March 28, 2024, 12:23:53 PM

Author Topic: 2018 Caribbean Women's World Cup Qualifiers  (Read 29315 times)

Re: 2018 Caribbean Women's World Cup Qualifiers
« Reply #30 on: May 26, 2018, 06:54:06 AM »
:salute: :thumbsup:
Thanks for your public service sir

;D dais nuh no scene ;D jus doin my part :beermug:

« Reply #31 on: May 27, 2018, 06:24:07 PM »
so wha going on ? besides Orlando double Carnival

« Reply #32 on: May 27, 2018, 06:28:42 PM »

we in de next rounds after dropping 13 on Grenada. 

« Reply #33 on: May 27, 2018, 06:30:07 PM »

we in de next rounds after dropping 13 on Grenada. 
:wavetowel:

« Reply #34 on: May 27, 2018, 06:56:42 PM »
Sweet!  How de skn vs usvi game finish?

« Reply #35 on: May 27, 2018, 07:22:03 PM »
Sweet!  How de skn vs usvi game finish?

7-0 St Kitts

« Reply #36 on: May 27, 2018, 07:26:48 PM »
 :thumbsup:

« Reply #37 on: May 28, 2018, 04:38:00 AM »
T&T secures top spot in Group C with 13-0 win over Grenada.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago secured first place in Group C of the CONCACAF Caribbean Women’s Qualifiers with a business-like 13-0 victory over Grenada in Sunday’s final group match at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva, Trinidad.

Needing to win by at least six goals to finish ahead of second placed St Kitts and Nevis and which had earlier beaten US Virgin Islands 7-0 to keep their chances of advancing very much alive, the hosts came out with all guns blazing and went into the half-time interview already ahead by six goals to nil.

Seventeen-year old forward Alliyah Prince, in her first start of the competition, led the way with a hattrick, scoring in the 43rd, 88th and 90th minutes while there were double strikes from captain Tasha St Louis in the 42nd and 92nd minute along with Jonelle Cato in the 45th and 54th. Janine Francos in the 51st and 80th and Mariah Shade in the 33rd and 82nd minutes.

T&T got things going with a 10th minute opening item through Kedie Johnson whose angled drive into the far corner of the net left the Grenada goalkeeper with no chance and the hosts never looked back in front of a lively home crowd. Jenelle Cunningham made it 2-0 in the 13th minute.

T&T head coach Jamaal Shabazz later credited his players for taking care of business and completing their first mission which was to advance to the final stage of the CONCACAF Caribbean qualifiers.

“God is greatest. Credit to the girls. They had a task ahead of them and they never disbelieved. We always believed we would finish on top of the group and we did. There were some up moments and down moments and I think we can take away a lot from this tournament,” Shabazz said.

T&T and St Kitts set up last day battle to the wire

Trinidad and Tobago and St Kitts and Nevis played to an intense 1-1 draw in their Group C encounter in CONCACAF Caribbean Women’s Qualifying on Friday, setting up an intriguing final day at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva, Trinidad on Sunday.

The result left both teams on seven points but the hosts are ahead on a +thirteen goal difference with St Kitts on a +eleven. Trinidad and Tobago will face Grenada and St Kitts will battle US Virgin Islands in Sunday’s final set of matches following which the Group winner will be determined to move on to the CONCACAF Caribbean Final round in July.

St Kitts stunned the home team and their fans at the Ato Boldon when they took a 3rd-minute penalty through Rozel Liburd and they left T&T nervous for long periods as they came close on several occasions but just could not find the equalizing goal. The penalty resulted from a handball offense by Ayana Russell. It took a well taken right-footed free-kick from the edge of the penalty box by captain Tasha St Louis in the 79th minute to get a share of the points.

Before T&T tied it, St Kitts had a chance to double their lead back in the 20th minute when Brittany Lawrence shot just wide after goalkeeper Saundra Baron punched a free kick into her path. T&T would then go on to enjoy more possession and pressured their opponents with a series of attacks but poor finishing let them down along with timely saves by St Kitts Goalkeeper Kyra Dickinson.

“It was a bit emotional really,” St Kitts head coach Earl Jones said after the match. “I thought it was a well-fought game. Trinidad are the favorites in the group and we came in here as what you call the underdogs and we decided we were coming here to put up a good fight,” Jones told CONCACAF.com

“We give it our best. This team has been together for less than a month and we showed that we can compete. We will go down fighting right until the end on Sunday,” Jones said.

His opposite number, T&T head coach Jamaal Shabazz reacted to the match by saying, “What a game! Not one good for the heart but sometimes you got to fight. Sometimes we don’t like to fight but sometimes it’s good for you and tonight it proved good for us.

“We created sixteen, seventeen chances but what was better with St Kitts is that they are better on the ball. For the first time in the tournament, we really had to defend. If we had scored our chances then it would have been an easier game for us. The Almighty decided that we must fight,” Shabazz added. “It is part of the journey to have difficult moments also.”

In Saturday’s earlier game, Grenada picked up their first point of the competition with a 1-1 draw with Dominica.  Romelcia Phillip gave Dominica a 1-0 lead in the 29th minute before Monique George equalized for Grenada in the 64th.

Grenada head coach Andrew Munro told CONCACAF.com that his team decided that they would not be heavy losers in every match in the competition after previous losing to St Kitts and Nevis 10-0 and US Virgin Islands 3-0.

“It was a good result for us. We lost the first two games because we did not play particularly well and we struggled to settle. But today I was proud to see how the players fought right until the final whistle and it’s good to see we were able to get a point from the game. This will boost our confidence and we’ll try to have a similar performance on Sunday,” Munro said.

Dominica’s head coach Rajesh Latchoo meantime was not pleased with his side’s showing. They finished the tournament with four points from their four games.

“I was not pleased. I thought we should have won the game. I know we were a bit tired because it’s been four games now but I didn’t expect us to make certain poor decisions. We gave them too much time on the ball. We didn’t execute on the day. Now we have to evaluate our performances. The girls have come a long way despite the disappointment of not advancing but we have something to build on from here and we’ll go back to training and be continuing our programme,” Latchoo told CONCACAF.com.

Teams

Trinidad and Tobago: 1.Saundra Baron (GK); 4.Rhea Belgrave, 2.Ayana Russell, 5.Jenelle Cunningham (17.Shaunalee Govia, 68’), 7.Jonelle Cato (13.Andrea Young, 71’); 11.Janine Francois, 18.Naomie Guerra; 19.Aaliyah Prince, 10.Tasha St Louis, 16.Kedie Johnson (6.Natasha St Louis, 62’); 9.Mariah Shade.

Subs not used – 20.Nicolette Craig (GK), 3.Anastasia Prescott, 8.Patrice Superville, 12.Shanelle Arjoon, 14.Karyn Forbes, 15.Taylor Mims.

