March 29, 2024, 03:33:30 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Venezuela Game (29-May-2019)  (Read 2659 times)

Thread for the T&T vs Venezuela Game (29-May-2019)
« on: March 28, 2019, 11:53:06 AM »
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the T&T vs Venezuela game on the 29th of May 2019 will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

To be updated.

Possible Online Streams.

To be updated.

Possible TV Station.

To be updated.

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers:

To be updated.

Defenders:

To be updated.

Midfielders:

To be updated.

Forwards:

To be updated.

Coach - Dennis Lawrence (TRI).

Venezuela Squad

Goalkeepers

To be updated.

Defenders

To be updated.

Midfielders

To be updated.

Forwards

To be updated.

Coach - Rafael Dudamel (VEN).

Updates to follow as we get more info, so keep checking back.

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Venezuela Game (29-May-2019)
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2019, 12:14:53 PM »
I am stunned we finally got a game, man like Deeks might faint.

Any word yet on where the game will be played?

« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2019, 10:15:21 PM »

I just splash mehself with a can of Malta Caracas!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Offline Thomo

« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2019, 10:34:57 AM »
Kinda weird that we can't afford to host teams yet we're playing Venezuela where the country is basically bankrupt? Doesn't that affect their FA?

« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2019, 10:14:56 PM »
Kinda weird that we can't afford to host teams yet we're playing Venezuela where the country is basically bankrupt? Doesn't that affect their FA?

Breds, you think anybody in the TTFA or TT cares about reputation?

Rangers players absent from T&T football team camp
« Reply #5 on: April 27, 2019, 01:34:40 PM »
Rangers players absent from T&T football team camp
By Jelani Beckles (T&T Newsday)

OWNER of St Ann's Rangers, Richard Ferguson, says not allowing his players to join the T&T men's football team training camp at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva is no disrespect, and the club and T&T head coach Dennis Lawrence have a good understanding.

The national team are currently preparing for two international friendlies against Venezuela in Sabana Grande on May 29 and against Japan at the Toyota Stadium in Aichi on June 5. These games will serve as part of the build-up to the 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup.

The training team does not comprise the four Rangers players who were called up by Lawrence – Carlyle Mitchell, Ross Russell jnr, Kevon Goddard and Aikim Andrews.

Speaking to the media before training yesterday Lawrence said he was satisfied with the turn-out. "I think today is the going to be the first time we have managed to acquire all the players that was invited apart from the Rangers players."

Lawrence said Rangers do have the authority to make the decision not to allow their players to train with the T&T team.

"I need to mention that (Rangers) are well within their rights. They have rejected the opportunity to allow their players to come and join the national team training. Further to that it will be better if you speak to Rangers regards to their reasons behind it, but apart from that all the others invited turned up and (we are here in) day three (of training) and we are going to try and continue with the preparations for the Venezuela game," Lawrence said.

Ferguson said it was a difficult decision to prevent their players from attending the T&T training. "It was not an easy decision. The board sat down and discussed it. The coaches discussed it and we thought about it long and hard...but I hope the fans and the TTFA (T&T Football Association) understand. It is not any disrespect by any means."

Ferguson said the national team wanted the Rangers players for an entire month for the T&T camp between April 24 and May 26. "We did not want to release them for a whole month when we have these key games coming up."

Rangers are currently in negotiations to play national teams in the Caribbean including Guyana, St Lucia and Grenada over the next two months.

Ferguson also said that most of the local clubs are not training currently because the Pro League is not in season and Lawrence wants to keep the local players fit.

However, Ferguson said this is not the case for his club. "Dennis Lawrence trying to get the guys who are not playing to train and that is the reason, but our players are training and they training hard and training since January 2019," Ferguson said.

Rangers are also preparing for an Invitational Tournament in T&T in June and the club wants their national players around the team set-up.

Ferguson said his team's coaches have developed an extensive training and nutrition programme and taking the players out of that programme may set the players back.

The Rangers owner reiterated that the club is not trying to cause animosity. "We have a very good relationship with Dennis Lawrence the national team coach. We assist him any possible way we could. We support the national team beyond any bonds – I want to make it clear. It is being twisted, this is not a disrespect to anything."

