stop playing period. If football is yuh vehicle, on average, yuh can’t be now learning and developing at 20.

Add: my point being, developing should occur during yuh school years, that’s what school supposed to be for,  anything else although fun and glorious,may not be correct. You try to keep learning all yuh life.
Just my opinion

Yeah but the school can never create a professional player. Remember a professional player can start an EPL game at 16 years old. They already sign professional terms and earning an income from football. That is what our "kids" are up against. In TnT, they do fraud to allow players to neglect education just to play SSFL at the age of 18, 19 and possibly 20. A 20 year old european player is a professional player for atleast 3 years. By that time he would have played for possibly countless teams during his career. Our 20 years old not even sure of their scholarship offers.

SSFL is nothing more than glorified P.E. We shouldn't be looking towards it for anything more than entertainment purposes. That needs to be for the clubs and the clubs alone. Schools could never be academies. No where in the world is this done successfully so why should we try to redo the blue print.

The Pro clubs need to develop our youth players. These youth players need to be in a competitive environment for 9 months atleast out of the year. How is that feasible with the SSFL? It simply isn't. Why is it so hard to have a focused and dedicated youth league with a strong focus on development. Don't we have u15, 17 and u20 national teams to supply.

Schools must never be tasked with creating "Pro" players.

Offline congo

« Reply #183 on: November 28, 2018, 09:14:05 PM »
Deeks

School is for learning and individual development but no environment to create upcoming professional players.

Developing young professional players is a science and SSFL can't replicated that.

What we are seeing today is basically the result of forming our football foundation on the SSFL.

Development needs to a collective effort between TTFA and the youth clubs.

SSFL is nothing more than P.E and played for bragging rights.

No scout is going to rate a group of 16-19 year olds playing in a school league when that same age group in Europe etc are full scale professionals. They sign professional terms at 16? in Europe. These players have mortgages to pay and even children to mine. Is a different type of environment.

The Pro League can't complain about the SSFL and this just shows how out of touch we are with the way football works. If the Pro League clubs want they can offer preferential terms to their youth players for exclusively. But then again, if we had a serious youth programme with proper development then these same players wouldn't be able to play for their schools from Aug to Dec because they would be obligated to represented their clubs for months etc.

Players in Europe go to normal schools during the day and then to their football clubs on the afternoon. This is nothing new.

Sidenote....IF SSFL preseason starting in May/June and the season ends in December? Where exactly the pro league developing youth players? Who developing Youth players?

« Reply #184 on: November 28, 2018, 11:42:40 PM »
Deeks

School is for learning and individual development but no environment to create upcoming professional players.

Trinidad does not have the organization or resources to create upcoming professional players. We have a semi-professional league, regardless of how they call themselves. Thus I agree.

Developing young professional players is a science and SSFL can't replicated that.
They can develop players (not professional), if the focus and goals are mandated and changed. As long as the focus is on winning and glory, coaches will coach to win.

What we are seeing today is basically the result of forming our football foundation on the SSFL.

Development needs to a collective effort between TTFA and the youth clubs.
We can't depend on the TTFA for anything, and not many can go or have the discipline (include parents) to be in youth clubs. Try talking with the coaches of youth clubs, like Laventill youths and Patna village. I did.

SSFL is nothing more than P.E and played for bragging rights.

P.E. stands for physical EDUCATION, it's part of the curricullum.

No scout is going to rate a group of 16-19 year olds playing in a school league when that same age group in Europe etc are full scale professionals. They sign professional terms at 16? in Europe. These players have mortgages to pay and even children to mine. Is a different type of environment.
Agree, yet We cannot compare European professional leagues and their organization to ours. Mango and Apples.

The Pro League can't complain about the SSFL and this just shows how out of touch we are with the way football works. If the Pro League clubs want they can offer preferential terms to their youth players for exclusively. But then again, if we had a serious youth programme with proper development then these same players wouldn't be able to play for their schools from Aug to Dec because they would be obligated to represented their clubs for months etc.