Coach: Jamaal Shabazz

Grenada: 1.Connie John (captain) (GK); 16.Carena Noel, 3.Treasher Valcin (12.Samantha McSween. 46’), 20.Grace John, 5.Nikita Paul (17.Keldonna Jeffery, 70’), 14.Shanthan Charles; 6.Erin Sylvester, 15.Merissa Charles (4.Kristal Julien, 46’), 8.Maya Hadeed; 7.Monique George, 9.Ruth Lewis.

Subs not used – 2.Reshada Charles (GK), 10.Malia Ramdhanny, 11.Amber Dominique, 13.Shaniah Johnson, 18.Shikkira Charles, 19.Diamond Lewis.

Coach: Andrew Munro

Referee: Astrid Gramajo (Guatemala)

Videos -

Shabazz's post match reactions after 13-0 win over Grenada

Prince: Hard Work paid off

Cunningham talks about 13-0 win which pushed T&T through to CONCACAF Caribbean final phase

RELATED NEWS

Soca Princesses advance.
By Walter Alibey (Guardian).

T&T women’s footballers advanced to the final Concacaf play-off series of the Concacaf Caribbean Women’s World Cup Qualifiers after they defeated Grenada in their final Group C encounter at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva last night.

The results ensured that T&T progresses ahead of St Kitts/Nevis on a superior goal difference. Striker Aaliyah Prince led the way for the host with a hat-trick.

Needing to win by six clear goals after St Kitts/Nevis hammered the United States Virgin Islands (USVI) 7-0 in the first match of a double-header, T&T wasted little time from kick-off when midfielder Kedie Johnson, who came in as a replacement for Summer Arjoon, caught goalkeeper Connie John napping with a blistering drive from the left that flew past her in the tenth minute to put her team 1-0 up.

The goal literally opened up the floodgates, diminishing any chance St Kitts/Nevis had. Grenada’s shaky defence accounted for the second goal, failing to clear Tasha St Louis’ left side cross from a free kick, and defender Jenelle Cunningham fired home the loose ball four minutes later.

Mariah Shade, St Louis, Aaliyah Prince and Jinelle Cato later found the net to give T&T a 6-0 half-time lead, which was sufficient for the home team to top the group with a half still to play.

T&T could have afforded to take their feet off the pedal thereafter, but instead, midfielder Janine Francois continued the rout by converting Shade’s right side cross in the 50th. Later, Cato added her second on the night in the 52nd and Shade and Francois also doubled up with items in the 80th and 82nd.

With Grenada attempting to regroup, forward Prince completed her hat-trick, two of them from through balls, to fire past John in the 88th and 90th, respectively, for a 12-0 advantage.

Captain St Louis completed the rout in the 92nd minute when she steered in Prince centre from the right for a 13-0 victory.

FINAL GROUP C STANDING

Team P W D L F A GD Pts
1. T&T 4 3 1 0 27 1 26 10
2. St Kitts/Nevis 4 3 1 0 20 2 18 10
3. Dominica 4 1 1 2 5 6 -1 4
4. USVI 4 1 1 2 3 20 -24 3
5. Grenada 4 0 1 3 1 14 -26 0

« Reply #38 on: May 28, 2018, 06:49:39 PM »
WATCH: Highlights of Trinidad and Tobago Women’s 13-0 win over Grenada

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/NdB2nQXhtrY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/NdB2nQXhtrY</a>

« Reply #39 on: May 28, 2018, 09:36:20 PM »
ahhmmm...so no congrats for Shabazz from forumites...or we only have voice for he when we lorse...regardless of the competition, he led dem through.. Well done, Shabazz. hope you invite Waldrum for next round, remember you doh travel well..we doh pay he anyway

« Reply #40 on: May 29, 2018, 02:41:52 AM »
Shabazz to experiment at CAC Games.
By Joel Bailey (Newsday).

JAMAAL Shabazz, Trinidad and Tobago women’s football team coach, has hailed the maturity of the squad during their campaign, in Group C of the 2018 CONCACAF Women’s Championship Qualification Caribbean Zone phase.

T&T topped Group C, ahead of St Kitts/Nevis, on a better goal difference (plus-26 to St Kitts/Nevis’ plus-18), after both teams ended with 10 points from four games. Dominica were third with four points, followed by the US Virgin Islands (three) and Grenada (one).

The respective group winners – T&T, Cuba (Group A), Jamaica (Group B), Antigua/Barbuda (Group D) and Bermuda (Group E), will advance to the Caribbean Zone Final Round, from August 25 to September 2, at a venue to be determined.

The T&T women’s team will be participating in the Central American and Caribbean (CAC) Games in Baranquilla, Colombia from July 19-30. T&T have been drawn in Group B, alongside Haiti, Mexico and Nicaragua, with hosts Colombia, Costa Rica, Jamaica and Venezuela listed in Group A.

Shabazz, in a post-game media conference on Sunday, after the T&T team’s 13-0 demolition of Grenada at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva, commented, “The next tournament is the CAC Games.”

He continued, “We have about five or six players to bring in to the squad to compete for places. We’re going to re-invite some players locally. The CAC Games provides tougher opposition and it will be just the kind of exposure we need before the Caribbean Finals in August.”

Shabazz acknowledged that the CAC Games “(is) a chance to try and experiment with what can work at that level and what wouldn’t work. These games (do) not qualify us for anything so it’s no real pressure for us.”

However, he pointed out, “I’ve heard that there is a new policy by the Government about funding, when you (earn) a medal. Finance is an important part. So, if we get a medal, that will be a good incentive for the country, and for us going into the Final Round.”

Reflecting on the team’s growth, Shabazz said, “I think they’re maturing. I think we have players like Karyn Forbes who is emerging as a future leader in the team (as well as defender) Jenelle Cunningham. This is a plus for us.”

T&T needed to win Sunday’s game by six clear goals to top the group and advance to the Final Round.

Shabazz admitted that he was more nervous than the players, after watching St Kitts/Nevis momentarily take top spot after spanking the USVI 7-0 in the earlier match on Sunday.

“I was more nervous than them,” said Shabazz. “(On Saturday) night, listening to the team talk in a meeting, they were all very confident. They have a deep desire to go forward and they demonstrated that. I was trying to call them off when it was 10 goals and they said ‘no, let’s play’. And this is what they did.”

Forbes, right-sided utility player Patrice Superville and left-winger Summer Arjoon were replaced in the starting eleven by Naomie Guerra, Aaliyah Prince (who netted a hat-trick) and Kedie Johnson.

Shabazz admitted that he took the opportunity to rest Forbes and a few players who were carrying minor injuries.

“Everybody except the reserve goalkeeper (Nicolette Craig) got a chance to play,” he said. “At this stage, we accomplished what we set out to do, to widen the pool and start to re-establish ourselves as a dominant team in Caribbean football.”

