March 29, 2024, 01:20:42 AM

Author Topic: Ames has declared he is CANADIAN  (Read 7858 times)

Ames has declared he is CANADIAN
« on: April 09, 2005, 10:30:28 AM »
 Why would I wish him........ dis is a Trini who has all out denounced his place of birth and  goes by his adopted city Calgarian Stephen Ames. I happen to live in Calgary Alberta Canada and as aformer president of the Trinidad and Tobago association, I have never once seen nor heard of Ames at our functions.

He has declared emphatically in the local newspapers that  he is now proud to represent Canada. He is also refered to in the press heer as Canadian.

All I have to say to Mr. Ames is  "remember Ben Johnson; he was canadian until the steroids blow up then he as JAMACIAN Ben .....

Offline nobody_s angel

Re: Ames has declared he is CANADIAN
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2005, 02:05:58 PM »
is this really true  >:( Do you have any links to articles to where he states that he is now a Canadian.

I always used to admire the man for staying true to his roots in a sport that would look down on someone that came from our country. Now if this is true I look down on him and if he is indeed Canadian and professes to be Canadian he needs to give back his trini visa. Obviously we have nothing to give him.

Some people do not realize how blessed u r to be a trini and if he is one of these people then I wish him luck and God's blessings. But guess who not watching anymore golf.

Stephen who ? ???

« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2005, 02:57:48 PM »
is this really true  >:( Do you have any links to articles to where he states that he is now a Canadian.

Here are some articles:
Long day awaits Canadians Ames and Weir at the Masters on Saturday
Ames eager to play for Canada
Stampede City fits Ames to a tee

In an article entitled Stephen Ames: Patience paid off he was asked:

Q. Do you have Canadian citizenship now?

STEPHEN AMES: I am Canadian since December the 12th.

« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2005, 03:04:35 PM »
And Another

Special Open for Ames

Canadian Press

9/7/2004

OAKVILLE, Ont. (CP) - Stephen Ames has played in six Canadian Opens, but this one promises to be different.

The 40-year-old, who was raised in Trinidad and Tobago, became a Canadian citizen in December.

He will be playing a PGA Tour event on home soil for the first time when he tees it up Thursday at the 100th Bell Canadian Open.

``Playing the Canadian Open now as a Canadian, it's different,'' Ames said on Tuesday. ``But, for me, this has always been home.

Related Info 
 This One is Special

``People accept me now as a Canadian ... I'm going to be playing for Canada and doing the best that I can.'' SO WHAT THEY NEVER ACCEPTED HIM BEFORE AS  a TRINI?

Ames met his wife Jodi, a former flight attendant, while travelling between tournaments and moved to Calgary 10 years ago.

The couple still lives there with sons Justin, 7, and Ryan, 5.

He had visa problems in 1999 and was unable to play a PGA Tour event until May. After that, he started looking into getting his Canadian citizenship.

Ames says that playing at home brings more distractions.

``It's a busier week for me,'' said Ames, citing increased media, fan and friend requests.

And why not? Ames is in the midst of a breakout year, having recorded 10 top-10 finishes and his first PGA Tour win at the Cialis Western Open in July.

He attributes the season's success to learning more about his golf game.

``I've grown a lot,'' he said. ``I think I've got to the stage now where I understand my golf swing.''

He tees off at 12:45 p.m. on Thursday in a group with Jose Coceres and former British Open champion Tom Lehman.

Ames' success this season and afternoon start time should inflate the size of his galleries.

For the last five years, the event's focus has been on 2003 Master's champion Mike Weir, but Ames will likely get a larger share of the attention this time.

But he doesn't necessarily see it that way.

``I don't know if the focus is going to be on me,'' Ames said. ``I think the focus is going to be probably on (new World No. 1) Vijay (Singh) and Phil (Mickelson).''

Ames' best finish in Canada was a tie for 13th in 1998. He finished in a tie for 23rd at Hamilton Golf and Country Club last year.

