April 25, 2024, 08:53:20 AM

Author Topic: TTFF Technical Department Announces U21 National Team Training Camp.  (Read 25454 times)

TTFF Technical Department Announces -
U21 National Team Training Camp.

19 US-based players to participate in first-ever winter break training camp.
The TTFF Technical Department has announced plans to have a training camp for U21 players (born on or after January 1, 1985) from December 27-29.
According to TTFF Technical Director, Lincoln Phillips, “we have a number of good players attending colleges in the US who return home for the holiday break. Their return presents a wonderful opportunity to identify, evaluate, and track the progress of players based in T&T and abroad who can represent Trinidad and Tobago in the qualifying phases of the 2008 Summer Olympic Games and eventually the Olympics themselves.”

Approximately 20 players based in Trinidad and Tobago will join the US-based players in the training camp. The three-day camp will open at the Joao Havelange Center of Excellence. Games and training sessions will take place at both the Center of Excellence and Ato Boldon Stadium.

The U21 training camp is part of the GOAL 2014 Project, an initiative from TTFF Technical Director, Lincoln Phillips, which aims to have every Trinidad and Tobago national football team qualify for every FIFA tournament by the year 2014.  Phillips also stated the important role of establishing a worldwide network that can assist the TTFF in identifying youth and senior players. “I received a substantial list of college players from the website, socawarriors.net and our ex-pat communities in the US and Europe are excellent resources that can help us achieve the mission stated in the GOAL 2014 Project.”

Contact information:
TTFF Technical Department:
1-868-625-8607 or 1-868-789-9366.

All players must register at:
www.trinsport.com

TTFF U-21 TEAM COMBINE:[/u]

Event:
Combine for U21 players.

Date:
December 27-29.

Locations:
A. Joao Havelange Centre of Excellence
B. Ato Boldon Stadium

Participants:
US-based college players and local-based players born after January 1, 1985.

Purpose of Event:
Identification, evaluation, and tracking of players for the purpose of supplementing and preparing U23 National team for the 2006 CAC games, 2007 Pan American Games, and 2008 Summer Olympic Games.

Event Access:

1) Players - Invitation only. Players will be contacted directly and through their college and club coaches.

2) Press- Open. Player programs and web-based material on the participating players will be provided.

3) Public- Open (Ato Boldon Stadium sessions only).

Program Patron:
The TTFF Technical Department, as a component of  the Technical Department Player Development Program.

Attending US- Based T&T Players.

Defenders:
Kegan Mills (Missouri Baptist University).
Wacey Benjamin (St Benedict's College/University of South Carolina Aiken).
Makan Hislop (Signal Hill Senior Comp/University of South Carolina Columbia).
Yohance Marshall (St Anthony's College/University of South Florida).

Midfields:
Jack Weedon (St Mary's College/North Carolina State University).
Durell Johnson (St Benedict's College/University of South Carolina Aiken).
Kevon Neaves (St Anthony's College/University of South Florida).
Christian Cabral (St Anthony's College/University of West Florida).
Justin Hay (University of Toronto).
Kyle Hall (University of Ontario).
Kern Gardiner (Fatima College/University of Richmond).
Delano Pierre (Queen's Royal College/University of Richmond).
Nikhil Dolly (University of Bridgeport).
Stephen De Las (St Benedict's/Birmingham City Football Academy).

Forwards:
Abiola Sandy (St Anthony's College/Bowling Green State University).
Simba Aberdeen (Queen's Royal College/Canisius College).
Kevin Crooks (Signal Hill Senior Comp/Clayton College & State University).
Keon Phillip (Woodbrook Government Secondary/Lafayette College).
Kedan Crosby (Fatima College/University of Rhode Island).
TTFF hunt for young goalkeepers.
By Nigel Simon (Guardian).