Pro league clubs do not necessarily get the best potential players, they usually get the rest, however although they do work with what they have, the actual coaching and development in some cases are subpar. There are time, financial and long term commitment factors.

Players in Europe go to normal schools during the day and then to their football clubs on the afternoon. This is nothing new.

We do not have the infrastructure for that. In many cases we have a problem with normal schooling, farless sport-etude schooling.

Sidenote....IF SSFL preseason starting in May/June and the season ends in December? Where exactly the pro league developing youth players? Who developing Youth players?
That is the $200,000 US question, before we can make a decision. We need the successful, knowledgeable ex-players and coaches to give back. Yet I know ppl who tried and locals felt that those returnees(especially the foreign ones), come to take their power, prestige and job. So sour grapes before,during and after. Thus my point being, attitudes need to be modified, and this should be the education and development mandate of the TTFA. If they can get their house in order.  Your further thoughts would be appreciated.

add:
We need more of these, and follow up by local coaches. Thanks Mz Ahye

https://newsday.co.tt/2018/11/27/ahye-coaching-and-family-day-in-december/

Then there is this story

https://newsday.co.tt/2018/11/30/support-needed-for-at-risk-footballers/
« Last Edit: November 30, 2018, 01:30:59 AM by maxg »

Offline ffisback

« Reply #185 on: December 02, 2018, 07:20:55 AM »
The reality is the football game has been changed in the 80s the U S A and the central American leagues were all semi pro leagues in the 90s the U S A and Costa Rica  and now the rest of Central American leagues are now fully professional the pro league is just a bunch amateur players and coach's claiming to be professional and now they have been fully exposed TT just cannot compete anymore the TTFF needs a real leader somebody who is going to make some serious changes to TT football the SSFL cannot cut it anymore the pro league and the national team should be focusing on bringing the youths threw.

« Reply #186 on: December 02, 2018, 04:08:50 PM »
The reality is the football game has been changed in the 80s the U S A and the central American leagues were all semi pro leagues in the 90s the U S A and Costa Rica  and now the rest of Central American leagues are now fully professional the pro league is just a bunch amateur players and coach's claiming to be professional and now they have been fully exposed TT just cannot compete anymore the TTFF needs a real leader somebody who is going to make some serious changes to TT football the SSFL cannot cut it anymore the pro league and the national team should be focusing on bringing the youths threw.
You must therefore agree this is not under the control of the National team coach, regardless of whoever they ARE.
The National team coach cannot, and should not bring the youths thru, if he have more skilled, more coachable, even if older guys , yet 30 % better. This is National team, not football camp. Sure you can have inviteees for training, but not until they are ready can they be invited, farless played.
BTW: we have many good players on scholarships in US, but not enuff scouts to take a look at all. We have many young foreign born citizens, shouldn't they get a sniff ? You already indicated that SSFL not up to par. So in the meanwhile what is any coach to do. He could only work with who he see, and he can't see many, we just can't afford it. And if those he see, not up to par internationally, by our (the fan) standards should he change them for those that not up to par locally. Just for a Change ?  As a great Calypsonian once sang "Yuh looking for Horn. Penty, Plenty Horn, boy"   ;D
« Last Edit: December 02, 2018, 04:24:09 PM by maxg »

« Reply #187 on: December 04, 2018, 03:52:58 PM »
DL headed to wrexham..

Pop ah bottle....

« Reply #188 on: December 05, 2018, 08:05:11 AM »
If DL goes who do you think will probably coach the team? Stuart Charles. Maybe Angus. Maybe Saintfait again ? Who you think has to approve. DJW.

« Reply #189 on: December 05, 2018, 12:50:31 PM »
If DL goes who do you think will probably coach the team? Stuart Charles. Maybe Angus. Maybe Saintfait again ? Who you think has to approve. DJW.
Eve is d only local home based coach with d know how to get results in concacaf..... but not in DJW balls lickin circle so..................

« Reply #190 on: December 05, 2018, 12:54:37 PM »
Eve is d only local home based coach with d know how to get results in concacaf..... but not in DJW balls lickin circle so..................

