Team of 73
23 (56.1%)
Strike Squad
9 (22%)
Soca Warriors
9 (22%)

Total Members Voted: 40

Voting closed: January 01, 2006, 08:38:58 AM

Author Topic: 73 vs 89 vs 05  (Read 5382 times)

73 vs 89 vs 05
« on: December 02, 2005, 08:38:58 AM »
In a three way tornament which team you think will win.

Re: 73 vs 89 vs 05
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2005, 08:45:44 AM »
Any side that hit Mexico 4 and then journey to eventual group winners Haiti and hit them 5 at home (even though only 1 get allowed) must be better than a side that lose 1-0 at home at crunch time and a side that lost more games than they won but end up qualifying...

Doh mind i never see them play... ;D

« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2005, 08:47:31 AM »
Ent, dat wuld be some vintage footage to get, wuld love to see both games (vs Mex and vs Haiti), really hope something is done for both prior teams at some pt. over the next 7 mths, acknowledgement of what they did for TT on March 29th would be good....

« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2005, 08:48:06 AM »
who make world cup???

« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2005, 08:49:49 AM »
Is not who got to WC is quality of players and Team skills. I think SS was great. But the names i see on the 73 team are Great too.

MickeyRat

« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2005, 08:50:49 AM »
It doh matter to me.  However, I do feel something special for this group considering they did make it to the World Cup.

« Reply #6 on: December 02, 2005, 08:55:55 AM »
... and a side that lost more games than they won but end up qualifying...

De Soca Warriors won more games than they lost.

2006  World Cup Qualifying Matches
Played: 20
Wins: 11
Losses: 7
Draws: 2

« Reply #7 on: December 02, 2005, 09:16:31 AM »
I would go for 73. The 89 squad never went up against Mexico in that World Cup Qualifying campaign, and although these Soca Warriors beat them (from behind too!), the 73 squad mash dem up! I using Mexico as the benchmark because they have consistently been the best team in Concacaf...

All 3 squads are special though...and the Soca Warriors still have time to add more to their destiny...

« Reply #8 on: December 02, 2005, 09:34:57 AM »
What is the Mexico side then was a weak squad. . They did not even qualify then either. So using them is not a good idea. How did Hati do???

Offline LICKS4SO

« Reply #9 on: December 02, 2005, 09:41:44 AM »
hands down....socawarriors....greatness is measured in results not individual players on a side

« Reply #10 on: December 02, 2005, 09:46:44 AM »
Good point Friday... :beermug:

« Reply #11 on: December 02, 2005, 10:31:09 AM »
Have to be de strike squad and I see all three teams play.

Dat team wasn't easy at all, at all!

« Reply #12 on: December 02, 2005, 10:52:21 AM »
What is the Mexico side then was a weak squad. . They did not even qualify then either. So using them is not a good idea. How did Hati do???
yeah i guess
is jez de tief is de hardest hard

haiti was a concacaf powerhouse in dem days, but Mexico was still strongest

Offline behind-de-bridge

« Reply #13 on: December 02, 2005, 11:34:44 AM »
We are yet to see the best of the Soca Warriors. As this question again next July.

Offline Socaman

• Live Yuh Life Like Yuh Playin Mas!!!!
« Reply #14 on: December 02, 2005, 12:29:59 PM »
ah wasn't around to see de 73 team in action ;D I might have to say the strike squad was the better team than the present socawarriors...BUT this team would only get better and better and beat people in Germany

Vibes It Up!!!!

« Reply #15 on: December 02, 2005, 12:41:26 PM »
De Soca Warriors won more games than they lost.

Sorry Mr. Tallman, sir...I was just referring to the Hex.

P 10
W 4
D 1
L 5
..but we can add in the Bahrain games and it would be won 5, lost 5 if that makes everybody feel better.

People need to watch the question again..."in a 3 way tournament, who do you think would win?"
This thread is not about which team we like the most or an attempt to belittle the achievements of the other two teams.

What was the record of the 73 and 89 teams in all the qualifying games so we can compare them with less emotion?

« Reply #16 on: December 02, 2005, 01:09:46 PM »
You know what’s funny I meet a old Haitian man while working last week I told him I was from Trinidad and the first word came out his mouth was ARCIBALE he that this man could drink and they love him he said thee referee   didn’t cheat I say boy allhah is head thee man get ban for life and you still saying no cheat.
The fact that Socawarriors made it to the big dance we have to give it to them 

« Reply #17 on: December 02, 2005, 01:23:42 PM »
We are yet to see the best of the Soca Warriors. As this question again next July.

After de Soca Warriors beat Brazil in the Finals of the 2006 World Cup!  ;D :chilling:

« Reply #18 on: December 02, 2005, 01:24:04 PM »
de original question was in ah head to head which team would win..I say strike squad.