It's been 50 years since Pat Fletcher won this event, the last Canadian to do so.

Like every Canadian playing in the Open since, Ames was reminded of that fact Tuesday.

But it's not something he's worried about.

``No (pressure). None at all,'' he said.

Overall, Ames is pleased with his life.

He's coming off a two-week break, during which he spent time with his wife and children and got away from the game.

``I think it's exceptionally important (to balance golf and family),'' he said. ``It's the same with anybody's lives. You should have a balance.'' 

Winning hasn't stopped the Ames from speaking his mind.

On Tuesday, he said that he would consider turning down a highly coveted invitation to the World Team for the 2005 President's Cup if he were to earn one.

``I'm not a fan of team things - never have been,'' he said. ``When the time comes for me to play President's Cup, I'll have to decide.

``I might be the first not to play. I don't know.''

He also said the Royal Canadian Golf Association should start moving the Canadian Open around more. Next year, the event will be played in Vancouver.

``I'm working on trying to get it to Calgary,'' Ames said. ``As a national open, I think it should be moved around Canada.''

Success on the PGA Tour hasn't changed anything for Ames, just as playing at home as a Canadian citizen won't.

``I'm going to enjoy the limelight,'' he said with a smile. 

Offline nobody_s angel

« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2005, 05:37:06 PM »
``Playing the Canadian Open now as a Canadian, it's different,'' Ames said on Tuesday. ``But, for me, this has always been home.

HOME  :o

Can someone verify for me if we ever gave him a national medal?

That is what I liked about Ato okay sometimes he needed to be quiet but he never denounced his home country and when they made a mistake about his nationality he corrected them.

And if Mr. Ames is so ashamed of his country he needs to sell his house and just leave, do not even come back to play golf in TOBAGO. And if he has a medal FEDEX it but pay the bill first. (STEUPS)

« Reply #5 on: April 09, 2005, 06:42:35 PM »
Can someone verify for me if we ever gave him a national medal?

He got a Chaconia Medal (Gold) last year.

Gold at last for Bovell, Ames
Showers of accolades for local star

« Reply #6 on: April 10, 2005, 05:43:49 AM »
he got a flippin medal from tnt recently! if this whole thing is true then he can go f*ck himself. i dont have interest in golf, but he was one guy id check in on now and then, but that aint happening anymore.

« Reply #7 on: April 10, 2005, 04:33:30 PM »
As far as Canadian citizenship goes, you have all the rights of a native born Canadian. As far as Canada is concerned, you are Canadian first and foremost when you achieve dat status. Ames can become Prime Minister if he wants in Canada. Now talking to de Canadian media after yuh get citizenship and acting as though yuh not Canadian go be real pressure for he especially living in de people country. Dem real sensitive about dat.

It would be a complete diss if he never wanted to representTrinidad but he has done so with distinction. Now golf is one of dem sports like swimming dat consumes your whole life. I would not be surprised if he spends more time out of Calgary than in it. I need to see more to convince me dat he has dissed us. He is still going to represent us at the Worlds which is based on country of birth. In de team tournaments in question dat he eligible to play in, he is probably interested in going far in those tournaments. I mean Mike Weir is no slouch as a partner. Anyway, like I say...he done fly we flag high and make we proud. Is not like dat foolish runner who eh want nutten to do with we at all. Ames put we on de map as far as golf is concerned and he does a lot to promote golf and supply equipment to the youth fraternity in T&T. He done represent and he does give back. As far as I concerned, he could do wha de hell he want from now on.

Offline nobody_s angel

« Reply #8 on: April 11, 2005, 05:15:30 PM »
okay Savannah boy you said some things that made me calm down and they made some sense but what runner r u talking about?