Lincoln Phillips, technical director of the T&T Football Federation, has invited young goalkeepers to make themselves available for future national selection, by attending the three-day camp at the Marvin Lee Stadium, Macoya and the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva.
The camp starts tomorrow with two sessions at the Macoya venue from 9am to 12 noon and 2pm to 4pm. On Thursday and Friday, the camp will be held at the Ato Boldon Stadium, from 9am to 12 noon and 2pm to 4pm.
Phillips was busy yesterday finalising plans for the three-day camp involving 19 US-based national Under-23 players and 20 home based. He said:
“The camp will only be an invitation for young goalkeepers because we are intent on making a conservative effort to improve the level of goalkeeping in the country.
“However, we have already stated that apart from the goalkeeping department, the camp will not be an open invitation, but has been arranged to check the progress of some young players based at colleges in the USA who have been invited personally.
“There are also the local players who were recommended to us from the Secondary Schools Football League and those who were part of the previous national Under-20 team, who we will be looking at.”
During the camp, Ron La Forest and Michael Mc Commie, who have been recommended to be coaches of the T&T Under-23 team (Olympic), will also have a chance to work with the players.
La Forest is a former national player and coach of the Under-20 and senior teams and Mc Commie, an ex-national goalkeeper, is current manager of Super League champion club Joe Public.
The other local coaches at the camp will be Anton Corneal, recently appointed to the Soca Warriors coaching staff as an assistant coach, and Soca Warriors’ goalkeeping coach, Michael Maurice. Phillips will also serve as coach/scout during the camp.
It is the first “winter break” training camp organised by the T&TFF and caters for players born on, or after January 1, 1985.
Phillips noted that T&T has a number of good players attending colleges in the US who return home for the holiday break, which presents a wonderful opportunity to identify, evaluate, and track the progress of the players who can represent the country in the qualifiers for the 2008 Olympic Games.
Phillips said that the main purpose of the camp was to identify, evaluate and link with players towards preparing the Under-23 team for the 2006 Central American Caribbean Games and 2007 Pan American Games.
The Under-21 training camp is part of the GOAL 2014 Project, Phillips’ initiative, which aims to have every T&T national football team qualify for every Fifa tournament by the year 2014.
Phillips emphasised the important role of establishing a world-wide network that can assist the T&TFF in identifying youth and senior players. Another area of the camp will see well-known sports psychologist, Dr Margaret Ottley,conducting sessions with the players.
« Last Edit: December 27, 2005, 06:28:02 AM by Flex »

Re: TTFF Technical Department Announces U21 National Team Training Camp.
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2005, 02:56:15 PM »
They should open it up

Invitation only is not necessary

What if a man did not know about the thing and he happen to be good

also

2014 is real far away

I would expect that our youth teams should be up to speed and qualifying on the regular or at least improved within 1 year

« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2005, 03:14:46 PM »
Do we have any ah de smiley faces that could "shake de head" from side to side?

KND2 look at the short space ah time they available for the Training camp, Dec 27-29.  Yuh know how unorganized and chaotic that would get if they open it up to Tom, Dick, Harry and all dey cousins for that short space ah time. They tryin to move professional and organized where yuh have to register so nobody eh just walkin off the street wanting to geh ah sweat.

And as far as yuh think 2014 is.....well it right around the corner.

The US had Project 2010 in the works years and years now and their goal ent to qualify all teams it is to potentially win the World Cup or a major football competition.

Project 2014 demonstrates vision and maturity not short sighted goals.

« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2005, 03:36:50 PM »
They should open it up

Invitation only is not necessary

What if a man did not know about the thing and he happen to be good

also

2014 is real far away

I would expect that our youth teams should be up to speed and qualifying on the regular or at least improved within 1 year

OH GAWD gyyah please some people at all nah.
Men on here always crying bout no vision no foundation no youth program.  Them men and them home on a lil christmas vacation and Lincoln say nice let we get together and do some work, to me that is a good thing, but somebody always have to complain bout what is not being done  how bout a lil positive vibes for the steps in the right direction.

big up to Lincoln and to this site for helping out.

« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2005, 03:39:04 PM »
Ah sure they get that splendid idea right from this site..men was suggestion that just last week in a thread

http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=9538.0

..I happy wid that..big up to the future of TnT football.
« Last Edit: December 20, 2005, 04:28:28 PM by DeSoWa »

« Reply #5 on: December 20, 2005, 03:39:57 PM »
 This is a decent idea but they should have scouted u21 players since this year and then add overseas men.....Go T&T

Offline tempo

« Reply #6 on: December 20, 2005, 03:41:35 PM »
good move. looks like another step in the right direction.
« Last Edit: December 20, 2005, 04:00:07 PM by tempo »

« Reply #7 on: December 20, 2005, 03:58:29 PM »
Notice how Lincoln open minded and humble. Big up the Soca Warriors Online, well done in that aspect.

I am telling you guys, give Mr Phillips some time and big things will happen, de man on the right track, we need to have a little patience, things like this does take time, I am sure if he's successful it may have more camps and other stuff..

People like KNDs should get banned and not RF. The negative vibes, always bringing down a man. At least Lincoln trying his best, players coming home for Christmas and Lincoln dont want to tie up their vacation and try to get the best of this, give the man a break.....
« Last Edit: December 20, 2005, 04:05:02 PM by Flex »

« Reply #8 on: December 20, 2005, 04:12:52 PM »
KND you cyar even see right now, much less for the future. That is how short sighted yuh is.  Even if we teams inprove in a year, yuh think tht is the end of it all? Big up to Lincoln Philips.  Ah was a bit worried when he wasn't being heard for a while after we qualified and men name like Cornmeal and Sedley Joseph was being called, but ah realize de man ain't about the fanfare.  He has a vison and he working towards it.  Is real structure he implementing and we could only go up from here.  We need to keep de man for as long as possible.  Is good when yuh leave a country and live outside of it for years; yuh does come back witrh fresh ideas and a sort of vision of how things really need to be.  Notice ah say live, not visit for ah two weeks and come back like yuh know everything. 
« Last Edit: December 20, 2005, 04:18:05 PM by Tenorsaw »

« Reply #9 on: December 20, 2005, 04:16:03 PM »
Well it’s a good thing they calling player but what about these guys I know for surer that Josimar belgrave could make that team very talented and have been playing for rangers big team from the age of 15 they did good in the semi pro league I know he had some issues before but we have to give these young players some hope because most of the young players in the country believe that the selection of national teams are all about politics and favoritism     
Kyle McIvor
Gorian Highley

Javed Mohammed
Khalil Mathura

Terrance McAllister
Devon Leacock -
Josimar Belgrave .
Sherwyn Marcano
Shastri Spencer -
Silas Spann

« Reply #10 on: December 20, 2005, 04:20:36 PM »
Additionally is Phillips, Sheldon related to Lincoln Phillips.......and was this website created during his recent trip to teh US ???

Offline tempo

« Reply #11 on: December 20, 2005, 04:24:10 PM »
Yes, its his son. I think the website was created up here to jus deal with the training camp.

« Reply #12 on: December 20, 2005, 04:24:43 PM »
Well it’s a good thing they calling player but what about these guys I know for surer that Josimar belgrave could make that team very talented and have been playing for rangers big team from the age of 15 they did good in the semi pro league I know he had some issues before but we have to give these young players some hope because most of the young players in the country believe that the selection of national teams are all about politics and favoritism     
Kyle McIvor
Gorian Highley

Javed Mohammed
Khalil Mathura

Terrance McAllister
Devon Leacock -
Josimar Belgrave .
Sherwyn Marcano
Shastri Spencer -
Silas Spann

I don't think that the camp is only for te foreign based players. The article just focused on that but I think the camp will also include local players.