« Reply #19 on: December 02, 2005, 01:29:46 PM »
What was the record of the 73 and 89 teams in all the qualifying games so we can compare them with less emotion?
TeamPWLD
Soca Warriors (2006 WCQ)
Strike Squad (1990 WCQ)
1973 team (1974 WCQ)

« Reply #20 on: December 02, 2005, 01:30:45 PM »
ok yes strike squad all the way head to head

« Reply #21 on: December 02, 2005, 01:36:06 PM »
Considering that one of the loss with 1973 team was a theif. I would say based on performance the 1973 team look better on paper. As we all know anything can happen  in a football match and any team can beat each other on a given day. Since i was only able to see the soca warriors play, i say the present warriors can beat them both if they play with blood in their shoes

« Reply #22 on: December 02, 2005, 02:04:05 PM »
TeamPWLD
Soca Warriors (2006 WCQ)
Strike Squad (1990 WCQ)
1973 team (1974 WCQ)

Looking at the above stats for all 3 teams:-

Kaiso Boys '73 P 9 W 6 L 2 D 1 stats doubled is P 18 W 12 L 4 D 2

Strike Squad '89 P 12 W 5 L 2 D 5 stats doubled is P 24 W 10 L 4 D 10

Soca Warriors '05 P 20 W 11 L 7 D 2

Notice from above stats Soca Warriors '05 Plays 20 has Wins 11 which is more Wins than Strike Squad '89 who Plays 24 with less Wins just 10 than current Soca Warriors '05. On the other hand Kaiso Boys '73 Plays only 18 games but already has more wins than both Strike Squad'89 and Soca Warrior '05 with 12.

So going by above stats it shows than on paper this is how we should rate each team for WCQs:-

1. Kaiso Boys '73
2. Soca Warriors '05
3. Strike Squad '89.

However once we are in July next year we can review these stats to see how we rate our current Soca Warriors against our legendary Kaiso Boys of '73!

For now the stats say our Kaiso Boys of '73 was the best of the 3 teams so big up to the original T&T football pioneers!  ;)
« Last Edit: December 04, 2005, 03:43:32 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #23 on: December 02, 2005, 03:27:02 PM »
Can't believe this discussion.... ???hands down 73 squad man!

Yuh know how hard it was to qualify fuh the World Cup before they restructured for the 82 World Cup? There were only 16 places before 82, then 24 and now 32. Concacaf had One place in them days...no if's or but's...it had one place! The gap in quality then was not as wide as now. Suriname, Hati, Mexico, Honduras, El salvador, Guatemala and even Canada had good sides then (the States was shit as the NASL was king and yanks didn't give ah damn bout their national side then) The 73 team came second (in a group of 6 with one-off games between teams...ALL AWAY FROM HOME!) which would have qualified them for any tournament from 82 onwards. Strike squad came 3rd (in a final group of 5 with home and away games) and Socawarriors came 4th (group of 6, home and away matches).

People questioning the Mexico team of 73 they beat Haiti in that tourney and apparently should have won by about 3 or 4 rather than the final 1-0 scoreline. We cut em up 4-0...when they had something to play for!

For yuh Info Haiti's results in 74 were(with fantastic preparation):
Game 1 vs Italy 1-3
Game 2 vs Poland 0-7
Game 3 vs Argentina 1-4

and just so you doh start screaming bout the Poland result...they won the group by beating everyone and finished 3rd beating Brazil along the way. I'm glad for the Socawarriors...real proud but the class of 73 was just that....CLASS! :applause:

« Reply #24 on: December 02, 2005, 03:34:57 PM »
Unfortunately, I can't make a comparison since I wasn't born in '73 and can't get to see the games here in upstate New York (Somewhere behind God's back). However, a thought just occurred to me. I wonder what would have been the result if we had appealed to FIFA like Bahrain did following our loss to Haiti in '73. I wonder what the result would have been? Any thoughts?

« Reply #25 on: December 02, 2005, 03:36:33 PM »
Rodney well said. But one corerection for eveyrone:

The Soca Warriors aren't the first TT team to qualify for the wC.

The 73 team DID qualiofy..they didn't do anything wrong...SHIT..they put five in the net for Goodness' sake.

THEY HAD TO BE ROBBED just to finish second.

So how coudl the Warriors be better because they qualified??

The 73 team did it, with no Warner, four places to play for ..THEY CUT ASS and toped the group FAIRLY ....ON FOREIGN SOIL.

Anybody notice that the Argentina and Itlay cut ass was very similiar to the cut ass we gave Hati AT HOME!!!!!!!!!!!

Peace,

« Reply #26 on: December 02, 2005, 03:38:43 PM »
Unfortunately, I can't make a comparison since I wasn't born in '73 and can't get to see the games here in upstate New York (Somewhere behind God's back). However, a thought just occurred to me. I wonder what would have been the result if we had appealed to FIFA like Bahrain did following our loss to Haiti in '73. I wonder what the result would have been? Any thoughts?

Boss, I realize u join this site late...but we did appeal. Hence the reason the ref was banned for life.

However, in those days the ref. decision was final...so Haiti went through.

Hard to concieve of such stupidity...but then again it's FIFA we talking about.

« Reply #27 on: December 02, 2005, 03:46:28 PM »
Allyuh hadda be mard.... SOCAWARRIORS woulda cut all ah dem arse... No lie...

You think york and latas of old and out play yorke and latas now.... I doubt it.. Yes thier legs older, but they wiser, and they would effectively deal with themselves in ah head to head matchup....

73 men woulda get blow out.. Kaiso wuz good for their time... If SS go back in time , and play 73, SS would beat dem like ah tennor pan

« Reply #28 on: December 02, 2005, 03:55:00 PM »
This is ah "nobrainer" 1973 squad was by far the best. To achieve what they did away from home with only one spot for CONCACAF back then was remarkable. I am old enough to have seen all three teams play and 4 or 5 of the players were from my hometown side(Civic...so I'm ah lil biased). Those fellas geh teams real licks in that tourny back den, not no 1-0 wins, but rather 4 and 5 goals per game.If they had just tied with Honduras no amount ah Haitian tiefing would have stopped us from getting that lone spot for Germany 74. Say wha...we there now...Germany 06!!!

VIBES IT UP!!!

« Reply #29 on: December 02, 2005, 04:38:48 PM »
thanks for the clarification VB.