« Reply #9 on: April 11, 2005, 07:22:42 PM »

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #10 on: April 18, 2005, 01:13:48 PM »
AlbertaTrini..........get real and look at de big picture!! Start looking at de forest and not only de trees. Ames is doing and saying what he has to do and say in order to survive in dis world. Read Savannah Boy's comments. He obviously is in touch and knows what it is all about Get off Ames' case!!!

« Reply #11 on: April 18, 2005, 01:40:01 PM »
AlbertaTrini..........get real and look at de big picture!! Start looking at de forest and not only de trees. Ames is doing and saying what he has to do and say in order to survive in dis world. Read Savannah Boy's comments. He obviously is in touch and knows what it is all about Get off Ames' case!!!

Get off Ames case my ass...The man was given a Chaconia medal as part of Independence Day celebrations. Not 50 years ago, just the other day. If it was up to me, he would be the first in the history of the country to have the medal demanded back. But then again, I am a Trin and I love my Republic.

Can you say the same?

« Reply #12 on: April 18, 2005, 03:46:14 PM »

When he was a Trini he did us proud.

The people who gave him the Chaconia medal knew full well that Ames lived in Canada and would probably be getting/had Canadian citizenship.

It just boils down to your views on changing citizenship.  Cuz in most cases...and I belive Ames', you would have to renounce your T&T citizenship.

Some see this as no big deal and just a matter of convenience.  Others recognize its significance but even in this case it is up to the individual to decide his allegiance.

I personally can't hold much against Ames as that wasn't something he just decided overnight....he has been living AND training there real years now and if he decide to make that his new home(wife and kida from dey) changing citizenship is a legitimate option.  I expect him to still honour his roots when appropriate but again that is up to him.

Don't lump him in the same boat as Clement cuz he has contributed nothing and his was just for convenience.

And doh feel he will be the last big name athlete who will end up doing the same......you might even hear about some footballers doing the same after they retire.(if it doh already have some who do it already)

« Reply #13 on: April 18, 2005, 05:14:52 PM »

When he was a Trini he did us proud.

The people who gave him the Chaconia medal knew full well that Ames lived in Canada and would probably be getting/had Canadian citizenship.

It just boils down to your views on changing citizenship.  Cuz in most cases...and I belive Ames', you would have to renounce your T&T citizenship.

Some see this as no big deal and just a matter of convenience.  Others recognize its significance but even in this case it is up to the individual to decide his allegiance.

I personally can't hold much against Ames as that wasn't something he just decided overnight....he has been living AND training there real years now and if he decide to make that his new home(wife and kida from dey) changing citizenship is a legitimate option.  I expect him to still honour his roots when appropriate but again that is up to him.

Don't lump him in the same boat as Clement cuz he has contributed nothing and his was just for convenience.

And doh feel he will be the last big name athlete who will end up doing the same......you might even hear about some footballers doing the same after they retire.(if it doh already have some who do it already)
National pride is not a matter of convenience. The jackasses who awarded an individual the Chaconia medal knowing full well that weeks later he would be changing his citizenship should be stripped of citizenship themselves. What it all boils down to is not your views on changing citizenship, but the seeming total lack of National Pride that so called "citizens of trinidad and Tobago" exibit everyday. This is our single biggest problem and unless we address it we are non-players as a nation.

I doh lump Kerron in with Ames. Kerron has done nothing for TnT, has not worn the colours on a World level and certainly has not been given a National Order of merit from TnT. Kerron's  choice, while disappointing, is really neither here nor there. He could do whatever the hell he wants. Ames on the other hand, is (was) firmly recognized as a son of the soil and was given National merit. To come a few months later and change citizenship....well...I'm flabbergasted; and to make matters worse, people saying "oh, thats allright man, he did good while he was ah Trini".  Crazy! He need to give back de blasted medal. That is my point.

« Reply #14 on: April 18, 2005, 09:27:23 PM »
I hear what you saying.

I still thinking about the whole citizenship thing and how it fits into this modern global society.