Yuh could draw one ah dat with ah compass?

« Reply #191 on: December 05, 2018, 03:41:39 PM »

explain ??? he was ah chief complainer about not getting NT coachin gigs not too long ago

« Reply #192 on: December 05, 2018, 04:14:45 PM »

explain ??? he was ah chief complainer about not getting NT coachin gigs not too long ago

Nah, I on kicks. Just de image of ah ball lickin circle crack meh up.

« Reply #193 on: December 05, 2018, 05:14:16 PM »

Nah, I on kicks. Just de image of ah ball lickin circle crack meh up.

oh ok didn ketch dat ;D

« Reply #194 on: December 05, 2018, 10:34:28 PM »
DL headed to wrexham..

Pop ah bottle....

The guardian say he staying put. So hard luck dey Contro. Cork back your champaigne.

« Reply #195 on: December 05, 2018, 10:46:45 PM »
DL headed to wrexham..

Pop ah bottle....

The guardian say he staying put. So hard luck dey Contro. Cork back your champaigne.

Where you see that?

« Reply #196 on: December 06, 2018, 01:48:49 PM »
DL headed to wrexham..

Pop ah bottle....

Where you see that?

I cyah bring up the guardian article. But the Express has it also.

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/sports/local/ttfa-holding-on-to-lawrence/article_dbdf47a4-f8f2-11e8-b2ca-d788c4017a76.html

Offline ffisback

« Reply #197 on: December 09, 2018, 10:19:05 PM »
You must therefore agree this is not under the control of the National team coach, regardless of whoever they ARE.
The National team coach cannot, and should not bring the youths thru, if he have more skilled, more coachable, even if older guys , yet 30 % better. This is National team, not football camp. Sure you can have inviteees for training, but not until they are ready can they be invited, farless played.
BTW: we have many good players on scholarships in US, but not enuff scouts to take a look at all. We have many young foreign born citizens, shouldn't they get a sniff ? You already indicated that SSFL not up to par. So in the meanwhile what is any coach to do. He could only work with who he see, and he can't see many, we just can't afford it. And if those he see, not up to par internationally, by our (the fan) standards should he change them for those that not up to par locally. Just for a Change ?  As a great Calypsonian once sang "Yuh looking for Horn. Penty, Plenty Horn, boy"   ;D
You talking some real nonsense bro nobody does that anymore if those players who got scholarships in the U S A were that good professional clubs in the U S A would have sign them how many players that got scholarships in the U S A was signed by the MLS in the last decade or even the USL getting scholarships to schools in the USA does not prepare you for professional football that's just a higher level of amateur football and like I said before don't waste your time on a bunch of amateurs .
Getting players from the UK is okay because they are already professionals but players playing in the amateur league in the USA is a waste of time.
Here is a bit of reality for you this is why DL is failing with the players he is picking no club in the MLS is going to sign a player 25 years old and still playing in the pro league none of the top 25 leagues in Europe will sign a player 22 years old still playing in the pro league those players DL picking have limited potential those players will only get sign by teams in the USL or the lower level leagues in Asia what TT needs is somebody with vision that understands the world today not the same old amateur thinking that got TT no were somebody that knows a club in Europe will take a 19 year old player instead of a 23 year old player even if the 23 year old is just a little better now but the key is the future not the now.

« Reply #198 on: May 03, 2019, 06:57:54 PM »
So what is DL record since he took the helm ?

How  about how many matches he won in last 10 matches?

« Reply #199 on: May 03, 2019, 10:21:25 PM »

21 played, 5 wins, 4 draws, and 12 losses

« Reply #200 on: May 03, 2019, 10:33:44 PM »

21 played, 5 wins, 4 draws, and 12 losses

Yes, DL has a terrible record as seen above. But honestly, can you really passed judgement on the coach when we have an absolute mad house running our football. No developmental programs, no money. No money, no developmental programs. No friendlies o keep our team active.  And now we have the Venezuela situation.