Asked about the performance of the 17-year-old Prince, the youngest member of the team, Shabazz replied, “She played, in the first half, in a position she didn’t like (on the right flank) but we needed her to do that. She responded well and she’s fitted in very well with the seniors.”

The T&T coach continued, “She’s one player we see has a bright future. Her attitude is a good one, she listens to the older players and this is one (player) we really have to keep an eye on.”

About the team itself, the former Guyana and T&T men’s coach remarked, “There are areas that we showed strength in and there are areas that we need to bring into the team. We’re still four or five players short of a team that we can say ‘we can get there’. (Utility player) Liana Hinds, for instance, can make a big difference.

“We have two players that we’re working on. As soon as we finalise the paperwork, I think they’ll be a big plus for this team,” he added.

RELATED NEWS

Shabazz: The players believed.
By Walter Alibey (Guardian).

T&T’s qualification for the final round of the Concacaf Caribbean Women Qualifiers was due mainly to the belief of the women, Jamaal Shabazz, the country’s women’s coach said on Sunday night after his charges crushed Grenada 13-0 to win Group C of the playoff on goal difference.

Needing to win by six clear goals, the T&T coach made a few changes to his team, replacing instrumental defensive midfielder Karyn Forbes with Naomie Guerra and picking Kedie Johnson and Aaliyah Prince ahead of talented wingers Summer Arjoon and Patrice Superville.

It, however, did not prevent the dominant display by the hosts, scoring six goals in the first half and seven in the second.

Shabazz said the girls never doubted themselves, even though there were things in the media he thought would have affected them. According to Shabazz, the girls had a deep desire to win the group and on Sunday night they displayed just that.

“At this stage, I think we accomplished what we had set about to, which was to widen the pool and then start to re-establish ourselves as a dominant team in the Caribbean,” he said.

The team will now turn its attention to the Central American and Caribbean (CAC) Games from July 19 — August 3 in Colombia, which the coach said will be used as preparation for the final Concacaf Caribbean World Cup Qualifiers.

“The CAC Games provides tougher opposition and it will be just the kind of opposition we need before the Caribbean final in August.”

Apart from the CAC Games, the T&T women could also be set to take on their Venezuelan counterparts in two week’s time, following a request by the South Americans.

Shabazz told the media at a post-match press conference after his team’s demolition of Grenada in Couva, that he will make all attempts to secure the friendly with the Venezuelans, and will also try to get another international friendly game before the end of July.

A thorough assessment of the knocks the players picked up in the tournament will be done soon before the team returns to training. Intense sessions are expected indicated Shabazz, that will require players to be available to train four to five days a week.

Shabazz believes his team is currently missing about four to five top players to be ready for the final qualifiers. As such he will invite some local and international players to join the team.

The Morvant Caledonia United coach also said he is currently in the process of organising the paperwork for two surprise players that will be a tremendous boost to his team.

« Last Edit: May 29, 2018, 02:54:53 AM by Flex »

« Reply #41 on: May 29, 2018, 04:23:53 AM »
ahhmmm...so no congrats for Shabazz from forumites...or we only have voice for he when we lorse...regardless of the competition, he led dem through.. Well done, Shabazz. hope you invite Waldrum for next round, remember you doh travel well..we doh pay he anyway
Maxg, this is not uncommon, yuh know dat...nobody wants failure, we jus know when failure more likely to happen CAC is a god send though, ah litmus test and more importantly challenge and by extension, assessment.....i want us to at least compete, I want shabazz to show actual tactical awareness.....and please god TTFA put tings in place to help dem ladies  to dey peak physical condition.........PLEASE!

But for now well done girls and coach d first step done

Sent from my SM-J105B using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: May 29, 2018, 04:32:54 AM by lefty »

« Reply #42 on: May 29, 2018, 03:43:18 PM »
No e, maxg. I appears that much people eh following this tournament. I followed to first 2 games and went out of town. Just reading that they won by a huge margin again. So congrats to all involved. I am impressed that they will be attending the CAC games. If they perform well in Colombia then that will be a sign that Shabazz is getting traction with the team's upward performance. Congrats and good luck on the next move.

« Reply #43 on: May 31, 2018, 12:38:25 AM »
Give our women’s football a fair chance.
By Colin Murray (Guardian).

I had planned my column this week to revisit some of the top European football leagues, and of course the Champions League final where the most entertaining club in Europe – Liverpool – was unlucky to lose to Real Madrid; Salah’s injury was a massive game changer. Those of you who know me are well aware that I have been a lifelong Liverpool fan since the days when Roger Hunt was bulging the old onion bag with goal after goal. But we will save the top European leagues for another time and I will preview the upcoming 2018-2019 season after the World Cup.

The reason for my diversion is simple. I was left astounded when I heard Maylee Attin-Johnson speak about the state of women’s football in T&T and why she won’t be wearing our national colours again. Now let me state upfront, I have great respect for this young lady. I met her a couple years ago when I was doing commentary on a World Cup qualifier for CNC3 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. Maylee, along with Stern John and Russell Latapy, were analysing the T&T performance at half-time and at the end of the game. I found her to be honest and quite knowledgeable in summing up the performance but more than that, she seemed unfazed to call a spade a spade, in terms of any player she felt was not giving 100% which is what I admired about her. Naturally, this left her open to creating enemies within the sport.

Our women footballers have begun their long journey for qualification for the 2019 FIFA World Cup in France by so far dominating the Caribbean Women’s group C tournament against teams that we should have relatively no problem in overcoming. However, as we move closer and closer to France 2019, the opponents will become tougher. We only have to review our performance in the 2015 World Cup qualifiers which saw our women’s team finish fourth in the Concacaf Championship before they were narrowly beaten 1-0 by Ecuador here in T&T. This after holding them to a goalless draw away from home in the inter-continental play-off that denied us a spot at the finals in Germany. Ecuador went on to lose all 3 matches in the group stage of the World Cup scoring 1 goal and conceding 17. That precisely sums up what we are going to encounter if we were to ever qualify for a Women’s World Cup.

So why is Maylee not part of T&T’s plans even though she gives 150% when wearing the red, white and black? I also read that attempts are being made to convince her and another stalwart - Akheela Mollon - to return to the team. I understand that Maylee is willing to return to the team, however, she believes the set up needs to change, and we cannot attempt the same formula which has proven not to work and expect different results.

I know there would be those of you saying no one is bigger than the game and while I totally agree with that statement, I am firm of the opinion that this is not the case here. This does not seem to be a question of players being underpaid or players wanting to play a different system, it appears to be the need for a more professional approach to the way we do things and with how we treat and analyse opponents. I have seen so many of our different sporting organisations competing in tournaments for the experience, knowing full well we would not stand a chance. However, they fool the sport-loving public by saying either the team is well prepared tactically and they are fit so we should do well, and then we lose every game and the poor excuses begin. You can easily cast your mind back to our Under-17 Girls tournament when the team was unfit and we did not seem to have the tactical knowledge of our opponents, and we looked poor and totally disjointed.