An Irish friend of mine found the whole concept of changing citizenship strange.  Didn't think it should be so easy.
So I asked him if he thought Roy Keane would consider it for whatever reason and he didn't think he would do it for anything.

Emigration is part of being a developing country though so that is probably why there is a different mentality than the countries where emigration is relatively limited.  How many people see the road to success as having to leave their own shores?
If we severed ties with everyone who has emigrated we would be losing tremendous human capital that usually keep ties(business) with T&T.

When it come to Ames I cah hate on de man cuz he has been nothing but a patriot for all of his professional life and there is nothing unique about what he is doing.  Look Merelene Ottey was running for some European country Slovenia

« Reply #15 on: April 19, 2005, 11:39:01 AM »

I agree with allyuh. Why jump on Ames?? Why are sportsmen any different? They woking and doing what necessary fuh dem to feed their families. Almost all man abroad have to do the same. Take citizeanship in foreign and secure wok. I mean if T&T had an accounting team or a computer programmer team yuh think man would ah get the same hassle  ;D

« Reply #16 on: April 19, 2005, 08:46:05 PM »
In Canada, yuh doh have to denounce anything. He could carry two or more passport.

« Reply #17 on: April 24, 2005, 03:19:38 PM »
I agree with savannah boy's comments.  It is probably the case that Ames having Canadian citizenship will help his career since he is practically living there.  He has put Trinidad on the world golf map in the past, and like anyone of us, he has to do what is best for him and his family.  People should not compare him to Kerron Clement.
Clement is ah f**king ass.  His excuses for representing the USA are lame.  Ato was in the same position as him but he represented Trinidad.  So Clement could go f**k himself.

« Reply #18 on: April 25, 2005, 06:00:34 AM »
Regarding Ames and Klement the fact that they have citizenship in other countries doesn't necessarilly mean that they've turned their back on TT.

They have  made PROFESSIONAL decisions.

So that their careers don't get FUC^%&.

Yes, Ames has to be politically correct in Canada.

As a Can. citizen myself, I know of many immigrants who are very grateful to Canada for giving them certain opportunitties. They love and respect Canada for this but that doesn't mean they've forgotten where they've come from.

Then u have the other immigrants who use the country and diss it every chance they get...but of course they won't leave.

I don't know Klement personally but if he chose America,it doesnt' mean he doesn't love TT.

It means he has certified perhaps further greatness for himself professionally.

Neal Dasilva once said get ur citizenship in N. America or the UK and win your medals, forget about TT, because you will have minimum support and get nowhere. Is Dasilva not a Trini?

Peace,

« Reply #19 on: May 02, 2005, 01:28:52 AM »
VB, you cyah compare de two of dem. Ames living in Canada and married to a Canadian. His children are Canadian. What ties Kerron have except fuh de yankee gang raping he does get on a regular basis? Go in de track and field section of de forum and read bout dat Trini runner bitch. Really, how much poorer and lower profile was Ato fuh representing T&T? Kerron pass we like a full bus breds. Read up and then give us a more informed response about Mr. Clement. He bad from sperm. Me eh care if he break he leg.

Neal da Silva is 4qing dawg.

Foolish talk continues to follow our stars
« Reply #20 on: May 04, 2005, 10:32:41 AM »
By Neil Giuseppi (Trinidad Guardian)

I believe I can say without fear of contradiction that the people of T&T are among the smartest and most talented people that can be found anywhere on this planet.

Because of this, it often makes me wonder why we have such a penchant for denigrating our own, especially those who have made successes of their lives and careers.

Among the most maligned are our sportsmen and sportswomen, many of whom have made the country proud at national, regional and international levels.

But this is never enough for us. We seem to expect super heroes who must perform at the highest level every time they compete.

So Brian Lara scores 196 out of a West Indies total of 346 in the second Test Match against South Africa. He fails to repeat this brilliant performance in the second innings and almost everywhere you go, you can hear people calling him an idiot who threw away his wicket. In the second Test

Match, he scores 176 out of 296, a feat he does not repeat in the second innings. Same old talk again.