« Reply #13 on: December 20, 2005, 04:28:42 PM »
what about judah hernandez and jason devoish  sure those are the only player abroad

« Reply #14 on: December 20, 2005, 04:30:57 PM »
Flex,
  Thank you so much for this post highlighting the important work of the most serious minded, non-papysho-minded football technocrat in T&T. Thanks for letting me keep the faith that he had a secure job while the others were flamming all over Europe in photo sessions without him and rumours abounded about Sedley's intentions. Phillips is the complete antidote to the anti-longterm planning that pervades our football culture and culture as a whole. I am sooooooooo proud of him! Best post I saw in a long time.

Mr. Phillips, thank you too for your humility and recognizing that many on this board were trying to help and you acted and publicly gave credit!  Thanks again to Flex,Tallman and all the other unsung heroes for their research on behalf of our youths. Dais website in action! More of this and less mauvais lange aight felllas?

« Reply #15 on: December 20, 2005, 04:31:09 PM »
Please read and think ah lil bit before you put yuh vomit on the forum  !!!

"Approximately 20 players based in Trinidad and Tobago will join the US-based players in the training camp"

« Reply #16 on: December 20, 2005, 04:32:59 PM »
stephen delas at biringham fuh ture yes just saw his name on the academy list of players

« Reply #17 on: December 20, 2005, 04:45:54 PM »
great idea finally a step in the right direction.  KND u mad boss up to speed in 1 yr. that may need a miracle.
ttff paying for the players travel??

« Reply #18 on: December 20, 2005, 04:48:54 PM »
Ah sure they get that splendid idea right from this site..men was suggestion that just last week in a thread

http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=9538.0

..I happy wid that..big up to the future of TnT football.

yuh feel is vie kie vie ting and dey read ah post here last week and decide to hold ah camp?

breds datw as in de works before dat post. ;)

« Reply #19 on: December 20, 2005, 04:52:20 PM »
ah surprised they aint call that youth judah hernandez...he is tears!!! but big respect to phillips for giving trinidad football some kind of vision. hopefully this idea wont fizzle out like the previous great ideas they came up to help trinidad youth football.  :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #20 on: December 20, 2005, 04:53:32 PM »
Doh worry, Lincoln eh joking. Trust me. De real deal.

« Reply #21 on: December 20, 2005, 04:55:05 PM »
From what i'm seeing here not because those names are put there they are the only ones going to be looked at,those are just names they already have that are interested.

If you look carefully you will see there is a website for all interested to register,if we know of players that may not have known it would be in our interest to let them know,if Lincoln has to go and look for everybody we will always find there is someone he will not see.

What's amusing to me is that everyone that knows somebody that play Football find they should get called,lets deal with reality you know there are good players that get overlooked all the time,you can have a thousand good players it will boil down to a squad of 23 and out of that 11 starts,we can say what we want the Coach is the person that have the final say.

It don't have a Coach in T&T with the guts to rest Latapy or Yorke in any game,i just hope our Coaches are learning and picking up Benie's philosophy,it's very easy for ppl on the outside to select who plays because that's not the team going to play,it's the one the Coach picks we have to worry about.That's why Coaches are under so much pressure.      

« Reply #22 on: December 20, 2005, 04:56:46 PM »

yuh feel is vie kie vie ting and dey read ah post here last week and decide to hold ah camp?

breds datw as in de works before dat post. ;)

Ent you know!!  ;D Big up TnT football.. we sweet too bad.

Offline Teflon Don

« Reply #23 on: December 20, 2005, 04:57:24 PM »
what about judah hernandez and jason devoish  sure those are the only player abroad

Jason devonish family now lives  in canada....he won't be coming to trinidad for xmas but he said he will represent trinidad if they ever call him.....so we r not going to lose him to canada

« Reply #24 on: December 20, 2005, 05:03:58 PM »
A definite step in the right direction and it's good to see that Mr. Phillips is doing his job.