It is unfortunate that we still have Administrators who think they know everything and when players make solid suggestions, they are quickly shut down and in some cases banished from the team. The old adage often comes to the fore - “who running the show”. Maylee Attin-Johnson has the experience. She knows what it takes for us to have any chance of qualifying. She has blood, sweat and tears for this country. Why not give her a hearing and understand if her suggestions make any sense, give them a chance. I do understand there has been some type of dialogue but of course, there is a standoff and she must be hurting inside to take the stance she has taken; but it is quite obvious she believes in her opinion.

It really appears to me there will be no solution unless our wonderful Administrators sit around a table and at least try and work out an amicable solution. I am not saying for one moment that if these players, together with Maylee play, that we will qualify for the 2019 World Cup but for ‘David’s’ sake, let’s have our best team on the pitch to fight for our twin-island republic and make our people proud. We deserve it.

Meanwhile, congrats to the Chennai Super Kings who were crowned champions of the 2018 IPL, just as I predicted.

« Reply #44 on: May 31, 2018, 09:07:43 AM »

I had planned my column this week to revisit some of the top European football leagues, and of course the Champions League final where the most entertaining club in Europe – Liverpool – was unlucky to lose to Real Madrid; Salah’s injury was a massive game changer. Those of you who know me are well aware that I have been a lifelong Liverpool fan since the days when Roger Hunt was bulging the old onion bag with goal after goal. But we will save the top European leagues for another time and I will preview the upcoming 2018-2019 season after the World Cup.

The reason for my diversion is simple. I was left astounded when I heard Maylee Attin-Johnson speak about the state of women’s football in T&T and why she won’t be wearing our national colours again. Now let me state upfront, I have great respect for this young lady. I met her a couple years ago when I was doing commentary on a World Cup qualifier for CNC3 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. Maylee, along with Stern John and Russell Latapy, were analysing the T&T performance at half-time and at the end of the game. I found her to be honest and quite knowledgeable in summing up the performance but more than that, she seemed unfazed to call a spade a spade, in terms of any player she felt was not giving 100% which is what I admired about her. Naturally, this left her open to creating enemies within the sport.

Worthy diversion.

Although on some occasions the player has struggled with separating skirmishes from battles and battles from wars, history - when ultimately it's documented - will be kind to Maylee Attin-Johnson.

The skirmish, battle and war dissonance stems from her personal narrative and how long she's been in town conscientiously absorbing the scene as an invested stakeholder. Some just want to play regardless. Maylee wants to play with a clear conscience that doesn't endorse mediocrity. However, when the going is right off the field, she will run through a wall for yuh on the field. Sort it.

Some of those issues are why we are having a conversation about returning players with birthdates in the mid-80s to the field and have had a huge gap in generating/keeping a critical number of players who would be their successors.

« Reply #45 on: May 31, 2018, 03:01:45 PM »

Worthy diversion.

Although on some occasions the player has struggled with separating skirmishes from battles and battles from wars, history - when ultimately it's documented - will be kind to Maylee Attin-Johnson.

The skirmish, battle and war dissonance stems from her personal narrative and how long she's been in town conscientiously absorbing the scene as an invested stakeholder. Some just want to play regardless. Maylee wants to play with a clear conscience that doesn't endorse mediocrity. However, when the going is right off the field, she will run through a wall for yuh on the field. Sort it.

Some of those issues are why we are having a conversation about returning players with birthdates in the mid-80s to the field and have had a huge gap in generating/keeping a critical number of players who would be their successors.

Fair assessment. Great understanding Seeker.

When we know our worth, we will refuse to accept less than the best. We will also instill these important values in posterity.

« Reply #46 on: June 01, 2018, 01:52:09 AM »
“I tried to call them off!” Shabazz says T&T players refused to show Grenada mercy; reveals future plans.
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868).

Crisis? What crisis?

A potentially tricky assignment was last night transformed into a “coming out” party at the Ato Boldon Stadium, where the Trinidad and Tobago Women’s National Senior Team put a humbling 13-0 whipping on their Grenadian counterparts.

The Women Soca Warriors needed only six goals to qualify and, by halftime, they had already got those. Coach Jamaal Shabazz revealed that he had asked his players to take their feet off the gas, once they hit double figures—but his plea fell on deaf ears.

“I was more nervous than them [on the night before the game],” said Shabazz, at the post-game media conference. “[…] They never doubted… They have a deep desire to go forward and they demonstrated that today.

“[…] I was trying to call them off when we had 10 goals and they said, ‘No, let’s play and let’s devour them.’ And they did.”

There will be tougher opponents than Grenada—who conceded 27 goals in four matches—to contend with before Trinidad and Tobago’s France 2019 World Cup campaign reaches a climax. But at least the Women Warriors have got over their first psychological hurdle with flying colours.

Shabazz, who has endured more lows than highs since returning to the women’s programme to replace Italian Carolina Morace in mid-2017, took the opportunity to pat himself—and his technical staff—on the back as they too emerged creditably from yesterday’s challenge.

The veteran coach suggested that he had had his entire squad to choose from against Grenada but opted to rest key midfielder Karyn “Baby” Forbes, emerging talent Shanelle Arjoon and the experienced Patrice Superville, for the uncomplicated midfield offerings of Naomie Guerra and the teenaged pair of Aaliyah Prince and Kedie Johnson.

Johnson got the first goal of the match with a gorgeous left-footed strike, Prince notched a hat-trick—her second against Grenada in just over a month, after her treble in the CFU Challenge Series—and Guerra was a breath of fresh air in the midfield.

“Sometimes people underestimate the work that we do [as coaches],” said Shabazz. “We know what we are doing. Sometimes the result will not go the way we would like or we expect but this is football.

“[…] Everybody except the reserve keeper got a chance to play and, at this stage, we accomplished what we set out to do: to widen the pool and to start to re-establish ourselves as a dominant team in Caribbean football.”

In August, the Trinidad and Tobago women, who—lest we forget—are the reigning Caribbean champions, will play in the final round of the qualifying series, where they take on Jamaica, Cuba, Bermuda and Antigua and Barbuda.

The top three nations progress to the Concacaf stage and, with Haiti already out—eliminated on goal difference by Jamaica—the Women Warriors are favoured to sail right through the next round with the “Reggae Girlz” likely to offer the toughest opposition to their title aspirations.

Before then, Shabazz will take his squad to Colombia for battle in the July CAC Games,  where they will face Mexico, Nicaragua and Haiti in Group B.

Four years ago, Trinidad and Tobago women’s coach Randy Waldrum, who was an unpaid volunteer, controversially opted to skip the CAC competition as he juggled duties between the Women Warriors and his club employers in Dallas.

