April 26, 2024, 02:18:48 AM

Author Topic: Robbed ‘73 team for Germany.  (Read 5970 times)

Robbed ‘73 team for Germany.
« on: December 15, 2005, 08:07:20 AM »
Robbed ‘73 team for Germany.
By: Walter Alibey (Newsday).

Although they missed out on qualifying for the World Cup Finals back in 1973, surviving members of that famous team will be going to Germany next year.
It is understood that former St Benedict’s College footballer Bede Wells is the brainchild behind the move to honour the Trinidad and Tobago’s team which was deprived of achieving history by match officials.
Trinidad and Tobago scored five goals in a final qualifier against Haiti in 1973, but lost 2-1 which enabled the Haitians to play in the World Cup in then West Germany.
Well, in collaboration with his company located in Ghana, is making the gesture possible for the former outstanding national footballers who started the dream which was finally realised last month when the Soca Warriors qualified for the Finals next year which incidentally will be held in Germany next year.
Apart from members of the 1973 team who live in Trinidad and Tobago, Wells is also attempting to contact players who have migrated to the United States and elsewhere.
It is understood that former Strike Squad coach and former national midfielder Everald "Gally" Cummings, who was voted the Most Valuable Player (MVP) at the 1973 qualifying tournament, has already agreed to take up the offer.
And it is expected that other members of the team, regarded as one of the best ever national line-ups, will take the opportunity to participate in the historic occasion when Trinidad and Tobago play in the World Cup Finals for the first time. The 1973 team includes goalkeepers — Gerald Figeroux and Kelvin Barclay and Devernish "Finey" Paul; defenders — Raymond Moraldo, captain Selwyn Murren, Selris Figaro, Winston Phillips, Warren Archibald and Leroy Deleon; midfielders — Cummings, Sydney Augustine, Leon Carpette, Anthony Douglas, and Peter Mitchell; and strikers — Steve Khan, Ray Roberts, Leo Brewster, Steve David and Wilfred Cave.
The gesture is expected to cost more than $150,000 but thoroughly deserving by the ex-national footballers who could give a big psychological boost to the present crop.
The 1989 team, popularly known as the Strike Squad also came within a point of qualifying for the World Cup Finals in Italy, but were beaten by the United States at the Hasely Crawford Stadium when needing only a draw to qualify.
Trinidad and Tobago have been drawn in Group "B" with England, Sweden and Paraguay in next year’s Finals.
They open their campaign against Sweden on June 10 in Dortmund; then play top seeds England in Nuremberg five days later; and in the final group match come up against Paraguay on June 20 in Kaiserslautern.

Re: Robbed ‘73 team for Germany.
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2005, 08:51:26 AM »

Estimated cost:  $150,000
Former players listed: 19

Cost per person:  $7,900

I wonder if some progressive T&T company will see it fit to chip in.....maybe do the same for the Strike Squad.

We cah have a company from Ghana doing this and we eh do nuttin   :(

« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2005, 09:17:16 AM »

Estimated cost:  $150,000
Former players listed: 19

Cost per person:  $7,900

I wonder if some progressive T&T company will see it fit to chip in.....maybe do the same for the Strike Squad.

We cah have a company from Ghana doing this and we eh do nuttin   :(

And yet de Simpaul Sexual Assault Package is $30,000!!!  >:(

Dey taking we for fools!!!

« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2005, 09:21:58 AM »
whappen FF yuh must chill...look at yuh signature...de beatings will continue until moral improves..lol

allyuh good oui.

JAck fuh de Trinity Cross!

« Reply #4 on: December 15, 2005, 09:23:18 AM »
Yeah tuh crucify him on it :devil:

« Reply #5 on: December 15, 2005, 10:40:11 AM »
I really appreciate what Bede Wells and his company is doing for these guys,it's something that's well deserved.

As long as Football is played in our country this team will always be talked about and remembered.The country had a different feel for these players because they were around and you saw them every day.

We lost that game and is like you still won knowing the circumstances,the players and public were such sportsmen,protesting was a waste of time because they had no one in FIFA to stand up for them.

If this materializes i want to say WELL DESERVED. 

Offline Strip

« Reply #6 on: December 15, 2005, 11:08:06 AM »
i was thinking about this same thing today - real good to see something like this happenning and i honestly hope they pull it off.

Offline OutsideMan

• Many bad things. *Sips Scotch*
  • SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #7 on: December 25, 2005, 06:27:49 PM »
Yeah tuh crucify him on it :devil:

:rotfl:   :rotfl:    :rotfl:
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

« Reply #8 on: December 26, 2005, 12:46:16 PM »
Nice stuff! Hope this comes off!

Offline concerned

« Reply #9 on: December 26, 2005, 04:16:22 PM »
Bebe Wells is the man behind Mycon Travel 5000.00 USD package with Airfare, xfers etc

Quote from

http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=8161.0

GENERAL:
As expected, costs have increased following the December 9, 2005 draw date. Additionally, the availability of game tickets, international air transport, hotel space, and ground transport is already increasingly problematic. Do not miss out on this convenient, cost-effective opportunity to be a part of the Trinbagonian support team (in the actual T&T section of the stadium, with the Strike Squad and the Team of '73) in Germany 2006. There can only be one "first time" at the World Cup. Be a part of history, play your part in bringing a Trini flavour to the World's biggest international party.

Any further information, please contact our agent offices at 868-653-7925 or contact Anthony Clarke directly at 868-680-8687 (email: dessco@tstt.net.tt ) or Gerard Osborne directly at 868-741-7874 (email: gerardosborne@bellsouth.net). We will continue to keep you in the know. Please mention reference number “AC001” to ensure that you receive this special rate.

Wir gehen nach Deutschland. Let’s go support our Soca Warriors

« Last Edit: December 26, 2005, 04:27:12 PM by concerned »