This is not to belittle what he has done by any means, but in the overall scheme of things, this sort of thing should have been done LONG TIME AGO.  It's good to see that it is getting done but that in my opinion is part and parcel of the job.

This is but a first, and yes important, step in the overall process, but the FOLLOW UP is going to be crucial.  What programs and initiatives do we have in place or are being developed to ensure this doesn't end up being a holiday fete match, but instead evolve into something that is sustainable and viable in the medium to long term?

I watchin with keen interest.

« Reply #25 on: December 20, 2005, 05:13:00 PM »
Phillips had a successful U15 tour and now this, he is going in the right direction... I hope we keep all our youth teams in constant training though and not wait for close to tour time to start preparing, I have not heard anything about our under 15 and under 20 teams since that qualifying series.... we cant have camps and tours go in vain, we need to use this in the right direction to move up...

He said 2014 is our aim for ALL teams to qualify and he never counted "out" 2010, so KND2 you should relax and take some fart pills.

Things like this takes time to build, block by block with concrete and not straw by straw and quick fix.

Big up Lincoln.

PS: Bally, some good players yuh call they boy... but is Sherwyn Marcano better than Jason Marcano...... Keon Daniel ah wonder if he back from injury....
« Last Edit: December 20, 2005, 05:24:30 PM by Flex »

« Reply #26 on: December 20, 2005, 05:22:36 PM »
Phillips had a successful U15 tour and now this, he is going in the right direction... I hope we keep all our youth teams in constant training though and not wait for close to tour time to start preparing, I have not heard anything about our under 15 and under 20 teams since that qualifying series.... we cant have camps and tours go in vain, we need to use this in the right direction to move up...

He said 2014 is our aim for ALL teams to qualify and he never counted "out" 2010, so KND2 you should relax and take some fart pills.

Things like this takes time to build, block by block with concrete and not straw by straw and quick fix.

Big up Lincoln.

PS: Bally, some good players yuh call they boy... but is Sherwyn Marcano better than Jason Marcano...... Keon Daniel ah wonder if he back from injury....

Allyuh better recognize dat what Sam is saying is de damn truite,

de man (Lincoln) wants to keep all we teams in constant training.

we have to verbally support dis man as he tries to do what he feels is best fuh our football.

he is de best TD we ever had as he has been able to put things in place where others only talk.

we must let de TTFF know what Lincoln is doing is what we de people want.

Allyuh notice from de first day Lincoln take over de job as TD he bigging up we site as the best football resouce he ever saw on de web.

de man was reading we site before he come TD and still does to dis day.

It is obvious dat he sees the value in ahving informed fans give dey opinion and sees that there is knowledge here that can be put to good use.

LET US SUPPORT HIM AS HE SUPPORTS US!
« Last Edit: December 20, 2005, 05:26:12 PM by Flex »

Offline NC

« Reply #27 on: December 20, 2005, 07:03:33 PM »
This is the most concise and informative release (contact info and everything) I have ever seen from the TTFF.

Offline scarface

• ultra del vicchia signora
« Reply #28 on: December 20, 2005, 07:17:23 PM »
Kyle McIvor
Gorian Highley

Javed Mohammed
Khalil Mathura

Terrance McAllister
Devon Leacock -
Josimar Belgrave .
Sherwyn Marcano
Shastri Spencer -
Silas Spann

a big big player from my area. hot up d scene last year but he dissappoint dis year in SSFL. but he'll be back next year. he shud definitely be invited to the U21 trials. so too shud the rest of the U17 team from last year even if it's just for the experience. these guys shud be kept together for rel. Mr Phillps doin a fine job there. BIG UP TO D MAN cuz he really vibesin it up!

Offline Teflon Don

« Reply #29 on: December 20, 2005, 08:59:31 PM »
yea anumber of top players were left out judah and aldo hope etc ettc but remember dis is the u21 team and some of these guys may be of age but they may also be ready to handle the u23 level so i think they will probably be looked at for that training camp