Shabazz, who earns a salary paid by the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA), will not do likewise and he expressed his eagerness to face tougher opposition before their final Caribbean qualifying phase.

“It’s just the kind of exposure we need before we get to the Caribbean finals in August,” said Shabazz. “[…] Going into the CAC Games, we will be aiming to get a medal in that tournament. But because the CAC Games doesn’t qualify us for anything, it is a chance to experiment [and] see what we can get away with and what we cannot get away with.

“It is something we are looking forward to.”

The senior team will take a few days off to rest and “assess” the players with knocks and bruises before they begin preparations for the next phase.

Venezuela have asked for a practice game in the next two weeks and Shabazz hopes it becomes reality and also wants another friendly next month. By then, there should be some new faces in the national squad.

“We have five or six players on the outside to bring into the squad to compete for places,” he said, “and we will re-invite some players locally and start to prepare for the CAC Games—[with] four, five days a week preparation.”

This time, Shabazz shied away from naming the players he wants to insert into his squad, which is just as well—after being rebuffed by his former captain, Maylee Attin-Johnson, last week.

Often one to split opinion, Attin-Johnson’s blunt views on the team’s chances under the current technical staff are believed to have been met with mixed responses by her former teammates.

She had an unlikely ally in the soft-spoken Prince, though. The 17-year-old starlet, who barely lifted her voice above a whisper in front of the tape recorders, had a firm answer when asked for her favourite player, male or female.

“Maylee Attin-Johnson,” responded Prince, who just graduated from Success Laventille. “[…] She is the one who inspired me to start playing football.”

While Attin-Johnson’s own international future is shrouded in doubt, there is no question that the diminutive Prince’s is on the upswing. Shabazz credited her tactical discipline today, when she started as a right-side attacker rather than in her preferred role through the centre.

“She fitted in well with the seniors [and] we consider her a player,” said Shabazz. “She is one player who we feel has a bright future. We are very pleased with her performance and, most of all, we are pleased with her attitude [because] she in no way feels she has arrived.

“She listens to the older players and I think this is a player we need to keep our eyes on.”

Amidst the smiling faces and optimistic forecasts, there was also a note of caution from 28-year-old Trinidad and Tobago defender Jenelle Cunningham.

“Basically, we need to up the intensity of practices and make sure we have a healthy squad for the next round,” said Cunningham, who has a bachelor’s degree in Business Administration and is employed as assistant coach at Angelo State University in Texas at present. “The sessions [have to be] more conducive to what we are facing next.”

Shabazz suggested he was comfortable with the greater role that Forbes and Cunningham were playing behind the scenes. And his assessment was similar.

“I am comfortable with the knowledge base of the players [particularly when we are changing formation during the match],” said Shabazz. “I think right now we need to get fitter. And we still have a lot of work to do psychologically as well.”

RELATED NEWS

Shabazz talks missed chances, Maylee and the Almighty’s will; St Kitts challenge with “fire in [their] eyes”
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868).

“What a game, eh!” exclaimed Trinidad and Tobago Women’s National Senior Team coach Jamaal Shabazz, as he opened last night’s post-game media conference. “[It was] not one [that’s] good for the heart but sometimes you have to fight.

“Sometimes you don’t like to fight but fighting sometimes is good for you. And tonight it proved good for us.”

The Women Soca Warriors have a fight on their hands if they are to advance past the first phase of their France 2019 World Cup qualifying adventure. Last night, despite enjoying home advantage at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva.they trailed St Kitts and Nevis until the 77th minute and could eventually only muster a 1-1 draw.

St Kitts and Nevis, mind you, are ranked 130th and 118th in the world in the men’s and women’s game respectively while their entire population of 55,000 people is less than the residents of San Fernando.

The Trinidad and Tobago women’s outfit spent the better part of the last 15 months together, training as often as five times a week with many squad members pocketing monthly stipends of up to TT$8,000—which makes them the best paid footballers based in the country, regardless of sex.

All 14 players used by Shabazz last night have represented Trinidad and Tobago at Concacaf level before while six were key components of Randy Waldrum’s team, which came within a whisker of the Canada 2015 World Cup Finals.

On the other hand, St Kitts and Nevis, according to their spritely 34-year-old coach Earl Jones, only brought their full squad together three and a half weeks ago.

Yet, on Sunday evening, when a place in the Caribbean final round will be at stake. the pair of two-island countries will be on virtually even terms.

Trinidad and Tobago have a two-goal advantage on goal difference over St Kitts and Nevis and, when they begin the second game of tomorrow’s double-header, the hosts will know the score required to see them through. SKN face the United States Virgin Islands from 4pm while T&T tackle Grenada from 6:30pm in Couva.

As usual, Shabazz was paternal, easy-going and engaging when he faced the media yesterday. But he may need some more prosaic qualities tomorrow with the women’s game much closer to the precipice than his composed demeanour might suggest.

Since he reclaimed the women’s position from Carolina Morace last July after a six-year hiatus, Shabazz’s tenure—judging from the ‘wins column’—has been a disaster. The National Under-17 Team failed to advance past the Caribbean stage while, despite having home advan, the Under-20s finished bottom of their Concacaf group and without a single point.

Perhaps Shabazz spoke too soon last Monday when, after a 10-0 mauling of USVI and 3-0 win over Dominica, he declared that he had “a little smile.”

“I have not been smiling for a long time since I came back in women’s football,” said Shabazz. “Fa-Inna maAAa alAAusri yusran [which is Arabic for] verily after the hardship comes the ease.”

God, as we should know by now, has a wry sense of humour.

Three days later, Shabazz’s former captain Maylee Attin-Johnson, whom he had graciously invited to rejoin the team for the next round, declared on TV6 that she would essentially be wasting her time if she climbed on board.

“At international level, it more often that not boils down to coaching and tactics,” said Attin-Johnson. “And I don’t think the staff they have is good enough.”

The timing was unhelpful but so was Shabazz’s decision to start inviting players to join his squad in mid-tournament. And now, here we are.

“[Maylee] is [like] my daughter […] and sometimes daughters say hurtful things about fathers,” said Shabazz. “But you have to accept that this is a girl (sic) who always speaks her mind and it is no problem for us. We accept that this is her view and her opinion […] and I love her very dearly.”

For now, the Women Warriors have to forget about Attin-Johnson, Kennya Cordner, Arin King and the other talents who may or may not join the squad in the later rounds. St Kitts and Nevis, as they have already demonstrated, are not here to act as door mats.

“We [did not] come here to lie down,” said Jones, who was a blur of movement on the touchline last night, “and we are coming with fire in our eyes… I guarantee you that!”

Trinidad and Tobago took the kick-off last night; yet, within the first minute, SKN had already won two corners. Veteran Warriors defender Ayana Russell clumsily allowed the second set piece to hit her hand and opposing captain Phoenetia Browne made no mistake from the penalty spot.

