March 29, 2024, 06:55:39 AM

Author Topic: I am a West Indian when....  (Read 2939 times)

I am a West Indian when....
« on: December 05, 2005, 11:43:31 PM »
 I AM A WEST INDIAN WHEN.......
>>
>>I don't walk on the sidewalk ... I walk on pavement.
>>
>>You know that bake is not baked!!
>>
>>You know what it is like to be "sent for the belt"!!
>>
>>I beleive that children need discipline.
>>
>>I walk with my own pepper sauce!!
>>
>>"A beer is a carib".... so is : Stag, Banks, Red Stripe, Guiness,
>>Hairoun, Royal Extra but these are also refreshments: ... Ting,
>>Chubby, Mauby, Irish Moss, Sea Moss.
>>
>>Sorrel is a christmas drink, not eggnog.
>>
>>I soak my cake in rum!!
>>
>>West indian topics of debate are: 1. Rice and peas or.. Peas and
>>rice?? 2. Pelau or cookup rice? 3. Curry chicken or chicken curry?
>>
>>When I reach home I change into my home clothes!!
>>
>>Licks is not a restaurant.
>>
>>Eeveryone is your aunt, uncle or cousin!! (courtesy family)!!
>>
>>Moth balls are everywhere in your house.
>>
>>You have a freezer in your basement
>>
>>Shadow is is not a ghost .. But a jumbie or duppy might be!!
>>
>>No matter how old you are, you call your parents mummy and daddy.
>>
>>You know the meaning of "dahl", "channa", "anchar", "kurma" and
>>"buss-up-shot".
>>
>>You love soca (goes without saying).
>>
>>You can call your fellow country man by an ethnic name fondly and
>>it would be okay. eg: darkie, reds, dougs, chinee-man, yellow,
>>creole, red-man, white-boy.
>>
>>"You betta study yuh book"
>>
>>When you get 98 out of 100 on a test.. Yuh parents ask you "what de
>>ass .. happen to the other 2 marks??"
>>
>>someone in your family is a mechanic.
>>
>>You don't go to the grocery store you go to the market to make
>>groceries.
>>
>>You know that bake goes with: bigon, bulljol, smoke herring, salt
>>fish.
>>
>>You wash and re-use plastic and styrofoam cups..to go with the
>>plastic take-out spoons and forks cutlery set in the draw.
>>
>>t is not vegetables it is veg-e-tables
>>
>>Tripe is a delicacy, fish is brain food.
>>
>>Castor and cod liver oil is good for you.
>>
>>You have a wall unit in your dining room filled with the "good
>>dishes"!!
>>
>>You know the difference between wine, whine and wine!!!
>>
>>You or someone in your family has a cd or mini boxing gloves with
>>your island's flag on it hanging from the rear-view mirror in your
>>car.
>>
>>I don't photocopy.... I xerox!!

Re: I am a West Indian when....
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2005, 06:31:04 PM »
yuh must eat yuh soup or pelau saturday and eat yuh callaloo and crab on sunday.if yuh doh have crab a lil pigtail will do.

Offline Lil Jodie P

Re: I am a West Indian when....
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2005, 08:03:11 AM »
wen you know we don't have a 'summer'is the August vacation
FOREVER AND ALWAYS "Little Jodie P" :)