And Brian is only one of a host of others who have to live with this type of stupid criticism.

I remember Hasely Crawford qualifying for the 100 metres final at the Olympic Games in Germany in 1972, then following this up with his sensational gold medal-winning run in 1976 in Montreal. Four years later, when he failed to reach the Final in Moscow, the nonsense started. “That man is a waste of time,” they said, ‘he can’t even make the final.’

Very few ever took the time to ask themselves how many sprinters have ever been good enough to even qualify for three consecutive Olympic Games, far less making it to two finals.

One of the most-maligned sporting personalities that T&T has produced is Stephen Ames.

Despite the fact that he has risen to the pinnacle of the sport and is able to compete on even keel with the likes of Tiger Woods and Vijay Singh, we continue to hear the worst-possible comments about him.

It is now the norm to hear statements like:

‘He always starts well, but he can’t finish.’

‘He always collapses at the end of a tournament.’

The fact that none of the above is true, as anyone who takes the time to check his statistics will realise, seems to make no difference whatsoever.

The latest comment making the rounds is, ‘You know the man is now a Canadian. He has given up this country.’

Yes, Stephen Ames has taken out Canadian citizenship. It is much more convenient for him. He lives in Canada, is married to a Canadian and plies his trade across the border in the United States. It was much easier for him to obtain sponsorship as a Canadian citizen than as a citizen of a small island in the Caribbean.

So why shouldn’t he have taken out Canadian citizenship?

But given up this country.? Certainly not.

In last week’s Sports Arena, there was an article which spoke of his establishing the Stephen Ames Cup, a three-day competition, along the lines of the Ryder Cup, which will take place in July in Toronto and which will see eight of Canada's best junior golfers competing against a team of juniors from T&T.

In addition, the Stephen Ames Foundation, which he established during a recent visit to Trinidad, will provide the opportunity for the young golfers to be exposed to different course conditions and teach them the rigours of playing golf at the highest level.

Earlier this year, Stephen sponsored Ben Martin and Simon Merry, two of this country’s most promising young golfers, on a trip to Arnold Palmer’s Bay Hill Classic in Orlando where they had the chance to meet and mingle with some of the big names on the PGA Tour as well as to play golf with Ames himself.

This certainly is not the action of a man who has given up T&T and I would like to believe that it is high time for us to stop all of this foolish talk.

I have oft been accused of being a Stephen Ames defender.

If there is something wrong with being proud of a son-of-the-soil who has made his mark internationally and in recognising the contribution Stephen Ames has made to putting the name of T&T on the world map, then I plead guilty and bluntly refuse to apologise to anyone for doing so.

Offline sinned

« Reply #21 on: January 20, 2006, 05:48:34 PM »
i dont see why man jumpin on stephen ames case so. de man have he living there, he wife and children there. he is a professional and he made his decision as a professional and a family man. it is clearly his choice and we dont need to be hatin him for it. he did a lot for this country already by just putting we name out there on the golfing scene and look how he helpin out fellow trinis. so doh come cussin him out. we does sit here and talk about sportsmen making decisions and expect everything from them when we hadda remember that it is their job and their lives man..come on be real

« Reply #22 on: January 30, 2006, 05:52:24 PM »
Why would I wish him........ dis is a Trini who has all out denounced his place of birth and  goes by his adopted city Calgarian Stephen Ames. I happen to live in Calgary Alberta Canada and as aformer president of the Trinidad and Tobago association, I have never once seen nor heard of Ames at our functions.

He has declared emphatically in the local newspapers that  he is now proud to represent Canada. He is also refered to in the press heer as Canadian.

All I have to say to Mr. Ames is  "remember Ben Johnson; he was canadian until the steroids blow up then he as JAMACIAN Ben .....

haul he ass!!!!!!!!!!!!!1