Browne, who was born in St Kitts but migrated to the United States at the age of seven, was one of four overseas-based players in the SKN line-up along with the Canada-bred trio of midfielder Cloey Uddenberg, attacker Brittney Lawrence and goalkeeper Kira Dickinson.

Dickinson, a former Howard University student and her national team’s vice-captain, now plays professionally in Sweden and was, arguably, the game’s outstanding player last night.

“Coachman, I am not going to let you down tonight,” Dickinson had told Jones before kick-off.

And Dickinson’s competence on set pieces and grasp of angles was more than a match for the Trinidad and Tobago offence, which kept trying to recreate the long-range crackers that had produced goals earlier in the series.

Three saves in particular from close quarters—against Mariah Shade, Tasha St Louis and substitute Aaliyah Prince—were of exceptional quality. And, even when St Louis did beat her with a free kick on the edge of the SKN penalty box, Dickinson got a hand on the ball but just could not claw it away.

“We created 16 or 17 chances, the same amount and even more than when we played the other teams,” said Shabazz, with only a slight exaggeration. “[…] They are better on the ball [than our earlier opponents]. They have three or four really talented players in attack and, for the first time in the tournament, we really had to defend.

“If we had scored our chances, it would have been an easier game but Allah prescribes for us, not we prescribe for us. The Almighty decided we must fight and it was a good tonic [as opposed to us] getting accustomed to rolling teams.”

Shabazz had a point. Trinidad and Tobago created more and enjoyed more possession than any of their opponents in Group C. And, while SKN were at full strength, the hosts have an embarrassment of riches—at least by Caribbean standards—still expected to join the team.

In that sense, it would be overly dramatic to use the word “crisis.”

Sooner or later, though, Shabazz will have to prove his worth in results.

“Throughout this tournament, the speed of [play by Trinidad and Tobago] is a bit worrisome,” said the veteran coach. “It is an area we need to work on, bringing the ball forward a bit faster.”

But Shabazz has been in charge for 10 months already while the Women Warriors have played eight internationals under his watch.

If they cannot deliver emphatically on Sunday against the group’s bottom-placed team, Attin-Johnson will not be the only person who thinks Shabazz has passed his sell-by date. And, frankly, qualifying from such a straightforward group is the least local football fans should expect and does not in itself remove all doubts about the current direction of the team.

For now, Shabazz is the epitome of coolness.

“If we understand the game, we will see we created chances; we [just] didn’t score our chances,” he said. “It is not a major concern because we got the point; all of this too is part of the growth.

“[…] They showed good character to claw their way back, they showed they wanted it and I am happy with that.”

There is one hurdle left on Sunday before the Women Warriors can begin thinking about the next step in earnest. If the Almighty is willing, of course.

Shabazz—who also made a gesture of solidarity to Muslim trainee teacher Nafisah Nakhid, who was prevented from taking up duties at Lakshmi Girls’ unless she removes her hijab—urged Trinidad and Tobago football fans to continue to stand by their women.

“While you’re in the situation, you’re thinking, ‘My God, will we be humiliated today?’” said Shabazz, “but it is part of the journey to have difficult moments, to have moments of anxiety. The nation must feel that with us too.

“[If] you’re supporting but you’re only supporting when we’re up, then you’re not supporting.”

« Last Edit: June 01, 2018, 01:55:54 AM by Flex »

« Reply #47 on: June 11, 2018, 04:31:44 AM »
T&T Senior Women to open Caribbean Final round versus Cuba.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Women will face off with Cuba on August 25th in Kingston, Jamaica in their opening match of the CONCACAF Caribbean Final Round.

CONCACAF announced Jamaica as the hosts of the Final Group F which will also see T&T facing Antigua on August 29th, Jamaica two days later and Bermuda on September 2nd.

The final round, to be disputed among the five first-round group winners, Antigua & Barbuda, Bermuda, Cuba, Jamaica and Trinidad & Tobago, in a round-robin format, will qualify three Caribbean teams to the 2018 Concacaf Women’s Championship.

The road to the road Concacaf Women’s Championship began last month in Antigua & Barbuda, Dominican Republic, Guyana, Haiti and Trinidad and Tobago – each hosted a group of the first round. The participants in each group were sorted during the official draw earlier this year.

The United States will welcome the region’s top women’s national teams for the 2018 Concacaf Women’s Championship, which will crown a regional champion and qualify three teams directly for the FIFA Women’s World Cup France 2019, plus the fourth-place finisher to an intercontinental playoff. The Women’s Championship is scheduled to be played October 4-17, 2018 in Cary, N.C., Edinburg, Texas, and Frisco, Texas.

As part of a year of women’s football in Concacaf, which includes the expanded Girls’ Under-15 Championship, and the Women’s Under-17 and Under-20 Championship, the Caribbean Regional Qualifier will provide access to top level international football to 22 Caribbean Member Associations. This includes over 300 players, thus enhancing an excellent opportunity for development and growth of the women’s game in the region. In total, nearly 2000 female athletes will participate in the Concacaf championships this year across the region.

« Reply #48 on: August 24, 2018, 03:08:16 PM »
Final Squad named – T&T Women enter opening game with positive mindset
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago caretaker coach Anton Corneal  released his final squad for the tournament late on Thursday after being able to confirm that US-based players Lauren Hutchinson and Naomie Guerra will be joining the squad in Kingston along with prolific forward Kennya Cordner. The Team will have its lone  training session in Kingston tomorrow (Friday) at 4pm with seventeen players ahead of Saturday’s opening CONCACAF Caribbean Final round World Cup qualifier against Cuba.

Cordner, Hutchinson and Guerra will join the camp  following T&T’s opening match but in time for the second fixture on Wednesday. Corneal remained optimistic and team manager Jinelle James said the mood in camp at Knutsford Courts Hotel in Kingston was decent and would improve when the final set of players arrive on Friday.

“It’s a bit of a challenge but we’ll do our utmost best to work with what is there for us and go into the game in the best possible frame of mind,” Corneal told TTFA Media.

“There were challenges with flights, availability of players and of course the injuries. It is difficult to have a tactical session going into the first game so we are depending on videos of our opponents and preparing a suitable plan to exploit their weaknesses,” Corneal said. Mariah Shade awas ruled out this week due to injury.

Tasha St Louis is expected to captain the team which includes the majority of players from the recent Central American and Caribbean (CAC) Games in Colombia in which T&T placed fourth.

Five players will arrive in Kingston on Friday to complete the 17-player roster heading into Saturday’s opening match which kicks off at 3pm (4pm TT time) at the National Stadium. Jamaica takes on Antigua/Barbuda from 6pm.

T&T’s second match is against Antigua/Barbuda on Wednesday.

The Central American qualifiers take place from August 27th with Costa Rica. Nicaragua, El Salvador and Panama competing for two qualifying spots in the CONCACAF Final round for which Mexico is already through.