« Reply #201 on: May 04, 2019, 03:07:20 AM »
well when d HART of the team was given marching orders...wha yuh expect....

Well he creating ah new soul for Trini players abroad....

https://hfxwanderersfc.canpl.ca/roster

http://www.guardian.co.tt/sports/hart-my-job-was-incomplete-6.2.360920.dd48e3fe11
« Last Edit: May 04, 2019, 03:10:10 AM by rotatopoti3 »

Offline ffisback

« Reply #202 on: June 18, 2019, 07:52:39 PM »
That football was just disgraceful they better stop wasteing time with this guy.

« Reply #203 on: June 18, 2019, 07:54:22 PM »
Shameful!!!!

« Reply #204 on: June 18, 2019, 08:24:19 PM »
That football was just disgraceful they better stop wasteing time with this guy.
ok fine, who are they going to get and who’s going to pay them? I hope you’re aware that the federation is broke and the government even more broke.

Offline ffisback

« Reply #205 on: June 18, 2019, 09:32:48 PM »
If we keep him we are screwed if we fire him we are screwed it dose not matter we going to get screwed any way we might as well fire him and move on just don't hire another overrated Trinidadian to coach the team.

« Reply #206 on: June 18, 2019, 09:57:41 PM »
Shameful!!!!
it really was. no food for these bastards for a week, that aught to sort them out. ;D

« Reply #207 on: June 19, 2019, 12:35:38 AM »
'I see myself more at a national team than a club' - Mourinho reveals future plans
Goal.com.

Jose Mourinho has dropped hints to his future plans, revealing that he sees himself becoming the manager of a national team rather than another club.

The former Manchester United boss has been out of coaching work since being sacked by the Red Devils in December 2018 and has recently appeared as a pundit for broadcaster beIN SPORTS.

In an interview broadcast by Eleven Sports however, the 56-year-old revealed he still has the desire to take on new challenges in the world of management.

“I want to compete in new competitions,” he said.

“I think about the World Cup and the European Championships.

“For a long time I have had the desire to try out such an adventure. Right now, I see myself more at a national team than with a new club.

“Is Portugal the right team for me? Not necessarily.”

The self-proclaimed ‘special one’ has enjoyed a glittering career in club management since lifting his first league title with Porto in 2003 – a year before the Primeira Liga side won the UEFA Champions League.

Mourinho would go on to lift the Champions League once more with Inter in 2010, but not before winning consecutive Premier League titles with Chelsea in 2005 and 2006, as well as four domestic trophies.

He added his fourth league title in as many countries with Real Madrid in 2012, and although his spell at Manchester United may not have gone as planned, there is no question that there is little left for him to achieve in club management.

The 56-year-old did not rule out a return to club football when speaking earlier in June however, telling Eleven Sports: “Winning a fifth championship in a different country or the Champions League with a third club are things I'd like to do.

“I wouldn't do it just for that. I only go where a project convinces me.
"I want to be happy, not necessarily win, I want to be happy and I don't want to accept a proposal without being convinced of it, that's what I've always thought.

“That's why if [a club] told me 'today there are no conditions to win, but we want you to create the conditions to win', then I would evaluate it.”

« Reply #208 on: June 19, 2019, 01:23:53 AM »
Firstly, both jones and greg should start

Secondly, lawrence isnt coaching to the best of his ability, hes sabotaging the team, you cant have that type of exposure and experience and make such terrible decisions.

Thirdly, even if for some remote reason its not sabotage, then hes not the coach that can bring out any attacking flair like Hart did... we won games and played dangerous football from even being behind in games with Harts ability to play attacking football...

Get rid of the cancer, thats what has kept us down for decades, corrupt people being allowed to rule and sabotage our football...
« Last Edit: June 19, 2019, 01:26:22 AM by Controversial »

« Reply #209 on: June 19, 2019, 01:26:24 AM »
Dennis at least has an interest in local football and is a son of the soil. We're broke thanks to disgusting mismanagement by DJW and if we changed now that absolute self-serving cretin would pick the replacement.