« Reply #6 on: April 28, 2019, 12:53:51 PM »
We sure this game playing in Ven.? More sanctions from Trump.

« Reply #7 on: May 01, 2019, 12:40:12 AM »
Venezuela friendly may play on T&T soil.
By Joel Bailey (Newsday).

Unrest in Caracas may force rethink by TTFA as…

THE CURRENT unrest in the capital city of Caracas, in neighbouring Venezuela, may force a rethink by the TT Football Association (TTFA) as the planned friendly international between T&T and Venezuela, set for May 29, at the Estadio Don Bosco in Sabana Grande, could be shifted to Trinidad.

Making this pronouncement was TTFA president David John-Williams, in a telephone interview last evening.

On April 5, the TTFA announced the national men’s team will be playing Venezuela, followed by a June 5 clash away to Japan, before heading to the United States to compete in the 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup.

Yesterday, Venezuela’s Opposition Leader Juan Guaido said he had military support as he seeks to end the rule of President Nicolas Maduro.

But Venezuelan authorities, according to a BBC report, said they were putting down a small coup attempt by Guaido, who declared himself as the interim president in January.

Asked if the TTFA was considering a venue change for the T&T-Venezuela international, John-Williams replied, “We wrote through the agent of the game, to the Venezuelan (Football) Federation asking for the venue to be changed for the game based on what is happening. We are awaiting a response on that.”

Regarding where the game will be played, the TTFA president said, “We wrote (yesterday) asking that the venue for the game be changed to Trinidad.”

Outspoken TTFA board member Keith Look Loy said the proposed venue change reinforces his view that the entire episode should have been discussed at board level.

“This reinforces my initial comment that this match should have been brought to the board for a proper discussion,” said Look Loy. “My comment at that time was that Venezuela is on tinderbox and we should have had that discussion even when the idea first came up.

“The idea of moving the match to Trinidad is obviously a better idea and I expect that this matter would be brought to the board for a proper discussion by the board of the TTFA and not be taken unilaterally by the president.”

If this game is indeed shifted to Trinidad, it will be the first international match by the T&T men’s team on home soil since a 1-0 defeat to Panama at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva on April 17, 2018.

« Reply #8 on: May 01, 2019, 05:09:36 AM »
“The idea of moving the match to Trinidad is obviously a better idea and I expect that this matter would be brought to the board for a proper discussion by the board of the TTFA and not be taken unilaterally by the president.”

I agree with Keith. The board is being used as a doormat.

« Reply #9 on: May 15, 2019, 12:25:12 AM »
International Friendly with Venezuela cancelled.
TTFA Media.

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association regrettably announces today that the International Friendly between this country’s Senior Men’s National Team and Venezuela slated for May 29th in Sabana Grande,Venezuela has been cancelled.

This decision has come about due to the ongoing political crisis and protest actions taking place in Venezuela.

T&T will take in Japan in Aichi on June 5th in its build up to the 2019 CONCACAF Gold Cup with the Dennis Lawrence coached-outfit facing Panama in its opening match on June 18th.

« Reply #10 on: May 15, 2019, 06:47:17 AM »
Now DL can't get 2 friendlies before the GC, unless they could quickly schedule a game against a CFU team.

Offline lucky4life

« Reply #11 on: May 15, 2019, 07:21:30 AM »
Give the REGGAEBOYZ them a call and see what's up

« Reply #12 on: May 15, 2019, 05:11:50 PM »
International Friendly with Venezuela cancelled.
TTFA Media.

I now find this thread and thinking well alright, alright, alright good man............. ::)

« Reply #13 on: May 15, 2019, 11:49:08 PM »

I just splash mehself with a can of Malta Caracas!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

What a waste of malta!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! But can they switch the game to TT?

Allyuh know Venezuela playing Mexico in Atlanta in a friendly on June 5.
« Last Edit: May 23, 2019, 01:17:15 AM by Deeks »

« Reply #14 on: May 23, 2019, 01:20:55 AM »
Allyuh know Venezuela playing Mexico in a friendly on June 5 in Atlanta.