The United States will welcome the region’s top women’s national teams for the 2018 Concacaf Women’s Championship, which will crown a regional champion and qualify three teams directly for the FIFA Women’s World Cup France 2019, plus the fourth-place finisher to an intercontinental playoff. The CONCACAF Women’s Championship is scheduled to be played October 4-17, 2018 in Cary, N.C., Edinburg, Texas, and Frisco, Texas.

T&T 20-player Roster for CONCACAF Caribbean Final Phase

Goalkeepers: Kimika Forbes, Saundra Baron

Defenders: Jenelle Cunningham, Jonelle Cato, Arin King, Patrice Superville, Natisha John, Naomie Guerra, Lauryn Hutchinson, Rhea Belgrave

Midfielders: Karyn Forbes, Janine Francois, Liana Hinds, Kayla Taylor, Ayana Russell, Melissa Baynes

Forwards: Tasha St. Louis, Kennya Cordner, Natasha St. Louis, Aaliyah Prince

RELATED NEWS

‘Yaya’ is back but no return for Maylee and Mollon; T&T Women travel to Jamaica in three batches.
By Amiel Mohammed (Wired868).

Trinidad and Tobago National Senior Women’s record goalscorer Kennya “Yaya” Cordner should rejoin the national fold for the five-team 2018 Caribbean Championships in Jamaica from 25 August to 2 September.

However, there will be no return from former Women Soca Warriors captain Maylee Attin-Johnson or veteran winger Ahkeela Mollon.

Cordner, Mollon and Attin-Johnson quit the team last year, during the tenure of Italian Carolina Morace, and declined the chance to rejoin the squad under her successor, Jamaal Shabazz.

However, Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) technical director and caretaker Women’s Team coach Anton Corneal explained that he intends to proceed without Attin-Johnson and Mollon since they did not “show interest” in playing under him.

“Nobody called or made themselves available so I’m going with the players that showed interest,” said Corneal. “I’m just a caretaker coach, taking over from the group that was actually training; and then of course people that showed interest and would like to be part of it […] like Lauryn (Hutchinson).”

The Women Warriors will be forced to start their title defence without Cordner, though, since their opening CFU match against Cuba on 25 August falls outside the the FIFA international match window.

“We do expect her back [but] she is going to have to wait for the FIFA window,” said Corneal. “So she is going to miss the first game but should be there for the other three games.”

Two members of the current squad who will miss the Caribbean tournament altogether are forward Mariah Shade and defender Rhea Belgrave, who are both injured. Shade scored six times during the earlier qualifying round in May.

“We just found out today that Mariah Shade would not be going, so that puts another twist on it,” said Corneal. “[…] I don’t know if to say it’s a bruised bone. She just started back to jog and it’s difficult for her to run and I imagine difficult for her to kick the ball.”

The Women Warriors are also facing travel issues, which will see the team travel to Jamaica in three separate groups. Once more, the TTFA was slow to book spots for players although at least they will get to the tournament, which was not the case with the Women’s Under-15 Team that was forced to forfeit their Concacaf competition earlier this month after late visa applications by the local football body.

“We have a group of girls that left this morning, three girls,” said Corneal. “We have a group that’s going to do so on Wednesday and some that may come in on Friday.

“Some had to go through Miami. Some will go directly to Jamaica.”

Corneal’s preparations were hampered too by the unavailability of key first team players, Jenelle Cunningham, Arin King, Liana Hinds and Naomi Guerra, who returned to North America on personal business over the past two weeks.

“Not having the full team made it very difficult to do a lot of tactical work as a group and I think a lot of that would have to be done in Jamaica,” said Corneal.

The Women Warriors will also be without many of their players attached to US universities, since Corneal said he was apprehensive about tearing those players away from their collegiate responsibilities so soon into their seasons.

“It’s difficult to ask a player to leave school for eight to 10 days and they started just a week ago,” he said. “So that’s an issue. It’s unfortunate that these are the cards dealt to us but we have got to play the best game possible.

“Some players will have to multi task… they will have to understand the roles and functions of more than one position.”

Corneal’s appointment as Women’s Team coach was not approved by the board, as mandated by the TTFA constitution. However, he said the local football body will make a decision at the end of the Jamaica tournament.

“After this tournament, we will re-visit looking for a coach for this team,” he said. “In 15 days’ time, we will see who is going to go through with this team long term. Whether it’s someone from outside or someone from here, the TTFA will make that decision.”

The top three teams from the Caribbean Championship will advance to the Concacaf Final round in October where they will meet hosts United States, Mexico, Canada and two Central America teams.

The eight nations will then be split into two groups of four with the group winners and second-place finishers advancing to the semifinals. The top three teams qualify automatically for the France World Cup while the fourth place finisher will head to a home-and-away intercontinental playoff, with the third-place finisher of CONMEBOL’s 2018 Women’s Copa America.

The winner of the playoff will qualify for the World Cup.

« Last Edit: August 25, 2018, 12:52:01 AM by Flex »

« Reply #49 on: August 25, 2018, 01:26:42 PM »
WATCH LIVE: Cuba Women vs Trinidad and Tobago Women. Kick-off at 4pm EST.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/frAQeUFQ4mk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/frAQeUFQ4mk</a>

« Reply #50 on: August 25, 2018, 02:32:06 PM »
Cheap goals! Both our goal and the Cuban goal. (when at 1-1)
« Last Edit: August 25, 2018, 04:59:25 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #51 on: August 25, 2018, 04:06:38 PM »
FINAL: A Kayla Taylor hat-trick leads Trinidad and Tobago Women to a 3-2 win over Cuba

« Reply #52 on: August 26, 2018, 04:32:44 AM »
Taylor hattrick paces T&T Women to 3-2 win over Cuba.
TTFA Media.

A hattrick by midfielder Kayla Taylor paced Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Women to a 3-2 victory over Cuba in their opening CONCACAF Caribbean Final Round match at the National Stadium in Kingston on Saturday.

Taylor put T&T ahead with a 20th minute item and followed up with further strikes in the 51st and 56th minutes. It was not a walk over for T&T though as Cuba put up a fight and had level the scores through Yennifer Ramos in the 21st and then pulled a goal back to make it 3-2 through Maristania Mengana in the 82nd minute. But T&T help their nerves to see out the remaining eight minutes to come away with the three points. It was a much needed victory to start the final phase for T&T which was captained by Tasha St Louis on the day.

Coach Anton Corneal emphasised the importance of an opening win.

“It was a much needed victory for us and I give credit for the way we were able to go into the game and see it through until the end,” Corneal told TTFA Media. “I thought there were some positive areas for us but Cuba never laid down and allowed us to pull away.

Kayla’s three goals came at vital points in the match for us. When we went 3-1 up it gave us a bit of breathing space but Cuba made it into a match and we were able to keep our composure and come away with the victory.

Now’s we’ll review our performance today, get back to the training pitch and prepare for our next match against Antigua on Wednesday,” Corneal added.

Hosts Jamaica were scheduled to face Antigua/Barbuda in the second outing on Saturday. T&T are competing for one of three places in the CONCACAF Final Round of qualification in the United States in October 4-17 towards the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup in France.

Team

T&T – 1. Kimika Forbes, 2. Jenelle Cunningham, 5. Arin King, 6. Natasha St Louis (7.Jonelle Cato, 54’),8. Patrice Supervise, 10. Tasha St Louis (capt), 11. Janine Francois, 12. Kayla Taylor, 13. Natasha John (15.Melissa Baynes, 71’), 14. Karyn Forbes, 16. Aaliyah Prince (9.Liana Hinds, 71’)

Subs Not used – 4. Rhea Belgrave, 20. Saundra Baron (GK), 2.Ayana Russell.

Coach – Anton Corneal

« Reply #53 on: August 27, 2018, 12:26:18 PM »
WATCH: Highlights of Trinidad and Tobago Women’s 3-2 win over Cuba

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/6WhVafw8-WI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/6WhVafw8-WI</a>

« Reply #54 on: August 28, 2018, 02:33:29 AM »
Kayla brought a new ingredient to the team – Corneal.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago Women’s Team coach Anton Corneal wants another victory as this country goes into their second outing against Antigua/Barbuda at the National Stadium in Kingston on Wednesday.

T&T got their CONCACAF Caribbean Final round campaign off to a winning start with a 3-2 victory over Cuba on Saturday courtesy of a hattrick by Kayla Taylor.

“Kayla brought a different ingredient to the team. Her composure and her ability to finish showed up in our first gam. We were able to capitalise on chances that came our way and she finished the job for us,” Corneal told TTFA Media.

Looking back at the game, Corneal noted that Cuba did have T&T on the backfoot for some periods in the match.

“ We had to defend in long periods and we did that well . I thought we were not able to really play as a team as well as we would have wanted to and this would have been due to our lack of sufficient preparation. But we were able to put in a couple players into the game who were carrying niggling injuries and they came through which is a plus for us,” Corneal said

He did mention that is hoping to utilise the extra day with T&T having a bye as matches continued on Monday.

“Now we have a bye on Monday so we will use the extra time wisely to prepare for Antigua on Wednesday. I told them the importance of starting with a win versus Cuba and the need to pick our matches and knowing our opponents.  Not that any game is a given but knowing exactly the things we needed have done correctly in relation to the opponent  as well was important for us,” Corneal concluded.

Following T&T’s win on Saturday, hosts Jamaica eased past Antigua/Barbuda 9-0 in the second encounter.

« Reply #55 on: August 28, 2018, 08:27:38 AM »
good win but no defensive structure and those women look like they will have a hard time with more athletic teams as per usual, dat striker though :applause: :applause:
« Last Edit: August 28, 2018, 08:29:23 AM by lefty »

Cordner joins T&T team in Kingston ahead of second qualifier versus Antigua
« Reply #56 on: August 28, 2018, 07:31:54 PM »
Cordner joins T&T team in Kingston ahead of second qualifier versus Antigua
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Women have been bolstered by the addition of overseas-based trio Kennya Cordner, Lauryn Hutchinson and Naomie Guerra going into their second match in the CONCACAF Caribbean Women’s World Cup qualifier against Antigua/Barbuda on Wednesday from 5pm TT Time.

Cordner, who is based in Norway, joined the T&T camp at Knutsford Hotel in Kingston on Tuesday morning and did some light work during the team’s training session at the National Stadium training pitch later in the day.

T&T are third on the table with three points, behind leaders Jamaica who trounced Antigua/Barbuda 9-0 on Saturday and followed up with a 4-0 win over Bermuda on Monday. Cuba defeated Antigua 7-0 on Monday. T&T have of course played just one game so far. A hattrick from Kayla Taylor gave the 2014 Caribbean champions a 3-2 win over Cuba on Saturday.

“We’re looking to take charge of the game and secure our second win of the competition,” Corneal told TTFA Media. “The last couple days have been useful in that we were able to get in a couple sessions which we didn’t have prior to the first game after our arrival here.

“Having Kennya in the team now is a positive development as well as the arrival of Lauryn and Naomie to give us a full squad is  important. We’ve seen the other teams in action so far and the main thing for us now is to collect as many points that we can in our early matches and take care of qualification for the next round in the United States,” Corneal added.

Cuba faces Bermuda in the second match from 8pm. Local fans can follow the action live on Flow Sports 1.

The Central American Zone of Concacaf Women’s Championship Qualifying meantime, kicked with Panama and Costa Rica emerging as big winners on Monday at the IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida.

Led by Karla Paola Riley’s brace, Panama topped Nicaragua 4-0 in the opening match.

Riley earned the Canaleras a good start with a fine right-footed strike in the 9’. Yomira Pinzon doubled the score in the 49’ with an excellent trap of the ball with her chest and then swinging a shot into net.

Riley struck for her second in the 68’ with a thumping header to extend the lead to 3-0, before Lineth Cedeno capped things off in the fourth minute of second half stoppage time with a strong finish.

Costa Rica also enjoyed a strong performance in its opening match, with an 11-0 victory against El Salvador.

All four teams return to action on Wednesday, with Costa Rica squaring off against Nicaragua and Panama taking on El Salvador.

After round-robin play, the top two finishers will qualify to the Concacaf Women’s Championship. The top three teams from the CONCACAF Caribbean Final round will advance to the CONCACAF

Championship Final phase in the United States in October.

Number of teams to qualify for the World Cup: 3 (Champion, runner-up and third place). The fourth place finished will dispute a home-and-away intercontinental playoff, with Argentina, the third-place finisher of CONMEBOL’s 2018 Women’s Copa America. The winner of the playoff will qualify to the FIFA Women’s World Cup France 2019.

« Reply #57 on: August 29, 2018, 07:41:49 AM »

Happy for the wins but the gap in competitive quality between the Caribbean teams and the Central American and North American teams is huge. Its the sam role story, you think you are improving when beating Caribbean teams but underestimate how much better are the other teams in Concacaf so when you do play them you end up on the losing end. When watching our team win you can see plenty mistakes that will be punished by better teams in Concacaf. Trust me its the same ole story...we still have not learned

« Reply #58 on: August 29, 2018, 12:50:32 PM »
WATCH LIVE: Trinidad and Tobago Women vs Antigua and Barbuda Women. Kick-off at 5pm.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/pACoGb3hZw4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/pACoGb3hZw4</a>

« Reply #59 on: August 29, 2018, 03:55:57 PM »
HALF-TIME: Trinidad and Tobago Women 4-0 Antigua and Barbuda. Goals by Janine Francois (4’), Kayla Taylor (16’, 39’), Tasha St. Louis (30’ penalty).